Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Saiki Kusuo no Ψ-nan


Alternative Titles

English: The Disastrous Life of Saiki K.
Synonyms: Saiki Kusuo no Psi Nan
Japanese: 斉木楠雄のΨ難

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 120
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 4, 2016 to Dec 26, 2016
Premiered: Summer 2016
Broadcast: Not scheduled once per week
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: J.C.Staff, Egg Firm
Source: Manga
Duration: 5 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.541 (scored by 123,073 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #902
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #349
Members: 269,393
Favorites: 6,701

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 15, 2016
Laurin (All reviews)
Preliminary
REVIEW REUPLOAD
OLD REVIEW WAS DELETED SINCE IT WAS POSTED TO SOON

-SPOILER FREE-
Saiki Kusuo no Ψ nan is a comedy slice-of-life story about Saiki Kusuo who has special powers that allow him to do pretty much anything.

The Episodes are not very long with around 4-5 min per episode but the episodes are coming out almost daily right now.

Story: 8/10
There is no core story as there is always another core in each episode, but the main story (that is that Saiki Kusuo has special powers) still affects all episodes.
There are some surprising moments that really catch you off guard and you never expected.

Art: 8/10
The art is very read more
Dec 25, 2016
MetaThPr4h (All reviews)
Aired during the Summer and Fall 2016 seasons, Saiki Kusuo no Ψ-nan is (hopefully just for now) a hidden gem in comedy anime that I can't recommend enough to watch.

The protagonist in this story, Saiki, is a boy that was born with psychic powers in a normal world. He can read minds, he can teleport from one place to another, he can restore things (people included) to their previous state in the past… and these three are just a few examples of all that he can do. Saiki is so powerful that, if he wanted to, he could singlehandedly take control of the Earth in read more
Jan 1, 2017
The_Rippled (All reviews)
You're in a crowd of people and trying to hide from a really creepy dude that you know from school or work. Luckily, he hasn't noticed you yet.

You probably want to do the best you can to get out of his line of sight... right? So you've finally managed to make it behind him, but then, just as you think that you're safe, the creepy dude stays facing forward, but SWIFTLY does a horrifying 180-degree HEAD-ONLY turn. He then, with a derp face, looks SOLELY at you out of everybody in the crowd. In a shocking development, you've somehow been spotted! That "wtf moment" that read more
Jul 26, 2016
GintokiLover01 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I personally think that this is the best physic anime your probably ever going to watch. It has great comedy and this serious attitude of the character just makes it more hilarious. Of coarse this is my opinion you don't have to agree with it. It also has a certain comedy that probably only a few like. I don't like the fact that it's only 5 mins last time the made a anime out of it they only had one episode I'm not sure if the other adaption was a OVA or not. But I definite recommend this show I just hope it does read more
Oct 28, 2016
LIQfilms (All reviews)
With the abundance of short four minute episode anime becoming increasingly more common every anime season, Saiki-kun felt like a breath of fresh air from the same boring and tiring formula that has been used ever so frequently.

One thing that works in favour of the show above others of the same format is that Saiki-kun lasted for many more episodes while also airing a new episode everyday. My main problem with these types of shows is the weekly formula as they're airing; once the episode stops and the next one begins the following week its hard to keep track of what has happened and the read more
Aug 8, 2018
LeonardoHarvey (All reviews)
Preliminary
well it might get you to laugh once or twice but it will fail to keep up quickly because of the childish plot, it's very boring he never fail and the characters except for that monk boy are all trash females are annoying there is no sign of any character development, in fact, there won't be. even children show like gumball or something will amuse you more than this and more exciting things would happen there! for some reason, the main doesn't speak which lead to a poor and small dialogue. overall it's crap don't waste your time on this poorly written clairaudient experience.
Aug 4, 2016
MillenniumA (All reviews)
Preliminary
This incredible show can redefine how you view anime. My initial reaction, mentally, was to fault it for the continuous expositional dialogue from the protagonist. In visual media and in general in creative works, it's often a crutch substituting a good character introduction and development, but in Saiki Kusuo the stream-of-consciousness style grows on you as innovative and postmodern and eventually it plays on essential role to the themes of the anime. It's a really interesting narrative style that adds a lot to the characters.

The art style stands out as distinct but at the same time seems very natural. Something that stood out to me read more
Feb 21, 2019
Gilliesss (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm most definitely in the minority here when I say this anime isn't good, and looking at all the other positive reviews on this show I can already tell this will receive bad feedback. This show is unique comedy in its own way. It has a basic plot of a pink haired guy with superpowers trying to live a normal life. This anime is full of cliches and overused tropes, but uses them to its advantage and the show basically becomes a guy doing everything in his power to avoid cliches. Anyone who likes these kinds of comedy will definitely be interested in this but read more
Feb 4, 2017
CivilianHero (All reviews)
An anime that is so easily dismissed and left out was easily my favorite anime of not only the season but also for the entire year. Last year I felt there was no shortage of good anime. From seasoned veterans like JoJo to new shows like Mob Psycho, there was no dearth of anime I enjoyed. But between good shows there was another one which for me was great and arguably the greatest of them all. As this is a review for Saiki Kusuo (too long a name to write in full), there would be no prize for guessing the best of the lot. 5 read more
Oct 13, 2018
Moyosore (All reviews)
Saiki is an anime about a boy who has psychic powers but despite this awesome gift he is very pessimistic
Story: The story isn't really anything special but this anime doesn't particularly need anything grand as its very episodic and cut up in 5-minute segments.

Art: Pretty awful to be honest. Characters aren't ugly but the animation is so lazy.

Sound: The voice acting was fine, and they have some nice quirky sound effects which can be quite charming

Characters: Saiki is a funny character and is quite relatable in his thinking, however, the surrounding characters are very over the top and can sometimes be funny, but other read more
Dec 26, 2016
Cynthesizer (All reviews)
Anime, as a medium, does not leave me all that satisfied when it comes to the comedy genre. I can count around 4-5 comedy series that managed to get some enjoyment out of me. Two examples would be Cromartie High School and Nichijou. The former, except of being a top-notch comedy series with many bizarre happenings and wacky moments, is also an excellent parody of immeasurable things, including capitalism, gangs, the toll that technology takes on us people, and many many more. The latter is more of an incredible comedy with its fair share of wacky moments on the one hand, exquisite art on the read more
Oct 11, 2016
aznlady (All reviews)
Preliminary
MUST WATCH ANIME

Hilarious! My #1 pick for this season.

At first you may be wondering when you watch this "really?" "What the..."
But this is comedy guys and just let yourself take the ride
AND best part. Have your questions. Wonder, "how the heck did he...?"
And be amazed. Because all of your questions, and I mean ALL of your questions will be answered.
And start to wonder.... is SAIKI REALLY PSYCHIC!? IS HE WATCHING US WATCH HIM!?

haha... but seriously guys, don't be too serious and enjoy the show!

Lots of laughs to come.

Art is fitting for this anime.

Not too much of a storyline, other than basically slice read more
Aug 17, 2016
Venky_Shetty (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Here's a another gag anime about an all powerful character, I think we had Sakomoto last season already ?" - if you are having these same thoughts then... well you are missing out on a lot of fun and laughter that so many animes fail to achieve these days.

Sakomoto wasn't bad, but I didn't find it much appealing either. But this show achieves what Sakomoto probably failed at ..... I m still laughing at the jokes and sarcasm thrown at me even after 30 episodes and (obviously) not yet bored by the mc.

Man, I haven't had a good laugh watching anime in a long read more
Aug 24, 2016
NeonNinja (All reviews)
Preliminary
*** no spoilers ***

Saiki Kusuo no Ψ-nan has short episodes, approximately four to five minutes, but this doesn't stop it from being a great comedy anime.

Story, 9 out of 10:

Since the episodes are about five minutes long, there isn't really any plot, except for main events, like a new character, new setting, etcetera. At several points in every episode, Saiki Kusuo no Ψ-nan always kept me laughing with it's sarcastic humor.

Art, 9 out of 10: The art in Saiki Kusuo no Ψ-nan is animated very well, it suits the genres of the show, making Saiki Kusuo no Ψ-nan even better.

Sound, 10 out of 10: read more
Jan 1, 2017
Torra27 (All reviews)
I remember on a forum thread somewhere, someone posted about how they wanted to see a anime based around someone being born with pink hair and tries to go through life day after day, narrowly avoiding being the main character in whatever anime cliche is thrown at them (ignore the person falling from the sky! ignore the popular girl/boy talking to you! im never late for school, my alarm always goes off in time!), and Saiki is as close to that anime dream as we will ever get.


Saiki is born with ridiculously powerful psychic abilities, to the point that he has to restrain them read more
Oct 29, 2016
-Alians- (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is easily the best shorts of all time for me. Whether you like serious anime or not, i would recommend you this comedy anime. It's a comedy/parody anime with a cynical and normal main character who spends his everyday life hanging out with extremely odd people.

The story doesn't really have any purpose, heck i would even say that there isn't one. Instead this anime showcases the extremely weird everyday life of the main character and how he spends it which is what makes it so nice to watch.

A very good thing is that the episodes do not end (almost always) randomly and read more
Oct 22, 2016
Freya_Magna (All reviews)
Preliminary
it has been quite a long time since i have a blast watching an anime.

firstly and foremost, if you turned down by seeing its duration per episode, worry not!. Even though Saiki has an odd airing schedule (which is 4 minutes episode daily), every week they recap and release it to fully mainstream anime duration per-episode (which is around 24 minutes include OP-ED), so it is a decent show.

Saiki is your alternate saitama version with smarter plot and funnier gags. Every episode offer you the joy of watching this supposedly very unlucky boy handling his disastrous life, and from my experience watching this golden show read more
Mar 18, 2018
Yasaal (All reviews)
"You're just my father, don't give me advice" - Saiki Kusuo

Comedy is a very tough genre to excel at. Why? It's because of the difficulty in knowing what tickles people's funny bone. School comedies are even more tougher to work since the school setting makes it hard to step out and make people laugh. Now there are many supernatural school comedies but none of them made me laugh. Except Saiki Kusuo. Behold, the anime that made a comedy lover like me already decide it's score at a 10 in the middle of watching the show (I decide on ratings after binging a show). This is read more
Aug 6, 2016
ilDesu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Saiki Kusuo no Psi Nan is one of those comedies that is actually funny and not Japanese-funny. One of its strong points is that it uses a short chapter format with fast paced comedy, so there is rarely a dull filler moment. Most characters, while interesting, are "stereotypes with a twist", which might make some punchlines predictable. The humor of many chapters comes from the not-informed-by-the-narration fact that, although the main character appears serious and presents himself as a sort of voice of reason, he's actually kind of an idiot and does unexpected and ridiculous things with his powers. Has some nice world building that read more
Aug 24, 2016
flababe (All reviews)
Preliminary
-- This is my first review so please bear with me --

I have been thirsting for a comedy anime that's actually funny ever since the winter season of this year ended and Saiki Kusuo no Psi-nan fits the bill. I'm really upset that it isn't getting much attention cause this anime is gold.

Story: 8
This anime doesn't really have a defined plot as it's just instances where Saiki's psychic powers make his life hard or where Saiki gets attention that he doesn't want. However, each episode in itself has its own (hilarious) mini plot (some of these plots span for multiple episodes) and it's not entirely read more