Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Dragon Ball Super

Watch Dragon Ball Super on Daisuki

Alternative Titles

English: Dragon Ball Super
Synonyms: Dragon Ball Chou
Japanese: ドラゴンボール超(スーパー)

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: Unknown
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Jul 5, 2015 to ?
Premiered: Summer 2015
Broadcast: Sundays at 09:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.451 (scored by 71,335 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #17692
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #380
Members: 164,146
Favorites: 2,143

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Mar 16, 2016
StefanoFrassi (All reviews)
Look I think I understand what is wrong with the people giving bad reviews to this brilliant anime, they are being too..Kantian...let me explain.
I am not a big anime fan in general, yet I grew up watching and reading Dragon ball and let me tell you a secret: I believe we all should keep in mind: the beauty of Dragon ball is its diversity of registry, ranging between comedy, romance, horror, drama...and whatever you may think of.
Each character in Dragon ball is endowed with affinity towards a specific element...BUT still each character has some room to expand and switch between his less dominant traits. Even read more
Aug 7, 2015
KingAsura (All reviews)
hello Everyone! This is my first review here so I'll try my best on reviewing this show thus far through my viewing.

This will be quite a surprise for me to say this but I am actually enjoying this series more than I thought. I know right? Since its A first I need to come out and state why I'm enjoying it. You see it has been a LONG time since we heard there was going to be a new series for the Dragonball Franchise after all, It is a major household name in anime.

I'd advise anyone who are thinking of watching Dragonball Super to read more
Aug 12, 2015
Shir1ey (All reviews)
One thing real funny for a few days I've been here on MAL is how many reviewers pick this as a first review and I wonder why that is?

Maybe because this series has a big following of fans that feel they have been let down. So why not rub salt in there wounds for a change, It would be so easy to do right? Wrong because I'm 1 of them.

To tell you the truth, I'm a fan who takes criticism with ease and unlike certain reviewers I can say rightfully about my pros and cons with this show without feeling ashamed of watching something read more
May 13, 2017
ANobleCrusade (All reviews)
So, Dragon Ball Super. A series widely criticized and panned from the beginning, due to a multitude of things. Retelling the past 2 movies, poor animation quality, etc. But as you can see by my score, I actually really like this show! Is it perfect? No, just look at some of those first 27 episodes, and you can really see a struggle to get episodes out.

This isn't a review of episodes 28-89, it's a review from episode 1. I'll be reviewing each arc separately, before wrapping it all up with my overall thoughts.

read more
Sep 8, 2015
Jaseman (All reviews)
I know that since the start, many have given up on this series, But as for me I've enjoyed the start to this series so far as well as seeing characters we have known for so long now are back yet again.
Would I say its as good as the previous seasons? Definitely not.
but I guess that will be subjective since it still hasn't gotten too far into this new story at the moment but it sure as HELL still beats Dragonball GT AKA GOKU TIME. Which as you guessed was the only purpose of that show was for Goku's character to have the read more
Oct 23, 2015
phs_togusa (All reviews)
I've been asking this for years on end, and I'll keep saying it until Toei Animation et al actually answers the question: Did the world really need another Dragon Ball sequel? Haven't we learned from the sheer clusterfuck that was GT that nothing good could EVER come of a TV sequel to a horrendously overextended franchise that for all intents and purposes, should've stayed in the 1990s? "But this time, it's canon!" So what if it's canon? It still sucks, and nothing you say can ever convince me or any rational person otherwise.

Dragon Ball GT was definitely terrible, but at least it was trying to read more
Apr 4, 2017
Trickster16 (All reviews)
I can definitely say that this is the worst anime I've ever seen.

-The characters were all (yes, ALL OF THEM) flanderized;

-The story is stupid as hell.

-There are no developments

-The are no connections between the sagas. If you exclude ANY of them, it will doens't change anything;

-The anime tries tu use fanservice every singles time, but they doesn't make any sense. They grew up Trunks' hair only to show the "Super Trunks" transfomation with the exactly same design as before (when he actually had a long hair);

-Goku and Vegeta are not heroes anymore. They've never protected the universe, never won a villain;

-There's no tension, no sense read more
Nov 20, 2016
Twi-Light (All reviews)
I was hyped when I heard that there would be a new Dragon Ball movie back in 2013. The anticipation to get tickets to the showing of Battle of Gods was crazy and the movie did not disappoint. The fluid animation and mix of action and comedy that people were calling a Dragon Ball - Dragon Ball Z hybrid left a very nice impression. When they announced Resurrection F, the hype train carried over full capacity. And again, the movie left a very nice impression, albeit not as strong due to the weak ending, but that's a point for another discussion.

I had been hoping that read more
Dec 25, 2015
MrAgonious (All reviews)
After being hyped for a while I caught up with the anime today, and decided to write a review because...why not. Being a hardcore DB fan in the past, I was really excited to get a canon continuation of DBZ, but...

Story: 2

The story gets a 2 because the anime is so far a rehash of the two movies that came out, Battle of Gods and Resurrection of F. The only difference is the awful pacing this time. You're better off watching both movies and skipping what I reckon will be 30 episodes of the anime. The storylines themselves aren't anything to write home about either.

Also, read more
Oct 23, 2016
almogrd (All reviews)
im writing this review when only 63 episodes are out but i hope it will still be relevant in the future so here we go
im a big anime fan and dragon ball z is one of my favorites, but dragon ball super is on a different time, with a different plot and much better animation so lets start

Story:
again, im only writing this when 63 episodes came out, but the future trunks arc is pretty great, its nice to see all the old characters that i love fighting again, but i gave it an 8 because of the first two arcs which were just awful, wasting read more
Mar 8, 2017
shogun97 (All reviews)
Dragonball super is among the worst animes I have ever seen. I strongly recommend you to not even start watching this crap. I honestly think that this show slowly ruins the reputation of Dragonball. In the following I will present you my reasons why I absoulte hate this show.

Story: 3/10

The first two arcs of this anime are nothing else than retellings of the Battle of Gods and Fukatsu no F movies. If you have seen the movies the roughly first 30 episodes are completely pointless. On top of that they dragged the events out for the worse. Therefore the pacing in the first two arcs read more
Dec 1, 2016
Grardox (All reviews)
Review in English and Spanish/Reseña en ingles y español.

This will be until the completion of the Trunks arc of the future.

Let's go in parts, EVERYTHING DBS does is wrong.
They started adapting the 2 movies, although supposedly it was to correct mistakes, but in both they put events like that of Tagoma (I think that's what it was called), leaving him alive, with a pseudo motivation so that later Ginyu will arrive and steal the body and equal Ginyu Dies, making all this irrelevant, there were scenes in the film that lasted with 5 minutes and the series extended them to 2 chapters, being that 1 read more
Sep 22, 2016
zawias92 (All reviews)
At first i didn't want to write it, but...i just had to. Cant stay silent when someone butchers a legendary series with a cheap cash-grab.
Not sure where to start so..i'll start with positives, as its whole 2/10 so got to have some, right? Ok. Positives: opening. End of positives.
Really. It looks ok, music isnt terrible...
Problems begin when the opening ends and show starts. Its one of the ugliest series i've seen in YEARS. It looks worse than DB, DBZ ang GT. Can't stop wondering why - dragon ball shits golden eggs for years, so i expected level of FSN: UBW, Naruto Shippuden, One Punch read more
Nov 15, 2016
NarfireVA (All reviews)
Honestly, I wanted to love this series to a point of fanboyism but many things come up short. While I still do love it, it did have a lot of issues that the series itself wasn't at fault for. What I mean is, Toei. Toei underestimated how much people love Dragon Ball, and I'll get into that as the review goes on.

Story
While Super is a continuation of Dragon Ball Z, it does not take place after the last episode as Pan is not born as of the first episode. The first two arcs are basically Battle of Gods and Resurrection 'F' movies with subtle differences. read more
Oct 14, 2015
JudgeRuthless (All reviews)
Sotry is actually very diluted in this one, so there isn't much to it and a one line spoiler for the whole first 14 episodes is easy to produce, simply because NOTHING HAPPENS most of the time. The rest of the time something almost happens and on very rare occasions something finally does actually somehow happen, miraculously considering the show is done in such a way as prevent anything from ever happening and to drag it on for all eternity.

Art
i used to really like the art when i was a little kid.

Sound
they really need to improve it after all these years ...

Character
the show ruins even read more
Dec 4, 2016
MaliyaWong (All reviews)
After having watched 69 episodes, I think I can fairly assess whether this story is worth your time or not: it isn't. For the biggest part of the series it really isn't worth it, but there are some small parts which hardcore Dragonball fans might want to see anyway, which is why in addition to reviewing this series, I'll write a how to watch guide too.

Let's start with the Story first.
The 1st and 2nd episode details where our heroes are and what they're doing after the Buu-saga. FANS CAN WATCH EPISODES 1 AND 2, BUT IT ISN'T NECESSARY TO UNDERSTAND THE STORY.
Then the real story read more
Mar 10, 2017
KipnaPlayer (All reviews)
It's an disappointment. The story is just plain out bad, you can feel when watching the anime that it's just looking for anything they can do to make it feel entertaining. They drag out unnecessary scenes over the whole episodes. They try to drag out anything to stall time so they can find a story to animate. The animation is bad, it's clean but bad. Poor camera angels mixed with poor animation and you have a dragon ball super fight. Fight scenes have nothing with them except for punching and kamehameha's. fighting choreography is close to none. I heard that the animators for dragon read more
Jun 22, 2016
ICritiqueStuff (All reviews)
Note: the series isn't over yet, nor will it be over for a while, but I doubt it will get any better.

The story is the same rehashed garbage before. And I liked the original Dragonball manga.
Also, some genius came up with the idea to make the first 29 episodes into basically recaps of the 2 movies that were recently released. Genius.

The animation can suck my Virginia for all I care. It's garbage. All of it. The characters look different throughout every frame. The original anime series had their issues, but at least the characters were somewhat consistent throughout.

The sound's saving grace are the classic DB read more
Mar 7, 2016
koshkarr (All reviews)
NO MAJOR SPOILERS

皆さん今日は、
this is my very first review and since english isn't my main language I apologize for mistakes, ect.

As for someone who loves Dragon Ball and Dragon Ball Z since childhood I am certain of being capable to rate this new series right.

Actually I am not a fan of rating something to early since only 34 episodes are released at the moment, but the bad reviews I saw just make me want to write my own. Of course I will make sure to edit this review if something will change my view.

Just like everybody I was excited to see more of Dragon Ball since read more
May 1, 2016
HIGHTEE (All reviews)
This show is nothing short of an absolute disgrace to the dragon ball franchise.

The animation quality is awful, the plot is awful, the characters are awful, the fights are awful, the pacing is awful, the comedy is awful... it's just straight up horrible. There is zero suspense in Dragon Ball Super, and that was what made DBZ great; a strong villain that forced the characters to surpass their limits to protect their friends and family. DB super has none of that. It's just a snooze fest.

It is clear to me that Akira is just continuing the story just to make money, especially since read more