Isekai Cheat Magician

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Isekai Cheat Majutsushi
Japanese: 異世界チート魔術師〈マジシャン〉

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 10, 2019 to Sep 25, 2019
Premiered: Summer 2019
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Encourage Films
Source: Light novel
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 5.401 (scored by 114517114,517 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #105432
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #746
Members: 234,618
Favorites: 391

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 25, 2019
Inferno792 (All reviews)
Isekai Cheat Magician is unlucky, extremely unlucky. It had the potential, it really did. It had the potential to be the worst anime of the season, but unfortunately, Arifureta happened to air alongside it. Hence, the honor of being the worst anime of the season is snatched away from a truly deserving winner. In some people’s eyes though, I’m pretty sure this crap may even trump Arifureta. This is another new entry into the tiresome long list of failed isekai anime that air every season. I don’t have a clue what the studios are thinking when they decide to adapt such garbage. Are they trying read more
Jul 31, 2019
Plk_Lesiak (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was kind of excited for this anime – I didn't expect it to be great, but I really liked the idea of introducing a female counterpart transported to another world along with the protagonist, and the story being the journey of both of them, with probable romance later down the line. I find this kind of setup way more attractive than the overdone harem isekai. After four episodes, however, I can tell with 100% certainty that this show is absolute trash.

The introduction is pretty awful, with the main characters being transported to another world, being in danger for literally one scene and then immediately read more
Jul 31, 2019
HellLyter (All reviews)
Preliminary
You can tell just how bad this anime is going to be by simply looking at the cover art. But hold up! That doesn't mean that this isekai doesn't have some unique elements!

For one, it isn't just the Legendary Overpowered Super Excellent Revolutionary dude, or LOSER dude for short, who gets isekai'd to a fabulous new word. No, his female friend does as well! How shockingly unexpected! Also, this anime subverts your expectations by making you think that LOSER dude is going to get killed protecting main girl from an oncoming bike, but PLOT TWIST! It completely misses them and they just get sent to read more
Jul 31, 2019
Armados (All reviews)
Preliminary
I wonder why the real name of this franchise isn't listed - Isekai Shit Magician - as that's what you'd expect after seeing this atrocious anime.
The main character is bland, overpowered because "why not", got thrown into an isekai with his future girlfriend, for some random purpose (aka the writer saw Isekais are popular and wanted to make some easy money), and then they randomly go and do missions even though they're supposed to be special.
The animation is nonexistent, the writing is bad, the characters feel pointless and the "twists" are obvious from the get go.

Now let's ask ourselves the most important question - why read more
Sep 25, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
Watching Isekai Cheat Magician is equivalent to trying to complete an assignment from your most dreaded class in high school. You’d want to tear your hair out and punch the teacher for being a such a dick. The experience this gimmicky show speaks for itself not just because of its title but by the context of its plot, characters, and absolute lack of creativity. This anime…no, this abomination is more of a cash cow riding on the current popular isekai trend.

Like most isekai anime, we have the characters trapped in a fantasy world after certain circumstances. At this point, any anime fan familiar with this read more
Sep 25, 2019
KANLen09 (All reviews)
By NO doubt this show should be skipped (without a second thought), but for it's efforts in the adaptation and the original LN source (no hate towards the novelist), I will give it a B for binary code (if you know what I mean, 1 or 0) just to add the (not so nonsensical) pun here. I really wish I could give this series a BIG FAT ZERO.

This Summer season was an absolute stinker for isekai:
- Maou-sama, Retry!: A parody that could've been better (honestly my isekai of the season).
- Arifureta: Hampered by bad production values and poor source adaptation.
- MILFsekai: More than being an read more
Sep 25, 2019
chair-sama (All reviews)
I really hate those wannabe writers, who think that they can just write a rip off, of the rip off, of the rip off, of the rip off, while changing only the names of characters, and try to monetize it. And some of them get away with it, that’s how we’re getting these new shows, that are nothing more then absolute trash, without any soul. Isekai Cheat Magician is that kind of show. You shouldn’t expect anything good from this, but it’s actually not so bad that it deserves nothing more than 1/10, the fact that it’s so unoriginal, makes it insulting to watch, read more
Sep 25, 2019
LoveAnime93 (All reviews)
Isekai Cheat Magician a series that's had mixed review to put it kindly and may not be everyone's cup of tea. What doesn't help its case is that this season and the season before had several Isekai anime airing and as such I feel this had an impacted on overall score.

The story starts off with your typical Isekai story MC is transported to another world which they've been destined to protect. MC has powers and is stupidly overpowered and they don't explain why. that there is my main crux with the story.

The story its self is pretty standard but its not a terrible story, I read more
Jul 31, 2019
Snapshot426 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I’ll admit, I only decided to watch this anime because MYTH&ROID was doing the opening and much like anime itself, I was underwhelmed by it.

Honestly though, I didn’t expect anything special coming from this show. From the promotional art, to the trailers. Nothing was clicking for me to change my mind from the fact that this was going to be another bog standard Isekai story. Four episodes later, my mindset hasn’t changed for the anime. Nothing was peaking my interest. That being said, the show is not bad. In fact, I could make a case for two other Isekai shows this season that are read more
Aug 17, 2019
Marinate1016 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Despite the amount of hate this series gets, it is not nearly as bad as it's made out to be. This is evidenced by it being in the top 5 most watched shows here in Japan for this season. I think it's a perfect example of an anime that showcases the cultural divide between Japan and the west. In Japan, these types of Isekai are very popular due to them serving as self inserts for Otaku. MC teleported to another world, gets harem and very powerful, etc.

What I personally like about Cheat is that it does something slightly different. Instead of MC teleporting and read more
Aug 15, 2019
Arkantasa (All reviews)
Preliminary
TL;DR: So far, so good. A solid 7.

I honestly have no idea why people gave this such a low score and called this anime miserable, because all in all personally I found it very enjoyable.

*mild spoilers ahead*
The story follows Taichi and his childhood best friend Rin, your typical "summoned from japan to a world of fantasy" kind of story. The characters have mad amounts of magic and don't really know how to utilize it properly, therefore becoming students of a famous magician and then adventurers to live on their own.
*mild spoilers ended*

This anime differentiates from the other isekai ones because usually the character read more
Aug 12, 2019
pocariswonk (All reviews)
Preliminary
It amazes me how this has over a five here on MAL. I'll try to say stuff that hasn't already been said.
TLDR; Isekai budget yeet magician is a mishmash of like every isekai in the last year. You will probably not enjoy it unless you are 12 and just finished binging SAO.

The Good:
Rie Takahashi
Myth & Roid does the OP
Rie Takahashi does the ED
Somewhat new and less used character design for the main Heroine

The Bad:
The animation
The story
There was no effort in making this
recycled world design
recycled magic system but somehow worse
There is nothing unique about this anime
All the characters are bland
They skip important parts read more
Apr 30, 2020
Wampire4SK (All reviews)
If there is someone that you hate simply send him this.... and he WILL suffer.

Some reasons would be:
- Braindead MC
- Animation
- Overall concept
- ...

Don't get me wrong i like my average isekai anime but this this... i don't get it.
Source material is not that bad someone could even say that it's good. But what
they did clearly butcherd the adaptation without giving a sh*t. Author of the novel
who was probably looking forward to read more
Aug 26, 2019
IAmRetired (All reviews)
Preliminary
It summons "dumb" and beats you round the face with it.

Seriously, you're gonna spend half an episode pointing out how CLEVER the enemies were to draw the combatants in to their weakest roles

when they can just switch

and they seem to be fighting right next to each other

even so, they could easily have ran to try to regroup/switch places

WHAT?

WHY?

This is painful to watch!

The villains aren't even that great. They seem to be soo keen on monologue expositioning their DUMB plans.

I just don't know what to say.

Dropped.

Ok... apparently the review needs to be longer than this?
May 18, 2020
GeneralSolaire (All reviews)
I kid you not, never before have I trashed myself so hard. This piece of hmm let's call it visual product is so unique that during the 1st episode it made me into class A alcoholic and during the finale in the 12th episode both of my livers were destroyed... 10/10 would want another season.

Also, pro-tip, if you plan to watch this piece of visual product you better do it in a sessions and with your fellow weebs, because damn, watching this solo is a death sentence to your sanity

Thanks for reading this review and I hope that the information I provided will read more
Aug 3, 2019
VKdViking (All reviews)
Preliminary
Are you looking for an exciting Isekai? Do you want a girl Isekai'd with the MC? Do you want them to be OP as well? Well, even if your answers to all those questions are yes, you should still skip this one. Because frankly a better story could have been made by those three elements by Bad Fanfiction writers.

This is a prime example of the author just wanting to jump onto the Isekai's bandwagon. But what do you do to do that? You take an MC, with no personality what so ever, making him OP. Isekai him with his 'Osananjimi' childhood female friend who, obviously, read more
Dec 14, 2020
AnimeJunki3 (All reviews)
HANDS DOWN ONE OF THE WORST ISEKAI ANIME EVER MADE!!!

I'm an isekai junkei, i love them no matter how bad they are. But this anime would make Death march to parallel world rhapsody and SAO 10/10, Thats how awful this anime is. It literally put me to sleep.

Male MC is OP but cant use his powers, so there goes my power fantasy out of the window.Later becomes OP for some odd reason, the 'spirit' gives him more power. Why didnt she give him power-up early before the stupid monologue while he is fighting an enemy stronger than the MC is beyond me.

Female MC is read more
Sep 24, 2019
cow-bird (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'd like to state before anything else that directly before watching this I had watched the shitshow that is Arifureta Shokugyou de Sekai Saikyou. What I mean by this is that I have somewhat of a bias towards this show because my bar could not be lower. Even this average isekai anime is leagues better than that.

I will admit that I enjoyed watching Isekai and I binged all 11 currently available episodes in one sitting. It thoroughly refreshed my palette. Now with all that aside, it's a very average isekai anime. The story is average, the art is read more
Aug 27, 2019
ryokkeno (All reviews)
Preliminary
As someone who likes the trash isekai genre I can tell you that this anime is beyond garbage. Like the shit person I am, I love to watch isekai (especially ones that deal with magic) but this show was such a disappointment. There are 2 types of isekai in my opinion the 8.0+ rating ones, the 6.0+ one and then theres Isekai Cheat Magician. Anime provides no background, no explanation, bland characters, fast pacing, and overall just boring. This show makes Wise Man's Grandchild seem like a master piece and thats how bad it is.

If your thinking about watching this anime I would HIGHLY read more
May 15, 2020
Jaqwe (All reviews)
Alright. I actually really wanted to make this review right after the seventh episode, because they have some blatant dumb sh*t in it that really... really takes away from the experience of watching this show. So let's start with roast of the Isekai Handicapped Magician. (Yes I finished this show, I have no idea how long the coma went for though)

Story: *Slight Spoiler for episode 7*
After the first and second episode, this series took a horrifyingly sharp turn from being a generic isekai anime into being a car crash in slow motion. But unlike the ones in intentional car crash anime, this one takes a read more