Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Code:Breaker


Alternative Titles

English: Code:Breaker
Synonyms: Code Breaker
Japanese: CØDE:BREAKER

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2012 to Dec 23, 2012
Premiered: Fall 2012
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Kinema Citrus
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.941 (scored by 101,187 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #39302
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #478
Members: 204,419
Favorites: 548

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 6, 2013
Toucanbird (All reviews)
Adaptation:Breaker

Talk about a poor adaptation. After reading some of the manga, I was anticipating what this series could do when moved to the big stage aka. adapted into an anime. Not only does this series fail as an adaptation, but it fails as a stand-alone anime series. There were so many failures with this series that I don't even know where to begin. I guess let's start with the plot.

The plot itself is at least interesting. A select group of agents within the government, unbeknown to mankind with special abilities are hired to eliminate evil. This story follows one such agent who is assigned to read more
Dec 22, 2012
Stark700 (All reviews)
What is evil?

It can be describe as something wicked, malevolent, sinister, ill, or something which holds responsibility for the bad things that happen in this world. It's a four letter word that strikes fear, anxiety, and many other emotions. In the real world, people commit deeds through free will. Some of these are good deeds, while others are evil. In the Code Breaker world, there exists supernatural beings who are able to judge deeds (good/evil) and carry out justice with an iron fist.

Rei Ogami: “An Eye for an Eye, a Tooth for a Tooth, and Evil for Evil”

Welcome to the world of read more
May 15, 2013
tsuyo_sama (All reviews)
[Spoiler Warning]

NOTE: This is my first review at MAL, so please bear with me. Also, I haven’t read the manga AT ALL, and I don’t know if the manga’s story is similar to the anime’s. Consider this as a point of view of someone who just watched the anime. There are some spoilers along the way to explain my point in the review, so read at your own risk. :)

I remembered watching the first few episodes of Code:Breaker (together with a few more anime) when it was still being aired last year. I got curious since I thought, “Hey another super power-themed shonen anime! Cool!” read more
Nov 25, 2014
MestariYN (All reviews)
Well, I came to this Anime like a "Meeting-by-Chance"! I've never heard of it, I had no idea about what's going on there and so on...

After I finished watching it I must say, I did not waste my time with it! It's got a good visual quality, some nice characters (in my case I liked Ogami and Yuuki most) and nicely choreographed battle scenes.
The balance and the dynamic between Humor, Action and a little bit drama is done wonderfully and keeps the audiences attention, throughout the anime, "upright" ;)

The little problem tough is how this anime has been set out so far. I don't read more
Oct 29, 2012
Chidori-ka (All reviews)
Preliminary
So far, Code:Breaker has been my favourite of the Fall season. It is true that there are only 4 episodes yet but if we consider the fact that this anime is going to have only 13 episodes, these 4 episodes are enough to give a fair opinion of it. Rei has the power of burning people with his flame and without hesistation he kills people- they are either evil or criminal people- as if lighting his cigarette but he is still a very cool and likeable character. He leaves the impression that there is a reason behind all his cruel way of killing and while read more
Jan 2, 2013
fbh (All reviews)
Code Breaker is a very typical if not just generic shonen anime following the story of Code:Breakers, people with special powers that are used by the goverment to kill criminals that for one reason or the other are untouchable by regular authorities


Story:
The story stars off a bit slow but sets some good foundations of the world the story takes place in, and who the Code:Breakers are. Sadly there are a bit too many filler scenes (and chapters) that would be expected from a Anime that will have 50+ chapter, but with only 13 Code:Breaker is on the short side and spends too much time developing read more
Jan 1, 2013
Altazon (All reviews)
Code Breaker was probably one of the animes i had more faith to be good when it came out. Well i can say it didnt fulfill my expectations.

Probably the worst aspect of the anime is the characters, specially the female protagonist. She is just annoying with a ridiculous sense of justice, and probably its one of the characters in any anime with more repetitive dialogue. I swear i have heard her yelling "oogami-kun!" (the male protagonist name) like 20 times in each episode followed by the sentence "dont kill him" or "dont do this" or similar stuff. Anyone that has watched the fighting scene between read more
Dec 30, 2012
BearMaster (All reviews)
Preliminary
A painfully generic Anime with cliché bad guys, pointless and uninteresting twists, and character motivations and faults that were taken right out of a textbook on "Anime 101". The only slightly redeeming element to this cookie-cutter story is some interesting fight scenes.
Oct 21, 2012
Demonwynd (All reviews)
Preliminary
Code:Breaker is sort of a shift in the magic genre in which the actors involved could very well be genetically enhanced humans, at least that's what the first two episodes seem to be leading us towards. This is really just an educated opinion concerning a possible direction for the anime, but I'll just have to wait to see if I'm right or not.

Anyway, the coolest aspect is that the protagonist, Sakura Sakurakouji has already focused on Rei Ogami as her own personal antagonist. The dynamic this implies just sets the stage for conflict between the two main actors through out the series. With Rei read more
Nov 2, 2015
Zaku88 (All reviews)
Code Breaker is not about Java security breaches but rather about a Japanese version of X-Men, cast with bishounen guys and a female version of Touma from Toaru Majutsu no Index. Basically, there are a great deal of children with "special abilities", which the government takes care of. The most powerful of these ability users are turned into 007-type agents that do the bidding of the Prime Minister, unbeknownst to the greater Japanese population. Our protagonist, Sakura, one day discovers one of these "code breakers" in action as he kills some unimportant fodder characters. Will her investigations lead her down a path of disaster?

The idea read more
Feb 10, 2017
Sonal1988 (All reviews)
This anime had a lot of potential, but for me its biggest flaw was how it handled its female characters, particularly the lead, Sakura. This review may have mild spoilers so don't read it if you intend to watch the anime.

1. It's frustrating to see a teenage girl THIS oblivious and idealistic in today's world. All that comes out other mouth are the words - please, stop, I beg you, you are wrong, don't do this, no, blah blah blah. I'm assuming her role was to act as the moral compass to Code Breaker 6's staunch ideals, but she only came across as a whiny, read more
Jan 6, 2013
phantomrose96 (All reviews)
If you like original, innovative anime with dynamic characters and complex storylines, turn away now. Turn away and don’t look back. However, if you’re looking for something with super-powered, angsty pretty boys and rather cool fight scenes, you might want to give this a try.

By far, Code:Breaker is the most generic anime I’ve ever seen, and its start is much rougher than its conclusion. For the first 5 or 6 episodes, I had this anime pinned as a 4. The two main characters, a Mary Sue and a cliché, angst-ridden teenage boy, were the perfect broken record duo. Every fight turned into a bland, depthless read more
Apr 7, 2013
suprasaiyajim (All reviews)
Art is old school so I thought this show will have an old school feeling. But I ended up being bored.

At first, the protagonist is badass, but they show later on shows him as being kind-hearted, which is contradictory because of the things he did and attempted to do.

Fight choreography was mediocre, wasn't really impressed with the fight scenes. So much time was wasted at the school.

Extremely repetitive. They will fight, then not fight. Be all buddy-buddy and then hate each other. And they say their names every 5 seconds. I know their names already.
Oct 21, 2012
animeruler1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a anime that truly speaks to those who like action depends on what kind and those who like the supernatural. The animation in this series so far can be considered questionable as it does not represent the style of the story. The appearance of the characters are i'd say correctly done and the voice of the characters suit how they are they act and their personalities. I like this anime because of how it is unique but find some dislike in how it has been set out so far.

I'd give this anime a 7/10 for everything and can only hope that it will read more
Mar 7, 2013
jokubasinc (All reviews)
To start i liked this anime. It had action, superpowers, romance and many good stuff. Another feature i liked was the number of episodes.13. I like anime that has a little series.
So this anime is about a girl Sakura and a mysterious guy Ogami. First it has romance and mystery.Soon the whole series turn into action. The characters were good, especially i liked Yuki and Heike.
To sum up it is a good anime if you like superpowers but still realistic setting
Sep 8, 2013
Mythical_Truth (All reviews)
Looking at the image of this anime, I thought it would be amazing, but i was sorely disappointed. It's not necessarily a bad anime, its the characters themselves that leave something to be desired. Normally, as time goes on in an anime, characters develop and change. Here they don't
Sakura probably changes the most throughout this anime when she meets a Code:Breaker named Oogami Rei, who, sadly, is a A-hole pretty much the whole anime, though she some how manages to fall in love with him.
Admittedly he does have a tragic back story and does deserve some pity, but he never changes. I would talk read more
Oct 1, 2017
LackOfARealLife (All reviews)
Code: Breaker kind of bothers me, I've been pondering for 5 minutes on how to start this review but with all my thoughts and ideas I can't even fathom a way to make this opening paragraph seem enticing to the reader. You might be thinking that this is because of lazy writing or that I'm not on my A-game because I barely have the time or enthusiasm to write these anymore. But.. It's not that. No, the reason I can't say anything for this anime in my aimless opening paragraph is simply because this anime is so average. So mediocre. So normal. That's not to read more
Sep 10, 2017
kurosmile (All reviews)
Preliminary
I think this anime perhaps is suitable for those who recently starting to get into the anime world. But for those who already masters the world of anime, this is, as harsh as it might sound, rubbish.

Plot: 4

So the plot at first is interesting though lacks of originality but as the story progresses, it becomes downright cliche to the point that I cringe. I'm not even joking. It's so, so, predictable. The boring villains? You have it in this anime. The cold and cool protagonist? All's here for you. All the anime cliches' it's all here, no doubt.

Characterization: 1

Where do I even begin? read more
Mar 8, 2019
JCopZoro (All reviews)
Although the shows initial premise its intriguing, a force of good trying to influence a force of evil, and discuss the morality in different forms of justice, it quickly proves to be be poor in substance.

Code:Breaker offers an incoherent plot, two-dimensional characters, and oh so painful dialogue. Not only does the show often fail to answer the questions it poses, but it actively presents something idiotic whenever it does offer something to think about.

The action scenes are fun to watch. The art style and animation are good, and the different powers that characters have make for entertaining fights. If flashiness alone isn't enough to read more
Dec 27, 2012
teamilk (All reviews)
Preliminary
This series surely had potential from what i saw in the manga series, but the anime played too much with storyline which ruined the characters of the story. This series has also failed to grasp the depths and darkness of the story which ought to be highlighted.