Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Dragon Ball Super

Watch Dragon Ball Super on Daisuki

Alternative Titles

English: Dragon Ball Super
Synonyms: Dragon Ball Chou
Japanese: ドラゴンボール超(スーパー)

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: Unknown
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Jul 5, 2015 to ?
Premiered: Summer 2015
Broadcast: Sundays at 09:00 (JST)
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.451 (scored by 64,146 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #17572
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #408
Members: 149,653
Favorites: 1,836

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Aug 5, 2015
FuturePro (All reviews)
An even worse follow up than GT.

Everything about this series is bad. Let's start with the story. All we know is that there will be remakes of Battle of Gods and Revival of F, along with a "new" plot line where Goku and Vegeta go to another universe to find Dragon Balls. Interspersed with that is whole episodes of content that would be right at home in DBZ filler. Goten and Trunks go on boring adventures that lead to nothing, add nothing to the universe, and take forever. Goku has loads of boring training sequences that also lead to nothing, add nothing to the universe read more
Mar 16, 2016
StefanoFrassi (All reviews)
Look I think I understand what is wrong with the people giving bad reviews to this brilliant anime, they are being too..Kantian...let me explain.
I am not a big anime fan in general, yet I grew up watching and reading Dragon ball and let me tell you a secret: I believe we all should keep in mind: the beauty of Dragon ball is its diversity of registry, ranging between comedy, romance, horror, drama...and whatever you may think of.
Each character in Dragon ball is endowed with affinity towards a specific element...BUT still each character has some room to expand and switch between his less dominant traits. Even read more
Aug 7, 2015
KingAsura (All reviews)
hello Everyone! This is my first review here so I'll try my best on reviewing this show thus far through my viewing.

This will be quite a surprise for me to say this but I am actually enjoying this series more than I thought. I know right? Since its A first I need to come out and state why I'm enjoying it. You see it has been a LONG time since we heard there was going to be a new series for the Dragonball Franchise after all, It is a major household name in anime.

I'd advise anyone who are thinking of watching Dragonball Super to read more
Aug 12, 2015
Shir1ey (All reviews)
One thing real funny for a few days I've been here on MAL is how many reviewers pick this as a first review and I wonder why that is?

Maybe because this series has a big following of fans that feel they have been let down. So why not rub salt in there wounds for a change, It would be so easy to do right? Wrong because I'm 1 of them.

To tell you the truth, I'm a fan who takes criticism with ease and unlike certain reviewers I can say rightfully about my pros and cons with this show without feeling ashamed of watching something read more
May 13, 2017
ANobleCrusade (All reviews)
So, Dragon Ball Super. A series widely criticized and panned from the beginning, due to a multitude of things. Retelling the past 2 movies, poor animation quality, etc. But as you can see by my score, I actually really like this show! Is it perfect? No, just look at some of those first 27 episodes, and you can really see a struggle to get episodes out.

This isn't a review of episodes 28-89, it's a review from episode 1. I'll be reviewing each arc separately, before wrapping it all up with my overall thoughts.

read more
Sep 8, 2015
Jaseman (All reviews)
I know that since the start, many have given up on this series, But as for me I've enjoyed the start to this series so far as well as seeing characters we have known for so long now are back yet again.
Would I say its as good as the previous seasons? Definitely not.
but I guess that will be subjective since it still hasn't gotten too far into this new story at the moment but it sure as HELL still beats Dragonball GT AKA GOKU TIME. Which as you guessed was the only purpose of that show was for Goku's character to have the read more
Aug 9, 2015
Ferudas (All reviews)
Firstly, the beginning of the show is based off of a movie called : Dragon ball: Battle of Gods. The movie is roughly 2 hours long and they plan to fill that all in ~30 episodes. Do you imagine that? Some episodes ( like the 4th one ) are complete fillers. Literally the story hasn't progressed over 20 minutes.

Story: Don't waste your time watching 30 episodes ( 10 hours ) when you can see it all ( plus extremely better animation ) in 2 hours. The story isn't bad , but I wouldn't suggest watching the anime just for it.

The voice actor for read more
Aug 11, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

As one of the most fanatical Dragon Ball fans on all of MAL, I REALLY wanted to love Dragon Ball Super! The first canon movie Battle of Gods was highly entertaining and while Resurrection of Freeza had some clear flaws, it was pretty decent for a DBZ movie. When I heard that an all new Dragon Ball series was being made with a high budget and Toriyama writing the story I was absolutely thrilled! This was going to restore Dragon Ball to its rightful place on the throne of Shonen anime and banish those pathetic usurpers like One Piece, Fairy Tail, and Bleach! Instead of read more
Aug 7, 2015
ALBOURAX (All reviews)
Read the review before hating on this because you're fanboying on the series.

Ever felt the moment when someone says a terrible joke and there's an awkward silence for like 10-20 seconds. Well it's the same but for 20 minutes. I lost 160 minutes of my life watching this and I will never get them back so.. Akira, Toei Animation, thank you for confirming the thought I had since a long time. The Dragon Ball Series would not have been popular if it came out around the 2010s.

Story (1) : Well, it's pretty simple. Some bad guy shows up, and they fight.
That's it, that's the whole read more
Oct 23, 2015
phs_togusa (All reviews)
I've been asking this for years on end, and I'll keep saying it until Toei Animation et al actually answers the question: Did the world really need another Dragon Ball sequel? Haven't we learned from the sheer clusterfuck that was GT that nothing good could EVER come of a TV sequel to a horrendously overextended franchise that for all intents and purposes, should've stayed in the 1990s? "But this time, it's canon!" So what if it's canon? It still sucks, and nothing you say can ever convince me or any rational person otherwise.

Dragon Ball GT was definitely terrible, but at least it was trying to read more
Aug 10, 2015
malice936 (All reviews)
I don't know how I managed to make it this far through the series. 5 episodes of HELL shat onto my computer screen and believe me when I say watching it felt a lot longer than it was.

To start off with the story is truly absurd and that's saying something from someone who thought Dragon Ball and the majority of Dragon Ball Z were pretty good. It's especially bad when it's the second time they've tried to shovel this to us, Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Gods was awful in it's own right, and now instead of 2 hours of crap I've sat through at read more
Nov 20, 2016
Twi-Light (All reviews)
I was hyped when I heard that there would be a new Dragon Ball movie back in 2013. The anticipation to get tickets to the showing of Battle of Gods was crazy and the movie did not disappoint. The fluid animation and mix of action and comedy that people were calling a Dragon Ball - Dragon Ball Z hybrid left a very nice impression. When they announced Resurrection F, the hype train carried over full capacity. And again, the movie left a very nice impression, albeit not as strong due to the weak ending, but that's a point for another discussion.

I had been hoping that read more
Aug 10, 2015
Alucards_Hat (All reviews)
The art is terrible and on top of that it's dragonball z. Don't waste your time with this. You're better off watching paint dry.
Nov 3, 2015
gilliambot (All reviews)
UPDATED 12.7.15. SINCE THE BEGINNING OF THE NEW FREIZA SAGA I HAVE CHANGED THE SCORE OF THE STORY TO 10. NO SPOILERS HERE, JUST KNOW THAT WHAT THEY ARE DOING WITH THE OPENING OF THIS ARC COULD MAKE IT IN TO ONE OF THE BEST STORIES IN THE DRAGON BALL UNIVERSE (in my opinion).

So the show has had a fair few episodes now, so its a decent time to give it a review. I think everyone reveiwng the show after 3 episodes was a bit unfair because it hadnt had a chance to get going.

A little back story; I am a massive DB fan, read more
Dec 25, 2015
MrAgonious (All reviews)
After being hyped for a while I caught up with the anime today, and decided to write a review because...why not. Being a hardcore DB fan in the past, I was really excited to get a canon continuation of DBZ, but...

Story: 2

The story gets a 2 because the anime is so far a rehash of the two movies that came out, Battle of Gods and Resurrection of F. The only difference is the awful pacing this time. You're better off watching both movies and skipping what I reckon will be 30 episodes of the anime. The storylines themselves aren't anything to write home about either.

Also, read more
Oct 23, 2016
almogrd (All reviews)
im writing this review when only 63 episodes are out but i hope it will still be relevant in the future so here we go
im a big anime fan and dragon ball z is one of my favorites, but dragon ball super is on a different time, with a different plot and much better animation so lets start

Story:
again, im only writing this when 63 episodes came out, but the future trunks arc is pretty great, its nice to see all the old characters that i love fighting again, but i gave it an 8 because of the first two arcs which were just awful, wasting read more
Apr 4, 2017
Trickster16 (All reviews)
I can definitely say that this is the worst anime I've ever seen.

-The characters were all (yes, ALL OF THEM) flanderized;

-The story is stupid as hell.

-There are no developments

-The are no connections between the sagas. If you exclude ANY of them, it will doens't change anything;

-The anime tries tu use fanservice every singles time, but they doesn't make any sense. They grew up Trunks' hair only to show the "Super Trunks" transfomation with the exactly same design as before (when he actually had a long hair);

-Goku and Vegeta are not heroes anymore. They've never protected the universe, never won a villain;

-There's no tension, no sense read more
Dec 1, 2016
Grardox (All reviews)
Review in English and Spanish/Reseña en ingles y español.

This will be until the completion of the Trunks arc of the future.

Let's go in parts, EVERYTHING DBS does is wrong.
They started adapting the 2 movies, although supposedly it was to correct mistakes, but in both they put events like that of Tagoma (I think that's what it was called), leaving him alive, with a pseudo motivation so that later Ginyu will arrive and steal the body and equal Ginyu Dies, making all this irrelevant, there were scenes in the film that lasted with 5 minutes and the series extended them to 2 chapters, being that 1 read more
Mar 8, 2017
shogun97 (All reviews)
Dragonball super is among the worst animes I have ever seen. I strongly recommend you to not even start watching this crap. I honestly think that this show slowly ruins the reputation of Dragonball. In the following I will present you my reasons why I absoulte hate this show.

Story: 3/10

The first two arcs of this anime are nothing else than retellings of the Battle of Gods and Fukatsu no F movies. If you have seen the movies the roughly first 30 episodes are completely pointless. On top of that they dragged the events out for the worse. Therefore the pacing in the first two arcs read more
Nov 15, 2016
NarfireVA (All reviews)
Honestly, I wanted to love this series to a point of fanboyism but many things come up short. While I still do love it, it did have a lot of issues that the series itself wasn't at fault for. What I mean is, Toei. Toei underestimated how much people love Dragon Ball, and I'll get into that as the review goes on.

Story
While Super is a continuation of Dragon Ball Z, it does not take place after the last episode as Pan is not born as of the first episode. The first two arcs are basically Battle of Gods and Resurrection 'F' movies with subtle differences. read more