Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Sora yori mo Tooi Basho


Alternative Titles

English: A Place Further Than The Universe
Synonyms: Uchuu yori mo Tooi Basho, A Story That Leads to the Antarctica, Yorimoi
Japanese: 宇宙よりも遠い場所

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 2, 2018 to Mar 27, 2018
Premiered: Winter 2018
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 20:30 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Original
Genres: Adventure, Seinen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.611 (scored by 62,084 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #712
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #597
Members: 153,935
Favorites: 3,951

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 24, 2018
evolvingweeb (All reviews)
Preliminary
It says a whole lot that I didn't even think I'd watch this before it aired, and now it's my favorite of the season so far, and I HEAVILY doubt it's going to lose that title.


This show, man. THIS SHOW.

Now, I wasn't even going to watch this simply because the summary was short and sounded like it wasn't going to be anything special. Before it got a better one, it was just 'Highschool Girls journey to antarctica' and I barely gave it a glance before clicking away. Then I found out it was animated by Madhouse, and that got my attention.

So I watched read more
Mar 29, 2018
VileKurata (All reviews)
“The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only one page.” -Saint Augustine.

Winter 18 anime season was honestly a pretty underwhelming season overall because unlike the Fall 17 anime season didn’t feature a lot of good shows that are not 2nd seasons or leftovers from the Fall 17 season. The problem that I have with this season is that almost all the new shows from that season is how it went for a style over substance as well heavily pandering to the meme community. Darling in the Franxx is the worst example of this because not only in my opinion bad read more
Mar 27, 2018
Moelancholy (All reviews)
Youth.
Often called the springtime of one’s life, one’s days of adolescence are a time of many firsts: the first time you skip class without your parents knowing, the first time you go on a journey with no destination and maybe even your first love. It is during these days that the innocent and inexperienced bundles of insecurities that are teenagers finally break out of their shells and the small buds turn into full-fledged adults.

Or at least they should.

Unfortunately, such is not the case for the gung-ho goofball Mari: when she finds an old notebook filled with scribbles of her past self’s wishes for her high read more
Jan 26, 2018
Freeze_Ray (All reviews)
Preliminary
There is only 4 episodes of this anime out so far but it is already by far the best anime of the season, in my opinion. It's main strength is its strong characters, but it is incredibly good in all other aspects as well.

The story is centred around high school girls, which is nothing new, but it has a pretty unique twist that makes it a lot more interesting.

Visually it is outstanding. The art is beautiful and the animation is smooth and lively which suits the spirited characters.

The main characters are just a small group of high school girls, yet are the best part read more
Mar 28, 2018
Prottoy (All reviews)
This year—that is 2018, to warm up your Winter with an adventurous slice of life, Madhouse has brought close to you A Place Further Than The Universe.

Antarctica, a barren continent completely ruled over by frozen white. The only colors that paint over this vastest canvas on the planet are luminous electromagnetic lighting-effects, a phenomenon known as 'aurora'. To consume the visage of this awe-inspiring painting crafted by the largest known artists (Sun and Earth) using the smallest of tools (particles and atoms), or to experience the euphoric sensation of conquest, or to be overwhelmed by its scale, humans have always been attracted to this region read more
Mar 27, 2018
karlstein12 (All reviews)
Journey. This one word has a heap of meanings behind its back. Why do we travel? The reasons range from being a collective success of mankind to discover a new plateau to just the sheer joy and curiosity that is obtained from setting foot in a new land. The air, the atmosphere, the scent... these things feel so different and anew and there is a kind of refreshment that you can only find in yourself after the exploration of an unknown place.

Sora yori mo Tooi Basho takes us on a journey to Antarctica, also promulgated by the show as a 'Place Farther than the Universe'. read more
Mar 28, 2018
AAFan10 (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS MINOR SPOILERS
------------------------------------------------------

A Place Further Than the Universe was a show I almost skipped out on. I was just starting to get into seasonal anime for the first time. As I perused through the Winter 2018 anime list, I noticed this show. At first, I was going to pass on it, as like most others, it just seemed like an average cute girls slice of life show. But I noticed a little something about it that intrigued me to no end, the promise of an adventure to Antarctica. So I went with my gut, and gave it a shot. This gut feeling turned read more
Apr 12, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
I was hoping Sora yori mo Tooi Basho be an anime where cute girls wear ridiculously puffy winter coats against winter scenery, an adventure approached with the comfy manner. Instead this series focused too much on the serious side and contained loads of drama.

Seriousness and drama aren't something I would mind. The problem is the believability. If there is a serious anime about teenage girls travelling to Antarctica, it should be taken seriously instead of half-assedly throwing in obstacles and factors that need to be taken into consideration before the trip. And suddenly at the very next scene we're looking at slice of life read more
Mar 27, 2018
0MAN0 (All reviews)
Winter 2018 started off with a clash of titans. In the red corner, the impossibly hyped-up Violet Evergarden. In the blue corner, that snazzy Studio Trigger mecha show. Everyone was taking wagers on who would be the next heavyweight champ. But as the rounds went on, whispers fluttered through the audience. Did either of these really deserve the title?

Eh, maybe. For the record, 10 episodes in I find Violet Evergarden to be exceptional. Darling in the Franxx has yet to conclusively prove itself, but it has a ton of potential and a long way to go. But I definitely think that A Place Further than read more
May 22, 2018
kenzo_k (All reviews)
Yorimoi Review
//I just wanted to say that this is my first ever review on MAL and I really felt the urge to discuss the greatness of this Anime.//

//Spoiler Free (As much as possible)//

Never judge a book by its cover, is something I'm trying to get over because this happens most of the time, we judge everything based on first impressions. Because of my quick judgment of the cover, I also failed to figure out the English translation of the title, "A Place Further Than The Universe", which certainly does sound like an interesting adventure title. During its time of airing, I put off this masterpiece read more
Mar 27, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
It’s 2018 and slice of life series still tends to be overlooked these days when compared to bigger and more hyped titles by more famed studios. Series like Mitsuboshi Colors, Hakumei to Mikochi, and Sanrio Danshi probably slipped right past people’s radars. As one of the first series to debut this year, Sora yi no Toori Bashio (A Place Further than Universe) had to set the bar high. To my surprise and great pleasure, this show went right over the bar and became a beautiful coming age of story to tell.

Announced from Anime Expo 2017, this original anime is about a journey. It’s a journey read more
Mar 6, 2018
fallensoul (All reviews)
Preliminary
AotY

I generally like shows about cute girls doing cute things, but this one is special. I didn't think a show of this type could be so emotive and personally encouraging as this one, that makes me feel I have live my life to the fullest. Till then, only other type of shows could move me as much (e.g. BnHA).

Each of the main 4 characters has unique traits without being excessively steriotyped, and this create a really adorable dynamic between them. Support characters have a lot of personality as well, making them feel pretty alive.

Girls going on an adventure isn't really that surprising by itself, but read more
Oct 24, 2018
CheezLord (All reviews)
Have you ever thought that life is meaningless?
That your entire life is mundane and ordinary?
That you are just going to be another person in a pool of 7 billion?

That is exactly the protagonist's thoughts until she decided she wanted to go out of the way and do something with her life. Through the wonderful coincidence of meeting someone that had the never-dying determination to pursue her mother's lost footsteps, the main protagonist, Mari decided that was it.
She wanted her life to be meaningful, she did not want to be ordinary, she wanted to be extraordinary.

This tear-jerking and adventure filled story about 4 young high read more
Mar 27, 2018
lazypigz (All reviews)
Sometimes, less is more.

I have to admit this is that one show that have slipped under my radar when the season first started. I'm not a big fan of the Slice of Life genre, as it is just so easy to get those shows wrong (prime example being Musaigen no Phantom World) when shows in this genre have such light plots, so I was pleasantly surprised when Sora Yori mo Tooi Basho (A Place Further than the Universe) was not "just another CGDCT show that i'm probably going to forget in half a year or so".

For shut-in otakus like most of us here on MAL, read more
Mar 27, 2018
JigsawStitches (All reviews)
This is not only the best anime of Winter 2018, which already imo was a really strong season, but it's one of my favorite anime series ever now. This series is not only an argument for the best things anime can do as a medium, but a full refutation of the idea that "cute girls doing cute things" is somehow a lesser form of the medium. This series is as inspiring, as heart-wrenching, as memorable, and as affecting as any of the most beloved anime series, and the team behind it deserve true kudos for indeed going on their own Impossible Journey and risking so read more
Mar 27, 2018
Artrill (All reviews)
[8.0/10]
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Banana’s as hammers, deadly bonding exercises, and enough tears to melt the polar icecaps, A Place Further Than the Universe has a lot to say. A girl’s trip across the globe to come to terms with a dead family member to lighthearted banter in a tent as the wind whips against the fabric. Smiles that drip emotion, and the concept of having friends. The reaction of leaving a friend behind, and the feeling of melancholy as you stare into the night sky. If life’s a bitch, you better do what you can to woo her.

Universe is a series about friendship. The writers make that read more
Mar 27, 2018
animejas (All reviews)
Adventuring is a unique experience that only a select few have enjoyed in their lives.

Even fewer have had the reality of adventuring to Antarctica, probably the most unique adventure that is possible.

This anime is about four girls with different lives who all have a common goal, to get to Antarctica, with comradery, drama and youth at its finest that awaits you.

Story (10/10)

I love how much the story made the adventure feel important as getting to Antarctica itself felt difficult for the characters.

This story had the perfect balance of development towards the journey, pacing and drama.

Youth and friendship have never felt more real yet bliss in read more
Mar 27, 2018
Tubbyman (All reviews)
“Water collects into stagnant pools. I’ve always loved watching it spill out all at once. Breaking free, liberated, rushing out. The energy stored up during its stagnation bursts forth. Everything springs into action!”

Sora yori mo Tooi Basho (A Place Further than the Universe) is an anime that can be easy to misjudge on the surface. One can look at the poster or the synopsis and write it off as just another anime about cute girls doing cute things. However, this anime is so much more than that, and I’m going to try my best to break it down and explain why I think read more
Jan 24, 2018
DirectorK (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've always enjoyed a adventure story where friendship and complete determination to achieve a supposedly impossible play well in hand. This anime so far are portrayed that perfectly and it leads to a promising delivery when the girls finally arrive in Antarctica.

WHAT WE'VE SEEN SO FAR
The four main girls of this show remind me a lot of the four girls in K-ON! In fact, you could say that some are more eccentric while others are the opposites of the K-ON girls. Mari and Hinata are practically an upgraded version of Yui and Ritsu while Shirase and Yuzuki are more or less brooding versions Mio read more
Apr 25, 2018
JLaxius (All reviews)
How would I describe this anime in 5 words? Realistic. Hilarious. Dramatic. Journey. Incredible.

It's amazing how one place, Antarctica, while being desolate, barren, and harboring little variety of life forms, has the potential to unite 4 school girls who seemingly had nothing in common, to fulfill a common and yet tough objective: Find who they are and challenge their characters' limits, right before a crucial moment of their life, adulthood.

A cast consisting of only females might remind you of some other anime in the context of "cute girls doing cute things" but I can assure you, that as far as I'm concerned, this anime is read more