Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Amagami SS


Alternative Titles

English: Amagami SS
Japanese: アマガミSS

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 2, 2010 to Dec 24, 2010
Premiered: Summer 2010
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Pony Canyon, TBS, Movic
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: AIC
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.531 (scored by 88,989 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #15022
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #345
Members: 188,047
Favorites: 1,578

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 19, 2010
Archaeon (All reviews)
If you don't know where you're from, then you don't know where you are, and you don't know where you're going. It's a fairly trite adage, but like most old sayings there's an element of truth to it. When it comes to visual media though, such sentiments seem to go out of the window, across the fields, and off into the wild blue yonder, especially where adaptations are concerned.

So where does that leave Amagami SS?

A number of people may already be familiar with the fact that the series is yet another adaptation of a dating sim, and given that this is the spiritual successor to read more
Sep 24, 2013
akaraC (All reviews)
"Nii nii~~"
"Nii nii no baka" - Miya Tachibana

To put it simply, the combination of each of the heroines to the main protagonist is like a fireworks show. All of them are pretty.


The Story: 9/10
--------------------
The story starts with our main male protagonist Junichi Tachibana being stood up on a Christmas Eve date which occurred two years ago. Having a hard time warming up to others, he does not have a girlfriend. In the seven arcs which comprises of four episodes each,(except for Risa Kamizaki who is given one episode) each arc is given one main heroine girl in which Junichi is their personal love interest. Each read more
Jul 15, 2010
53dfj93 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Bwahahaha! This anime is starting to be pretty fun, to say the least. I didn’t expect such awkward, but interesting events. Usually one would expect the typical stereotypical actions set in a high school environment, but recently I’ve been surprised.

As this is based off a dating sim game, my first impression was that this anime may be similar to a "harem scenario" like in Ichigo 100% only with no ecchi or Clannad. Even though it is far too early to make such a claim, every other female seem to see the male protagonist only as a good friend, not a romantic candidate seen in read more
Apr 6, 2013
Marchionessx (All reviews)
"That was Christmas Eve, two years ago. She never showed up to the date." - Junichi Tachibana, Episode 1
No no, that's not what the story is all about. Sorry to scare you about a what you thought was a spoiler.

Amagami SS hit every note correctly. As a fan of romance, it was a very, very, enjoyable series.

Story: You have Tachibana Junichi. He has a calm and kind personality, and can be a pervert sometimes with his friend Masayoshi Umehara. As quoting above, he was stood up two years ago on Christmas Eve. That event derailed his happiness ever since. It affected him so much that read more
Jan 8, 2015
Joeliolio (All reviews)
Amagami SS in short is probably the best adaption of a dating sim that stays true to its roots while feeling like it was from a collection of stories rather than a game. Each arc is wonderful to watch and fulfills the story for the viewer, in the end even actually expanding on it.

Story: 10/10 It is in omnibus format meaning that the stories may contain the same characters but every four episodes they "reset" and focus on another aspect (in this case a girl) and expand the story on these "what if" moments. Overall very enjoyable each arc had it's differences and no two read more
Jul 10, 2010
winfy (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've watched plenty of romance animes in my lifetime, and normally I don't write my reviews for them. But this anime makes me hate so much.

After watching 2 episodes, this anime is slowly becoming unbearable

What makes it truly annoying and irritable are the retarded motives and ideas.

What gets me to the core is that the male lead is deeply traumatized by some stupid past event: being stood up on a middle school date on Christmas Eve. Ok big deal, but now the lead is a completely depressed cynic of love and lives some depressing life. He further randomly believes that the cure for his broken read more
Dec 26, 2010
Master10K (All reviews)
A countless number of visual novel to anime adaptations have seen the light of day and it takes no genius to figure out the trend in story-telling. Divide the show into a series of character arcs, whilst following an over-arching story/plot; or just follow a single character arc and be done with it. This has proven to be quite an effective method for telling these kinds of stories but it's not ideal for pleasing all the character's fans. Now in comes Amagami SS, a series that takes a step in a new direction by telling each of the character's stories, as a 4 episode standalone read more
Dec 17, 2010
8thSin (All reviews)
'Amagami SS' is based on galge (non-hentai dating-sim) 'Amagami'. The title means "light bite", which probably describes the playfulness and cuteness of the heroines (half of them do bite or get bitten). "SS" is believed to stand for "Short Stories". It is the most comprehensive and game-like anime I have ever seen that's based on a dating-sim.


STORY:
'Amagami SS' is made up of 7 short stories where the protagonist goes after a different girl each time. The heroines are made up of the most common archetypes for galge or moe anime. The reason I say this series is the most comprehensive, however, is because there's a read more
Jul 9, 2010
Danim3 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I like the guy. He is not chickening out the time he has to something to say. He has a goal, he goes for it. No 5 minutes of blushing combined with anos, etos and sonos, where in the end someone barges right in and spoils all the fun.

The other characters are not stupid either. And there are no stupid misunderstandings, led by "just happened to pass by and see the most embarrassing moment" kind of things, so this is no love comedy.

The art is a bit different from what I've seen recently, so it took me a while to get used to it. read more
Dec 23, 2010
ADiSiNS (All reviews)
This is my first legitimate review, so please bare with me. Ok, let's get on with the review.

Amagami SS isn't your typical visual novel adaptation. Unlike other adaptations, such as the Key VNs (Kanon, Air, Clannad) or the TYPE-MOON works (Fate, Tsukihime), this follows an omnibus format. For those that don't know what that means, it's basically several different arcs told separately, with each arc reseting after the final episode. This, in turn, gives Amagami an interesting experience.

Due to the omnibus format, each arc is treated differently. The personalities of characters, storytelling, and even pacing are different; which makes it feel as if you're watching read more
Dec 11, 2015
Daru-sama (All reviews)
Preliminary
Have you ever felt sorry for a girl that didnt get her chance?Well you dont have to worry here,every girl gets her happy ending.

Story 10/10:
Story is very simple, but well maybe thats what makes this show show you the magic it does.The protagonist is afraid of love but soon he realizes that he cant run forever from it,in fact he gladly accepts it when the time comes.

Art 8/10:
I dont pay too much attention to background art and such,but I didnt find any flaw in this anime art.Its your average anime art with really nice character art and nice environment details.

Character 9/10:
Characters are simple yet read more
Jan 14, 2017
Pyravia (All reviews)
This Anime in Step To Step:
1. Be sad about lost waifu 2 years ago
2. Chase Crush-Waifu
3. Get Closer to Crush
4. Love Waifu
5. Go back in time, chase a new waifu, be happy.
6. Repeat ^

This anime is fairly average.

Story: Sad loser is sad about waifu not showing up at to date christmas evening. He then decides to move on, and get a new waifu. It's basically 5 Stories, with 5 different girls. Though, the last story tells you about the X-Mas night.

Character: I will mention the girls shorly in 1-2 words, as they are only important for 4 episodes. :3
Junichi Tachibana, a guy who is bad read more
Dec 17, 2010
AquaHaze (All reviews)
Preliminary
There’s a lot of visual novels (at least this is what I think it is) being made into anime these days a lot of them around this time seem a bit disappointing but Amagami SS does not disappoint

Plot: The story starts of with the main protagonist Junichi Tachibana who gets his heart broken when his date doesn’t show up during Christmas Eve. Fast forward two years and Junichi is just a regular second year in high school. This anime is in an omnibus format so each character would get there own arc, so I’m going to review every arc.

Haruka Morishima (8.5/10) - At read more
Jul 24, 2010
Flipside101 (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of, I never played the game so this review is based completely on the episodes I've seen so far, and I might have a different view of this series after seeing all of it. With that in mind:

Story:
Typical harem-like story, with an even more typical boy who's awkward, shy, and has some, if not a lot of trouble trying to go out with the girls that clearly have interest with him.

The plot progression is different, though in my opinion not the best, especially if this anime is going to be short. The anime is subdivided into different groups in which has read more
Jul 2, 2010
R2J (All reviews)
Preliminary
A story where a young man who heart was broken on Christmas Eve. He has one more chance to find love with six candidates.

I only watched the first episode.

Based on the dating game, I follows the usual dating sim anime adapation style. But what I see is much different. There will be an arc of episodes on when the main guy chooses one girl. Different girl, different arc. A interesting use especially when the girls have a lot of potential of being the girlfriend.

I could say they should've used this on the other adaptations.

Voice acting is very nice, and the character variety makes it read more
Oct 11, 2015
thumpz99 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Amagami SS is not your traditional linear anime. It is arranged in Arc's where they show how things "could" have gone with a specific female during the same time frame with the same male protagonist Junichi Tachibana.

Don't believe the hype of the "Omnibus Format" unless you like seeing the same person (the male) doing the same things but just with different females. Yes the girls have different characteristics but the guy doesn't and he falls short of having any real substance to him.

I *really* wanted to like Amagami SS. The romance side of the story would have made for an interesting full read more
Jun 22, 2013
Chocosword (All reviews)
Amagami SS is one of those anime where I couldn’t decide if I should watch it or not. After watching a few episodes, I had to say that it was magnificent. You probably thought that Amagami SS would be cliché and boring, but it is not! It is nothing like your boring beta main character and girls falling for the main character for no reason. One reason that made me hesitate to watch Amagami SS is because it was based off a dating game. I didn’t expect a game to be made into a good anime. What can we expect of Tachibana Junichi?

To start off, read more
Dec 28, 2010
Andristian (All reviews)
Amagami SS is a lighthearted romantic high-school anime with a little bit of humour here and there, telling the story of Junichi Tachibana, who had his heart broken two years ago on Christmas when he got stood up by his date. Therefore, he has a hard time opening up to his feelings and fears that he will have to spend another Christmas alone. Luckily for him, there are plenty of girls in his high school that he will soon get close to.

This anime consisting of twenty-five episodes is divided into story arcs, each leading to a different path for Junichi as he gets involved with read more
Apr 25, 2015
highpriest2500 (All reviews)
In anime where there's a love triangle, you wish that the writers made the main character (MC) end up with the other girl. You fantasize about that story line, hoping someday the writers will give the other girl some spotlight. If you do find yourself in that position, watch Amagami SS!! You will be guaranteed that every girl gets her own story.

Amagami SS is in the omnibus format (a story format that I'm unfamiliar with) so the anime is divided into different arcs. So, as soon as one arc ends, the next arc begins as if the previous story never occurred. What's also cool is read more
Aug 18, 2016
Terkhev (All reviews)
When recommending Amagami SS I often say that single route from it is better than most full 12/24 eps romance anime. And I'm serious when I say it.

Story
At first glance nothing special. School setting, no superpowers, rivals or saving the world. It's pure high school romance. The only thing that gives this setting some individuality is, as mentioned in synopsis, protagonist's backstory of being stood up on Christmas date two years ago. Sadly, this part isn't fleshed enough and is used mostly for flashbacks that don't have as much impact on the story as they should.
What really changes Amagami story from average school romance into read more