Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Cheer Danshi!!


Alternative Titles

English: Cheer Boys!!
Japanese: チア男子!!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 5, 2016 to Sep 27, 2016
Premiered: Summer 2016
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 23:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Brain's Base
Source: Novel
Genres: Sports, School
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.881 (scored by 12,775 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #39002
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1718
Members: 36,169
Favorites: 83

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 2, 2016
RossiRoad (All reviews)
Preliminary
I first wrote this off as a generic sports type show but soon came to regret it much later as I enjoyed watching it a lot more than most anime this season.

The main appeal is the way the characters have to push through so many hardships to reach their near impossible goal of creating an all male cheer leading team. This creates an emotional story of overcoming embarrassment, fear, trust and physical boundary's which may prevent them from fulfilling their goal.

It's the only anime I've seen to make me cry, laugh and simultaneously want to do a handstand in the same episode proving read more
Jul 26, 2016
Melody (All reviews)
There are so many popular titles of sports anime already but, none of them has to do with cheerleading, a guys-only cheerleading, too. Does an anime that revolves around a male cheerleading team sound weird? Maybe, at first, but after just a few minutes in the anime, you can actually realize how interesting and refreshing it is!

In the beginning of Cheer Danshi!! we have the two main protagonists and childhood friends, Kazuma and Haruki, who decide to do something completely different from the ordinary, and obviously, they succeed. At first, there is the thought that it might be hard to get more members for their read more
Aug 2, 2016
wthkagehina (All reviews)
Preliminary
There are only 5 episodes out so far, so this is going to be based on first impressions and my thoughts so far.

Story:
Even though sports animes is popular nowadays, this is a very original anime. It's about 2 boys who used to train Judo, but decided to try something new. You guessed it, Cheerleading. Every episode has a main focus, so the episodes can skip sometimes, but not so that you have no idea what's going on. It's very sweet and we see them develop from being at the bottom to slowly getting better. What's also good is that there is not that much focus read more
Sep 27, 2016
FireEmblemIke24 (All reviews)
Before I begin this review, props to Waseda University Shockers for giving us this anime!
Watch the link to get an idea for the anime: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AE7QecvR3fQ

Men doing something like cheerleading? Not unheard of but this show is the definition of male empowerment! I believe no activity should be restricted to a certain gender with this show being the beginning of countless opportunities. This a series that has the sport cheerleading under the spotlight as we follow the lives of two former judo participants who embark in this new challenge.

The main character for this show is undoubtedly Bandou Haruki, who is a college student that has the read more
Aug 6, 2016
ilDesu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Cheer Danshi is a sports series unlike many in that the focus is not on characters whose reason to live is the sport itself, but rather tells the story of some dudes in college looking to have a great time doing an activity which for most of them has no deeper meaning than "I just wanted to try it", a fact that in my opinion is a plus, as it is closer to the real life circumstances of non professional sports clubs. Having said that, all the members have a real passion for improving and give cheerleading their all.
All characters are fine or even great, read more
Sep 23, 2016
SerpentineJ (All reviews)
Preliminary
Warning: this show is fujoshi bait.

You probably could have gotten that from the summary, actually, but I'm here to say that, as someone who enjoys shipping, both gay and not, Cheer Danshi!! is just... not a good anime. It has a cool premise and a catchy ED, but that's where, for me, the enjoyment ends- Cheer!! suffers from a spectrum of other problems, varying from bad pacing to an over-inflated cast to blatant bl-lovers' fanservice.

Story: 6/10

The story isn't that bad. Cheer!! doesn't have a lot of substance, but that's not necessarily a bad thing for a light slice-of-life sports anime. The storyline is pretty basic read more
Nov 4, 2016
88expert (All reviews)
GO FIGHT WIN!!!!!!!!! LET'S GOO BREAKERS!!!!!
I'm going to remember this quote forever.

Cheer danshi is clearly the most underrated anime of the summer 2016 season or possibly the entire year which I don't get it.

KEY: Break being what the characters need to accept about themselves or overcome any difficulty

Story: The story of the show.... Well there isn't any... The true story of the show is within the characters. The characters backstory is the true story of the show where we just want to get up and cheer for those boys that they need to break whatever they need to break in this cheer club.

Characters: read more
Aug 9, 2016
Nekogee (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm probably going to be one of the few people who finds this anime to be mediocre at best - particularly as it seems to have been welcomed with open arms into the anime community and hailed as something unique and groundbreaking. Which I feel it isn't. Now don't get me wrong, I do like the anime - it just didn't strike the same cord with me that shows such as Free! or Haikyuu!! did for example.

First thing's first - I'll go over what I enjoy about the show first:

- It is an insanely pretty show but that's to be expected from the gloss kings read more
Oct 30, 2016
Fresh_Mint (All reviews)
This week on sports I never thought I'd be watching: Cheer Danshi! an anime about something I didn't even fully digest was a sport until now. Now onto the review.

The story is rather simple. Kazu forms an all male cheer leading group. Why all male? Because it's a new and refreshing idea in the cheer leading world, or so I'm told. It actually slipped my mind how forgettable that reason was and I ended up watching the recap just to remember. And assuming it is a convincing enough reason to get their first few members, it is where a good portion of the minor conflict read more
Oct 11, 2016
JinKun (All reviews)
Preliminary
I won't be saying much about Cheer Danshi!! Since the description is up below, but if you plan on watching this, you're in for a unique, laid-back, and overeall very enjoyable sports anime.

Cheer Danshi!! deals with two best friends, Haru -- an ex-judo sports guy, and Kazu -- a happy-go-luck young man. They are both attending university, with Kazu offering the idea to start up an all-male cheerleader club after being inspired by old recordings of his deceased parents, who used to be teammates on a cheerleader group. From there on, the two friends search for more of the university students to join them in read more
Oct 10, 2016
raymono (All reviews)
Unlike its predecessors, Cheer Danshi has nothing that makes any sports anime enjoyable. There’s no emphasis on competition, the characters lack any serious emotional bonds with one another, and any development made is crudely washed over with trivial filler.

While the series looks promising at the beginning, it loses it’s way once millions of other characters are introduced. May as well sever any connections you had with the supporting characters at the beginning, as they are seemingly forgotten about the higher the episode numbers climb. What’s more, due to the lack of competition, you never see the characters struggle and grow through defeat and failure read more
Oct 21, 2016
Shiori_chan1015 (All reviews)
Cheer Danshi!! was definitely NOT one of my favourite sports animes. This series had a lot of potential featuring an all-male cheerleading team, however, it failed to deliver the character development, animation, or plot other sports animes had successfully done.

Unlike most other sport animes, they didn't have any memorable characters, everyone is acting in a melodramatic way, the animation was below average... which is a big red flag for sport anime which depend a lot of action. Most importantly: there was no tension or competition...

Forgettable Character

The characters were unmemorable and cardboard. I can't remember any of them other than Haru, Kazu, and Sho, read more
Aug 29, 2017
DemonWolf47x (All reviews)
So I just finished Cheer Danshi!! and I enjoyed alot, although I might be viewing it too optimistically haha. It seems to view itself as a sports anime, but I find it more comparable to a performance/idol anime, such as LoveLive, because most of it seems to revolve around training and bonding instead of competition. So Cheer Danshi!! lacks the intensity of a sports anime, and instead focuses on the buildup before a final performance seen in many group idol anime.

The story starts out pretty original and ends pretty well. The story premise is original and quickly grabs the attention of the viewer, however, read more
Jun 15, 2017
AIMBF104 (All reviews)
Do you ever get your hopes up only for it to slowly deflate like a month-old party balloon? Yeah, that's how I felt over the course of watching Cheer Danshi.

---

Story: 6/10

It starts off pretty great. Two college boys (!! NOT high schoolers as per usual) decide to start a men's cheer group. They need a few more members if they want to compete in competitions, so they get a few more and teach them how to do stunts while also learning themselves.

It's great. And then we get introduced to about 15 more characters who decide to join the club, and it goes downhill from there. read more
Jun 8, 2017
reneeofspades (All reviews)
I'm really disappointed because, based on the first episode, I really wanted this show to be good. It seemed like it was going to be pretty funny and actually take its character motivations seriously, but the show took a harsh drop after the first few episodes and quickly filled itself with too many characters to care about and watched its promising aspects fade into the background. The production value suffers A LOT as well. It also had the misfortune of coming out in the same year as Yuri on Ice, which does the whole "men do a traditionally feminine sport in a non-high school setting" read more
Nov 26, 2016
Redruum (All reviews)
As I sit here sipping peppermint tea, the cold bitter breath of winter clawing at my window like grey wolf shrouded in steam, I find myself satisfied with finishing an anime that simply does not stand up to my high standards of what a 'good' anime should be.

Cheer Danshii is a pleasant anime that borders on the ever increasing combination of Slice of Life and Sports. The basic premise of the story is that a group of high school students form the first ever men's cheer leading squad for their school. The story itself is not that awe inspiring, and indeed the read more
Oct 22, 2016
ashfilledwords (All reviews)
As someone heavily into the cheer world (cheered for 6 years myself, two sisters that cheered in college and coach now, mom that coached), I was super excited about this anime. From a technical aspect, the cheers and routines and realities of the cheerleading were completely spot on.

For the most part, I loved the characters, but really felt that they could have dug deeper into the characterization. At least Kazu, Haru, and Shou got some deeper storylines.

What really killed the potential for me was the MASSIVE drop in animation/art quality after only a few episodes. It was so utterly sad. I read more