Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Black Clover

Black Clover

Alternative Titles

English: Black Clover
Japanese: ブラッククローバー

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Feb 16, 2015 to ?
Authors: Tabata, Yuuki (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 7.621 (scored by 25957 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #28182
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #82
Members: 62,006
Favorites: 3,023

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Dec 3, 2015
obSASSion (All reviews)
Seriously speaking, I have never read or watched Naruto before but seeing the reviews that this manga's getting just made me want to write my own opinions down.

So, for a person who has never read or watched Naruto before, I find this a great shounen manga. Many say it's a ripoff of Naruto but technically, there are many other mangas that seem like a ripoff of another. Aster, the main character, is able to nullify magic a.k.a. he is special. What comes to mind? Mikan from Gakuen Alice.
Personally, I find the main character extremely similar to Hinata from Haikyuu!. There are many factors of different read more
Jul 26, 2015
Jistuma (All reviews)
Story: 3/10
Black Clover follows the action/adventure shounen manga type to the letter. It follows the style of a main protagonist and friends raising their skills in a particular art in a special group to achieve a goal. In this case, Aster (the main protagonist) and friends join the magicknights to try and become the next sorcery emperor.

I wouldn't call that premise as a cliché as it is far too used, more of a genre. The clichés come after.
1. Main protagonist (MP) seems to have no talent, but has a hidden talent that makes him the messiah.
2. MP's friend is a genius yet cares deeply read more
Jul 1, 2016
SirTifide (All reviews)
When I was younger, I wondered why plagiarism was bad. When I grew up, I read Black Clover.

Yeah, this is bad. I'd say it's like porridge, but I have to admit porridge has flavor. Black Clover is as bland as they come. It's taking a bread shaped cardboard cut out, toasting it, and pretending it's toast. It's also inorganic. Kinda like cardboard toast. Did I mention it was bland?

It's a good thing we're on the topic of cardboard, because that relates to the characters. Which are also bland. In a cardboard cutout way. Almost everything they say or do feels like it comes out of read more
Sep 17, 2016
Dunkjoe (All reviews)
To begin, I am going to write this review after knowing that Black Clover is deemed one of the worst manga for anyone, any age (posted on animenewnetwork).

And... I don't think it feels like Naruto... nope... almost zero.

Story:8
To be honest, the story has too much similarity to Fairy Tail and Nanatsu na Taizai (no Naruto here, sorry). For example, the beginning of Black Clover is quite similar to Fairy Tail, and all the friendship and combo stuff. Meanwhile, the main character's destiny and main storyline feels similar to Nanatsu na Taizai (since I do not want to put spoilers, I'll just leave it at read more
Jan 11, 2019
Nivo3041 (All reviews)
I think Black Clover is one of the most "mistreated" manga in the community I've seen, because when I started reading it I did not have much confidence and I presented myself quite secpetico (in fact, I only started reading the manga because I saw that Asta will appear in the game Jump Force and wanted to see why they allowed it in the game), but while reading the manga I received a pleasant surprise, Black Claver is not at all as I had been painted and, even without having heard many bad things from the , I would still say that it is a read more
Jan 17, 2018
MYmanga88 (All reviews)
First of all Black Clover is one of the series from SHUUKAN SHOUNEN JUMP MAGAZINE from Japan and being published by SHUEISHA which generally this magazine and publisher are popular for publishing alot of SHOUNEN MANGA for these past decades, so ONE PIECE, BLEACH, NARUTO and MY HERO ACADEMIA are also under this publisher soooo its not quite suprise why this manga is a very typical generic shonen manga compare to the big series from shounen jump right? so what with the hate? because the plot and some of the characters are kinda similar with NARUTO? oh I WANT TO BE A PIRATE KING, read more
May 7, 2019
SSbardock84 (All reviews)
"Naruto rip-off." Is it really? Yes, it is. Definitely. If you only read the first chapter. I'm not going to sit and pretend that the first chapter doesn't seem very similar to Naruto.

Asta and Naruto both are reaching for the top ranking status the Wizard King and Hokage. Asta cannot use magic and Naruto sucks at using chakra. Both are hard workers and are obnoxious. Can I continue now? No, sorry, I can't. That's about all I can think of that would make this a "Naruto rip-off." Mind you, that's all stuff that is contained in Chapter 1.

I've often heard people comment that Yuno is read more
Jun 28, 2015
stanet96 (All reviews)
Black Clover is your standard typical shounen manga.If you like shounen manga such as naruto,bleach,one piece etc you might like this however if you are annoyed by the troupes in shounen manga such as main characters being weak and looked down on but never giving up then you will probably not like this.If your looking for something different from normal shounen you wont find it here its the typical shounen.
Story:7 Basic breakdown of the story is young orphan boy with no magical power whatsoever in a magical world wants to become the Emperor Magus basically the ruler of magicians/the strongest.The story is ok seen it read more
Mar 15, 2019
2DCoochie (All reviews)
This manga is too good. (I am fully caught up so take this into account)

It starts off pretty bland and seems like every other set up."MC is weak and underestimated but then destroys everybody", but Asta's abilities are super powerful and his own lack of experience is his weakness. The story is about Asta learning from his rights and wrongs, giving the story an amazing sense of progression.

Tabata Yuuki is an amazing artist and it shows. The manga is littered with amazing double page spreads that are bad*ss and make the fights a concentrated dose of hype. The reveal of new abilities and read more
Jul 8, 2016
pospopipelopelo (All reviews)
Black Clover is one of the most generic shonen I ever read. I don't know about the recent chapters but few months ago when I bought the issue, it's ranked like decent?? What the hell? And how come this gets a 7.5 when it's worse. Actually, how come the editorials of WSJ is letting this run?

BUT if you are just starting off with manga and anime, I think this is the manga for you. Black Clover has most of the typical shonen tropes packed in and maybe a good introduction to these tropes. But if you are looking something different in a shonen, this read more
Jun 30, 2019
Alcast (All reviews)
let's start with the story, while people compare this manga to naruto because of the MC having a devil inside, well that's wrong in the latest chapters I'm talking 90+ we learn a lot more about the characters, and how your naruto comparations are wrong. Now let's move into Fairy tail, Guilds=Magic Squads? wrong, they might have similitudes but the overall consent is not the same.

Asta doesn't have any powers, therefore, it is a copy of Deku, wrong my hero academia fans. the story is very outstanding, with the inexpected plot twist and power-ups, while some maybe not needed it helps balance the power between read more
Feb 22, 2016
JadenSmiles (All reviews)
Based on reading this manga with a complete open mind and finding these reviews are not fair I will give my view on the story. Yes it is cliche and seems to be similar to Naruto but given I didn't like Naruto because I found the characters too annoying. But with this story I will say I find it more enjoyable than Naruto.

Story 7/10 (so far)
The story is your typical Main Character has no talent but his friend is a complete genius type of story. But the fact that the story is based on the MC (main character) not having any type of Magic in read more
Sep 13, 2015
Asectic (All reviews)
After having seen many comments & thoughts on this work, generally gearing towards either of the hype (due to various shounen fandom) or the fact that this manga seemed to have quote "ripped off of the idea of other manga like Naruto", I wanted to add in my comments; in terms of how this manga is presented as a whole in terms of the author's writing rhetoric.

Having read many fantasy literature novels and as well as fantasy & kingdom setting manga, there are many stories out there that are similar to one another even within the kingdom world building setup stories. So it is no read more
Jul 2, 2016
LilDingle (All reviews)
Let me start this off by saying the people who call this a cliche rip off of naruto don't understand the author's intention at all. It seems so blatantly like every other shonen, because the author does use a lot of cliches. However the way they're used is more like a parody of the genre than a rip off. This is further supported by the fact the manga doesn't take itself too seriously outside of the fight scenes, which are wonderfully executed btw. The characters embody certain shonen tropes to the extreme that the author often uses for comedic effect, making it more of a read more
Sep 5, 2017
EmmemTTC (All reviews)
1)story,8/10
The plot is really simple,it is a bit like naruto,where asta,the MC want to be the magic emperor,just like naruto who want's to become the hokage.other then the cliche where you will find in the manga,the story is pretty good.
2)Art 9/10
I do't know how to say it but the art is really good especially the fight scene,read the manga for your self and you will know
3)10/10
Compare to shonen manga characters,there is a lot of diverse character in the manga,and unlike most shonen manga,there is a bit of romance sprinkle into this series as a lot of the character fall in love with another character.Each character read more
Mar 28, 2018
BondageHead (All reviews)
I only decided to somewhat torture myself with this manga because I expected something kinda different from the adaptation's portrait. I decided to try to stick around as long as I can, tho. I find the art to be the only savageable point, and to an extent it is pretty standard for current times and for it's genre. The rest seems to me to be made with a huge uninterest and either holds it's audience in really low regard or has a basic misunderstanding of what the hell he's writing, god bless a way of improving it.

Constant attempts at cliff-hangers, information withholding and mystery fall read more
Dec 28, 2017
Iamnoobhere (All reviews)
I read the big 3 of Shonen, One Piece, Naruto, and Bleach. When I was a kid, Naruto was the reason why I started to get into manga in the first place! It was the start of something beautiful which lead to more great manga's for me to read. It was a great gate way for me.
In that sense, I feel the same is for Black Clover. Although it does not have any unique-ness like its other predecessors it is what it is. An unlikely Hero in an unlikely world. Black Clover will most definitely be a gateway for kids to get into manga read more
Jul 29, 2016
Luciberi (All reviews)
Experts at Comic con declared that Black Clover is the worst manga of 2016. and they also claimed that Bleach is underrated(lol). I didn't know trolling was acceptable at such serious events. and I hope people don't take them seriously. that's why I decided to write this review but it's my first time writing one so, pls, forgive my mistakes.(plus I am somewhat angry so I might be biased)

Story(7) - First of all, the Story of this manga isn't that great(from the start). When I first read it, it was like Naruto, Bleach, Fairy tail combined together but if you are patient enough you would read more
Oct 14, 2016
KingAce261 (All reviews)
I normally do not write reviews but i have enjoyed this manga so much i feel that i must. Before i say anything it is not a cliche. At least not anymore than anyother shounen out there.

This is a series about a young man named Asta who dreams about becoming wizard king and has since he was a young boy. He grew up in basically the country. Known to be poor, broke, and produce people with low magic ability. Peasants born there are already looked down upon and most people believe that only nobles can be magic king.

Asta was born as the lowest read more
Jun 3, 2019
Oriotiar (All reviews)
Like so many have said before, Black Clover (from now on BC) is cliché if you've read any shounen before you will have a lot of déjà vu moment.
That said it's not as terrible as some can say or as the anime can make it seems.

Story:
Surprisingly, BC's story isn't that bad or even that cliché, it does start like your usual shounen with Asta (the MC) and Yuno (the rival) getting their power and deciding to compete to become the wizard king. Obviously, MC is an underdog and goes into the misfit team, women fall for him, he discovers that he has some super read more