Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuuutsu


The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya
Synonyms: Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuuutsu
Japanese: 涼宮ハルヒの憂鬱

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 14
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 3, 2006 to Jul 3, 2006
Premiered: Spring 2006
Broadcast: Mondays at 00:00 (JST)
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Light novel
Genres: ComedyComedy, MysteryMystery, Sci-FiSci-Fi, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Themes: ParodyParody, SchoolSchool
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.851 (scored by 418669418,669 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #7552
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #140
Members: 802,686
Favorites: 14,076

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 16, 2008
TheLlama (All reviews)
Warning: This review contains some SPOILERS

I've read many reviews of this show, and they're varied - some people love it, some hate it. Personally, I love this show, and am almost surprised that some people don't. But then again, if you don't like the sheer randomness and wackiness that the show builds on, the anime won't appeal to you.

The setting is as following – a girl (Haruhi Suzumiya) has the power to change reality – a sort of God, in other words. She is unaware of this ability herself. Her wish of meeting espers, aliens and time travelers, combined with the aforementioned power, ends read more
Feb 9, 2009
Sii_Kei (All reviews)
2 things before you read this review:

1) I (unfortunately) watched the series twice, both in airing and chronological order, so I can compare them.
2) This is not a praise Haruhi review, but rather a review from someone who truly dislikes and despises the show. I tried to include all reasons behind this; so even if you are a Haruhi fanatic, please try to understand why I rated it so low.

Now onto the review.
MAL is the place where I usually decide the new anime series I want to watch. Unfortunately, this sometimes proves to be disastrous - like the case of The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya. read more
Jan 19, 2007
Xinil (All reviews)
It's not easy writing a review for such a well known and extremely successful anime. I'll do my best though.

The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya is, I feel I can safely say, a milestone in Anime history. Much like Evangelion, Suzumiya brings new light and brilliance to something we didn't know could exist. It brings pure genius comedy and an excellent array of characters to keep you hooked.

What's so good about it you ask? Why's this anime good enough to be deemed a milestone. It's simple. Haruhiism. It's a religion named after Haruhi herself. Her character posses such a strong charisma that you can't help read more
Jul 31, 2007
Slacks (All reviews)
Haruhi plays off of everybody\'s favorite comedic cliche, where a straight-shooting, somewhat-dull, and mostly-normal lead character is paired up with an energetic free spirit thanks to a convenient set of circumstances. These personalities play off of each other, resulting in wild adventures with both disastrous and hilarious consequences. Are there wild adventures? Yes. Are the results sometimes disastrous and/or hilarious? Yes. Is this an excellent series that is well worth your time? No. Haruhi is nothing more than a mediocre series with illusions of grandeur.

Many of the show\'s aspects, such as the supernatural characters and the irregular airing order (oh how avant garde!), may appear read more
Feb 6, 2007
Faust721 (All reviews)

---The review contains spoilers---


Story: Very original concept. We have this so called god that gathers together an alien, time traveler, esper, and a "normal human" to form a club. But this "god" doesn't know that she has gathered all these strange people. And ironically enough, the purpose of the club is to find aliens, time travelers, and espers and have fun with them. The purpose of the club members is to keep this god entertained so that she won't destroy the world. What I like about this concept is that not only is it unique, it allow many possibilities in how the story is read more
Jul 11, 2009
Akachi_Tem (All reviews)
I watched this about two years ago.Maybe I was still young and couldn't understand the "greatness" of it.Thinking back to that time even if I re-watched it I doubt it'd make any difference.So I guess I'm just one of those people who didn't like it.So I gathered up all my courage and decided to write a review about it despite all the fans that might get offended by this.

So here I go.

Story 3/10

Never made me excited.Maybe the order I watched the episodes is to be blame,although I highly doubt that's the reason.After all the order they were released was wrong they wouldn't hae done so,so read more
Apr 27, 2015
Notshane (All reviews)
CAUTION: Review contains spoilers of both seasons of Melancholy of Suzumiya Haruhi. Read at your own risk.

The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya really only falls flat on the character that bitches her way to success and continuously cleans her superiority complexion. Allow me to elaborate.

I mean, normally those kinds of characters are just a means for comedy and we just see them scoffed off for fun. But, actually seeing one have their way was a bit strange and made the anime feel awkward since she was literally a god and had to be pleased or else she could destroy the world she lived in; unintentionally that read more
Mar 12, 2009
Undertow (All reviews)
As far as anime go, this is one of the most overhyped titles that I've ever seen. I've never been someone that has followed any hypes or paid my attention to them, but the hype around Haruhi was so excessive that I just had to find out what it was, and to be honest, for the life of me, I couldn't discover the reason for the hype.

A couple of people that I call friends recommended this anime to me telling me how great the story is and how fantastic the characters are. When I watched Haruhi the first episode was a real shocker, it was read more
Oct 26, 2008
iamjoe (All reviews)
Great, I've come to the most overrated anime that ever existed.

The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya is a good show. It is by no means great. And it certainly isn't one of the best anime ever created, I don't even KNOW how it managed to grab that title a while back.

The story IS unique, I will give it that. When have we ever seen something like the SOS Brigade? Save the world by overloading it with fun? I must say, it was an interesting premise that drew me in, but then I realise that the story was pretty much centred on this group of read more
Nov 17, 2008
Plun (All reviews)
Let me say that The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya is one of the best and most popular series of 2006. It's a strange, eccentric, funny, and sometimes touching show that seems to be a mix of comedy, sci-fi, mystery, and a fourth genre that doesn't seem to fit into any previously existing categories. Perhaps we should call it Haruhism? Though I guess you could say it's main focus is comedy, the randomness of the story proves that it exceeds at various other genres as well. It is deeply philosophical and yet silly in concept, with story telling that reeks of slice-of-life and yet doesn't quite read more
May 12, 2013
MoeKaiser (All reviews)
The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya is an anime that needs no introduction. If you’re the least bit familiar with the anime medium, chances are you’ve heard of this series. Though it may be a bit late to write a review for this anime, I’ve yet to see someone who shares my stance on it and has expressed it in a comprehensive and coherent manner, so I thought I’d throw in my own two cents. This review may contain some minor spoilers, though I have tried to keep them to a minimum.

This is a controversial series to say the least. Just from a cursory glance at read more
Oct 13, 2007
DownShift (All reviews)
Ah... the Melancholoy of Haruhi Suzumiya. Love by much, hated by much. Where does it sit with me? Read on, readers, read on...

Story: 3

Ok, if you are looking for a deep story driven based anime... do NOT watch this anime. The story is VERY scattered, a lot of the stuff that happens is very confusing and some of it even happens for no reason whatsoever.

Art/Animation: 9

The art style in this anime is actually quite nice, very nice animations, fluid dance animations in the opening and closing themes. A very redeeming quality. The special fx in some of the scenes are also quite nice to read more
Feb 4, 2007
Kanashimi (All reviews)
Story
So, what the hell is the plot?! Well, to describe it here would be a huge spoiler, so instead, think of it like this: it's much like the human race trying to keep God entertained with interesting events. It makes you think either stupid or brilliant, you decide because I'm still trying to.

Is the plot really something original and grand, or is it just a random pebble in a random pond sitting in a random hole in the ground? I can't even begin to understand which. The whole show had me watching, somehow and someway, but I didn't actually like anything I watched until the read more
Jan 22, 2007
kei-clone (All reviews)
It's hard to describe exactly what The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya is about.

Perhaps that may be due to the fact that the entire plot of the series centers around a girl searching for meaning to her life, seeking the abnormal and the supernatural, thus lending to the relatively aimless nature of the plot. Nonetheless, The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya is a crazy ride from the crazy misleadingly horrible beginning to the epic "end". The best way to sum it up in one sentence is Haruhi Suzumiya's own self-introduction: "I'm not interested in ordinary humans. If there are any aliens, time travelers, or espers here then read more
Jul 7, 2008
brass2themax (All reviews)
It's been a while since I've seen this series, so I believe this is the right time to write a review. A lot of people sit down and rave about this show after having just seen it, but if you give yourself some time, you can write with a clear head.

On with the show. And please, people, let's try to be as unbiased as possible. Just because you thought this show may have been epic win, don't allow that thought to distract you from the facts. Let's read on shall we?

Story: 7

The story is original, I'll give it that. It's a neat idea, but far read more
Sep 3, 2007
JackCox (All reviews)
Preliminary
Why did I give this such a low score? To be honest, I'm getting really sick of this show, It's complete and utter garbage, I have had it with the dancing Hare Hare Yukai BS and non-stop talking about this series. I do not know why this show has been so popular, Really it is almost beyond me why a show like this is considered to be amazing, this is a comedy, but it isn't clever. I rarely laughed at all in this series, I personally hate the main character with a passion, because she is not someone at all anyone should like, she read more
Sep 17, 2010
kitten320 (All reviews)
After so many hips for this show and seeing some cool videos, I thought that I would see something aweasome with a lot of humour and great characters!

But what I got in the end, was definetly not what I expected.
The only reason whyI have finished this series and didn't drop them is because I hoped for a miracle to happen.

That was probably the MOST boring show I have ever watched!

Story... what story? We have a main character Haruhi who has no respect for anyone and who tries to create a group of weird people. Group is meant to search for something unusal such as read more
Sep 25, 2011
DraconisMarch (All reviews)
*Note: I watched the episodes in chronological order.

Haruhi Suzumiya was definitely an interesting series, but it wasted much of its potential.

The storyline is like a drunkard who forgot where he lives and can't find his way home. The first half is strong and interesting, and seems to set up great things for the second half. (The man has a few drinks, maybe finds a lovely lady and begins to chat with her). However, when we get there, it seems like what was built up to that point is forgotten in favor of a more slice-of-life tone. (The man's efforts flirting read more
Jun 20, 2013
wumbmasta (All reviews)
The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya Review :

Haruhi Suzumiya is one of the most well known faces in the anime community. Until recently, I had absolutely no idea why the show was so popular, and to be perfectly honest, I still don't. Your going to see this word a lot in my upcoming Angel Beats review: potential. The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya had unbelievable potential. While it didn't quite live up to it in the show, it was still very fun to watch and a very good show.

Story 7/10:
The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya is about a freshman called Kyon who is quite the cynic and is read more
Oct 23, 2007
Master10K (All reviews)
This is a hilarious anime with a very confusing and original concept. It will keep you guessing right through to the end, which happens to be somewhere in the middle of the series. ^_^

This anime may seem like any typical high school comedy, but that is far from it. The story is anything but straight forward because what makes this so original is the jumbled up story. It's noticeable from the beginning as the series starts chronologically on episode 11 and from there the messed up story will confuse you like it did the main character Kyon.

Even though Haruhi is the titular character Kyon read more