Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Steins;Gate


Alternative Titles

English: Steins;Gate
Synonyms: シュタゲ
Japanese: シュタインズ・ゲート

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2011 to Sep 14, 2011
Premiered: Spring 2011
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 02:05 (JST)
Studios: White Fox
Source: Visual novel
Genres: Sci-Fi, Thriller
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 9.161 (scored by 413,015 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #42
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #8
Members: 720,835
Favorites: 71,239

Reviews

Archaeon
Sep 14, 2011
"People assume that time is a strict progression of cause to effect, but actually, from a non-linear, non subjective viewpoint it's more like a big ball of wibbly wobbley ... timey wimey ... stuff" - The Doctor

When it comes to entertainment, one of the easiest things to get wrong is the concept of time travel. Part of the reason for this is because our scientific understanding of "reality" is still in its infancy, and this means that the writers for shows like Doctor Who, Quantum Leap, even Star Trek, must apply their imagination and creativity in order to resolve some of the inherent paradoxes that read more
I found this review Helpful
Furbylicious
Jun 1, 2014
“No one knows what the future holds. That’s why its potential is infinite.”
Okabe Rintarou (Steins;Gate)


Such a powerful quote, from an anime at least just as powerful. It’s one of the many wise quotes featured in the excellent time travelling tale called Steins;Gate. It is a story praised by many, and I think the show is definitely worthy of all its praise: it’s an excellent piece of work. Steins;Gate is, in essence, a unique anime. There’s not a single show that I found to be comparable to Steins;Gate.
But why does everyone think of Steins;Gate as such a masterpiece?



Story: 10/10
Steins;Gate is about Okabe Rintarou, a “mad scientist” read more
I found this review Helpful
HaiiroTama
Oct 13, 2013
The subject of time travel is no stranger to the world of anime, so it takes a lot of work to make a time travel story stand out. For Steins;Gate, that hard work paid off. This is by far the best-executed time travel story that I've ever seen in my experience with anime, and if you haven't seen it yet, you're definitely missing out!

Story: 10
The story revolves around the antics of Rintarou Okabe, a self-proclaimed mad scientist that goes by the alias "Hououin Kyouma," as he essentially dicks around with time and subsequently deals with the consequences of his selfish actions. I'll be completely honest read more
I found this review Helpful
Kuruna
Oct 1, 2013
As you may have noticed, Steins;Gate is revered as a masterpiece by most. For those of you who haven't had the privilege of watching this show yet, i'm writing this (belated) review to emphasize just how much you're missing out on.

First of all, you have to understand that Steins;Gate is completely unique compared to other anime, in terms of story line. Now, with such a complex plot, it would be incredibly easy to mess the series up. Except that they didn't. If they did, it wouldn't a masterpiece. Steins;Gate explores the world of time travelling and time lines, putting in acknowledgements to theories read more
I found this review Helpful
MoeKaiser
Nov 6, 2012
Note that I have not read the visual novel that Steins;Gate is based on. This is a review which judges the anime adaptation by its own merits alone.

Over the last year since the Steins;Gate anime finished airing, the series has garnered massive popularity and acclaim, becoming an internet sensation and skyrocketing to #3 on MAL’s Top Anime page. So, the obvious question is: does it live up to the insane hype? Well, yes and no.

Steins;Gate is a mixed bag of sorts. It has some great concepts behind it, but they often fall short in their execution. The story follows Okabe “Hououin Kyouma” Rintarou, his lab read more
I found this review Helpful
NoytroO
Jun 4, 2015
"It's an intellectual drink for the chosen ones." -Okabe about Dr. Pepper.

Well, where can I begin? Too many things can be said about this anime.
I didn't play at the VN, so there some things that I don't know.
Okay, let's resume the story first. All the review may contain spoiler, especially one part.

Okabe Rintarou, also known as Hououin Kyouma, the auto-proclaimed mad scientist. That's the main character. His laboratory contains three members: him, Daru also known as Super-hacker, and Mayuri (Mayushii). In this laboratory, they developed what they've called "Future Gadget", all a bit strange, with epic names.
At the beginning, they met Makise Kurisu, a read more
I found this review Helpful
Fear_the_Reefer
Jul 3, 2015
When you walk the streets of Akihabara, you’re bound to run into many weird things. As the mecca of the otaku world, this district isn’t just a major electronics shopping center. In addition to supplying you with anime merchandise for all ages(and I do mean ALL ages, including those quite a bit older than 18), you’re also likely to find cosplayers, concerts, maid cafes, an entire AKB0048 theater, and enough sexual imagery to make anyone not used to the culture believe they had fallen down the rabbit hole into a perverse misogynistic wonderland.

And yet even the people who have been used to this read more
I found this review Helpful
ReikanOngaku
Feb 19, 2012
Tutturu~! It took me awhile to finish this review, school, other online drama and whatnot. So here is my in depth evaluation/praise of the show Steins;Gate. I must say that I have excluded a lot of spoiling content so that I can have a legitimate review posted. This is my first review and I hope it informs you and gives you a different perspective of the show!

The genre of Steins;Gate, from what I observed, was Sci-Fi, Thriller, and Drama. The demography reaches out to both Shonen and Seinen crowds. The concepts of time traveling, time paradox, time looping, time leaping, and the butterfly effect were read more
I found this review Helpful
Ekvilibro
Apr 12, 2013
Steins;Gate changed my life.

It completely changed my views about anime, and even life in general.

'How can an anime change your life?' You must be thinking. 'Is he completely mad?' You must be asking.
If you think the above, this is probably because you simply didn't watch Steins;Gate.

This review will cover my reasons why you should watch Steins;Gate for those who still did not. It will also hype Steins;Gate through the roof for those who already watched it and want another view about the show.

Alrighty, then. Let's get started.

Story: 10

The story starts out slow, boring and uninteresting, as expected from a story that starts on a small read more
I found this review Helpful
UsualGuy
Jan 11, 2015
One word: Hype.

Before watching this show, i was amazed by it's high scores, big fanbase and critics puting it to a pedestal. I had high expectations and was going into it thinking it would be the second time Jesus would step on earth. But as always, there's nothing worse, than diving into the hype.

What else should i say? Steins;Gate has everything a mass consumer needs:a concept about time travel, sci-fi theme coupled with unique characters and....a poorly written story. How did something like this went wrong? I can't imagine, since the production values were high enough to hire a good writer. Not only read more
I found this review Helpful
yaywalter
Nov 22, 2011
Why this is currently #3 on MAL is beyond me.

It's got a cool art style, mildly funny humor and some attractive girls.

But... that's pretty much it. It starts off decently, if a bit slowly. I'm a sucker for stories involving time travel, particularly if they've got an interesting and plausible take on it. And that's what Steins;Gate starts off with.

But around the halfway point, they completely ruin it. But did they just kinda warp it a little to allow for some marvelous bit of storytelling? No... they completely shatter it with a hackneyed subplot that utterly destroys the whole idea of "Cause -> Effect". I read more
I found this review Helpful
Samu-tan
Sep 13, 2011
Steins;Gate. One of the most popular visual novels of 2009. When I first heard it would get an anime adaptation, I was both psyched and worried. We all know VN to anime adaptations don’t work out that well most (read: almost ALL) of the time, and we all know that ChäoS;HEAd’s anime was absolutely terrible, especially if you compare it to the obviously superior source material, but even because of all this I was incredibly hyped for it. I had only heard great things about the VN, and I was getting my hopes up really high.

I didn’t want to get them too that high read more
I found this review Helpful
KatayokuTsuneki
Sep 15, 2011
Let me start with some back story and then the actual review will follow.

About four years ago two Japanese video game companies, Nitroplus and 5pb., started a collaboration to make the world a better place with some neat visual novels. The first project came out of it was ChäoS;HEAd with its scenario written by Hayashi Naotaka-shi, a guy who worked on Remember11 and Memories Off series, if this means anything to you. In general ChäoS;HEAd turned out to be rather average novel and it lost most of its good parts in its anime adaptation; however, ChäoS;HEAd still has enough impressive ideas and nice concepts to read more
I found this review Helpful
LaytonsHat
May 30, 2015
Time travel is an overwhelmingly, infamously difficult concept to build a work of fiction around, as many stories centered around the idea can't help but eventually succumb to a vicious cycle of increasingly-obvious plot holes. You rarely see a work of this sort that's not only able to logically explain its world, characters and conclusions, but also able to make the viewing of such a winding, complex narrative clear, concise and, most importantly, enjoyable. It's just so easy to either fall into the trap of creating a time paradox or to fill your story with so much scientific exposition that the characters and pacing suffer read more
I found this review Helpful
Genjutsuhh
Jul 1, 2015
When dealing with time travel in story-writing, one has to look out for many things as such a topic is highly prone to having many plot holes due to being so vast and confusing but then also being so interesting. Steins;Gate takes on that very topic for itself, but does it manage to present itself in a way worthy of such a theme ?

Story:
The story of Steins;Gate starts off a bit slow at first but doesn't take long to take off with a fairly complex plot filled with many twists and also presents the tale of the famous internet legend of 'John Titor' into the read more
I found this review Helpful
Kirii-chan
Jul 15, 2013
This is what should be considered as art, not what is considered as art nowadays. Sadly, nowadays among the majority of people, Anime is just considered as nonsensical and childish trash. It is drawn, so it is immature. This is what the majority thinks, and this is why it is normally difficult to find any Otaku living in near of you. It's a shame actually, that they will not experience this awesomeness, and obviously I am looking at Steins;Gate when I am saying that. Ironically, I've recently been pretty much the same, like, two or three months ago. But I tried Anime and was read more
I found this review Helpful
IAmSovereign
Apr 22, 2013
I'm just going to go ahead and say its overhyped to hell. Its not that it's a bad show, it was a enjoyable experience. But certainly not without its flaws as its ratings or most reviews would suggest.

My biggest gripe with Steins;Gate is that, as an engineering student, at no point was the suspension of disbelief at the science in its science fiction, or the logic of its plot (or the soundness of its explanations) effortless. It is a good show, but not as science fiction. I don't want to include any spoilers but I will say this, at times I couldn't help myself audibly read more
I found this review Helpful
ChristopherKClaw
May 4, 2015
Every time that I go to the "recent reviews" section of MAL, there's two things that I'm guaranteed to find. The first is at least one review condemning one of the two seasons of SAO, and the other is at least one review explaining how Steins;Gate is a 10/10 masterpiece that reinvents the meaning of good anime. Funnily enough though, SAO and Steins;Gate have something in common: the reasons that both of them get such an enormous amount of attention is that they either fail or succeed on an extremely superficial level, making SAO a prime target for butchering and Steins;Gate into an object of read more
I found this review Helpful
wumbmasta
May 27, 2013
Steins;Gate Review:

This show can be described with one word: Brilliant. My 9 rating is deceiving however. For me, I tend to enjoy almost any show I watch. Some more than others. You will be hard pressed to find me giving a show anything under a 5, but at the same time it's not like I hand out 8 or higher rankings. Anything above an 8 for me is truly a remarkable piece of work and a must watch. once you get to the 9 ranking, the anime has blown me away in all aspects and is a true masterpiece. A ten... well that is territory read more
I found this review Helpful
PoisonedTea
Mar 14, 2013
I Have no Idea why I am writing this review

I guess I just need to state why Steins;Gate isn`t the greatness thing of all time

OK

Lets start with some good points

Time Travel is one of the hardest things for Sifi shows to handle correct. Why because there is to many things that can go wrong and once something is changed you need to keep that paradox or the change could never have happened.
This show handles that correctly.

The plot is pretty good not completely original but done well.

The art and sound are fine.

I guess its time for the negatives

It has a slow start. I know you read more
I found this review Helpful