Forum Settings
Forums
New
Jun 11, 2012 6:58 PM

Apr 2011
idk how many of you smoke... but ive been smoking for 7 years. since i was a teenager

and now im quitting. has anyone quit and been successful? what stratgies did you use? i think im going to get a nice thermos and just drink tea at times i normally smoke instead... i like tea
Pages (2) [1] 2 »
Jun 11, 2012 7:12 PM

Dec 2011
Its all about getting weaned off that oral fixation the cig provides. Using tea as a substitute is a good start. If you have a real bad urge I'd suggest getting some gum and chewing on it, you don't have to buy any specialty gum either like nicorette, its a waste of money and sometimes ends up just having you fall back into the habit.

Takes determination and a lot of willpower. If you can just slowly cut back instead of doing a cold turkey on the process which usually ends up with things not working out.
Jun 11, 2012 7:27 PM

Apr 2011
ive already been cutting back, so thats why i think im ready to just quit
i think i have more of a psychological addiction as opposed to a physical one because i only crave a cigarette when its time... like at breaks at work or inbetween classes in school

if i stay at home all day, or just do whatever, i don't crave them at all...
but i can't just stay at home all day, lol

so, ive been forcing myself to take some breaks were i go outside and don't smoke, just enjoy the fresh air lol
Jun 11, 2012 7:46 PM

Feb 2009
I smoked for eighteen years, 1 pack a day, add a pack when drinking, and add another pack on days off, Camel Wides were my drug of choice. Quitting altogether is the best route. I've watched people do all the steps, use the patch, gum, switch to lights, and they end up dragging it out longer and are the first ones to start back up again.