Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gakusen Toshi Asterisk


Alternative Titles

English: The Asterisk War: The Academy City on the Water
Synonyms: Academy Battle City Asterisk
Japanese: 学戦都市アスタリスク

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2015 to Dec 19, 2015
Premiered: Fall 2015
Broadcast: Saturdays at 20:30 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.131 (scored by 119,991 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #29992
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #260
Members: 220,031
Favorites: 1,054

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 19, 2015
JkayW (All reviews)
"If god exists why did he allow this to be?"

When it comes to making money for an anime company there is always a quick sure-fire way to make it. And no this isn't one of those add scams you've seen on your browser window. It's by making a harem! Use some cookie cutter character archetypes and a half baked story and fan-boys will start to defend it as really good and original. They will use excuses such as "It's a harem. It's not meant for plot."

But I'm here to tell you why me and so many other people hate Asterisk War so much.

Note: I'll read more
Jan 28, 2016
CHRlST (All reviews)
Simply the greatest anime of our times. A must watch masterpiece. Everything is perfect. The main character was memorable and likable. The set pieces were amazing and the art and sound were simply on point. There will never be another anime that comes close to this level of perfection (except sword art online). Simply put, the greatest anime to air to date. Simply the greatest anime of our times. A must watch masterpiece. Everything is perfect. Simply the greatest anime of our times. A must watch masterpiece. Everything is perfect. I would rate it higher then 10, but the system is flawed and does not read more
Dec 19, 2015
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
Gakusen Toshi Asterisk is a series which starts off as one of the most uninspiring anime I've ever seen throughout its first few episodes, but past a certain point it starts improving quite rapidly. Granted that doesn't really say very much given how mediocre the opening is, but despite the lackluster start it manages to make a quite impressive comeback and eventually become a pretty enjoyable anime.

First things first though, episodes 1-4 of Asterisk didn't exactly give me a very good first impression because they are *painfully* generic. Like if you've seen any typical action/fantasy/ecchi/harem magic academy anime before, you should know roughly what clichés read more
Dec 19, 2015
Wasshio (All reviews)
When it comes to Gakusen Toshi Asterisk or the Asterisk War, there are a few things that can go side and side for me. On one hand the show wasn’t so bad as I thought, considering the way the show went wasn’t as terrible as I thought, in fact; I will say that there were actually a few things that I liked about the series and this would include my personal evaluation, some few of the expositions and the way they handled the battle tournament aspect which was really nice. On the other hand however, the show still has some flaws that holds the show read more
May 2, 2016
SirTifide (All reviews)
If the medium of anime is a restaurant, then Gakusen Toshi Asterisk is reserving the most expensive seats, looking at the menu full of delicious entrees, main dishes, and deserts before getting up, walking to the bin where they throw out the rancid gruel, and stuffing yourself full.

Featuring
-Self Insert Jesus!
-Generic Tsundere!
-TWO Token Lolis!
-TWO Large Breasts That Advance The Plot!
-Exposition Spouting Male Friend!
-A Whole Host Of Other Shit That Doesn't Matter And Is Only Brought Up To Advance The Main Character's Cool Meter And Expand His Collection Of Women!

If you're here for the shitty fanservice, just go watch porn instead. The plot's better.
Jan 10, 2016
MozillaFennekin (All reviews)
edit: don't read this review don't upvote it i don't want it to exist it's just a bad digibro impression read another review i am a better writer than this

I'm not mad. I have only myself to blame for this, really. I tend to be more selective with what I watch. Something will be recommended, I'll hear about something popular, or it's just on my mind a lot. I've never watched anything expecting it to be bad; usually I have no expectations at all, but often I at least think it'll be something that's enjoyable enough to pass the time and get a 5 or read more
Jan 14, 2016
TakeTheWindward (All reviews)
It's totally okay to watch a show with low expectations. Sometimes to balance a great anime, you gotta watch a bad one just to put you back in your place. It's a requirement to have watched poorly done shows so you know where your tastes are and also broaden your horizons. The Asterisk War serves as one of those shows that will give you appreciation of shows like High School of The Dead and other shows that have poorly written stories and brick wall characters. This is a must watch if you need to remember that there are really uninspiring anime.

Storywise, not much to say. read more
Apr 6, 2016
Naokito (All reviews)
Warning, this review might have some spoilers!

It is a great story after all, but something is missing in it. This anime was really great and i can say that there was some missings in the episode that might just would fit in there, but its not much to complain about that. I really did love that he was powerful (i guess not spoil). It does reminds me of SAO (Sword Art Online). Swords there and swords here. There is season 2 now and i expect that he (spoil) will get away that thing that holds him back from using hes true 100% power in read more
Mar 20, 2016
otaku_trash1236 (All reviews)
Preliminary
One of the most generic and boring LN Harem adaptations I have ever seen.

Set in a vague, unexplained, and ultimatly uninteresting world filled with shallow, cliched characters, who lack even the most basic of decision making or logical ability.

The Main cast includes

1. Generic blank slate harem MC

2. Generic fiery Tsundere.

3. Childhood friend cliche & deadpan loli, wants MCs D.

4. Exposition character who I can not remember a single character trait of except that she wants the MC's D.

5. another loli introduced later

There is virtually no character development, the plot goes nowhere, MC is as generic as it gets.

There is no reason to watch this read more
Feb 21, 2016
fatdinosaur (All reviews)
WARNING: Minor Spoilers Follow

Futuristic settings have always been particularly interesting in fiction, seeing as how there are many potential directions that an author can take such a setting. The idea of inverting society's moral principles, as The Asterisk War puts it, is certainly an interesting one as well. Superpowers can be cool too, so that can always be a plus for an entertaining story. Unfortunately, The Asterisk War squanders all of its potential and fails on a completely fundamental level, and is also a prime example of everything wrong with the harem genre.

Firstly, the setting is simply a waste. The city of "Asterisk" just read more
Dec 30, 2015
lolmashin (All reviews)
This anime is terrible.
It's just another one of those SAO lookalikes that A1 is trying to pass as an original anime.
The story is nothing special: Super strong boy meets somewhat strong tsundere hot girl that after only TWO episodes falls completely in love with him. Oh yeah, there's also something about a magical school and a competition. The world in not very well presented.
The characters are simply walking, talking stereotypes. You probably won't even remember their names, only the character tropes. There's the very naive and powerful main character who doesn't get that ALL the girls are in love with him. There's the main read more
Jul 11, 2016
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
Back in the fall 2015 season, two shows were aired that ended up being constantly compared for their similar plots and character types, as well as similar premises. One of them is praised for being a breath of fresh air in school battle harems for playing around with tropes, providing some unique scenarios, giving impressive action scenes, and doing it all competently to stand out amongst a crowd of generic school battle harem shows, that show being "Chivalry of a Failed Knight". The other, is Asterisk War, a pile of schlock that fails to capitalize on interesting ideas, and instead delivers awkward action, annoying ass read more
Apr 28, 2017
FrozenRoy (All reviews)
WARNING: Review contains minor spoilers, as the show has almost no story and some one off events need to be discussed to get across the show's quality.

Asterisk Wars is a series which has been derided by many and lauded by few, although the most common consensus to this show is likely "average". In my opinion, though, the people who pointed out all of this show's flaws are pretty much perfectly on track: This show has an unlikeable and generic cast set in an ill-concieved setting with no plot to drive it and poor fights.

Lets take it from the top. Our show begins when Ayato Amagiri, read more
Oct 18, 2016
RealSchon (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'd say spoiler alert, but if you've been watching anime for more than a month you already know how plots like these work out.

Kirito ku-- I mean, Ayato, is overpowered generic light novel guy #1239875 with a harem of useless and rejected cute girls. He enrolls in a magical sword school in a city on an island identical to those of previous incarnations of the light novel fantasy genre.

The writer of this series followed his Light Novel Adaptation Guidebook PERFECTLY.

Kirito ku-- Excuse me... Ayato walks in on a tsundere changing on the first day of school. She gets pissed and challenges him to read more
Dec 19, 2015
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Ah, harem. The genre that I mostly find myself gravitating towards is the one that has to do with lots of girls and only one guy. (Don't judge me. We all have our favorite genre.) So, with Fall 2015 coming to a close, we have Asterisk, a show that...really isn't much different from the rest of the harem shows out there to be honest.

Story: The age of Genestella came when meteors rained down and sent the world into near extinction, but surprisingly, not as many people as you think died. As a result of the fallout, a new society was read more
Dec 19, 2015
La_Matona301 (All reviews)
My Gakusen Toshi Asterisk review.

Story: Mediocre 5.
Art: Fair 6.
Sound: Fair 6.
Character: Good 7.
Enjoyment: Fair 6.
Overall: Decent 4.

Ok, so this anime has ended , so what can I say? Well, one can't make a review of this anime without compering to another anime namely "Rakudai Kishi no Cavalry" or at least on the story (up) side, since it both features the same plot where it involves the female MC who met the male MC in a very awkward situation and plot wise, both partners have to compete in a contest that would pit their skills against another opponent . I mean if one where watching read more
Jun 14, 2016
KingHarkinian (All reviews)
Preliminary
I tried this just to see what a truly terrible anime is. I thought there might be some sort of sick enjoyment out of the complete shittiness.

And there is, but it's buried deep under an extremely thick layer of pure unabated rage.

I'll just say right now that I gave TAW exactly 4 minutes of my time. Because in 4 minutes everything was said. I watched Shinsekai Yori from the same studio, an anime I considered to have an excellent story and good characters but generally terrible production values and design. This is the same. Except the story and characters are shit too.

So why am I read more
Dec 21, 2015
RakkuNyaaaa (All reviews)
Well...Gakusen Toshi Asterisk started off pretty good like any other harem-ecchi anime series but went the episode went by, it became garbage and it does have a common plot that can be found in other animes.

Story : 6
Actually I'm not too sure about the plot but I'm sure it revolves around some random Magical Fantasy Schools participating in a competition and the main character finding the truth about his older sister. The competition is about some Magical Fantasy Fighting Competition which up till now I still do not understand their powers and stuff relating to it. With the anime being completed, the ending ends off read more
Apr 23, 2016
AreyKyoya (All reviews)
This anime is definitely an interesting one when it comes to my overall enjoyment and whether I think its a quality title so far or not.

Story: 6 - The story is fairly intresting and each episodes make me want to watch the next episode so i'd say it has a good story development. Of all the animes watched I can think of three animes namely Absolute Duo,Freezing and Infinite Stratos which has a similiar story and development. And this season (Fall 2015) an another similiar anime 'Rakudai Kishi no Cavalry' have been airing as well. Although both of them are good and intresting it read more
Apr 24, 2016
ChaoticThinker (All reviews)
Dual Cour Format: An anime meant to be 24 episodes as fitting of Trimmed Format but because of limited TV Slot booking often airs at different points in time. Often announced simultaneously for example:

Shinmai Maou no Testament, Gate

Story 8 / 10

The story begins with Amagiri Ayato a transfer student to the Seidoukan Academy and progresses as ground work for what's to come for the future of a student that does not care about the combat called festas that surely but slowly is getting himself riddled on something darker.

Since this is a dual cour series I won't go into detail until I've seen 2nd cour read more