Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Minami-ke


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Minamike, The Minami Family
Japanese: みなみけ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2007 to Dec 31, 2007
Premiered: Fall 2007
Broadcast: Mondays at Unknown
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Daume
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.751 (scored by 57,911 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #10232
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #771
Members: 134,887
Favorites: 1,125

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 27, 2007
lowell (All reviews)
Funny doesn't even begin to cover it. I laugh out loud every episode. This show just really cracks me up. It's just so absurd and lively and hilarious.

Story: There's no real continuous plot. It really is slice of life in that Seinfeldian "show about nothing" sort of way. Despite the fact that there's no real story line, it manages to find such absurdity and humor in what should be the simplest, most mundane human interactions and relationships.

Art: Even the art is funny. The characters' expressions and body language just adds to the unexpected humor of every situation, read more
Apr 20, 2008
Ranivus (All reviews)
Okay well considering there are 7 reviews about minami ke when i finished watching this. So How am i going to get this review noticed? Easy and in one sentence too.
95% like Ichigo Mashimaro
But what do you expect from the same production company? (Domu)

Now with that said. Everything about this screams Ichigo Mashimaro. Sure theres only "3 main characters" as opposed to 5 main characters. Three would be the bare minimum for a slice of life comedy about a plain depiction of the days of the lives of the Minami sisters. Even before the show starts it says don't expect to much. What they read more
Sep 4, 2009
GeneralCox (All reviews)
Story (8/10)

Minami-ke is a slice of life comedy centring on the three Minami sisters (no mention of any other family except a distant relative) and their friends as they go about their lives – usually with hilarious consequences. Each episode is portrayed in short segments spread throughout, much like azumanga diaoh with each segment having its own theme, but usually fitting round a general episodic storyline. The vast majority of the story takes place at the girls various schools (each sister attends a grade school) and at home, giving a wide scope for hilarity to ensue, with most of the comedy coming from the younger read more
Jan 27, 2008
Master10K (All reviews)
Minami-ke is a Slice of Lice, Comedy about the ordinary lives of 3 ordinary sisters. You can’t get more ordinary than this, yet the mild mannered comedy is a sure win.

This short series is a typical slice of life, portraying the usual daily lives of 3 sisters. The story is basically structured by going from one random short story/event to the next with not much liking these events together. There’s nothing complex about story as the events are just the usual things we all experience in life: eat, go to school, hang out with friends, study and sleep. The only thing that makes this read more
Jan 20, 2008
maybelletea (All reviews)
I just recently finished watching Minami-ke, and now, among other watchers, I'm sure, waiting to see the second series because I just enjoyed it that much.

Minami-ke's story is simple: 3 sisters living on their own living their daily lives. The pacing is slow, but since the genre is slice-of-life, it doesn't need to go any faster. No romance can be found here (though there are the slight moments of infatuation and sexual references).

Each episode had something about it that usually would make one laugh out loud. There is just something about the girls' personalities and their relationship with one another that makes it so read more
Dec 20, 2008
Retro8bit (All reviews)
When I first heard about this "comedy/slice of life" anime, it seems like all I ever heard was how much this title is like another anime called Ichigo Mashimaro. I have to say that they were indeed right, it is a lot like it! In fact just watching this anime, feels more along the lines of an actual "anime sitcom."

Story: 7/10
Since this is a "slice of life" anime it has to be rated on its episode by episode plots. Her we find ourselves partaking in the daily lives of the three Minami sisters, who live alone in an apartment. The story will range from one read more
Aug 10, 2012
callmerevy (All reviews)
I couldn't have finished it if they wouldn't have justified the boredom with the intro sentence explaining that this is just a story about 3 girls and nothing special. To be frank, this series is absolutely boring. I do have a broad taste in humor an also often laugh about things most people wouldn't even take as a joke - in short - i don't hesistate when there's something remotely funny. But in this show the only real funny thing was the running gag about the drama tv show the three sisters are following. "sensei!" ... "ninomya-kun!" ... "sensei!"

That got me giggle every now and read more
Apr 21, 2018
Rasly2 (All reviews)
It's just like Lucky Star. Whole anime is basically some girls making strange faces and say random words.

I know some people like this and i think it has something to do with abuse of alcohol. Pretty hard to write a rewiev about it because this anime is so uninteresting and boring. Characters are most used anime stereotypes und scenes are super unoriginal.

Well i guess i could say that drawing is okey. And there is.. ahm.. oh there is all girls cast so that is a plus i guess but there are some male side characters. And its kind of unusualy boring, like amazingly boring.
Apr 14, 2010
Papajan (All reviews)
Minami-ke is hilarious. I cried from laughing, even the second time I watched it. The characters are wonderful; it's not one of those comedies that feels like random gags, but slice-of-life where the humor is more integrated in day-to-day happenings (even though there isn't much in the way of story progression).

The artwork is very well done, but it's made for the humor, not necessarily to be pretty. Especially Kana's expressions crack me up. And her "I AM BOSS" t-shirt makes me laugh every time I think about it. Actually pretty much everything about Kana cracks me up. The voice read more
Aug 21, 2018
Shinsukichan (All reviews)
Honestly speaking,Minami-ke is my first slice-of-life anime to be watched.Since my very first viewing in 2013,I have reviewed it for at least 20 times and actually fell in love with those types.Much Obliged to Minami-ke for providing me a gate to such a realistic but also marvelous new world :)

Story(9/10)

The story itself ,centering around the daily life of the three Minami sisters and their acquaintances,is so simplistic that even leaves few and far between trails of exaggeration commonly used in many other slice-of-life animes.Therefore,I might ask you “don’t expect too much from it”(confession time,I plagiarize the phrase from the Chiaki’s ).But,owing to the seemingly read more
Mar 16, 2017
Ericonator (All reviews)
Going into this show, I had no real expectations for it. From the get go, Minami-ke looked like your typical slice of life/comedy anime. However, after watching all 13 episodes in one sitting, I realized something. I realized that Minami-ke does what many other similar titles don't; and that is having characters that aren't one dimensional or are there just to fulfill a trope or stereotype.

Minami-ke is about the life of three sisters, Chiaki, Kana and Haruka, and their daily activities as they grow up. Chiaki is the youngest of the three sisters, being in elementary school. Despite being the youngest of the three, she read more
Apr 26, 2008
berylvenus (All reviews)
Minami-ke is about 3 sisters living a very simple and random life ~ DONT you dare to think thats cliche! Because Minami-ke is something different.

Its a very random anime indeed. Every epidose is something different but the lines,the character designs,voice actings are just amazing.

The most attaractive thing on this anime is the "reactions". You must watch it! I loved it because it so simple.. yet so funny.. and thats a hard thing to do ~
Jan 10, 2016
Notshane (All reviews)
Judging from the intro, I assumed this was going to be a pretty bland slice of life anime. The characters seemed okay, the plot was basic, but then I found a whole new level of enjoyment within the characters themselves as soon as I heard them talk.

Right off the bat, we are given an anime where we have a smartass elementary girl whom still has lots of innocence, a bratty, yet surprisingly intelligent at times, middle schooler and a somewhat slutty in a few areas, yet very responsible high school girl; and the experiences they each deliver are cutting edge comedy.

It has been forever since read more
Jan 15, 2008
Dj_Frog (All reviews)
1st Impression:
Silly, but genius. It's not your everyday-wacky-ultra-exaggerated comedy anime, This is a good example of comedy anime honestly.

Selling Point(s):
Character's charm, Light but yet silly enough hillarious moments, nice directing for the pace of the anime

Reason Of Liking the anime:
This anime almost killed me. From start to the end, i was forced to laugh out loud, even i 've tried as hard as possible not to. Mysteriously, with the 3 sisters , Haruka (gentle and kind), Kana (silly + idiotic) , and Chiaki (Moe(?) + arrogant), they have formed such great chemical mixture of charm, which cant stop the people from loving them. If read more
Jan 14, 2009
MoMo-Da-Gr8 (All reviews)
Summary of Story:
There are three of the Minami sisters: Haruka, Kana and Chiaki, who have an average life. The girls only have each other to depend on and help each other get through everything from love confessions to cooking.

Animation:
The animation may have been a little bit rough, but its high colors and smooth movements kept these points up! The facial expression of each girl where positively great, the use of going from detailed expressions to the simple lines was hilarious. The backgrounds were OK, nothing to really brandish about, and the background characters where OK as well, to the point where they all did look read more
Oct 31, 2017
MomokoMaki (All reviews)
It was so pointless it was fun. The episodes are broken into segments focusing on one plot for like ten min before moving on to the next. Each and every episode had at least one thing you could laugh about. The dynamic between the sisters almost feels natural messing with each other getting revenge and then coming to a sweet resolution.

I like the youngest character the best she's smart and snippy always messing with the middle sister.
The middles sister I like the least she does things that can be so annoying and make me want to physically hit her, but that also shows how read more
Apr 29, 2010
jellabee (All reviews)
an anime about the daily lives of the three minami sisters. there's no really story plot, just some random day to day activities of the three.

this anime is really fun to watch, even though it doesn't have a storyline, its really good. this anime is very funny and enjoying. the characters have different personalities but they blend so well with each other.

a family-oriented, slice of life, with a tad bit of romance anime~ be sure to watch this ☆ :D
Jan 13, 2010
Zagrom (All reviews)
Review from Zagrom, Otaku-Unlimited.net

This is a slice of life, comedy series based around the life of three sisters.

Minami Haruka, the eldest sister, the sweet and motherly sister. She is also the most reliable of the three sisters but is lazy when left alone. Although the oldest she is still a second year of high school. And in junior high through several misunderstandings obtained the nickname Banchō (or badass, used to refer to a leader of delinquents, etc, etc)

Minami Kana (my favorite) the family retard, or baka if I may. The middle sister, second year junior high. The type of girl that nearly always acts read more
Jun 2, 2008
AMVP (All reviews)
Minami-Ke is a bit of an oddball show, even for the slice-of-life genre. The character designs are more realistic than the far more popular Azumanga Daioh and Lucky Star (and it took be a bit to get used to the whole tear shaped mouth thing), and the plot is somewhat sporatic, bouncing form episodic to continuity at random (all animes do this, of course, but in the same episode?). These aren't complaints, however, just the facts. Really I can't think of anything bad to say about the series except that the pacing's a bit slow at first. Stick with it, though, and a taste for read more
Oct 2, 2008
Otaku1412 (All reviews)
Minami-ke isn't just another slice-of-life comedy that revolves around some main characters. Well, it does do that, but there is a mystical energy that comes from it that makes it not only funny, but pretty addictive to watch.

The whole story revolves around 3 sisters who have distinct personalities. There's Haruka, the eldest who is the most responsible of the three. She maintains the household, manages their bills, cooks the food and keeps everything in order in the house. There's Kana, the middle sister who has an energy that can't be beat. Although she's lazy and very gullible by her younger sister, she still shows her read more