Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Re:Zero kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu


Alternative Titles

English: Re:ZERO -Starting Life in Another World-
Synonyms: Re: Life in a different world from zero, ReZero
Japanese: Re:ゼロから始める異世界生活

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2016 to Sep 19, 2016
Premiered: Spring 2016
Broadcast: Mondays at 01:05 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: White Fox
Source: Light novel
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.511 (scored by 324,272 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #972
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #45
Members: 541,224
Favorites: 21,881

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 18, 2016
XHellScytheX (All reviews)
*This review contains light spoilers*

From my perspective, we are living in a time where well crafted anime with a myriad of originality and detail are unfortunately being released at a frequently declining rate. Because of this, many in the anime community are constantly on the lookout for something new and creative. So naturally, when an anime like Re:Zero kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu airs, a show that boasts morbidly unique twists on the popular but overused fantasy/game world genre, it gains a lot of popularity and is generally well received in the anime community. However just because something is innovative doesn't mean that it is a read more
Sep 18, 2016
Imrik37 (All reviews)
"The only thing worse than dying once is having to die again."

That was the title of a wonderful email from Crunchyroll I received about a month and a half ago to advertise "Re: Zero - Starting Life in another World -". I ignored it at first, and simply carried on with my two shows of the season, Jojo Part 4 and Mob Psycho 100 (both of which I heartily recommend you watch). However, after a little while of my friends pestering me to watch this series, I sat down and put the first half of the first episode onto my TV.

Re: Zero starts off somewhat read more
Sep 19, 2016
Veronin (All reviews)
Re:Zero truly wanted to be something. It shoots for the stars, it tries new things and throws the characters through so much torture and misery that the fantasy-world they are living in resembles more a hell. They boil in this hell, fuming with anger and regret, any shred of happiness they find fading almost immediately to nothing.

But Re:Zero isn't something. It reaches for its dear, dear life, but remains in the end wholly unremarkable shounen fare interested more in shocking the viewer with gore and theatrics than in telling a genuinely meaningful story. Re:Zero may not be terrible and irredeemable, but it certainly struggles read more
Sep 19, 2016
bPhimmasone (All reviews)
Hi all, this is my first review on MAL. Please bare with me, but I feel like I should share my opinion on this and why I gave it the score I did. I wouldn't say I'm the most hardcore anime fan, but I have definitely seen my fair share of shows and am pretty much a typical anime viewer. I review anime in my mind pretty differently than others. Note, there may be a lot of extra information that is unneeded for this review, but I really want to put my perspective on this as much as possible. If you don't care, just scroll read more
Sep 18, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
Imagine a show that repackages some of the most recurring themes in anime today and make it into a fantasy thriller. That’s what Re:Zero essentially is. Adapted from the novels of the same name, the show is more of a darker fantasy story than most people may be familiar with. It’s not exactly like a show where a character is stuck in a world and they try to find a way out. Or is it making a parody of the show itself. Rather, Re:Zero (Re:Zero kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu) is a fantasy thriller that has some delirious complexity.

Early impressions of Re:Zero may trigger viewers’ comparison read more
Sep 20, 2016
HunterKhim (All reviews)
A final review of Re:Zero kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu
(Re-updated; it may contain some spoilers, so be aware of it):

================================

"If you are suddenly summoned to another fantasy world without any kind of preparation, what will you do?"

Some of the reactions of other people is that some of them would really panic and do not know what to do... but on Subaru's case (the main character of the story), he is 'trying' to rationalize his situation even though he experienced different kinds of despair and other negative emotions about his current situation and trying to adapt to his new environment. At first, he is trying read more
Sep 20, 2016
123w45 (All reviews)
No spoilers.

There are two types of haters of this show. One group is made up of elitists who overanalyze the show, and the other group consists of people who can't even understand the show and call it edgy. What both groups do not understand is the purpose of the anime.

The anime is about the development of Subaru's character, and it is executed brilliantly.

What makes a show good? A good show should be easy to follow while still challenging the audience to think. It should appeal to the audience's emotions, and most importantly, it should be entertaining. Re:Zero does all of these things excellently.

Some critics read more
Sep 18, 2016
CoquiEnthusiast (All reviews)
Will this review ever get noticeable enough to be featured in the top of all the other reviews? No. I like expressing my opinions on all of the shit I watch. Sometimes there are times where an anime comes by and I need to make a full review instead of adding my opinions on the "tags" section. This review is directed for those who found my profile and are interested on reading my full opinions on this series. Minor spoilers ahead. I hope anyone who reads this enjoys my rambling review of the hottest show of Spring and Summer seasons, Re:Zero.

WHAT'S UP WITH ALL THE read more
Sep 19, 2016
Zielt (All reviews)
Re: Zero kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu.
Contain so many similar elements from several anime, adapted, and executed perfectly. Even with so many similar elements from different anime mixed there, Re: Zero is still very original series in a sense of taste.

There's been some kind of weird mocking to some of the heroine in this anime in several forums, and that's been driving people straight to disinterest with the series. I hope there's nothing like that happening again in the future. Re:Zero is a great series, and people shouldn't be so disinterested with it because of cancerous community.

There's some aspects that I love about this anime:

1) read more
Sep 18, 2016
Ganz7 (All reviews)
Before I start my review, let me just say one thing - FUCKING WATCH THIS SHIT! You will never expect what's coming if you just base your opinion on its premise or art style.

Moving on, if there is just one thing that I had to choose to say why Re:Zero stands among the best of the best, it is the realistic take on a fantasy world MC (Subaru)... and the character growth (read suffering) that he goes through. Some arcs were just plain depressing and disgusting to watch. How pathetic can the main character get? Well, that's where this anime outshines most others. This makes read more
Sep 20, 2016
Tonster911 (All reviews)
Re: Zero was an anime that I thought wouldn't be very good. I started watching the episode expecting to be dissapointed that it would be a generic "other world" anime. I thought this up until the last scene were the main character is murdered. Soon afterward he "respawns" at a fruit stand in the market, this is what hooked me. I realized that this anime is doing something no anime has done before. It made me care about the characters, and even become sad when they died even though I knew it would just be reset when Subaru dies.

Story 10/10
The story wasn't just a love read more
Sep 19, 2016
samuel_sfx (All reviews)
This is quite though anime to give insights on. There are a lot of part from this anime that I really like, as much as parts that I didn't really like. But I did enjoy this anime a lot and it is worth for overall 9.

What I dislike:

- Story coming in and out without proper prologue and ending. Why Subaru got suddenly sent to the fantasy world, what is his relation with the Witch, and so on. It will be exciting turnouts if audience got explained those things. I am truly expecting a longer series instead of 25 episodes. Something like HxH where in the read more
Sep 18, 2016
Dris (All reviews)
This review of Re:Zero kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu is solely based on my personal views and overall enjoyment watching the show.

Story: With the influx of all these anime shows about a protagonist being transported into a fantasy world/game, this specific show, Re:Zero, certainly doesn’t sound like anything special. In fact, when I first heard about the anime announcement for this show, I was pleasantly surprised but not at all hoping for anything that would blow me away. To me, I was hovering around the idea that if anything, I would enjoy watching the show because – while not original – it might end up being read more
Sep 22, 2016
Ruler632 (All reviews)
Hey! I'm that Review who used to have over 1300 upvotes*, but due to the stupid rule that MAL has, that they remove all reviews that were made before the anime ended, which to a review like me is plain ridiculus, anyway here we go again.

Can I just tell you how awesome this anime is, here it is; IT IS SO FUCKING AWESOME THAT IT'S BEYOND YOUR IMAGINATION!

Yeah, you got it right, I had to write it in caps because YOU CAN NOT COMPREHEND IT'S AWESOMENESS!!!

I'm actually done with my review, but there are some of you few out there who aren't convinced as of read more
Sep 21, 2016
Ahmadather7866 (All reviews)
Re:Zero is the story about Natsuki Subaru who is summoned to another world, a magical world. He befriends or more like falls in love with a half elf girl who saves his life from hoodlums so in return Subaru wants to help her finding her lost insignia. He and the girl are killed by another person while looking for the insignia. Just then Subaru finds himself alive back to the moment when he came in this new world with the memories of his death and everything that happened. And so starts the great journey of Subaru.

Now Speaking of Subaru he surely was a good main read more
Sep 20, 2016
PantsuuGod (All reviews)
This was hands down one of the best anime I have ever seen, The story, art and soundtracks fit together like pieces of the same puzzle giving off - Depending on situation - A feeling of happiness or despair. It will keep you at the edge of your seat craving for more, and that's exactly why I waited for it to finish airing in order to start watching.

For the first time I've sort of connected with the main character, and lived through the ups and downs of the story, felt happy at the heart-warming moments, and cried at the desperate ones.

This anime proves to us read more
Sep 19, 2016
Dream95 (All reviews)
I'm pretty sure some of you are thinking that Re: Zero is another overhyped anime that isn't nowhere near the hype it deserves. Well, let me just say it now: Re: zero deserves all of that hype and score, or at least most of it. It is an exceptional anime, composed of many different kinds of elements that elevates the anime even further. The entertainment (and despair) it manages to give every single episode is astounding, and paired with great characters and great animation and music, makes this anime truly a must watch for any anime fan.

You probably have already seen this kind of a read more
Sep 19, 2016
skyrip (All reviews)
Well I´ve started watching Re:Zero kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu not knowing what to expect.
I´ve heard a lot of people comparing to other series such as KonoSuba or Gate, except a bit darker. During the first episode it seemed pretty casual, nothing really innovative, but at the end of the first arc I really wanted more. So, here goes my review for Re:Zero kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu. IT CONTAINS SPOILERS FROM THE FIRST 2 EPISODES.

Story: 9/10

The story of Re:Zero is at times complicated, at times predictable. It is that contrast that makes it enjoyable. Of course, there are a lot of series with much more read more
Sep 21, 2016
HunterNXJ (All reviews)
Hey there, do you enjoy watching a decent romance+drama+action anime with realistic characterisation that attempts and mostly succeeds in depicting the effects of a teenage boy seeing and even experiencing death over and over again? Well look no further, because if so, you have an interest in observing a mental breakdown and the subsequent road to redemption. Re: Zero depicts this fairly well.

To put it simply, Re: Zero has a distinct personality that is accused of being generic and edgy. Nothing quite screams generic as a character that makes mistakes and learns from them. It's almost as if he is human. If you never make read more
Sep 21, 2016
IndianAnimeReker (All reviews)
Ahh Re:Zero, the anime that is in my opinion looking to be the best show this year (beating erased). The anime that actually inspired me to write my first anime review, despite me being a lazy fk.

Apart from having excellent art, soundtrack, story, voice acting (especially voice acting) and direction (pacing) there are several underlying themes and messages (sometimes subliminal/hidden ones like in its OP). This is show that will disobey all of your preconceptions, judgements and/or expectations of a trapped-in-an-another-world type anime and present to you something that feels entirely original somehow.

There so many things to talk about this show that would read more