Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Highschool of the Dead


Alternative Titles

English: High School of the Dead
Synonyms: Gakuen Mokushiroku: Highschool of the Dead, HOTD, HSOTD
Japanese: 学園黙示録 HIGHSCHOOL OF THE DEAD

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 5, 2010 to Sep 20, 2010
Premiered: Summer 2010
Broadcast: Mondays at 11:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.391 (scored by 436,564 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #20212
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #31
Members: 665,471
Favorites: 7,333

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 19, 2010
Marquis_D_Luffy (All reviews)
Preliminary
High School of the Dead is about a group of breasts trying to avoid getting eaten by zombies in whatever way possible. Tagging along with these breasts are 2 of our heroes, Kouta and Takashi. A couple pairs of breasts are even in on the action part when they're not bouncing across the screen like jello filled balloons hiding behind incomplete articles of clothing.

But in all seriousness, High School of the Dead has actually been very enjoyable overall. And I'm not a fan of fan service.

Story: Here are some breasts, here are some zombies, and here are 2 guys to enjoy and protect the breasts read more
Sep 18, 2010
Nanalilly (All reviews)
Preliminary
High School Of The Dead is a good anime. The tragedy is that it could have been a *great* anime if not for some horrible mistakes.


Let me explain. The setup is awesome. Zombie apocalypse+ a renegade group of kids + anime? It's pretty much every nerd's wet dream. Unfortunately, the writers decided to focus on the "wet" part much more than the dream.

A lot of people have been debating over HotD's overuse of fan service. Is it justified? I personally don't think so. Here you have a perfectly awesome setup for the apocalypse. People grabbing their guns, moral read more
May 17, 2014
Nerrawx (All reviews)
One could review this in a single sentence: "Why is no one having sex in this hentai anime?"

Here's the plot: In an alternate universe where the average female has breasts the size of grapefruits and all bras are made of wet paper towels, a zombie apocalypse happens. And as far as the plot goes, that about covers it. You could probably replicate it by watching The Walking Dead on mute next to a porn hub playlist.

In all seriousness, this is one of the worst anime I've ever seen. Here is one of those anime that really struggles to understand what its trying to be.The mindless read more
Nov 27, 2010
Lindle (All reviews)
Highschool of the Dead is a show that knows a very, very base demographic and knows exactly how to pander to it. It aims to please simple-minded, uniformly male teenagers with base level action and lots and lots of large, jiggling breasts. Highschool of the Dead has quickly entered into the ranks of shows extremely popular, not for being well-written or emotive, but simply for being a barrel of big, dumb fun.

The problem is... it's not very good at it.

As the name would suggest, Highschool of the Dead involves a highschool and dead things. More specifically, the series begins in a highschool and revolves around read more
Aug 9, 2010
TensaiShonen (All reviews)
After seeing the long line of reviews on HotD, I thought I'd say my piece on here to what I think is a "good" show. Not a "very good" show, not even a "great" show, but a "good" show as it is. Of course this may change should the anime continue to be as entertaining as its been so far.

Having come with no expectations, seeing as that ecchi seemed to ooze the moment you watch opening credits(something people should have noticed when they started this series), I was pleased and amused to what it had delivered.

Story - 6
Before I start I believe it my duty read more
Jul 12, 2010
neopode (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you're looking for a complex detailed anime, you're looking in the wrong direction.

I know this is based on only two episodes. However, reading all of the 9s and 10s on this show made me furious. This show is not that great. Period.

What is this show about? It's another cliched apocalyptic world, but here's the twist! It's Ecchi! Wooo. Not.

If reviewers are allow to review and praise this series after one or two episodes, I'm allowed to criticize it. Am I not? So here it goes:

The first episode opens up with an outbreak of the zombie infestation in school and the school is quickly read more
Jul 4, 2010
stevewiess01 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Wow. As I'm watching the new anime shows of Summer 2010 season one by one, it seems like each one is better than the last. Well, it looks like this one is going to be my favorite show of this summer. Basically, H.O.T.D takes place in a post-apocalyptic world filled with countless zombies. What makes this show special is that it combines just the right amount of fan-service, horror, and goriness without being too excessive to spice up the show. In fact, all the panchira-like fanservice seems very superficial and you'll be surprised at how the atmosphere is very sad, serious, and even quite touching. read more
Oct 25, 2014
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Warning: the following review contains spoilers and gratuitous amounts of pure, seething rage. Please don't be offended or take this review too seriously. I don't actually want to kill zombie fans. I just REALLY hate zombie media.

Overview:

Highschool of the Dead represents the latest in an endless string of attempts to cash in on Zombiemania. If there is one thing that makes me go blind with rage it is zombie media and the brainless IDIOTS that keep this cash train rolling. Shows, games, and movies that are decent or mediocre become "OMG da best thing EVAR!" thanks to moron zombie fans. Walking Dead is a mediocre read more
Jul 21, 2010
Edon (All reviews)
Preliminary
Zombies...

Not a genre I've seen in anime very often, when they do appear its always in some upbeat anime, Like hey heres a zombie, and a vampire, and a succubus, and they all love this kid who happened to go to a school full of monsters... not really my ideal zombie.

This anime does a great job of displaying what a zombie apocalypse should be like. In recent years zombies have been transformed into allot of things, there bugs, there virus', there aliens. I say NO, zombies are the mindless undead, HOTD accomplishes that.

Its hard to tell where this anime will go off of only 3 read more
Sep 29, 2014
Drewmeister11 (All reviews)
Highschool of the Dead is one of those shows that I find myself having to show all of my friends, but not for the reasons the creators would probably like. Simply put, this show is bad. It is bad on a rather insulting level too. What could have been an enjoyable zombie romp had to be castrated with annoying characters, stupid plot moments, inconsistent logic (even within the realm of it's own universe), unbelievable amounts of fan service, and moments that just make you scratch your head and wonder how this ever made it into production. Because it didn't just make read more
Feb 24, 2015
ZephSilver (All reviews)
Everytime I think of this title it conjures up an awful feeling in my gut. That uneasy queasiness that you get from a laughably shitty experience, which is only made worse when you realize what it contributed to the medium as a whole. Too fully grasp this feeling of comical disgust and disappointment I'll like to ask for your attention as I construct a made up story scenario.

Picture this, you're in class with your fellow students but you're the only one who watches anime as a storytelling medium. Your teacher then announces that we'll have show and tell and the subject will be different forms read more
Sep 4, 2011
Shemyaza (All reviews)
HoTD is one of those anime which fanservices are proven far more annoying than any arousing. Naked female zombies, girls' panties being reveal as they are eaten, and female zombies in one of those 'fetish costume'(eg.nurse) did not turn me on in the slightest bit(and I'm a straight guy with average hormone level) and is rather highly disturbing. The mangaka's demand on how to 'put in as many jiggly boobs and panties as much as possible' sounds sick, and yeah he still make lots of money from it.

One thing I dislike of any zombie fiction is how the story is carried out, it simply bring read more
Apr 9, 2015
lawlmartz (All reviews)
"This is the way the world ends- not with a bang, but a whimper." - TS Eliot

Preface:

Oh, Tetsuro Araki, how you've divided anime audiences since you introduced yourself to the world with Death Note, and look where we are now!
I'm going to make this plain and simple: Highschool of the Dead is boob, butt, and fanservice city. You want bouncing breasts? Check. You want upskirt shots? Check. Do The Matrix inspired scenes of fatty mammary issue jiggling and waving in slow motion like grass in the wind excite you? My friend, you have come to the right place.

(Note: I'm going to rate this read more
Jul 6, 2010
phereia (All reviews)
Preliminary
As everyone else who has reviewed so far, this is based on one episode, which isn't entirely fair. But I will try anyway since I feel the reviews so far are heavily (and unfairly) one sided for what the anime is.


If you havent seen any episodes yet then I suggest watching the opening sequence, it'll give you a pretty accurate view of what to expect the first episode: Violence, zombies, and pantyshots. Not that I didn't guess this from the poster image on this page. So I wasn't exactly surprised.

So far we've been introduced to most of the main characters, though two were read more
Aug 5, 2015
ChucriBZ (All reviews)
[b]Highschool of the Dead[/b]
This is an anime that you will love or hate and i get why people hate it for the most part and is because of the ecchiness this offers and sometimes the animation was WTF! and i agree, you could take out the ecchi elements and this would have been greater for other people and for me, this anime didn't need it, when i was watching it i thought it was ok the fanservice from the first 5 ep. and it wasn't much of what i remember, until ep. 6 i thought that, that wasn't necessary, i don't mind ecchi but i read more
Aug 13, 2013
kerk12 (All reviews)
Hello there fellow anime lover, and welcome to yet another review of the REALLY hyped anime called Highschool of the dead (or HOTD for short...). In this review I'll be pointing out why you should (or you should not) watch this, but before I start let me say one thing: If you don't like high-end ecchi animes then this series is NOT for you. That said, let's get on with it.

HOTD is yet another one of Japan's attempts to take on the "zombie fighting" scene, this time following six survivors as they try to... well... survive through the apocalypse. Does it remind you of something? read more
Aug 24, 2010
Shin_85 (All reviews)
Preliminary
An anime about zombies with lots of fan-service thrown in.

Firstly I should point out that I'm not the biggest fan of fan-service animes however I am a huge fan of zombie films and generally all things dead but living.

High school of the Dead follows a group of high school students and their attempt to survive the sudden worldwide zombie apocalypse. The anime has been faithful to the manga which is always a plus in my eyes however it seems almost too faithful at times, as there has clearly been a lot of effort made to ensure that each episode of the anime covers exactly read more
May 5, 2013
ArchStanton (All reviews)
Fan Service and zombies. That's all this show is. So I suppose that any review has to cover both of them. Ladies first I guess.

The opening titles alone has a dozen crotch and boob shots. None of them serve any purpose. Throughout the show you are constantly plastered with this given the slightest opportunity. Or even when they have to create an opportunity. The number of dialogue scenes where the camera slowly goes down to focus on their panties averages out to at least two an episode. Probably more. The worst episode by far is episode six. In it the girls all bathe together, with read more
Apr 28, 2016
Yuni (All reviews)
I FOUND IT! THE PINNACLE OF ANIME ITSELF!

What sells? Gore? Fanservice? Well, why not both? *queue the latino music*

Highschool of the Dead is the epitome of the anime community! It's got everything that makes a great anime great, like otaku pandering, boobs, gore, boobs, ass, matrix boobs, guns, tsunderes, and a lot of tits! It's a show that knows its audience and has become stupidly popular as a result, and you know that saying right? If it's popular, then it's good! Highschool of the Dead is popular. Thus, Highschool of the Dead is a fucking masterpiece, correct?

First things first, the premise is absolutely amazing! Not read more
Jul 22, 2014
FoxPrincess (All reviews)
Highschool of the Dead is based at the beginning of the zombie apocalypse, centered around the lives of five teenagers, a teacher and a small child - accompanied by her dog - in their quest to find their families.
The plot/story-line provided a good basis for the anime itself, giving many different directions to be taken and to keep the anime ongoing for several series. However, it quickly becomes clear that the story-line, while still obvious and in play, appears to fade into the background in a few episodes, the idea of teenage drama taking over. Yet, the plotline is a constant and this is a read more