Sword Art Online: Alicization - War of Underworld 2nd Season


Sword Art Online Alicization War of Underworld Part 2

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Sword Art Online Alicization War of Underworld Part 2
Synonyms: Sword Art Online: Alicization 3rd Season, Sword Art Online III 3rd Season, SAO Alicization 3rd Season, Sword Art Online 3 3rd Season, SAO 3 3rd Season, SAO III 3rd Season, Sword Art Online: Alicization - War of Underworld - The Last Season
Japanese: ソードアート・オンライン アリシゼーション War of Underworld

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 12, 2020 to Sep 20, 2020
Premiered: Summer 2020
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Light novel
Genres: ActionAction, GameGame, AdventureAdventure, RomanceRomance, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.431 (scored by 200600200,600 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #18302
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #395
Members: 380,070
Favorites: 2,413
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 25, 2020
RebelPanda (All reviews)
“Jesus shall come again in glory to judge the living and the dead; and his kingdom shall have no end."
-Corinthians 15:23

I used to be an atheist until I watched Sword Art Online: Alicization: War of Underworld Part 2. History has proven Jesus was a real man, but the second coming of Christ was merely a myth to me. I never truly believed Christ would return from the heavens to liberate us… until now. Reki Kawahara has created the final chapter of the Bible. This tale rivals Shakespeare, Dante’s Divine Comedy, and The Odyssea. It is the most spectacular writing I have seen in the read more
Sep 19, 2020
Pipe (All reviews)
SAO's franchise has always been full of disapproval babbles between the anime fans, we can look that in the continue hate and rants that we can find in every place. However, even if it is hard to accept for several fans, the light novel is considered the best of Japan's decade, where it matters. One of the arcs from that light novel is titled Alicization that concludes with these eleven episodes and that for me, it is probable the best part of SAO's plot until this date leaving aside the new arc (Unital Ring) that is being published right now.

The story follows the read more
Sep 19, 2020
Stark700 (All reviews)
Sword Art Online’s Alicization arc has been one of the most complex and gratifying storytelling in its franchise history. From the depths of the underworld, we are thrown into a labyrinth of conspiracies. As a matter of fact, this arc has been so complex that it had to be told in multiple parts to explore its story at its full potential.

From the first episode titled “The War of Underworld”, part 2 immediately jumps into the chaos with characters we were familiar with from the previous seasons. In this case, we are reintroduced to Sinon, Leafa, Klein, Lisbeth, Silica, and among others as they make read more
Sep 19, 2020
Neo_oeN (All reviews)
A little story on how Sword Art Online started. Reki Kawahara written SAO in Fall 2001 to participate in the 9th Dengeki Novel Prize, but he exceeded the page limit. According to him, he had no idea or will to trim it down, so he end up forfeiting and instead published it online. This manuscript he wanted to use to take part on the competition is the very known first arc "Aincrad arc", a death game story that take place in a floating castle inside a Virtual World, because of continues support from readers he wrote the sequels arcs and spinoffs. SAO was later published read more
Aug 1, 2020
MonkeyDLuffy123 (All reviews)
Preliminary
The SAO franchise has always been filled with conflict. The combination of amazing sound and animation and poor writing has divided the community. I always had an affinity with SAO in part due to it being one of the first isekai ( not including .hack). SAO opened the industry to the isekai era due to its success. SAO started off strong, set up definitive goals and introduced characters that develop and progress throughout the series. That is until ep 5 where they trashed everything. So stick around and ill try to explain my love / hate relationship with Sword Art Online: Alicization and the series read more
Aug 1, 2020
Captain_1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
A really good start so far, it continues there where part 1 of season 3 left off, so you know what to expect.

Animation quality and sound is gorgeous, as in the previous seasons.
The great OST is the greatest strength of SAO, along with the beautiful art design and animation.

Even the first episode already had this really epic moment, I am speaking of the fight at the end of course. The music which kicked in made the clash of one of the two strongest characters in SAO even more intense.

Also we have Alice in here, my favorite character of SAO, just her design literally screems badass.

The read more
Sep 19, 2020
Watame (All reviews)
Something to Think of
‘Destroy my world? Then what about you, people on the other side? Are you aware of the fact that your world was created by a higher power, and you strive to do only what would please those with higher authority, so they will not reset your world, as well? Of course, you do not. After all, they would create a world, and life for fun, and then erase it all when they have no more use for it. What gives you the right to criticize my choices? Well, I REFUSE! I will not pander to those, who fancy themselves Gods of Creation, read more
Aug 1, 2020
whalien55 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I never even considered making an animelist acc, but seeing how god awful this show is triggered me into signing up so I could review it.

Where to begin?
*SLIGHT SPOILERS*

Overwhelming fan service:

So the first episode starts off with a bang in true SAO style: Tentacle rape. If you compare the audio from a rape hentai and a SAO episode, you wouldn't know which one was which. Half of this season is literally Asuna and the rest of the big titted, no personality cast screaming 'yamete' and crying. Every episode has at least 5 minutes of that moaning, cringeworthy bs, so look forward to that. read more
Sep 19, 2020
SunlitSonata (All reviews)
(Note: This review covers both seasons of SAO War of Underworld, and also contains spoilers for Samurai Jack Season 5)
 
The end of the nine volume “epic” Alicization, the end of SAO’s original web novel, and the last of the original flawed sect. While SAO rants have been done to death on the problematic issues, including from me, I want to structure this review in a slightly different way. War of the Underworld positions itself as the end all be all of everything the series has culminated towards for nearly a decade, and it has the presentation to potentially make it an impressive achievement, but not read more
Sep 19, 2020
YeeYeeAss (All reviews)
So, finally the Alicization arc has finished. It took some time but it was entertaining and way better than previous seasons also it was the longest. It took 3 seasons for gods sake. It had some pretty epic fights that gave me chills, some good animation and cool characters.

Story: As a whole; It was okay, a lot of things happened after Kirito got poisoned but I don't understand how putting him in to a VR world fixes anything. Sure time moves faster but I don't know how it cures poison, that never got addressed or maybe I just missed something. Here we saw the end read more
Sep 5, 2020
Inorichi (All reviews)
Preliminary
Unfortunately, A-1 is continues to fail to live up to their Ordinal Scale success with WOU P2. Both the art quality and direction have been dropping since the beginning of Alicization and ironically, the reviews for this anime are equally as bad, with the top review claiming to have seen all 11 episodes before the 4th ep even aired or praising the art/animation as the only thing of merit when it's clear that there's been a significant drop in quality.

Story: 6/10
War of Underworld continues to get butchered by poor decisions leading to the audience lacking a clear understanding as to what's going on. Major issues read more
Sep 19, 2020
Darumyro (All reviews)
For the final of Alicization, a lot of things must happen and be explained. Everything needs a conclusion that will make sense for the plot. SAO War of Underworld Part 2 takes this in consideration and expands some facts that probably will reappear in the sequel anime when he premieres someday.

- STORY - After all that happens in Underworld, finally some basic questions receive answers, connecting fragments of lines spoken in several episodes along the 3 seasons. Nonsense of some concepts are better explained, and script holes are filled with convincing facts or protagonism. Also, some cliffhangers left in the final episode probably will read more
Sep 19, 2020
Dukino (All reviews)
Thus brings the Alicization anime to a close. Wow. That's sums it up on it a single word well in my mind. Wow. Seeing this arc animated has bean something to savior these past two years. The greatest of SAO shown to the world finally complete. There's so much to dive into about all I love with this arc. Number one has to be Alice. We saw it in the finale here culminating her struggle with adapting to this new real world. Alice is definitely my favorite character in Alicization. A fully realized human as human gets artificial intelligence. But with such a soul that's read more
Aug 14, 2020
JustAJamSandwich (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sword Art Online Alicization comes to its final season with its characters fighting for their lives and discovering their new identity, and returning old characters to bring Kirito back and disclosing the war. The Alicization Arc comes across to me as a reboot of Sword Art Online with a new story, new characters and a new world with the simliar vibe of SAO orginal world.

Disclaimer, this is a personal review so sorry if I offend anyone or got something wrong. I also havent read the light novel so this is fresh to me. Right off the bat, I'm giving a 7, a good overall. read more
Aug 26, 2020
Markio_yeagar (All reviews)
Preliminary
At this point SAO, has made a place in the hearts of everyone that it is good(popcorn anime) and is not gonna stop and I personally don't mind.

This season SAOWoU2 is the end of the Alicization Arc and ends in the most SAO way with Kirito overcoming some personal depression and destroying verone in his path to add Alice to his harem girls group. As usual, I am still surprised at hoe good SAO's animations are and the sounds are really good with the animations. So, if you wanna chill and watch some good mindless anime, just watch this.

PS: Can't wait for the next read more
Sep 19, 2020
DeltaLight (All reviews)
This adaptation is just perfect. The perfect "ending" to a now legendary series. Some of the things that happened this season are definitely top tier, like the animations (the best I've ever seen in an Anime), the ost (I consider it the best after SnK's) and the visual effects.

Overall, I don't feel like giving a rating lower than 10 because I couldn't find any flaws other than a little stupid thing in episode 9 (21). Basically the anime has taken the liberty of letting a robot use the incarnation in the real world xD

Overall I would say:

Animations: 10

Ost: 10

Drawings: 9

Visual Effects: 9

Characters: 8

Plot: 8

Enjoiment: 10

Overall: read more
Sep 19, 2020
aresendez88 (All reviews)
This second act of War of the Underworld delivers sincerely spectacular animation and sound design.

The story gets really hit or miss in places, and there's a lingering issue of the anime adaptation not doing a great job of explaining how "Incarnation" works which leads to some confusion about where all of the power spikes come from during the action scenes.

If you're already a fan of Sword Art, then this finale of the Alicization arc delivers on great action so it will definitely be enjoyable for you. If you're not a fan of Sword Art but are still watching it for some reason 4 read more
Sep 19, 2020
Shingster (All reviews)
Please note this review is intended to be read by those that have finished watching Sword Art Online Alicization and while care has been taken to minimize spoilers there may still be spoilers present. Proceed at your own risk.

Please note while Sword Art Online Alicization has been divided into four cours as outlined by A1 pictures the four cours collectively represent the Alicization story arc as a whole. As a result, rather than create separate reviews for the different cours this review will instead cover the events and development that the cast experienced as they fought through the events of the four respective cours. read more
Aug 19, 2020
Ventus_S (All reviews)
Preliminary
SAO is no stranger to heavy plot armour , cheap characterization, one-note evil villains, irrational plot, and this season 3 pretty much sums up everything bad about SAO and put it into one whole season. Somehow episode 6 is the embodiment of all the worst elements of SAO.

Let's ignore the appalling and totally out of place tentacle rape from the very first episode and move on just to the story element of SAO S3.

SAO takes the route of typical shonen powerup system, aka. power of friendship/ power of love, but executes them in the most generic , uncreative, boring, cliche, unbearable way possible.
The problem is read more
Aug 16, 2020
Zerockman (All reviews)
Preliminary
*SPOILERS AHEAD*

Sword Art Online is not good, I don't think it ever was. It's funny because a few years ago when I first started watching anime I loved SAO, probably because it was one of my first anime and I didn't have much to compare it with. But when Alicization came out my opinion towards SAO changed a lot. All the novel readers were hyping the series up as the "best SAO season to date" and that it would "change the minds of the haters". Obviously that's not the case.

I think this season of SAO is probably the worst one yet, or maybe this is read more