Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Dragon Ball Super

Watch Dragon Ball Super on Daisuki

Alternative Titles

English: Dragon Ball Super
Synonyms: Dragon Ball Chou, DB Super, DBS
Japanese: ドラゴンボール超(スーパー)

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 131
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 5, 2015 to Mar 25, 2018
Premiered: Summer 2015
Broadcast: Sundays at 09:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.671 (scored by 163,731 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #11962
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #250
Members: 343,017
Favorites: 5,989

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 16, 2016
StefanoFrassi (All reviews)
Preliminary
Look I think I understand what is wrong with the people giving bad reviews to this brilliant anime, they are being too..Kantian...let me explain.
I am not a big anime fan in general, yet I grew up watching and reading Dragon Ball and let me tell you a secret I believe we all should keep in mind: the beauty of Dragon Ball is its diversity of registry, ranging between comedy, romance, horror, drama...and whatever else you may think of.
Each character in Dragon Ball is endowed with affinity towards a specific element...BUT each character also has some room to expand and switch between his less dominant traits. read more
Mar 24, 2018
Gozmit (All reviews)
Dragon Ball is and probably always will be my favorite series. I was just an four year old boy when I first had the pleasure of witnessing Dragon Ball on TV. Though I was perhaps too young to understand it, as I got older, I'd eventually move onto Dragon Ball Z. The more I'd aged, the more I grew to love Dragon Ball. I was hooked, and my knowledge of the series was immense.

Dragon Ball Super is the continuation and sequel of Dragon Ball Z. The story is quite similar to Z as we see our hero Goku progressively meeting stronger foes and the read more
Mar 24, 2018
Rikuson1 (All reviews)
Dragon Ball Super Review



Story (6/10) Fair

If you are looking for a great story in Dragon Ball (past the pre-DBZ stuff) in 2018 you are doing it wrong. We all know Akira Toriyama is far from the best when it comes to this department so I never go in looking to have my mind blown by it. But in my opinion at least it never gets to the point where it's completely brain dead stupid that I feel like my intelligence is being directly insulted (like Fairy Tail for example yes shots fired but no one is defending that anime's story anyway). The anime started off read more
Aug 7, 2015
KingAsura (All reviews)
Preliminary
hello Everyone! This is my first review here so I'll try my best on reviewing this show thus far through my viewing.

This will be quite a surprise for me to say this but I am actually enjoying this series more than I thought. I know right? Since its A first I need to come out and state why I'm enjoying it. You see it has been a LONG time since we heard there was going to be a new series for the Dragonball Franchise after all, It is a major household name in anime.

I'd advise anyone who are thinking of watching Dragonball Super to read more
May 13, 2017
Kiricina (All reviews)
Preliminary
So, Dragon Ball Super. A series widely criticized and panned from the beginning, due to a multitude of things. Retelling the past 2 movies, poor animation quality, etc. But as you can see by my score, I actually really like this show! Is it perfect? No, just look at some of those first 27 episodes, and you can really see a struggle to get episodes out.

This isn't a review of episodes 28-89, it's a review from episode 1. I'll be reviewing each arc separately, before wrapping it all up with my overall thoughts.

read more
Aug 12, 2015
Shir1ey (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm here to give my review from an objective standpoint of a fan who has seen and read Toriyama's work.

Story - 6
Its pretty basic, the story is a continuation after the Majin Buu arc that takes place sometime after some time (Its not yet specific as to when in this series)
however It doesn't mean its right at the end of Dragon ball Z like some people by accident think, but it does somewhat takes place in between the 2 since there was a 10 year time gap after the majin buu saga and before UuB is even introduce into the story. questionable I know read more
Mar 29, 2018
FrffyVsMAL (All reviews)
SPOILERS duh...

Hard work always ran at the core of Dragon Ball Z's appeal. Inspiring people to get into shape & persevere in the face of unspeakable odds. Perhaps this is the most appropriate place to focus our critique.

What is Dragon Ball Z?

It's impossible to speak for everyone when it comes to what message you take away from the show. However I would like to make a case, that perhaps some of the backlash this series has received, can inform why people acted so negatively towards it (at least in comparison to DBZ).

"Goku never wins"

I can understand both sides of this argument. read more
Apr 4, 2017
Trickster16 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I can definitely say that this is the worst anime I've ever seen.

-The characters were all (yes, ALL OF THEM) flanderized;

-The story is stupid as hell.

-There are no developments

-The are no connections between the sagas. If you exclude ANY of them, it will doens't change anything;

-The anime tries tu use fanservice every singles time, but they doesn't make any sense. They grew up Trunks' hair only to show the "Super Trunks" transfomation with the exactly same design as before (when he actually had a long hair);

-Goku and Vegeta are not heroes anymore. They've never protected the universe, never won a villain;

-There's no tension, no sense read more
Mar 2, 2019
Optigisa (All reviews)
Preliminary
There is a famous quote that I would like to apply to Dragon Ball Super, which says "Everything that has a beginning comes to an end." Toei Animation, of course, ignored this quote while selfishly looking at the money bags that would come to them from producing this shameless sequel to Dragon Ball Z. They did not only ignore the quote, they made fun of it and said "Do you underestimate the power of merchandising?"

Listen, I like Dragon Ball Z, I LOVE Dragon Ball Z, it was my favorite show as a child by far. I realize that Dragon Ball Super is really not read more
Sep 8, 2015
Jaseman (All reviews)
Preliminary
I know that since the start, many have given up on this series, But as for me I've enjoyed the start to this series so far as well as seeing characters we have known for so long now are back yet again.
Would I say its as good as the previous seasons? Definitely not.
but I guess that will be subjective since it still hasn't gotten too far into this new story at the moment but it sure as HELL still beats Dragonball GT AKA GOKU TIME. Which as you guessed was the only purpose of that show was for Goku's character to have the read more
Mar 8, 2017
shogun97 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Dragonball super is among the worst animes I have ever seen. I strongly recommend you to not even start watching this crap. I honestly think that this show slowly ruins the reputation of Dragonball. In the following I will present you my reasons why I absoulte hate this show.

Story: 3/10

The first two arcs of this anime are nothing else than retellings of the Battle of Gods and Fukatsu no F movies. If you have seen the movies the roughly first 30 episodes are completely pointless. On top of that they dragged the events out for the worse. Therefore the pacing in the first two arcs read more
Mar 25, 2018
DtDaniel (All reviews)
Dragon Ball Super, the sequel of the popular Dragon Ball Z, is a show with very polarising opinions. Some people love it and others hate it. I'm going to say it's pretty good and will give it a 7/10.

Story: 6/10
The story of Dragon Ball Super isn't very complicated. There is a villain who shows up and Goku and his friends need to defeat him or there is a tournament going on and Goku and his friends must find a way to win it. The first 2 arcs are the movies Battle of Gods and Resurrection 'F' retold, the 3rd arc is a universal tournament, the read more
Nov 20, 2016
Twilight-Dweller (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was hyped when I heard that there would be a new Dragon Ball movie back in 2013. The anticipation to get tickets to the showing of Battle of Gods was crazy and the movie did not disappoint. The fluid animation and mix of action and comedy that people were calling a Dragon Ball - Dragon Ball Z hybrid left a very nice impression. When they announced Resurrection F, the hype train carried over full capacity. And again, the movie left a very nice impression, albeit not as strong due to the weak ending, but that's a point for another discussion.

I had been hoping that read more
Dec 25, 2015
MrAgonious (All reviews)
Preliminary
After being hyped for a while I caught up with the anime today, and decided to write a review because...why not. Being a hardcore DB fan in the past, I was really excited to get a canon continuation of DBZ, but...

Story: 2

The story gets a 2 because the anime is so far a rehash of the two movies that came out, Battle of Gods and Resurrection of F. The only difference is the awful pacing this time. You're better off watching both movies and skipping what I reckon will be 30 episodes of the anime. The storylines themselves aren't anything to write home about either.

Also, read more
May 19, 2019
Vazka (All reviews)
Dragon Ball Super is the worst piece of fiction ever created.

This is the most disappointing thing I have ever watched in my life. This anime is an absolute disgrace to Dragon Ball Z, and it should've never been made. The only reason anyone even likes Dragon Ball Super is because it has the words "Dragon Ball" in the title. Everyone would be hating on it if it was its own series, but if Dragon Ball is on it then nope people will like it.

Why is it that some writers/creators don't know when to end a series? They end up milking it so hard read more
Mar 10, 2017
KipnaPlayer (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's an disappointment. The story is just plain out bad, you can feel when watching the anime that it's just looking for anything they can do to make it feel entertaining. They drag out unnecessary scenes over the whole episodes. They try to drag out anything to stall time so they can find a story to animate. The animation is bad, it's clean but bad. Poor camera angels mixed with poor animation and you have a dragon ball super fight. Fight scenes have nothing with them except for punching and kamehameha's. fighting choreography is close to none. I heard that the animators for dragon read more
Sep 22, 2016
zawias92 (All reviews)
Preliminary
At first i didn't want to write it, but...i just had to. Cant stay silent when someone butchers a legendary series with a cheap cash-grab.
Not sure where to start so..i'll start with positives, as its whole 2/10 so got to have some, right? Ok. Positives: opening. End of positives.
Really. It looks ok, music isnt terrible...
Problems begin when the opening ends and show starts. Its one of the ugliest series i've seen in YEARS. It looks worse than DB, DBZ ang GT. Can't stop wondering why - dragon ball shits golden eggs for years, so i expected level of FSN: UBW, Naruto Shippuden, One Punch read more
Dec 1, 2016
Grardox (All reviews)
Preliminary
**THIS REVIEW CONTAINS MAJOR SPOILERS**

Review in English and Spanish/Reseña en ingles y español.

Review of all Dragon Ball Super up to chapter 131


Let's go in parts, EVERYTHING DBS does is wrong.
They started adapting the 2 movies, although supposedly it was to correct mistakes, but in both they put events like that of Tagoma (I think that's what it was called), leaving him alive, with a pseudo motivation so that later Ginyu will arrive and steal the body and equal Ginyu Dies, making all this irrelevant, there were scenes in the film that lasted with 5 minutes and the series extended them to 2 chapters, being that read more
Dec 4, 2016
SonnyGoten (All reviews)
Preliminary
After having watched 69 episodes, I think I can fairly assess whether this story is worth your time or not: it isn't. For the biggest part of the series it really isn't worth it, but there are some small parts which hardcore Dragonball fans might want to see anyway, which is why in addition to reviewing this series, I'll write a how to watch guide too.

Let's start with the Story first.
The 1st and 2nd episode details where our heroes are and what they're doing after the Buu-saga. FANS CAN WATCH EPISODES 1 AND 2, BUT IT ISN'T NECESSARY TO UNDERSTAND THE STORY.
Then the real story read more
Mar 24, 2018
Nurguburu (All reviews)
Ahhhh, Dragon Ball Super, the canon version of some weird fanfiction called Dragon Ball AF. Let's start!

*Movie recaps: you can't start an anime with just a recap of the first two (bad) movies. It's feels more like filler and just a waste of time. The episodes are excessively long and the terrible animation is over the top. EXAMPLE? Remember episode 5? The story is bad just like that movies. Retcons, asspulls, resurrections, lazy designs of 'new' transformations. 1/10

*Super Tournament Arc: the reason of this Tournament makes no sense in the first place. Champa can gather the Super Dragon Balls without discuss with Bills. I read more