Cheer Danshi!!


Cheer Boys!!

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Cheer Boys!!
Japanese: チア男子!!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 5, 2016 to Sep 27, 2016
Premiered: Summer 2016
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 23:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Brain's Base
Source: Novel
Genres: SportsSports, DramaDrama, SchoolSchool
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.691 (scored by 2090620,906 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #49892
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2226
Members: 56,291
Favorites: 97
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 2, 2016
RossiRoad (All reviews)
Preliminary
I first wrote this off as a generic sports type show but soon came to regret it much later as I enjoyed watching it a lot more than most anime this season.

The main appeal is the way the characters have to push through so many hardships to reach their near impossible goal of creating an all male cheer leading team. This creates an emotional story of overcoming embarrassment, fear, trust and physical boundary's which may prevent them from fulfilling their goal.

It's the only anime I've seen to make me cry, laugh and simultaneously want to do a handstand in the same episode proving read more
Aug 2, 2016
wthkagehina (All reviews)
Preliminary
There are only 5 episodes out so far, so this is going to be based on first impressions and my thoughts so far.

Story:
Even though sports animes is popular nowadays, this is a very original anime. It's about 2 boys who used to train Judo, but decided to try something new. You guessed it, Cheerleading. Every episode has a main focus, so the episodes can skip sometimes, but not so that you have no idea what's going on. It's very sweet and we see them develop from being at the bottom to slowly getting better. What's also good is that there is not that much focus read more
Sep 27, 2016
FireEmblemIke24 (All reviews)
Before I begin this review, props to Waseda University Shockers for giving us this anime!
Watch the link to get an idea for the anime: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AE7QecvR3fQ

Men doing something like cheerleading? Not unheard of but this show is the definition of male empowerment! I believe no activity should be restricted to a certain gender with this show being the beginning of countless opportunities. This a series that has the sport cheerleading under the spotlight as we follow the lives of two former judo participants who embark in this new challenge.

The main character for this show is undoubtedly Bandou Haruki, who is a college student that has the read more
Nov 4, 2016
88expert (All reviews)
GO FIGHT WIN!!!!!!!!! LET'S GOO BREAKERS!!!!!
I'm going to remember this quote forever.

Cheer danshi is clearly the most underrated anime of the summer 2016 season or possibly the entire year which I don't get it.

KEY: Break being what the characters need to accept about themselves or overcome any difficulty

Story: The story of the show.... Well there isn't any... The true story of the show is within the characters. The characters backstory is the true story of the show where we just want to get up and cheer for those boys that they need to break whatever they need to break in this cheer club.

Characters: read more
Mar 27, 2020
mangiodolci (All reviews)
I honestly thought when I first heard about this that it would be some sports anime to drag in the fujioshi/fundanshi community, but I was completely mistaken.

This show had meaningful relationships and teamwork without it being a "anything is possible with friendship" stereotype. I also loved how they didn't discriminate with the cheer leading club and didn't make all the men tall and muscular. All the characters had their own details and backstories so no one was just some filler background character.

The main reason this show dragged me into watching it was when I saw clips of the intro, I've never seen read more
May 26, 2020
Angelo_McGee (All reviews)
An anime that at the beginning suggests that the end will have an incredible performance with the protagonist flying into the air, full of acrobatics and adrenaline. Buuuuut, it doesn't. Although the anime's proposal was cheerleaders, the focus is different. But calm down, I also have positive reviews.

I believe that the strength point of this anime was the development of the characters. Seriously, each of the 16 members has a well-built personality! Not to mention that everyone has a very diverse appearance (a chinese, a chubby, delinquent, effeminate, with afro hair... anyway). And in those 12 episodes alone, they were better developed than many famous read more
Aug 6, 2016
ilDesu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Cheer Danshi is a sports series unlike many in that the focus is not on characters whose reason to live is the sport itself, but rather tells the story of some dudes in college looking to have a great time doing an activity which for most of them has no deeper meaning than "I just wanted to try it", a fact that in my opinion is a plus, as it is closer to the real life circumstances of non professional sports clubs. Having said that, all the members have a real passion for improving and give cheerleading their all.
All characters are fine or even great, read more
Sep 23, 2016
SerpentineJ (All reviews)
Preliminary
Warning: this show is fujoshi bait.

You probably could have gotten that from the summary, actually, but I'm here to say that, as someone who enjoys shipping, both gay and not, Cheer Danshi!! is just... not a good anime. It has a cool premise and a catchy ED, but that's where, for me, the enjoyment ends- Cheer!! suffers from a spectrum of other problems, varying from bad pacing to an over-inflated cast to blatant bl-lovers' fanservice.

Story: 6/10

The story isn't that bad. Cheer!! doesn't have a lot of substance, but that's not necessarily a bad thing for a light slice-of-life sports anime. The storyline is pretty basic read more
Mar 30, 2019
RottenOrange (All reviews)
If what you are looking for is an anime with an interesting cast and you don't mind a somewhat predictable development for its genre, this is for you.



1. Originality: 8
Personally, I consider that any sports anime that moves away from the overexploited baseball, basketball and soccer already acquires a higher level of originality.
However, the idea that the show tries to capture (to recognize cheerleading as a current sport) is something that I consider quite new. That, and the fact that cheerleading is not really a sport for men normally.
That's why, although the story is inspired by a team of cheerleaders of real life, I can't read more
Aug 9, 2016
BitterFloof (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm probably going to be one of the few people who finds this anime to be mediocre at best - particularly as it seems to have been welcomed with open arms into the anime community and hailed as something unique and groundbreaking. Which I feel it isn't. Now don't get me wrong, I do like the anime - it just didn't strike the same cord with me that shows such as Free! or Haikyuu!! did for example.

First thing's first - I'll go over what I enjoy about the show first:

- It is an insanely pretty show but that's to be expected from the gloss kings read more
Apr 11, 2018
miachiatto (All reviews)
You know what I love about sports anime? The way they make you want to get up dedicate your life to something as you're watching them (at least the really good ones do). "Cheer Danshi!!" does that. As I was watching it, I really found myself wanting to do EVERYTHING they were doing. I thought, "man, I want to learn how to do a handstand! I want to cartwheel!" I even felt like wanting to do planks!--which they do in order to gain that core strength they need for tumbling around everywhere and holding people up. Speaking of tumbling, that's probably the only thing I read more
Oct 21, 2016
Shiori_chan1015 (All reviews)
Cheer Danshi!! was definitely NOT one of my favourite sports animes. This series had a lot of potential featuring an all-male cheerleading team, however, it failed to deliver the character development, animation, or plot other sports animes had successfully done.

Unlike most other sport animes, they didn't have any memorable characters, everyone is acting in a melodramatic way, the animation was below average... which is a big red flag for sport anime which depend a lot of action. Most importantly: there was no tension or competition...

Forgettable Character

The characters were unmemorable and cardboard. I can't remember any of them other than Haru, Kazu, and Sho, read more
Oct 11, 2016
JinKun (All reviews)
Preliminary
I won't be saying much about Cheer Danshi!! Since the description is up below, but if you plan on watching this, you're in for a unique, laid-back, and overeall very enjoyable sports anime.

Cheer Danshi!! deals with two best friends, Haru -- an ex-judo sports guy, and Kazu -- a happy-go-luck young man. They are both attending university, with Kazu offering the idea to start up an all-male cheerleader club after being inspired by old recordings of his deceased parents, who used to be teammates on a cheerleader group. From there on, the two friends search for more of the university students to join them in read more
Oct 10, 2016
raymono (All reviews)
Unlike its predecessors, Cheer Danshi has nothing that makes any sports anime enjoyable. There’s no emphasis on competition, the characters lack any serious emotional bonds with one another, and any development made is crudely washed over with trivial filler.

While the series looks promising at the beginning, it loses it’s way once millions of other characters are introduced. May as well sever any connections you had with the supporting characters at the beginning, as they are seemingly forgotten about the higher the episode numbers climb. What’s more, due to the lack of competition, you never see the characters struggle and grow through defeat and failure read more
Feb 11, 2020
zztl9 (All reviews)
I haven't enjoyed an anime this much recently, and I didn't expect myself to have taken a liking for this one in particular.

There is just something about sports animes or just any anime with a plot revolving around the characters building their team and improving their skills that gets me so motivated to learn something new myself, and with that in mind, I decided to give this one a go despite the plain concept--no isekai, no special powers, and no cute girls on the poster (lol).

Huge props to the animators for doing the character's forms, which you will be able to see from the read more
Nov 13, 2019
Marureviere (All reviews)
This anime has a lot of potential, having a unique story of all men cheer dance. I have high expectations because I enjoy the first two episode of this anime. However, I found myself cringe at almost scene and just skip it. Aside from the first two episode, I enjoy the last two episode of the anime. The story was fast-paced and they skip a lot of details.

The characters were interesting enough but the story didn't give us deeper individuality of the members but instead it only focuses 3-4 characters.

It was painfully obvious that they don't have enough budget in making this anime. It read more
Nov 22, 2017
Reaperleo (All reviews)
Hello guys . This is my first time Writing a review about an anime so please read it till the end and bare with me.

This anime i did see its name when it aired in july 2016 but for some reasons like for first thing the name of the anime i find it a little weird when i checked the synopsis it was even weird from normal sports genre anime there are many popular titles but nothing with cheer-leading and that too it revolves around a male cheer-leading club it is kind of weird right??

I think that too but that’s where i was this read more
Nov 26, 2016
Redruum (All reviews)
As I sit here sipping peppermint tea, the cold bitter breath of winter clawing at my window like grey wolf shrouded in steam, I find myself satisfied with finishing an anime that simply does not stand up to my high standards of what a 'good' anime should be.

Cheer Danshii is a pleasant anime that borders on the ever increasing combination of Slice of Life and Sports. The basic premise of the story is that a group of high school students form the first ever men's cheer leading squad for their school. The story itself is not that awe inspiring, and indeed the read more
Sep 1, 2019
Vane-senpai (All reviews)
(Sorry my poor english, I'm brazilian) This anime is wonderful. Despite the low grade for me he is very good, the characters are charismatic and the part where Haru and Kazu talk in front of the hospital thrilled me, is beautiful the way Haru sees Kazu, it seems like there's something else there , and Haru ends up crying next to Kazu, because it's like he takes Kazu's pain for himself. At the beginning of the anime it was Haru who needed the confidence and courage to go on, but in the end Haru overcomes it all and then he has to give courage so read more
Jun 8, 2017
reneeofspades (All reviews)
I'm really disappointed because, based on the first episode, I really wanted this show to be good. It seemed like it was going to be pretty funny and actually take its character motivations seriously, but the show took a harsh drop after the first few episodes and quickly filled itself with too many characters to care about and watched its promising aspects fade into the background. The production value suffers A LOT as well. It also had the misfortune of coming out in the same year as Yuri on Ice, which does the whole "men do a traditionally feminine sport in a non-high school setting" read more