Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Toaru Kagaku no Railgun


Alternative Titles

English: A Certain Scientific Railgun
Synonyms: Toaru Kagaku no Choudenjihou
Japanese: とある科学の超電磁砲

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2009 to Mar 20, 2010
Premiered: Fall 2009
Broadcast: Saturdays at 01:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.791 (scored by 168,282 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9462
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #260
Members: 354,722
Favorites: 4,033

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 31, 2010
Archaeon (All reviews)
If ever there was a word in visual media that the general public immediately distrusted, it's "spinoff". Experience has proven to many that a show, comic or novel that is derivative of a popular series is rarely as good as the original work, and the DVD bargain basement is littered with titles that were designed with one thing in mind - to cash in on the original work's popularity due to the lack of a valid sequel. Shows like Crusade (Babylon 5), Joey (Friends), Highlander: The TV series, Robocop: The TV series, the horrendous Baywatch titles, and a horde of others all attempted to milk read more
Mar 19, 2010
Spookt (All reviews)
Are the burdens of being special greater or lesser than the burdens of being ordinary?

Academy City is a city that thrives on those who are espers -- who are special -- whether they already have powers or are trying to attain them. Everyone is reaching towards their ideal self, but some people don’t care what methods get used. The pursuit of the “next level” is absolute. If our limitations only exist so we can surpass them, should there be a limit to how far we can go to get there?

Toaru Kagaku no Railgun, or A Certain Scientific Railgun, follows the events around Misaka Mikoto read more
Sep 5, 2015
bolito566 (All reviews)
To Aru Kagaku no Railgun is a show that I was pretty hyped to start watching after ending Majutsu no Index, as I thought it would be cool to get some insight on Misaka's life as a Level 5 and get to know better the world the esper's live in. What I got was nothing like that, at all.

The story is nothing new. At all. There are people who can use powers and this time a whole city is there to develop these. Even though everyone's already full of that premise, doesn't mean you don't have to explain the world build, writers. We only got read more
Jan 4, 2015
Quan_ (All reviews)
[Adapted From Original Blog Post]

You know, I'm always down for an average anime series. Yes, I admit I have high standards, very few anime even reach an 8 out of 10 for me, but I have absolutely no problem sitting down and watching a show I have every inclination will be just "kind of alright". It makes me feel like I get a bigger scope of things in the anime world when I watch these shows, so that includes watching those anime that have made it onto my Plan to Watch list for the sole purpose that for some reason, they have been able to read more
Apr 14, 2013
AfroOtaku917 (All reviews)
Back in January, I watched a just licensed anime called "A Certain Magical Index". Which I thought was a pretty good show that was worth watching, with it's interesting world and likable characters, though at times it got too complicated and hard to follow at times. Though what made it worth watching was the secondary character, Mikoto Misaka. In a sea of basic stock anime characters, she was the most interesting out of them. Plus, watching her made me want to see more of this character, including her friend, Kuroko Shirai. But seeing how she was popular enough to get her own spin-off, I'm not read more
Dec 13, 2018
TakamakiJoker (All reviews)
This review will cover both seasons of A Certain Scientific Railgun.

“You use other people’s power as an excuse for your own weakness. There’s almost nothing more pathetic than that.” – Kuroko Shirai.

Anime spin-offs to well-known series are a tricky beast to execute. On one hand, anime spin-off can take all the things that the original series established and expand it by bringing in new concepts and ideas to the table aka Digimon Tamers. On the other hand, they could run the high risk of repeating the same mistakes that set original show made or even make worse ones in the progress cough Soul Eater Not. Thankfully A Certain Scientific Railgun least, for read more
Apr 3, 2010
mastertek (All reviews)
To be honest I don't find this show worth watching at all..
The abilities granted to characters are mostly random, lack any sense of logic, and don't contribute to the story at all, which is already weak.

Every episode, something goes wrong so that the esper team has to deal with. But since the arc of the Strip Lady who tried to save the her Error Children, it's always the protagonist Railgun that has to reap what she sows, handling problems one after another created by fault of her own immaturity, naivety, etc. (I want to say stupidity)

Overall, all characters are weak in all ways, childish, read more
Mar 12, 2014
Marthgun (All reviews)
I thought i'd write a review for the guys out there that have watched the parent story Index.

I was 100% sure i would never watch this, it looked like a little girls show, and I wasn't wrong. I was pretty bummed there was no news for a third season of Index, so I thought I'd give this a go and test the waters.

If you liked Index, you're almost sure to like this. I got caught up in the clean lines and perfect pacing all too quickly. Something about this anime series speaks to me, and just like Index, a show I also read more
Nov 8, 2014
DreamingLily (All reviews)
When it comes to anime in general, more than often is there a tendency to get turned off by the words "spin-off". This is especially true when it involves taking an intense, action packed parent story and drawing from it a spin-off that is mostly about a group of cute girls doing cute things. After completing Index two years ago, I was all pumped and ready to get into Railgun, but I never really did that until now. I for one, was really attached to the characters of the parent story at that point, and it bothered me that we would not get to see read more
Nov 25, 2009
RKO48 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Even though I just watched this anime until episode 7 at this time, but I really like it. It's a really fun anime. Very funny and sometimes can be touching too. I really enjoy watching it. The main characters are awesome and very lovable, especially Misaka-sama ^^
The OP and ED are awesome too.
A must watch anime for everyone!
Jul 3, 2010
Rampant (All reviews)
Preliminary
The manga storyline was very slightly, and I do mean very, intriguing, and since the anime is rated so highly, I decided to give it a chance and hope the animation would not be the typical fake glossy stuff we get now, the voice acting would not be shrill typical moe quality, and that the promised added details and stories would be interesting. Unfortunately, every one of those hopes was failed.

First of all, the art and animation is mostly terrible. Sure some of the movement is "slick", but the animation is always glossy, the character art is as bad as you would expect from the read more
Sep 9, 2011
sandarikka (All reviews)
Preliminary
After watching both seasons of Toaru Majutsu no Index, reading all 25 light novels, and catching up to date with Index's manga, I turned to Railgun in the hopes of seeing something with a great plot and great characters - and was disappointed.
As a person who watching Toaru Kagaku no Railgun's parent story Index first, I understand that my review might be biased and compare the two a little too much. I loved Index - the story, the characters, the music - and since Mikoto was one of my favourite characters, I had high hopes of Railgun being an entertaining story full of scientific read more
Apr 1, 2010
Haak (All reviews)
Let me start off by getting the more controversial stuff out of the way first: This is going to piss a lot of people off, but...I honestly liked Majutsu more than Railgun. The thing I liked about the ToAruVerse was this whole dark mystery surrounding the Magic world. I honestly didn't care much for the Science side. Touma didn't nearly come across as annoying to me as he did with most people, and I just loved the priceless comedy associated with his misfortune. Whilst there was plenty to lol about in Railgun (most of the comedy coming from Kuroko), the comedy wasn't as funny to read more
Sep 13, 2013
ZeroReq011 (All reviews)
A day at school, and an evening and afternoon after. Plus esper powers. Restaurants, shops, festivals. And esper powers. Social meetings with fellow students, window shopping at malls and boutiques, and leisurely walks through recreational and urban fare. Esper powers. All of it possible in Academy City, the technological capital, marvel, and envy of the world, where there is hardly a dull moment. All of it possible for Mikoto Misaka and her friends. All of it, and some extra baggage.

A Certain Scientific Railgun is a J.C. Staff (of Shakugan no Shana, Shigofumi, and Toradora! fame) anime adaptation of a manga of the same name conceived read more
Mar 20, 2010
KatayokuTsuneki (All reviews)
This will be my first review here, so beforehand I’m sorry for my bad English, incompetence and stuff.

Once upon a time I was looking for some Shana-like sci-fi action and this is how I got my hands on Toaru Majutsu no Index. It has cool setting so I like that show. Then Toaru Kagaku no Railgun came which I was looking forward to. Indeed, the same setting, more Misaka and no Index, who I think was annoying sometimes; so yeah, that’d be great series, it seemed.

Now I can tell you what, Railgun’s not great. Well, it’s not bad either, it’s pretty much average show about read more
Mar 20, 2010
Splitter (All reviews)
Railgun is one of those rare shows that I'm willing to rate on just enjoyment alone. That's not to say things like story and characters aren't important, but Railgun doesn't particularly win you over with any of those. This is popcorn fare through and through, but the characters are so likable and the effort is showing at every turn, that even I can't turn my nose up to Misaka and her merry friends.

This is saying a lot because for the most part, I can turn my nose up to Index if I want to. It certainly wasn't a bad show, but as I said in read more
Apr 16, 2016
-Heika (All reviews)
Preliminary
To be honest, I only watched this because I lost a bet with my friend. She was really obsessed with this anime, so I gave it a go.

I almost puked. Okay, well maybe I'm exaggerating, but it did make me feel nauseous.

Story: 1
There isn't one.
Every episode, some small crime happens, and Misaka & company take down thugs who are wimps. EVERY EPISODE.
They try to make the action scenes look cool, but it just looks lame. There isn't much of a challenge-- An OP girl vs. A weak thug who just stole some money.

Art: 5
Just your typical anime art-- big read more
Apr 17, 2012
mlmatlowe0 (All reviews)
This anime's name is tremendously long, therefore I'm gonna refer to it as 'railgun' from now on.

Having watched To aru majutsu no index and enjoyed it, I went into this with relatively high expectations, especially considering how likeable Mikoto is in Index.
Unfortunately, like that neighbour who you always thought was a nice person but who'd actually been poisoning your plants these last few years and leaving dog shit on your doorstep, Mikoto is not all she seems, or perhaps she was in index and they just wanted to create a character who could out-self righteous the main character from index (to the point that read more
Feb 8, 2018
ap1001 (All reviews)
Emmmmmmmmmmmm, friendship and camaraderie are good and all, but are you sure you are not using the wrong series to do it Nagai?

So Railgun S1, what to say about it, the fact Nagai butchered Kamachi's script?
The fact Nagai portrayed the series wrong?
The fact the anime can be considered non-canon because how much it conflicts with Kamachi?
Or the fact that the theme Nagai is advertising is horribly incompatible?

When you are doing an adaptation, you can change insignificant details but the core should remain the same. But with Nagai, the core is completely changed.

Nagai failed to understand how academy city is, especially shown with his villain, Therestina. read more
Jan 17, 2010
kenjinsakura (All reviews)
Preliminary
Good art, music, and easily likable characters make up for a weak story in this lighthearted comedy.

"Railgun" starts out as an easygong anime with little semblance of a plot. However, this was not a bad thing as each story is interesting on its own. Well drawn visuals and characters make it quite a good watch. Also, both ending and opening songs are worth listening to.

The problem starts when some story development starts, which could have been executed better. In fact it may have been better if it was left out and the anime had kept to its comedic style.

Despite its one major weakness, Railgun read more