Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Sword Art Online: Alicization - War of Underworld


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Sword Art Online: Alicization 2nd Season, Sword Art Online III 2nd Season, SAO Alicization 2nd Season, Sword Art Online 3 2nd Season, SAO 3 2nd Season
Japanese: ソードアート・オンライン アリシゼーション War of Underworld

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Oct 13, 2019 to ?
Premiered: Fall 2019
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.891 (scored by 19,292 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7272
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #693
Members: 157,460
Favorites: 1,285

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Nov 2, 2019
benjia279 (All reviews)
Story: 1
Won't go too into detail so that I won't spoil the garbage. That being said, so far, the story is a disgrace to anime viewers. If the stories of the previous SAO seasons felt as if an edgy teen made it up, this one is way worse. It's as if the edgy teen lost their sanity and wrote whatever bs they could think of. A lot of wasted potential because of the story.

Character: 1
Same as story, absolute garbage. I was hoping for some better character development, but the character backstories for this arc so far is so demented and unimaginable that its disgusting. As read more
Nov 9, 2019
Superns18 (All reviews)

SAO is a series that for some reason, a loud minority of westerners love to hate on despite it being one of the most successful media franchises in Japan(where it matters). Alicization as an arc, particularly the second half (war of underworld) fixes a lot of the issues that loud minority have with the series and with the story.

Alicization War of Underworld is by far the best installation of SAO to date. There was never any doubt in my mind that it would be, having read the LN. After the events of the end of Alicization, Kirito is left incapacitated and in the care of read more
Nov 2, 2019
trivia_lover (All reviews)
[THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS]

Disclaimer: I don't hate SAO, but I am not a fan of this adaptation.

Have you ever watched an anime in which, before they play the opening, they show a short clip before the episode? Whether they were supposed to recap or to set the mood, I never really liked these. This new season's episodes remind me of these shorts.

Without a doubt, one of the major flaws of this season is the pacing. What could have been covered in one episode is stretched out into two. What the studio doesn't seem to understand is that an episode is supposed to advance the plot read more
Nov 2, 2019
Moe_VII (All reviews)
Four episodes in and the story is already not making any sense, and yes, I have watched Alicization and even that is better compared to what we've gotten in the past 4 episodes of this, this is slated to be 12 episodes? Well that's a surprise, but a good one because it's not faring well so far.

The story is summarized by bad guy tries to take Alice cause she's the building blocks of the entire VR world they are in apparently. Though it all falls apart now that we know that the bad guy is absolutely insane. Think of all previous SAO baddies up till read more
Nov 9, 2019
EiTaNBaRiBoA (All reviews)
All the negative reviews don't understand what makes a good Anime but only complain and rate all animes 1 star.
I will explain why this is a good anime.

Story: No sjw or "non violance". Animes used to show true Nature and feelings of the humans but modern animes go for "Non violence" or white males war only which makes the show predictable and BORING.
people aren't peaceful so showing 100 episodes of a single fight where the loser only has a sad face and the winner has a smile is called a garbage anime. In SAO True nature where violence and Horror things people in "Real Life" read more
Nov 3, 2019
TekLing (All reviews)
When I watch an SAO series, I usually try not to expect much from it. When you have SAO, I usually just watch it for the world-building and the interesting concepts. Things like characters or story, I try to pass on some of the less glaring confusing plotholes.

For the good things about the show. I find it very interesting the concepts with the fluctlight and the VR dive technology. I think most of us wouldn't mind a summer vacation there, minus all the anime dangers. Alice is also a more decent character, with her origin and care for Kirito, you have to appreciate her.

However, read more
Nov 9, 2019
IMG95_SDN (All reviews)
At the beginning if you are the one who hate SAO for no reason , don't waste your time reading my review ..
i'm someone who watched more than 700 series for over than 15 year, so i will give my impression on this season without personal effect , Read it with a calm mind ,,

I'm reading many negative reviews about this series from many ppls here but they missed many important points the gives this show its enjoyment ..
Let's go down to the details , at first i will give my ratings:
*Summary*
Story 8/10
Art 9/10
Sound 8/10
Character 9/10
Enjoyment 10/10
Overall 9/10
...........................................

Story 8/10 :
*Story* the story read more
Nov 11, 2019
amaliaintan (All reviews)
This is my first review about anime, pardon me for my bad English
I choose this one to be my first because i followed this series from the beginning

First, let's start from the story. We can see from the first episode the continue of the series. Truly when i watched it, i think that i'm going to cry because i remember Eugeo's death. I'm so touched and sad with the Kirito's condition. So, i give 8,5 to 9 for the story because it's almost completely same with the novel, but still there is a lot scene that has been skip.

Second, the art. I think that A-1 read more
Nov 3, 2019
SpookySpoks (All reviews)
Story : 1
This is one of the worst, the earlier SAO parts were too pushy on being eDgY but this takes the spot, it's not different. And without getting into spoil territory ill just say we all know how its gonna end.

Art & Sound : 8
SAO has always had really good Art and Sound production, whether or not it's it's high budget or not doesn't matter. The OPS and EDS are great and really are the only thing letting me still watch this, The Art work is on top but there are already some really bad CGI moments, Enough to make you look at them read more
Nov 11, 2019
Tekkiden (All reviews)
I should probably start this review off by letting you guys know that, in general, I am completely neutral to SAO; I don't hype it up for more than it's actually worth, neither do I bash it unnecessarily since that seems to be sort of a trend these days (both the mindless hyping and the mindless bashing). The best analogy I can think of for SAO is a roller-coaster: it hooks you at the very start with its interesting premise, lovely soundtracks, and beautiful designs; it gradually eases you upward, satisfying you little-by-little, but once you reach the top everything else is just downhill from read more