Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Sakasama no Patema


Alternative Titles

English: Patema Inverted
Synonyms: Sakasama no Patema
Japanese: サカサマのパテマ

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Nov 9, 2013
Licensors: NYAV Post, GKIDS
Source: Original
Genres: Adventure, Sci-Fi
Duration: 1 hr. 39 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.131 (scored by 81,013 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #4152
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #613
Members: 168,756
Favorites: 1,049

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 17, 2014
TheArchangel (All reviews)
"Sakasama no Patema" is a gripping WWII drama set in 1944 Nazi Germany, detailing the struggles of a young German boy, Age (Eiji), hiding his Jewish friend, Patema, after the government declares that all people of Jewish descent must be "taken care of." Together, they traverse war-torn Germany to bring Patema home and along the way discover the truth of the government's persecution.

...

No, not really. That plot synopsis is pretty close though.

After falling into a pit that her village declared a danger zone, young Patema is plunged into a bizarre new world where everything is inverted. Suddenly, literally falling into the endless sky read more
May 10, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
A world where there are two sides. Sakasama No Patema (Patema Inverted) is more than just inverted but serves as an illustration to how connections are built. But from these two worlds also breeds hatred and struggles. For Patema, a princess of the underground kingdom, fate comes that ties her together with a young boy as the two worlds collide. A journey into this movie will feel like a sci-fi adventure, one that is inverted and surrealistic with its stylistic performance.

The brainchild of the movie falls under the hand of Yasuhiro Yoshiura, who also serves as the director. His previous involvement in projects such as read more
Jul 8, 2014
mahoganycow (All reviews)
Every day, in discussions about any subject: “I don't see how they can believe that.” “I don't know why they think like that.” Perspectives that don't mesh with our own are often cast aside, and some choose to build a comfortable nest of their own ideas without realizing that other viewpoints could be equally valid. Entire lives are lived in this fashion. And, yet, the ability to see through the eyes of another is dear to us as human beings, intellectually and emotionally invaluable. Case in point: Age finds Patema clinging to a length of wire, her feet pointed up towards the sky, utterly upside read more
May 9, 2014
Akole (All reviews)
This review is spoiler free

Sakasama no Patema or otherwise known in English as Patema Inverted follows a simple yet endearing and thrilling tale that 2 teenagers of different worlds partake.

The story:8.4
The story was certainly interesting and captivating. The contrasts between the two worlds and their differing yet converging societies allows for the audience to be absorbed into the world. The truth isn't white and black or wrong and right, instead it's more of how we view and value the world in Patema Inverted. The ending feels conclusive yet there just needed to be a bit more to make the story float(see what I did there?). read more
Aug 14, 2014
AzuraTheCat (All reviews)
Before you read this movies 8 star rating and get excited, understand that this is a concept-driven anime. Meaning that the world this movie is set in is very interesting and is the obvious center point of this anime. Everything else just kind of falls short. Because of this you will probably end up looking at your watch a couple times before the movie ends. Fortunately, there are some twists that will get your focus back to the screen again. Music is really nice. Animation and art style are decent. The characters are a little flat, but as I said this movie is more about read more
May 21, 2014
Po_and_Dong (All reviews)
Before you go into this film its advised you know what you are getting into so you don't waste 2 hours on accident. Inverted Patema is a simple movie that probably wasn't envisioned to be some kind of trump card of 2013 anime when it was being produced. The characters have about as much depth as a children's film (not that much) and there are lots of moments during the story that may strike you as a bit silly or overly convenient, even if you go in just trying to enjoy the film and nothing more.

Lets talk about the characters first. Patema is very read more
May 10, 2014
ngkn92 (All reviews)
For Scifi-fan myself, I want to write a review focus more on it.
This review still got spoiler, though I try my best not to.

Story:
A very boy meet a cute princess form underground at a fate encounter, they create a bond that connect them to another level, lead them to the adventure that no one knew before.

Art:
Work outstanding with this genre (and situation), rolate and rolate, sometime you could be confused and lost the balance , like you dont know where the ground, where the sky.

Sound:
OST is not very good but BGM is absolute amazing, delivered the feel and make atmosphere more intense.
Voice actor is read more
May 8, 2014
Flawfinder (All reviews)
Holy shit! Yoshiura Yasuhiro’s new movie is finally out! Two years after those “previews that were actually the beginning of the entire movie” were released, the actual product has finally been subbed and made available to us filthy pirates. Does it live up to the hype? Was it as mind-blowing as we expected it to be?

Okay, let’s keep this frank, short, and (mostly) spoiler-free: Patema Inverted is painfully boring to me. I didn’t care one bit about what was happening in this movie and for a film that was 98 minutes long, it sure felt pretty fucking long. The whole movie has the same basic read more
May 17, 2014
mdz (All reviews)
It's a concept show. It has pretty animation, complemented with an appealing art style. It attempts to develop a vivid world, all the while presenting, and accentuating themes of acceptance. It tries to do all that, but it succeeds at none of that.

Aside from the concept itself, there's absolutely nothing novel about this. It has a vapid antagonist, inclusive to a totalitarian, more technologically-advanced society. Antithetic to that, is a more 'human', less-technologically advanced society. Both view the other are being the inverse of the other -- both literally in the show's rendition of physics, and figuratively in the values which they hold dear. read more
May 18, 2014
Nyron (All reviews)
PATEMA INVERTED... is okay. It's certainly not that good, but not downright bad either. It's basically a whole movie based on a gimmicky premise where a boy meets a girl, except that gravity works the wrong way for the girl, so she's under constant threat of /falling into the sky/. Stretch that sentence out for 90 minutes and you have this movie.

Let's break it down.

THE STORY is a very basic anime boy meets anime girl story. Gravity works the wrong way for the girl. Boy lives in dystopian police state where that's an evil, reviled thing. Bad dudes hunt girl, boy goes after girl, yadda read more
Aug 21, 2014
NinjaMike28 (All reviews)
Whether the medium is anime, books, food or clothes - originality has always been a difficult thing to achieve. As the years go by, more unique materials are used and it becomes even harder to find what's 'truly original'. What you'll get are constant situations of "... hey doesn't this remind you of THAT film?" Luckily, there's very few settings, if any, similar to 'Sakasama no Patema (Patema Inverted)' - it's a breath of fresh air and definitely something that's 'original'.

In a world where gravity has changed, the lives of a young girl named Patema and a young boy called Age (Eiji) are explored - read more
May 19, 2014
stream_eon (All reviews)
NOTE: You don't have to watch the prequel for this movie coz the exact prequel is included in this movie.

I shall be writing an outline SPOILER-FREE review again. But don't let yourself get "inverted" except for the fact that this movie is quite good no matter how you invert it upside down.

PLOT:
1. Promising sci-fi genre but also quite simple and can easily be understood which is also fitting for an-hour-and-30-minute-movie.
2. Plot pacing is good too. Not slow and not fast. It genuinely covered all that should be covered.
3. Because of the setting of the story, which is in the 2 inverted worlds, it gave a read more
Oct 13, 2016
MisterGibbon (All reviews)
I have only one question - it's not even a complaint, mind you: What in the world is the point of making this movie? No, seriously - the movie barely seems to know its own focus, and so decides on being whatever the moment calls for. Sci-fi? Go, sci-fi!! Allegory? Go, allegory!! Gravity? No gravity. Whatsoever. Good thing is, there's nothing much to complain about, either - there never was much of a chance to have any.

Ok, so this story is supposed to work on two levels. On one hand you have a sci-fi tale of people on whom gravity works in the opposite direction, read more
Nov 30, 2018
Ethan_07 (All reviews)
If you could choose one person to help you when your life is at risk, who will you choose?

One that has a strong will to never give you up, one that has a strength to protect you from the dangers, one that can give you courage to do things you never dared for and one that you would deeply believe in just by looking into his/her eyes.

This is a story about the chosen one. In a world where 'peacefulness' and 'order' is under strict implememtation, by simply looking up into sky will bring you a lot of troubles. A world controlled by a good old-fashioned read more
May 15, 2014
Yamada2 (All reviews)
A wonderful 98 minute experience this is, Sakasama no Patema is great piece of work if not a masterpiece.

*CONTAINS PLOT SPOILERS*

This movie takes place in a world where gravity acts in two opposite ways. The place where gravity acts in one direction is given the name Aiga. Aiga is a seemingly normal world by our standards and has a dictatorship government. There are strict laws and everyone has to abide by them. This is where our protagonist is from who is known by his name Eiji.

On the other hand, the place where gravity works in the opposite way is Patema's world. This place is read more
Aug 2, 2015
AttackOnWaifu (All reviews)
Sakasama no Patema is the closest I've seen to a modern film capturing Hayao Miyazaki's earlier work from a narrative perspective. The film felt very reminiscent of Castle in the Sky. Miyazaki films tend to sometimes have deep plot in concept, but not in execution, and so the magic in his films -- are the characters, the world, and the themes that are often deep and mature. Miyazaki's films burst with charm, and their simplistic scripts always have an underlying themes that tap into certain elements of life. Miyazakis ability to create complex and interesting worlds/story concepts, and yet keep the actual plot itself simple, read more
Sep 1, 2014
limith (All reviews)
Coming from Time of Eve, I looked forward to this movie considerably.

I think that perhaps my higher expectations for the show ruined my enjoyment of it ultimately. Don't get me wrong, the movie was very good. The art, atmosphere, and everything is on par with the classics.

What left me hanging was in the character development field, where things were just too predictable. I was hoping for a less simplistic character development than what the online preview presented. However, the overall direction followed what was expected, with very few surprises. The developing bond between the two main characters also seemed to occur less natural than in read more
Apr 24, 2019
OahuOtaku (All reviews)
Pros:

- Extremely creative concept, and great execution as well
- Story is very good
- Animation looks amazing
- Background music is quite diverse, yet still creates the desired effects for each scene
- Great world building. You feel very immersed into the world created here.
- Tense scenes work amazing (especially if you are afraid of heights like I am.)

Cons:

- Villain is rather cliche and boring.
- (SPOILERS) It might be nice to know if the gravity in this world becomes fixed for people. Perhaps, also, it might be nice to see some sort of after credits scene where we see peace between Aiga and the inverts. (SPOILER read more
Nov 28, 2015
Jureon (All reviews)
Okay, this is my first review ever.

Sakasama no Patema is a great example of a movie which has a more deeper themes than you initially would think.
The story starts with a girl named Patema living underground in a society of "inverts" who have their gravity inverted. One day she stumbles on the surface and nearly falls in to the sky, until she's grabbed by a boy named Age who lives on the surface in this totalitarian government of "normal" people, and that's how their story begins.

Story:
It's a scary thought getting swallowed by the sky, free falling into never ending oblivion and into the read more
Sep 6, 2015
Rea_Ling (All reviews)
Well, what can I say? It's awesome! But, not the best. Even so, I enjoyed this. The first time I found it, I dropped it with "Tss, so boring", but, I changed and my genres changed too! I really don't know, what to say. Everyone already write it.. :-(
Oh and, by the way, did you realise that this is like a movie "Upside down"? I just did! :D