Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Re:Zero kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu


Alternative Titles

English: Re:ZERO -Starting Life in Another World-
Synonyms: Re: Life in a different world from zero, ReZero
Japanese: Re:ゼロから始める異世界生活

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2016 to Sep 19, 2016
Premiered: Spring 2016
Broadcast: Mondays at 01:05 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: White Fox
Source: Light novel
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.531 (scored by 296,649 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #902
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #48
Members: 499,698
Favorites: 19,660

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 19, 2016
Veronin (All reviews)
Re:Zero truly wanted to be something. It shoots for the stars, it tries new things and throws the characters through so much torture and misery that the fantasy-world they are living in resembles more a hell. They boil in this hell, fuming with anger and regret, any shred of happiness they find fading almost immediately to nothing.

But Re:Zero isn't something. It reaches for its dear, dear life, but remains in the end wholly unremarkable shounen fare interested more in shocking the viewer with gore and theatrics than in telling a genuinely meaningful story. Re:Zero may not be terrible and irredeemable, but it certainly struggles read more
Sep 18, 2016
XHellScytheX (All reviews)
*This review contains light spoilers*

From my perspective, we are living in a time where well crafted anime with a myriad of originality and detail are unfortunately being released at a frequently declining rate. Because of this, many in the anime community are constantly on the lookout for something new and creative. So naturally, when an anime like Re:Zero kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu airs, a show that boasts morbidly unique twists on the popular but overused fantasy/game world genre, it gains a lot of popularity and is generally well received in the anime community. However just because something is innovative doesn't mean that it is a read more
Sep 18, 2016
ZephSilver (All reviews)
Ahh, the reviewer. The first line of defense to quell the flames of irrational thought and often the bearer of bad news for those of the general public. They're the Buzz Killingtons that take it upon themselves to blow the "no fun" whistle and send the partygoers back on the hype-train that they rode in on. It's a thankless job, one that doesn't reward anyone besides the smug satisfaction of the man with the whistle, tipping his top hat and waving "adieu" at the fanbase, outraged that someone had the audacity to bring an analytical lens to the "totally bitchin party, bruh!"
And as the seasonal read more
Sep 18, 2016
Imrik37 (All reviews)
"The only thing worse than dying once is having to die again."

That was the title of a wonderful email from Crunchyroll I received about a month and a half ago to advertise "Re: Zero - Starting Life in another World -". I ignored it at first, and simply carried on with my two shows of the season, Jojo Part 4 and Mob Psycho 100 (both of which I heartily recommend you watch). However, after a little while of my friends pestering me to watch this series, I sat down and put the first half of the first episode onto my TV.

Re: Zero starts off somewhat read more
Sep 18, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
Imagine a show that repackages some of the most recurring themes in anime today and make it into a fantasy thriller. That’s what Re:Zero essentially is. Adapted from the novels of the same name, the show is more of a darker fantasy story than most people may be familiar with. It’s not exactly like a show where a character is stuck in a world and they try to find a way out. Or is it making a parody of the show itself. Rather, Re:Zero (Re:Zero kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu) is a fantasy thriller that has some delirious complexity.

Early impressions of Re:Zero may trigger viewers’ comparison read more
Sep 19, 2016
bPhimmasone (All reviews)
Hi all, this is my first review on MAL. Please bare with me, but I feel like I should share my opinion on this and why I gave it the score I did. I wouldn't say I'm the most hardcore anime fan, but I have definitely seen my fair share of shows and am pretty much a typical anime viewer. I review anime in my mind pretty differently than others. Note, there may be a lot of extra information that is unneeded for this review, but I really want to put my perspective on this as much as possible. If you don't care, just scroll read more
Sep 18, 2016
Captain220 (All reviews)
Every now and then, we, the anime community, are blessed with a gem. A gem, shining ever so brightly in the sea of mediocrity that are the seasonal anime manages to blind the majority of the community with its seemingly endless blister into thinking that the title at hand is somehow special and praiseworthy. After a rather short period of time, the bright light the gem once used to vividly emulate begins to flicker, until eventually fading away into eternal darkness and being forgotten. It's nothing new; rather just a byproduct of hype culture and the negative effect it has on entertainment media. read more
Sep 20, 2016
HunterKhim (All reviews)
A final review of Re:Zero kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu
(RE-UPDATED; it may contain some SPOILERS, so be aware of it):

================================

"If you are suddenly summoned to another fantasy world without any kind of preparation, what will you do?" A usual reaction or some of the reaction of other people is that some of them would really panic and do not know what to do... but on Subaru's case (the main character of the story), he is trying to rationalize his situation even though he experienced different kinds of despair and other negative emotions about his current situation and he is trying to adapt to his new read more
Sep 20, 2016
123w45 (All reviews)
No spoilers.

There are two types of haters of this show. One group is made up of elitists who overanalyze the show, and the other group consists of people who can't even understand the show and call it edgy. What both groups do not understand is the purpose of the anime.

The anime is about the development of Subaru's character, and it is executed brilliantly.

What makes a show good? A good show should be easy to follow while still challenging the audience to think. It should appeal to the audience's emotions, and most importantly, it should be entertaining. Re:Zero does all of these things excellently.

Some critics read more
Sep 18, 2016
CoquiEnthusiast (All reviews)
Will this review ever get noticeable enough to be featured in the top of all the other reviews? No. I like expressing my opinions on all of the shit I watch. Sometimes there are times where an anime comes by and I need to make a full review instead of adding my opinions on the "tags" section. This review is directed for those who found my profile and are interested on reading my full opinions on this series. Minor spoilers ahead. I hope anyone who reads this enjoys my rambling review of the hottest show of Spring and Summer seasons, Re:Zero.

WHAT'S UP WITH ALL THE read more
Sep 18, 2016
JkayW (All reviews)
Interesting ideas with a poor presentation makes for best comedy anime of the year.

What do you believe originality is? What comes to your mind? Is it making something that has never been made before? Maybe doing something that has never been done before? Well, Originality is the ability to think independently and creatively. An often occurrence in the community is fans complaining about the lack of originality and inventiveness in titles. And when a show like Re:Zero comes along, people begin to shout certain words.. While I disagree with the idea that something can be truly 'original' since everything in one way or another draws read more
Sep 18, 2016
themegamancave (All reviews)
Re:Zero- A Lengthy Yet Critical Dissertation

Well, I told myself I wouldn't review this, but I felt so disgusted while reading through the reviews of Re:Zero on MAL that I had to address the glaringly obvious issues with it. I binged 23 of its 25 episodes while sick at home with the flu, and by the end of it I'm not sure if that or the vomiting I did was worse. I know a lot of people aren't going to agree with this review, but I plead for you to take off your fan service blinders and tune in while I break down the psychological disaster read more
Sep 20, 2016
Tonster911 (All reviews)
Re: Zero was an anime that I thought wouldn't be very good. I started watching the episode expecting to be dissapointed that it would be a generic "other world" anime. I thought this up until the last scene were the main character is murdered. Soon afterward he "respawns" at a fruit stand in the market, this is what hooked me. I realized that this anime is doing something no anime has done before. It made me care about the characters, and even become sad when they died even though I knew it would just be reset when Subaru dies.

Story 10/10
The story wasn't just a love read more
Sep 18, 2016
Ganz7 (All reviews)
Before I start my review, let me just say one thing - FUCKING WATCH THIS SHIT! You will never expect what's coming if you just base your opinion on its premise or art style.

Moving on, if there is just one thing that I had to choose to say why Re:Zero stands among the best of the best, it is the realistic take on a fantasy world MC (Subaru)... and the character growth (read suffering) that he goes through. Some arcs were just plain depressing and disgusting to watch. How pathetic can the main character get? Well, that's where this anime outshines most others. This makes read more
Sep 19, 2016
Zielt (All reviews)
Re: Zero kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu.
Contain so many similar elements from several anime, adapted, and executed perfectly. Even with so many similar elements from different anime mixed there, Re: Zero is still very original series in a sense of taste.

There's been some kind of weird mocking to some of the heroine in this anime in several forums, and that's been driving people straight to disinterest with the series. I hope there's nothing like that happening again in the future. Re:Zero is a great series, and people shouldn't be so disinterested with it because of cancerous community.

There's some aspects that I love about this anime:

1) read more
Sep 19, 2016
samuel_sfx (All reviews)
This is quite though anime to give insights on. There are a lot of part from this anime that I really like, as much as parts that I didn't really like. But I did enjoy this anime a lot and it is worth for overall 9.

What I dislike:

- Story coming in and out without proper prologue and ending. Why Subaru got suddenly sent to the fantasy world, what is his relation with the Witch, and so on. It will be exciting turnouts if audience got explained those things. I am truly expecting a longer series instead of 25 episodes. Something like HxH where in the read more
Sep 18, 2016
itsroxas (All reviews)
This anime doesn't make sense at all. I can agree that the show has an interesting premise and tries it best to be something original but in most episodes it seems like the writer itself doesn't really know where to take the story. Subaru is just transported into this fantasy world and immediately accepts it without ever questioning where or how he got here or even try to at least get back to his own world. The characters are simply one-dimensional and have no personality at all and just seem like lifeless robots who are simply their to complete the harem circle. The reasons read more
Sep 18, 2016
Dris (All reviews)
This review of Re:Zero kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu is solely based on my personal views and overall enjoyment watching the show.

Story: With the influx of all these anime shows about a protagonist being transported into a fantasy world/game, this specific show, Re:Zero, certainly doesn’t sound like anything special. In fact, when I first heard about the anime announcement for this show, I was pleasantly surprised but not at all hoping for anything that would blow me away. To me, I was hovering around the idea that if anything, I would enjoy watching the show because – while not original – it might end up being read more
Sep 22, 2016
Corny632 (All reviews)
Hey! I'm that Review who used to have over 1300 upvotes*, but due to the stupid rule that MAL has, that they remove all reviews that were made before the anime ended, which to a review like me is plain ridiculus, anyway here we go again.

Can I just tell you how awesome this anime is, here it is; IT IS SO FUCKING AWESOME THAT IT'S BEYOND YOUR IMAGINATION!

Yeah, you got it right, I had to write it in caps because YOU CAN NOT COMPREHEND IT'S AWESOMENESS!!!

I'm actually done with my review, but there are some of you few out there who aren't convinced as of read more
Sep 21, 2016
Hochmut (All reviews)
Re:Zero -Starting Life in Another World (ゼロから始める異世界生活, Re:Zero Kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu), is one of the brightest gems of the Summer 2016 season. While it is not something flawless, as one might think, this series is definitely doing its best to be enjoyable and interesting for its viewer. In my opinion, the fact that the creator of the series actually cares is very commendable. However, it is an open secret that trying to be fascinating and being fascinating is not the same thing. Thankfully, it is not one of these cases. Allow me to share my opinion on Re:Zero -Starting Life in Another World, on read more