Shingeki no Kyojin
Attack on Titan
Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shingeki no Kyojin

Alternative Titles

English: Attack on Titan
Japanese: 進撃の巨人

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Sep 9, 2009 to ?
Genres: ActionAction, MysteryMystery, DramaDrama, FantasyFantasy, HorrorHorror, ShounenShounen, Super PowerSuper Power, SupernaturalSupernatural
Authors: Isayama, Hajime (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 8.571 (scored by 142912142,912 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #892
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2
Members: 284,408
Favorites: 36,064

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Aug 15, 2011
Tumerking (All reviews)
I was unsure if I would ever find another manga good enough to deserve my reviewing. And after reading volume six of Shingeki no Kyojin I can safely say the wait is over. What a manga!

STORY: 9/10
Throughout the history of action manga there have been hordes of fantastically evil creatures ganging up on any shounen hero that dares get in their way. Whether it be demons, hollows, or demons again one thing was always certain: Even though the characters appeared scared you knew everything would be okay. A main character can't die to one random monster out of the horde. They deserve noble deaths via read more
Mar 17, 2015
keragamming (All reviews)
Shingeki no kyojin otherwise known as Attack on Titan. This series before the anime wasn't popular in the west, but it was fairly popular in Japan being in the top 15/10 best selling manga in 2011/2012. After the airing of the anime it became a mega hit series.

Now before you give this review a not helpful vote because of the 10/10 score. At least read what I have to say before doing your deed. I'm more interested that you guys read my review than anything else. Now let's begin!

"Spoiler free review!"

Story: 10/10. The plot/story IMO is snk strongest point. "Titans" these monstrous looking creatures that read more
Jul 1, 2011
froody1911 (All reviews)
I will be concise. This review is based on the manga till the end of volume 3.

Shingeki no Kyojin is a unique manga, in that it is bears more of a resemblance to Western fiction than to Japanese fiction. In some ways, it is similar to Gantz, but overall it borrows heavily from western steampunk and fantasy novels.

STORY: 9/10
Even though I'm only 3 volumes in, it is apparent that the story has immense potential.
The immense world around the small area in which the story is set is shrouded in mystery. Absolutely nothing can be guessed about it at this point. In the future, the read more
Apr 19, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
What is the most valuable thing in life?

Is it money, love, property, or something else? Well, everyone has his or her own ideas but for there's one thing we all have in common and that's the fact that we are all living beings that breathes in and out. We live by and enjoy life as best as we can. But what if that right is certainly put into jeopardy? What if a day comes when the place we live in no longer remains safe? Well, those are probably questions not many of us think about too often but for Mankind in this manga, those read more
Jun 3, 2013
nicetush (All reviews)
This review is up to chapter 45.


First of all, if you haven't read Shingeki no Kyojin yet, go do it. I'm not usually this enthusiastic about shounen manga, but SNK has managed to become the exception, simply because it's so damn good. Why? What makes it better than other works in similar genres? Well, my little ones, SNK is so well thought out. Meticulously so. From the plot to the characters, everything has just that extra layer that pushes SNK to become an outstanding piece of writing. There are plot twists often, and boy, can they catch you off guard. All read more
Jun 13, 2012
bakahaido (All reviews)
After reading so many manga, it is hard to find one that will capture you at first read. Shingeki no Kyojin is one of the manga that caught me by surprise and I definitely love reading this.

Story 10/10
Compared to other manga dealing with the supernatural, giants as the main villain is already a very interesting choice. Maybe because giants, even as portrayed in this manga, dont really have special powers; they are just big, very very hard to kill and not picky at eating people. The great thing about this manga is that everything seems very realistic, apart from the existence of the giants. The read more
Jul 1, 2011
rustylili (All reviews)
I just finished reading the 4th volume in japanese and all i can say is that this manga is the best I have read. Now I know why it´s at the top of japanese popular manga charts.

The story y very hooking. The art is good but they could´ve elaborated the characters a little more. Enjoyment 100%. Overall I think this is a wonderful series that everyone would like (exept there are a few qweezy scenes).

I hope this manga artist has more to come.
Jul 9, 2013
NuclearNecro-42 (All reviews)
So, here's my second review. And since I didn't like much the way I wrote the Psycho-Pass review, I'll change it. I'll just comment through all the aspects of the manga without having a "separate category", where I rate every single one. So, let's get into the review of the almost perfect manga, Shingeki no Kyojin - attack on titan.
(Remembering this review goes only to the first 11 volumes from the manga. I will re-review Shingeki no Kyojin once the manga finished publishing)

Note: Sorry if it is a bit incomplete or short. I tried my best not to spoil also, so don't worry if read more
Feb 6, 2011
destroyar0 (All reviews)
This new manga is topping the sales charts in Japan and I think for a good reason.

I just started reading it (I am just into the second chapter) and I am already hooked.
First let me spend a few words on the drawings. The backgrounds are quite nice and polished, but the characters, although nice, could be less "noisy".
I think this kind of style is instead very appropriate with the giants (or titans). They are strange, distorted human forms with the skin of their faces revealing all their theeth in a wicked grin. Their body proportions are usually off enough to give them an even more read more
Mar 7, 2011
Jazze (All reviews)
it's almost midnight as i'm writing and currently procrastinating so there might be some typos but i just wanted to get this out of my way.

someone on the forums recommended this manga and i decided to check it out, initially believing that it would be another boring shounen manga. fortunately, i was proven wrong (that person has a good taste in manga) and became so wrapped up in this story. even the first volume leaves me wanting for /more/ since it ended with a huge plot twist!

STORY: very, very nicely done! leaves you with plenty of suspense and anticipating. it's like a thriller where you read more
May 26, 2013
LadyGeorgie (All reviews)
For this manga, the reader needs to be a super active reader. One has to pay attention to every page, panel, behavior of the characters, even random stuff in the background needs your attention in order to understand what's going on, and to make smart predictions/theories of the storyline.
One on the best pieces of literature that I have read in a long time.
Aug 17, 2013
DragonCactus (All reviews)
This review is based up until chapter 48.

Shingeki no Kyojin has a comprehensive enough plotline--humans being chased around and eaten by grotesque giants called Titans, which do faintly resemble large, ugly humans.
However, the series actually has much more to do than just focusing on humans being eaten, which is probably its best asset. Shingeki has several mysteries that intertwine as one reads the series--how the Titans were made, exactly how they work, who is controlling them, what's that huge monkey, and a few other that are secret--and I think the fact that it isn't eleven volumes of pointless bloodshed that makes the series so read more
May 5, 2013
Asfaria (All reviews)
Shingeki No Kyojin has just recently started airing as an anime this season and is the most hyped up show that is currently running. I got into the manga about a month before the anime started to see what it was about. I haven’t read too many manga so far, but I can still feel like I want to write a review about how spectacular this manga is.

I’ll address the few downsides to this manga before explaining each of the parts individually. First, this manga starts off a little slow. It goes in a slightly different, less chronological order than the anime, with more jumping read more
Apr 26, 2012
rokkugoh (All reviews)
Fascinating horror manga about humans vs. Titans (these giants that vary from 4m to 50m tall who eat humans -- although not really for nourishment, they just like to kill/attack).

Manga follows a group of kids who witness the slaughter of their families and who vow to train to become soldiers to reclaim their territory and wipe out the giants. It sounds pretty lolwhatever but it's actually really scary, I couldn't stop thinking about it. Part of it has to do with the way the giants are drawn imo -- they look like deformed humans with big stupid faces (although some of read more
Jun 19, 2012
cloud8100 (All reviews)
Attack on Titan is about humanity's survival after 100 years when a majority of humans are wiped out by titans. They live surrounded by walls up to 50 metres high to keep the titans out. The story focuses on the characters Eren Jaeger and Mikasa Ackerman.

Attack on Titan is an original manga that I highly recommend to anyone who likes drama, action, fantasy or horror. The emotions and atmosphere are portrayed amazingly and the story is really awesome. A must read.

I quite like the art and the titans are very bizzare and freaky. The art varies in preference to different people.
Jun 12, 2014
Indolence (All reviews)
Attack on Titan is like fast food. Enjoy it while it's hot. You shouldn't think about or doubt it while you're reading it; just keep reading and enjoy the actions, plot twists, and deaths. If you take too long to read it, the plot will become nonsense.

Attack on Titan is highly enjoyable. It doesn't have fan-service to distract you, no 30 chapter long fight scenes, nor does it drag on about the importance of friendship and other garbage that shounen mangas force you to worship. It's flat out action with "kill or be killed" perspective. The fights are thrilling, the deaths are emotional, the read more
Jan 8, 2019
SSJayso (All reviews)
This is my first and probably only review I’ll write on this site, but I just had to say something about how fantastic this series is. Spoiler-free.

Attack on Titan is easily one of the best stories of modern times. It is filled with glorious action, brilliant plot twists, and delves into themes such as war, death, corruption and existentialism.

Character-wise, Attack on Titan has an incredible cast, each with their unique motives and ideals about the current situation. Isayama is a huge fan of creating morally grey characters; there are no true heroes or villains in this story. And this is why the characters are so read more
Oct 9, 2019
berial6 (All reviews)
[minor spoilers, none if you watched anime]
I'm not gonna lie- i used to hate Shingeki no Kyojin. When the anime first came out, i didn't really see anything exceptional in the anime- just another series about zombies with boring characters, ludicrous action, but this time with incredible soundtrack and animation. But outside of visuals, there really wasn't anything to it- you've seen first episode, you've seen all 25 of them.

But then, after 4 years 2nd season came out and.. i was intrigued, to say the least. One character revealed himself to be yet another humanity's enemy- the Titan. But instead of evil laugh and read more
Jun 26, 2015
AJ_Puentes (All reviews)
The problem with most anime is that you often find a different turn of events than the show portrays. Attack on Titan, displayed some minor differences in the manga from the show, but nothing major that would really change the course of the show.

Before i put anything to rest. Don't listen to the ones that say that the story the manga is telling is complete nonsense from the main plot. It isn't. The manga after a certain point moves onto observe the bigger problems that affect the walled city other, and then demonstrates how the events are connected. read more
Sep 30, 2018
Really_Doe (All reviews)
2 years ago i’ve watched the first season of the anime and thought "damn, this anime is engaging as hell". So i went to watch the second season and i was a bit disappointed because it lost a little of its charm form the first one, i still liked it tho.

2 months ago i decided to read the manga from the very start. read it until recent chapters, and...

This manga is good... until a certain point. I'm sure a lot of people feeling the same way that i feel about this manga. it starts good as a "Zombie survival" manga, an actual good and interesting read more