Brave Witches

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 第502統合戦闘航空団 ブレイブウィッチーズ
English: Brave Witches
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2016 to Dec 29, 2016
Premiered: Fall 2016
Broadcast: Thursdays at 01:35 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation, Crunchyroll
Studios: SILVER LINK.
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction, Sci-FiSci-Fi, EcchiEcchi
Theme: MilitaryMilitary
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 6.791 (scored by 1718917,189 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #46842
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2477
Members: 53,306
Favorites: 116

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 29, 2016
Shingster (All reviews)
Anime's featuring girls with magic that fight against invaders are one of the most common and popular anime genres in japan and as a result is quite popular and common. What sets brave witches apart from this is that its set within an alternate world where the various powers that would have fought ww2 have united to defend against the threat of an invasion by an alien race called the Neuroi. As a result Brave witches which is a spin off that takes place between the the first and second seasons of the strike witches anime is a combo of a military and magical girls read more
Dec 29, 2016
Mercuryo (All reviews)
Brave Witches it's a spin-off of Striker Witches, but unlike the main show, Brave Witches had less ecchi and it's focus more in the plot and the development of the characters.
When I saw Strike Witches I had a big problem with the main character. It feels that Yoshika it's introduce as a complete developed character for the first chapters...
With Hikari I hadn't that problem, when you saw her in the first scenes you could understand perfectly that she's trying to reach someone, this someone is her own sister, Takami. Here we have the perfect point to start the plot.
We have a reason to read more
Dec 29, 2016
KitsunehimeMilhi (All reviews)
Edit (8-6-17): I'm not changing my review a lot. I know I didn't write that good of reviews back when I wrote it, but it's been helpful to people, so I'm not completely changing it. Even when I'm trying to write better reviews now, they're aren't necessarily getting as many helpful replies as even older, kind of poorly written, reviews, so no sense changing one of the begging reviews if it's been more helpful than a good amount of the better written ones. Anyhow, I realized when watching the dub as it was airing, just how sub par the animation quality is read more
Feb 2, 2021
Der_Reichter (All reviews)
iTS GUD AS DIS GUY SAID :

"Brave Witches it's a spin-off of Striker Witches, but unlike the main show, Brave Witches had less ecchi and it's focus more in the plot and the development of the characters."


its 2021, After watching the Strike Witches Road to Berlin, i can concluded dat Brave Witches is still the best in strike witches series, although it categorized as a spin off.
,
Well, DON'T Believe the "BELOW 7 RATING" dis series had. While strike witches had avarage 7 rating in MAL (as per today), it doesn't compared to Brave witches Story plot.

i mean , In Brave Witches they emphasis not read more
Oct 7, 2020
HetakuSoda (All reviews)
What I find fascinating about Brave Witches is the fact that its protagonist is different in just about every way to that of Strike Witches'. Whereas Yoshika has prodigious levels of latent magic power, Hikari has less than average, and isn't much good at using it either. This creates a set of problems for her that Yoshika never even had to think about, for example where Yoshika was scouted Hikari had to prove herself, a feat possible only with her incredible levels of grit and stamina. This extended socially as well, manifesting in Kanno. While Yoshika and Lynne became friends because they saw eye-to-eye and read more
May 20, 2021
James_Denhorn (All reviews)
Hikari Karibuchi, is a much deeper character, and is a much more interesting protagonist, than Miyafuji. The Neuroi too were such a step-up from the past seasons, it's great seeing the witches have to use their brains to take out the neuroi.

Hikari Karibuchi's magic struggle no doubt made Brave Witches very compelling to watch as a story.

Plus the neuroi became smarter, making the battle scenes give me the same hype akin to good shounen fight scenes.

Brave Witches is not "meh," and it is much more than just a "spinoff." The flawed but hardworking 502nd Brave Witches should have its own franchise, a foil to Strike read more
Dec 29, 2016
Kuraioto (All reviews)
i want to start by saying i love strike witches and that ever i typed below is not a rant of hate but more like a constructive review. (like the creators will ever see this lolz)

after finishing watching brave witches and had recently finished watching strike witches (season 1 and 2 with movie) it seems this series was more like a cash in on the franchise, first off why introduce a new main character if you are just going to copy the likeness of the previous one, if you have seen the strike witches the movie you know that the main character can still fight read more
Dec 8, 2020
citizen868 (All reviews)
To say Brave Witches is a rehash of Strike Witches is to be willfully ignorant of the fact that Brave Witches is an improved version of the pantsless magical girl franchise.

Brave Witches is what Strike Witches could be if it bothered to emphasize characterization over fanservice, and the results are more than satisfactory.

Brave Witches succeeds where its predecessor fails, in that its not a slow burner in giving you emotional investment in its main cast and protagonist, Hikari, who is the complete opposite of the previous Strike Witches' protagonist Yoshika.

In the world of witches and magic, Yoshika starts out as a overpowered read more
Mar 22, 2020
robert788 (All reviews)
Brave Witches (2016)

First off a round of applause this time around to Aleksandra Ivanovna Pokryshkin or better know Sasha. Not only is she best girl and super cute she also has the bottom half of her outfit on. Yes, that is right she has a skirt on.

The second place goes to Naoe Kanno who is a proper Tsundere so always cute to see. Cute design also.

Overall best girl is still Sanya from the 501st who is just perfect.

This time around we have a good storyline to follow that is taken much more seriously than Strike Witches but also has cameo appearances. This read more
May 12, 2017
Detective (All reviews)
Ten years ago "moe anthropomorphism" was a bit of a new thing. The shock that you could turn WWII fighter jets into small Japanese and British girls and pit them against literal space-nazis in a weird U.N. coalition alternate timeline that also featured superpowers granted only to the aforementioned pubescent girls was new. The final item in the mix? None of them are ever wearing pants. It was an ecchi-military-action-moe-comedy that catered to such an incredibly niche audience you couldn't help but be endeared. The question of who would watch this was overshadowed by how was this made. Of course, Strike Witches became a cult read more
Feb 29, 2020
ChartTopper60 (All reviews)
Brave Witches is the story of Karibuchi Hikari, who joins the 502nd Joint Wing, hoping to meet the expectations of her older sister and become a greatly skilled witch. It is a sequel and spin-off to the Strike Witches anime series, and the second anime in the World Witches series.
When I started Episode 1, I'd expected a direct clone of Strike Witches. Due to the similarities in some characters, I didn't expect to like Brave Witches much at all. However, one concurrent theme used between characters in Brave Witches had me like it a slight bit above Strike Witches.

I found Brave Witches to be its read more
Jan 13, 2017
EndlessGr8 (All reviews)
First of all, before I start my review, I want to explain that I am an avid fan of the World Witches and I went into this new anime with unbearable levels of excitement. I am very well versed in the franchise by reading the novels, manga, short storys, watching the anime, translating several works, and operating two Strike Witches fan communities with the intent of using the powerful fanbase to create new and exciting things. So... while I intend this review to be more of a constructive-criticism type... it may come off to some people as overhwelmingly negative. This doesn't mean that I didn't read more
Feb 24, 2017
MudanTV (All reviews)
I see no actual reason why people might enjoy this anime. It is a spinoff of "strike witches" but doesn't bring anything to the table whatsoever.

It focuses on a completely new group of witches but everything from character developemend to world developement is plain out idiotic. Now I have to make it clear that it doesn't focus on advancing the plot at all, since it focuses more on the slice of life part here which is made ridiculously clear since they are supposed to be in the front lines battling alien enemies and all of the front lines is managed by 7 girls that mostly, read more
Nov 20, 2017
MLPextremelover (All reviews)
I didn't bother to do a review on Strike Witches since it was a typical show without much to be addressed. Brave Witches however, is wrongfully underrated and unloved, hence this review. No major spoilers ahead.

Is it a masterpiece? Far from it. Personally I'd give it a "7". But an "8" on MAL is "very good" and if Strike Witches is considered a "7" here then I have no shame in giving Brave Witches an "8". Keep in mind that the rating system is flawed and numbers are meaningless without context. This review is tailored around the read more
Jun 30, 2021
Yemi_Hikari (All reviews)
Clumsiness is not a flaw.

The mantra repeated over and over in my head despite the fact I knew that in the right hands clumsiness can indeed be a good character flaw, but this often happens when I find myself introduced within the narrative to a character whose main flaw is clumsiness only for said flaw to go away when it is no longer convenient. In this particular series Hikari's clumsiness is explained away by having a lack of magical power, not that this really stops her later on because she's just that much of a hard worker and with that being her counter trait she's read more
Jan 22, 2018
Christopher_Lum (All reviews)
This is more of a comparison to its parent story Strike Witches.
This anime is very similar to Strike witches and when I say similar, I mean very similar.

Character development and story progression were almost exactly the same with a few minor changes.
Art is similar to Strike witches despite being made by different studios. There are hints of 3D-CGI that slightly throw things off when it appears.
Animation here is an improvement, battles are no longer (how do i say this without spoiling/summarizing part of it) linear. Fight scenes are slightly more inspired is all i can really say without giving too much away.
MAL says this is read more
Dec 17, 2017
dv8zen (All reviews)
This show illustrates the value of knowing clearly what path you want to take, persistence in pursuing that path, and seizing opportunity as it presents itself. Also touches on how others can be flexible, find ways to utilize such passionate spirit, and how those with "talent" can be inspired by those that show results through hard work.

The show, overall, was average at best. No part of the production quality really stood out. The main reason I rate it below average is because it was fairly emotionless, with tragic and suspenseful moments not registering. I tend to like military oriented shows for the mixture of various read more
Jul 3, 2021
Alex_Jaro (All reviews)
Brave witches is a side story is the strike witches story. It takes place between the first and second season of Strike witches and it is basically a rip-off with an equally worthless character development or anything.

The story is the usual catgirl fighting aliens thing which is a cool idea but it is getting repetitive for this series. Hikari the new protagonist is literally a clone of strike witches' protagonist and the dialogue/plot is pretty much the same garbage as strike witches'.

This anime was released in 2016 and the quality with the animation are really good. Some scenes look weird or choppy but the quality read more