Forum Settings
Forums

Are you studying Chinese? (Mandarin, Fukien, Cantonese)

New
Jun 4, 2015 10:05 PM

Jan 2015

Do you study that language? If yes, how are you fluent on it? Can you also read Chinese characters?

Well, I can only read a few Characters and speak few sentences like "wo shi lao shi" which means "I'm a teacher"
How bout u?
DiginarcissaJun 5, 2015 12:22 AM
Twitter and it's consequences had been a disaster for the human race
Jun 4, 2015 10:07 PM
Apr 2014
No, but I have a lot of friends at my school who take Chinese for the easy A because they already speak it fluently.
Jun 4, 2015 10:07 PM

Apr 2015
I dont study chinese , cuz im not a weaboo

Hi
Jun 4, 2015 10:09 PM

Oct 2012
No, but I plan on taking Mandarin classes later this summer.
Jun 4, 2015 10:33 PM

Feb 2015
No point. They write their menus in English.
Jun 4, 2015 10:37 PM

Dec 2014
That is a gross sounding language.
Jun 4, 2015 11:04 PM

Oct 2012
I'm Chinese and I grew up speaking Cantonese and English. I did Chinese school to learn mandarin for a few years but I didn't learn a thing because I was young, didn't pay attention or give two shits. I kind of regret it now.

Jun 4, 2015 11:28 PM
Jul 2018
ya i can speak like a gweilo
Jun 4, 2015 11:30 PM

May 2011
My family is from Hong Kong so I can speak Cantonese fairly well for an American-born Chinese. Learning Mandarin in college right now (going to be in the advanced level this fall semester). The class only teaches us simplified characters though so unfortunately I can't read traditional with the exception of a couple ones :(
Signature removed. Please follow the signature rules, as defined in the Site & Forum Guidelines.
Jun 4, 2015 11:37 PM

Dec 2014
No, I'm not learning Chinese because I'm not going into the international business field where it would actually be useful.

However, I'll have plenty of opportunities to learn Chinese when China takes over the U.S. and the world.
Jun 4, 2015 11:43 PM

May 2010