Sword Art Online: Alicization - War of Underworld


Sword Art Online Alicization War of Underworld

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Sword Art Online Alicization War of Underworld
Synonyms: Sword Art Online: Alicization 2nd Season, Sword Art Online III 2nd Season, SAO Alicization 2nd Season, Sword Art Online 3 2nd Season, SAO 3 2nd Season, SAO III 2nd Season
Japanese: ソードアート・オンライン アリシゼーション War of Underworld

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 13, 2019 to Dec 29, 2019
Premiered: Fall 2019
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Light novel
Genres: ActionAction, GameGame, AdventureAdventure, RomanceRomance, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.681 (scored by 193009193,009 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #10692
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #332
Members: 368,532
Favorites: 4,090
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 28, 2019
Pipe (All reviews)
The world of SAO's lit is already so jam-packed with Kirito and Asuna providing enjoyable moments that it's unimaginable we'd need any more of them. How many of the anime fans hate SAO and its story? The weird surprise of Sword Art Online: Alicization - War of Underworld it gives the possibility to a more creative story and to other characters to shine, leaving zombie Kirito as a secondary character. I know this already happened on the "Mother's Rosario" arc when other characters were allowed to take the lead. However, this time I think the author handled it better, and for that reason, Alice's growth read more
Dec 31, 2019
-Pharos- (All reviews)
"THIS REVIEW IS SPOILER-FREE"

Isekai has always been one of the most iconic genres in terms of popularity among anime. However, and unsurprisingly, not many of its shows are actually held at the same regard as those from other genres.

The question for this truth ahead came into existence long ago, but still, yet to be answered. Is it because Isekai shows are always labelled with concepts of “trashy, childish and impractical series”, or are they too familiar to viewers in recent years and therefore are not capable of differenciating themselves from others?

Several shows are introduced every year, each portrays an aspect of the genre in its read more
Nov 9, 2019
IMG95_SDN (All reviews)
Preliminary
At the beginning if you are the one who hate SAO for no reason , don't waste your time reading my review ..
i'm someone who watched more than 700 series for over than 15 year, so i will give my impression on this season without personal effect , Read it with a calm mind ,,

I'm reading many negative reviews about this series from many ppls here but they missed many important points the gives this show its enjoyment ..
Let's go down to the details , at first i will give my ratings:
*Summary*
Story 8/10
Art 9/10
Sound 8/10
Character 9/10
Enjoyment 10/10
Overall 9/10
...........................................

Story 8/10 :
*Story* the story read more
Jan 3, 2020
RebelPanda (All reviews)
War of the Underworld is exactly what people mean when they say “Look pretty and do as little as possible.”

There is sakuga in every episode, the artwork is vibrant, and the fight choreography is better than ever. As for the writing, it is hasn’t improved much over Sword Art Online’s previous seasons. Where the narrative shines is its premise: The underworld is a hellish land cloaked in a warm aura radiating from the blood-red sky. Flatter than an ocean, it is a wasteland populated with no vegetation as far as the eye can see. Divided by a valley of stone are humans on one side read more
Dec 28, 2019
Inferno792 (All reviews)
Sword Art Online finally delivered. After years of mediocrity that’s polarized opinions: one faction in support of the apparently “different take” of Sword Art Online while the other pointing out the definite flaws in the series, one of the most popular anime franchises has lived up to the hype. I was a part of the latter faction for much of the time since the series blasted its way to popularity in 2012. And there were reasons for this: the series started off okay in the first half of Sword Art Online, but then fell off as it used sexualization to evoke tension and rushed through read more
Dec 28, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
Remember when Kirito, the main protagonist of Sword Art Online jumped into the virtual world and made a name for himself as the ‘Black Swordsman’? Since 2012, his name would become iconic in the SAO anime series' franchise. Anyone who have heard of Sword Art Online would be able to name him as a character, even those has never seen the series before. Now, we are in a timeline, an arc detailing events that doesn’t have Kirito carrying the season. Instead, meet Alice Zuberg.

Anyone already familiar with SAO should know the franchise has no shortage of powerful female main characters. From Asuna to Yuki, they read more
Nov 9, 2019
EiTaNBaRiBoA (All reviews)
Preliminary
All the negative reviews don't understand what makes a good Anime but only complain and rate all animes 1 star.
I will explain why this is a good anime.

Story: No sjw or "non violance". Animes used to show true Nature and feelings of the humans but modern animes go for "Non violence" or white males war only which makes the show predictable and BORING.
people aren't peaceful so showing 100 episodes of a single fight where the loser only has a sad face and the winner has a smile is called a garbage anime. In SAO True nature where violence and Horror things people in "Real Life" read more
Dec 28, 2019
Syureria (All reviews)
War taking place in the underworld has begin. As we know, Kirito is currently paralyzed by an attack that occurred in the previous season. Now Kirito is cared for and lives with Alice, after they defeated the leader of the axiom church, Quinella, who we know as "administrator". Their lives initially proceeded as usual, but all that changed when residents of the "dark territories" rebelled and attacked the underworld.

At this point Kirito as the main character could not do anything, he was required to accept the bitter truth that what they had protected so far would be destroyed soon. This season read more
Nov 2, 2019
Moe_VII (All reviews)
Preliminary
Four episodes in and the story is already not making any sense, and yes, I have watched Alicization and even that is better compared to what we've gotten in the past 4 episodes of this, this is slated to be 12 episodes? Well that's a surprise, but a good one because it's not faring well so far.

The story is summarized by bad guy tries to take Alice cause she's the building blocks of the entire VR world they are in apparently. Though it all falls apart now that we know that the bad guy is absolutely insane. Think of all previous SAO baddies up till read more
Dec 28, 2019
Mullerio (All reviews)
"SAO is finally a good show" - general audiences after this season

So far SAO is a bad series not that no one could enjoy it, its just badly written. I still somewhat enjoyed it for its silly moments and had my fair share of fun watching it. Sword Art Online Alicization - War of Underworld tho is by many people regarded as the Season were SAO finally gets good. Well i disagree a whole lot with that statement and here is why.

Its time to beat a dead horse i guess.

I will maybe write some things some say are spoilers so here is read more
Dec 28, 2019
WaifuMaster17 (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS!

Here is it,the long-awaited Part 2 of Alicization arc,Sword Art Online War of Underworld.
Sword Art Online anime series are real phenomenon. They are hugely successful not only in Japan,but in international anime community. It's popularized light novels that it's were based on,selling 22-23 million copies worldwide and becoming light novel of this decade.
However,despite the huge commercial success and praise from many fans who loved and enjoyed those series,it's been heavily criticized because of flaws in plot's and character writings, Developments and moments haters consider ''too edgy'' or ''too stupid''.

Now,let's talk about War Of Underworld,the part 2 of Season 3.

Story: ??/10

I only finished read more
Nov 23, 2019
thatscaryberry (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's getting hard to even 'hate-watch it'. Basically, the pacing is pretty bad, the show still looks not great (it's almost starting to look dated since the mediocre 2012 art style hasn't changed in 7 years), the sound is fine I guess, the characters are all predictable and BLAND ( I never liked any of the characters in this show and these new characters are somehow more 'I wanna suck Kirito's knob' than the previous ones), and the show is hard to enjoy when the pacing comes to a crawl with battles about people I don't give a flying shit about against CGI armies.
Dec 31, 2019
MyTurn (All reviews)
To be honest I've always been a fan of SAO. The amount of hate the series receives always annoyed me but I'm happy to see this season getting more positive reviews.

Story (9) - The story follows the progression of technology, more specifically virtual reality. One thing I enjoy about this is how in depth it goes especially in this season. It feels more like another world than a game with the main character now being Alice in a position where all she knew was a lie yet decides to fight alongside the other integrity knights from the forces of the Dark Territory to protect the read more
Dec 28, 2019
Epic_Gilgamesh (All reviews)
As 2019 comes to an end and we prepare ourselves to welcome in a new decade, I write this review as a testament to where I feel one of my favorite anime franchises of this decade now stands.

Sword Art Online has always been a popular light novel and anime franchise that dominated the 2010's. However, despite its success and long-standing popularity, there's no denying that there's always been that certain vocal minority that always feels the need to criticize Sword Art Online on a 24/7 basis. Whether it be normal viewers who have or haven't watched the series or some anime reviewers that always feel read more
Nov 16, 2019
galaxiies (All reviews)
Preliminary
SAO was my first anime series that actually got me into anime. I was in a hotel with my brother and the rest of my family as he was looking at colleges, and I was scrolling through Netflix and decided I should try watching anime. I looked through the ones on Netflix and SAO stuck out to me. I decided to start watching, and that's when I got into the rabbit hole of anime. Ever since then, I found more anime that I liked to watch and j-pop music to listen to, all because of SAO. War of Underworld for me has been a step read more
May 6, 2020
Superyio123 (All reviews)
Story:

I thought that the story developed quite nicely and is probably one of the better seasons/arcs of the SAO series. If people are put off by the fact that the MC is always overpowered then this will probably be the most enjoyable arc since our MC Kirito is pretty much in a vegetative state the entire time. With our MC is out of the way, we get to focus on the development and growth of Alice. What was nice was that there was no major filler content throughout the entire season and the pacing was actually quite well done and significant events are revealed at read more
Nov 11, 2019
amaliaintan (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review about anime, pardon me for my bad English
I choose this one to be my first because i followed this series from the beginning

First, let's start from the story. We can see from the first episode the continue of the series. Truly when i watched it, i think that i'm going to cry because i remember Eugeo's death. I'm so touched and sad with the Kirito's condition. So, i give 8,5 to 9 for the story because it's almost completely same with the novel, but still there is a lot scene that has been skip.

Second, the art. I think that A-1 read more
Nov 3, 2019
TekLing (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I watch an SAO series, I usually try not to expect much from it. When you have SAO, I usually just watch it for the world-building and the interesting concepts. Things like characters or story, I try to pass on some of the less glaring confusing plotholes.

For the good things about the show. I find it very interesting the concepts with the fluctlight and the VR dive technology. I think most of us wouldn't mind a summer vacation there, minus all the anime dangers. Alice is also a more decent character, with her origin and care for Kirito, you have to appreciate her.

However, read more
Dec 22, 2019
StellarIceberg (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was not gonna show my hate on SAO but oh well here we are cause there have been many people rating this season of SAO high in their reviews.
I happened to look at some of their profiles and found avg scores of > 8 so ya.
So again here I am, writing a review instead of writing a report that's due tomorrow.

Typical review format cause I'm lazy af .
Story- Painful to watch. Its SAO all over again. I thought this was gonna be a watchable season of SAO but Reki never fails to amaze me. The previous arc of Alicization was not read more
Dec 28, 2019
Horn_dawg_2019 (All reviews)
Ok, so that's SAO too annoying when were gonna have to wait for the next sequel:

So:

Story:

Pros: The same plot and it involve where he 1st sequel end and as sual it involves them characters going back in to the VMMOPG world only this time the guy was push into the sidelines as a cripple and it's them girls who does the ass kicking.

Cons: The same plot where only this time were the characters with god tier capabilities were starting to keep adding, also the plot of them character having sympathy for a buch of NPC that were nothing more than algorithms inside a main read more