Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fate/stay night Movie: Unlimited Blade Works


Alternative Titles

English: Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works
Synonyms: Gekijouban Fate/Stay Night: Unlimited Blade Works, Fate/stay night Movie, Fate/stay night UBW
Japanese: 劇場版 Fate/stay night UNLIMITED BLADE WORKS

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 23, 2010
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 1 hr. 40 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.501 (scored by 83,080 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #16842
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #689
Members: 148,836
Favorites: 755

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 3, 2010
Archaeon (All reviews)
Fate/Stay Night is one of those franchises that needs very little introduction. TYPE-MOON's hit visual novel from 2004 was adapted for anime in 2006, and while the original series was good for the most part, the show suffered due to an inherent problem with any visual novel adaptation.

Visual novels are a strange blending of anime, manga and games that, in a number of cases, allow the player a degree of choice over the events in the story (although there are some purely linear ones out there). The issue though, is that the same event may have several different outcomes that are dependent on the read more
Nov 26, 2014
Blec (All reviews)
Who is this for? Why was this even attempted?! Who the hell thought cramming 30 hours of story into a 90 minute movie was a great idea?! This "movie" is a disaster! If you have never heard of fate, you will be lost in this incomprehensible mess. If you have seen fate stay night by DEEN, the first third of the movie is a boring recap, the twists in the second act will be rubbish to you and in the third act... you will have an embarrassingly hilarious final fight and instead of a CG dragon you will get a read more
Oct 4, 2010
Maurox (All reviews)
Oh, UBW, where should I start?

UBW was probably one of the most anticipated movies, and I can't blame people for that - the original route in the Visual Novel was outstanding, touching, at one time keeping you at the edge of your seat, at another causing you to cry about the pain of the characters, the results of their unfortunate choices, their small mistakes or simply outstanding sacrifices. The movie made me remember that story, made me want to live through it again.

Too bad it doesn't MAKE me live through it again.

IMO the obvious mistake the creators did, was forcing 20 hours of game-play into read more
Jul 20, 2011
Reckoner (All reviews)
There are many times in anime where I've been left dry simply because I was out of the target audience. However, there is a time, rare that it may be, that an anime is created with absolutely no target audience in question. Unlimited Blade Works is lucky that I don't consider it a movie because it would be one of the worst, if not the worst anime movie I have ever seen. Unfortunately compiling a slide show of random fights without any well established context, background information, plot, scene transitioning, and character development does not qualify as an actual movie.

First thing's first though and for read more
Oct 5, 2010
rancorrising (All reviews)
How deep can an adaption go? How much source material must be understood and internalized before setting foot in an unfamiliar universe? How true can a work be to it's source material before becoming trite? All these questions, and countless others besides, resound from the lips of the wary furiously as they vacillate with abject trepidation. The answers:

1) Should I watch the Anime beforehand?
Yes (unless you have played the visual novel, then the necessity is subjective)

2) Should I play the Visual Novel beforehand?
Yes. Actually, just play the VN regardless. Really. Stop what you are doing, and get it now.

Those read more
Oct 1, 2010
Bakamoichigei (All reviews)
Undoubtedly today is the day I will be burned alive by the internet as some kind of heretic... You are about to find out why.

I watched the bluray of F/SN UBW because I wanted to know why everyone was like "OMG UBW COMES OUT TODAY!" and, well... Watching it did NOT answer that question.

I have very little good to say about the movie. In fact, "The sound and visuals didn't suck." is about the extent of my praise. So I won't bother trying to divide this into pros/cons.

First of all, the narrative is almost non-existent. The movie is 105 minutes read more
Oct 5, 2011
Lilith_Aensland (All reviews)
So, as everyone should know, Type-Moon is infamous for having poor adaptions of anything not named 'Kara no Kyoukai'. Tsukihime's was so bad its worth thinking of it as an entirely different franchise because the characters are nothing alike, and Fate/Stay Night decided 'hey, we can't decide what route we want, so let's remove defining plot points and replace them with akshun.' I decided to ignore this and went into Unlimited Blade Works hoping it'd be okay. After all, its just one route, right? They can get the important stuff in, right?

If the important stuff is action, then they did pretty good. All the good read more
May 24, 2011
Faito (All reviews)
If you haven't watched the tv show or at least completed the "Unlimited Blade Works" arc of the visual novel. You won't enjoy this movie very much, since the characters have little to no introduction and the story moves really fast. It's very clear from the beggining that the plot development assumes the viewer already knows a bunch of things.

Story: 8
As i said before, the story develops at the speed of light. It's heavy on fights and light on background information. During the first 15 minutes, shit happens so fast that you will get motion sickness.
The plot follows the exact events of the visual novel read more
Jul 7, 2015
jc9622 (All reviews)
Some guy: Hey Billy, Our cash cows are getting hungry and most of them are dying. Hurry up and finish that TV series already
Billy: We're not done yet. We're still animating the show and the voice actors are not done yet.
Some guy: Goddammit, we need more cash for the cash cows NOW!
Billy: How about making a movie based on "Unlimited Blade Works"?
Some guy: Huh?
Billy: We'll just cut some scenes and cram it all in a 90 min. movie. This should give us more cash.
Some guy: Great idea! Billy, I'm promoting you to "Money Whore Executive".





Story: (3/10)
The movie is set in Fyuuki City where the read more
Mar 6, 2019
SupremeLord (All reviews)
I have made it no secret that I adore Fate/Stay Night [Unlimited Blade Works]. I sincerely find it one of Nasu’s absolute greatest pieces of writing. The characters have the right mix of charm and depth, the fight scenes are exhilarating, the romance (As minor as it is) is well done, the pacing is fantastic, and most importantly of all, it is the only piece of Fate media in which Cu Chuulain gets the chance to go out with any sort of dignity.

Of course my praise for this story only extends as far as the original 2004 Visual Novel (And its many rereleases, with my read more
Oct 13, 2010
mastertek (All reviews)
*SPOILERS*

As the other reviews suggest, there might be many types of people watching this show, but I believe the outcome can only be the same. Let's take that you have neither watched the TV series nor played the game, because there are still too many loopholes in the context of this standalone movie to enjoy, regardless of any rules set up in the TV series or game.

As for the plot, you will not understand who is who doing what with whom unless you look it up on Wikipedia. Here I'm just going to make a list of unacceptable loopholes (which doesn't require knowledge from the read more
Oct 17, 2010
Anime_Dude7 (All reviews)
Ah the movie every Fate Stay Night fan has been waiting for and for good reasons too. This movie is not a continuation of the anime series. To make it very clear it’s like coming to a fork in the road, picking route A) takes you to the anime series which you seen or heard of, or if you pick Route B) it take you to the movie and the events in Route A) never happened at all.

Now here's some advice, to those who are new to the Fate/Stay Night Series. I highly recommend watching the anime before committing to this movie. The read more
Jan 20, 2019
PxHC (All reviews)
While the 2006 show was very weak, predictable and straigh forward (also boring) this 2010 movie got a way more interesting setting. Unfortunately the story was so so rushed to fit in 1h40m that to enjoy (and understand) it you really really have to watch the previous series, otherwise it's actually a pretty bad movie and I would have rated it 4/10 only because it still have a very good art, as it alone have a poor story and character development, however if you count the first TV run to fill those gaps it gets good.

Now, is the first TV series that bad? No, just read more
Oct 6, 2010
Sebastian333 (All reviews)
Alright Time For A Short Review !
(I don't know but i always sad when i watch anime's ending)

This is just a short review and please forgive me if my english went bad!

Story : As it drive you to the epicness , it shows and answered some of the questions
that was left behind on FSN series. Well, they use some of same scene a little from the series
but still EPIC. The story is all about ARCHER with his related ideals so named Shirou.What i'm trying
to say , the storyline is not same as the series.One more , sorry but i found out that was read more
Oct 7, 2010
oNatsuo (All reviews)
It was really good honestly, some parts were changed from the visual novel, even Emiya Shirou's incantation and Rin's, the epilogue was rushed like some parts too.

The only reason why I would tell you not to watch it would be if you didn't watch the Anime or play the game because they skipped the obvious parts that happened "in between" so you would be confused by the sudden time jump in some situations. But if you are curious about then just forgive those parts because they were meant for viewers who already watched the Anime and/or played the game.

Story:

The story was a very good translation read more
Oct 16, 2010
kitten320 (All reviews)
I must say that I had mixed emotions about this movie. I didn't like original anime much and I never played the game. What I didn't like in season one was mostly Shirou who pissed the hell out of me with his stupidity and the whole Saber/Shirou romance. Not that it was bad but I think that there was too much attention on it.

And yeh, Saber obessed Gilgamesh also was not my thing. Iactually dislike stories where everyone are after one person and where main character is basicly unbittable.

But here comes the movie with alternative story and I have several things to say about it.

Despite read more
Jul 25, 2013
Zelareth (All reviews)
I am a fan of Fate/Stay Night and the Fate series in general, but in my opinion, this movie is quite bad. Let's start with the good points though.

Art: The artwork in this movie is quite nice. It's more or less what I expect out of Studio DEEN and all of the fight scenes are animated quite spectacularly. Each fight is full of light and particle effects, and it really is one of the few enjoyable parts of this movie.

Sound: The soundtrack of this movie is pretty standard. The music was there, and I noticed it was there. It didn't make me cringe, but at read more
Oct 28, 2010
shadowfang2 (All reviews)
I'm not going to write a really long review. So getting to the point.

Story-4- If you have not read the visual novel, then you might of enjoyed this better than I did. The story wasn't to bad, only thing that really got on my nerves was that they really didn't seem to give a time frame. Most of the scenes were messed together and you could easily think that it was all done in 2 or 3 days. In reality it happens in 10 days.

Art-9- I would have to say my two favorite parts of the movie was the art and the music which I read more
Oct 21, 2010
imaxternal (All reviews)
for fans who have read the fate/stay night visual novel, this movie would be very disappointing (except for one part)

basically the story is rushed through, no surprises there as it is a movie, and the visual novel has too much to cover, but to name the movie "unlimited blades work" would be to put into focus the main point of it from the visual novel, which is, emiya shirou's convictions and archer's convictions.

as someone who has read the novel, i can say that nothing is very well explained, even the things that MAKES the movie.they should have shown more "dreams" of archer on top of read more
May 10, 2018
Piegoose (All reviews)
This is a great watch for those who're already a tad familiar with Fate/Stay Night. As a standalone it's a bit lacking in context, but either way it'll still be a good watch. It's a simplified version of a much longer story, but it's pretty tastefully done and the directing is fantastic. The dialogue is also noticeably better then the TV counterpart (which was extremely hit-or-miss at times), while still certainly being cheesy. But Fate/Stay Night is mostly dumb fun with maybe a bit of emotional investment for some. It's not exactly the most intense of Battle Royale story-lines, but you gotta give Kenji Kawaii read more