Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kaze no Tani no Nausicaä


Alternative Titles

English: Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind
Synonyms: Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind, Kaze no Tani no Nausicaa, Warriors of the Wind
Japanese: 風の谷のナウシカ

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Mar 11, 1984
Producers: Topcraft
Source: Manga
Genres: Adventure, Fantasy
Duration: 1 hr. 57 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.471 (scored by 111,354 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1172
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #383
Members: 174,424
Favorites: 2,333

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 18, 2009
innerchihiro (All reviews)
Okay, so this is my first review, and my second favorite anime. I'm a Miyazaki fanatic, so take that into account if you must.

BACKGROUND: The most important thing to know when watching this is that this anime is from 1984 (ironic, right?) and that this is Miyazaki Hayao's second time directing (the first being Lupin III The Castle of Cagliostro, arguably the best Lupin film ever created.) Miyazaki and his producer Suzuki Toshio first met up because Suzuki, the editor of the magazine Animage, wanted some comments from Miyazaki about Lupin and Miyazaki basically told him to stop bothering him. After a while, however, read more
Apr 17, 2009
Venneh (All reviews)
TITLE: Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind

MANGA, ANIME: Nausicaa was originally a manga with story and art done by Hayao Miyazaki (Howl's Moving Castle, Spirited Away) that, ironically enough, was only created so that the movie could eventually be made, as Toshio Suzuki, the producer, couldn't get money for a film that wasn't based on a manga. It was serialized in Animage magazine from February of 1982 to March of 1994, and was licensed Stateside by Viz Media, and consists of a total of seven collected volumes.

Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind was created before Studio Ghibli actually existed and distributed by read more
Apr 23, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Nausicaa came out in 1984 and was the 2nd movie ever directed by Hayao Miyazaki. It was also one of only 2 Miyazaki movies that was based on one of his original manga. The other was "The Wind Rises" in 2013. Nausicaa is an unusual movie, so it often gets overlooked and it is probably the single most underrated Miyazaki movie in the US.

A large part of the problem was an absolutely BUTCHERED port of the movie called "Warriors of the Wind" released by Disney in the 1980s. Nausicaa was intended to teach morals to a younger audience, but was NOT purely a children's read more
Mar 13, 2008
Phill-z (All reviews)
When I talk about Miyazaki, I usually speak about how he tends to just narrowly miss the mark of making an amazing film. Nausicaa is a perfect example of how Miyazaki narrowly misses the mark of creating a truly magnificent film. However, Nausicaa shows perfectly Miyazaki's attitudes towards living with nature instead of trying to exploit it.

Story: The story isn't interesting, well, the basic storyline isn't all that much to really care about. There are a bunch of Deus ex Machina (god from the machine) that just really, really bugged me. Nausicaa herself is a basic Miyazaki protagonist, she doesn't read more
Mar 4, 2008
ardele7 (All reviews)
This is definitely the best you can get in two hours.

Story: it does not follow the dreamy and surreal sequencing of the newer Ghibli films; after watching this and comparing it with other Ghibli films it was almost as if Miyazaki had written everything he wanted to say in this earlier film. If you are interested in Miyazaki's themes you will appreciate everything tied up together and presented beautifully (and logically) for you.

Art: amazing depictions of nature; made horrendous creatures look beautiful "naturally" even though they are made up. The ending contain the "original" warm fuzzy scenery that inspires those like haibane renmei. read more
Dec 7, 2017
fredcourch (All reviews)
A few years back, when someone would ask me what was my favorite movie, Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind was always the first one that came to mind. As time passed, my answer changed. Not because I didn’t think it was the best anymore, only because my memory failed me and I felt uncomfortable suggesting a movie that I didn’t remember. I began feeling doubtful after few friends (to which I recommended the movie) thought of it as nothing special. Is it really that great ? By fear of being disappointed in the movie, I avoided watching it again. Nearly five years later, read more
Jan 1, 2014
ktulu007 (All reviews)
In many ways, Nausicaa was Studio Ghibli's prototype film. It introduced many factors that would become staples for the studio, the pro-environmentalist message, the strong female protagonist, the highly critical view of violence and, of course, the gorgeous artwork. Nausicaa was produced by Topcraft before the Studio went bankrupt, got bought by Miyazaki and Takahata and became Studio Ghibli. Since Nausicaa was the film to establish the Ghibli formula, and since most of the creative team behind it, including the writer, Miyazaki, went on to found Studio Ghibli, many people count it as the Studio's first work. Let's take a look and see how well read more
Mar 24, 2014
Mimiko_chan (All reviews)
Nausicaa, I have a feeling that this review is going to be long…
So everybody seems to love this movie and those that don’t can’t seem to find a plausible explanation to why they didn’t enjoy it, well today I’m here to help you discover why you felt that, and why this movie didn’t reach you.
People judge animations by only looking at the amount of entertainment/joy/emotions it gave to each of them, but the truth is that each anime has his high and low points, so just giving a 10 because your friends told you it was the best or just based in your inner favoritism read more
Mar 15, 2010
360ken (All reviews)
*You can read what it's about in the synopsis*

Story-10
Exciting all the way, original, unique, you might be bored the first 15-20 minutes or so but when the "crash" happens this movie goes full-force into the action, drama, sci-fi, and environmental philosophy. It's really good. Miyazaki is a known environmentalist, this was his first movie, and his first smash hit. He does talk about the environment but he doesn't shove it down your throat. It's just a really good sci-fi adventure that doesn't get the appreciation it deserves these days.

Art-9
Let's face it. Nausicaa is from the 80's. It is not going to hold a candle to read more
Nov 18, 2015
BeebopJazzAttack (All reviews)
I had the fortune of getting to see "Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind" on the big screen (for the first time ever!) in stark, 35mm film. It looked unbelievably beautiful, especially for a cartoon made in the 80's. Sure, it still had that 80's anime look to it and the soundtrack was totally 80's, but up there on the big screen, I don't know, it kinda took my breathe away.

The story of "Valley of the Wind" is pretty much like all his stories, which is the films strongest feature. Miyazaki knows how to tell a story. He creates these worlds, that he read more
Nov 21, 2016
TrashDax (All reviews)
So this is it, the anime that "created" Studio Ghibli.

Story:
Today, we all know the usual concept of an environmental fantasy story. An all-loving hero (or heroine) tries to stop stupid militaristic people from destroying nature and therefore endangering the human race as well. In the 1980s this was a message that needed to be put out there, even if it meant to be a little more direct with it. Nausicaä does a pretty good job in putting its message into an entertaining story that does not feel too heavy and doesn't get boring either. The ending is a little farfetched, but its in typical fairytale read more
Jul 16, 2016
bigmustache93 (All reviews)
Nausica of the valley of the wind is based on manga by the same name written and illustrated by hayao myazaki ,the success of this movie paved the way for the foundation of studio ghibli. the story takes place in a post apocalyptic world after one thousand years of the destruction of the the industrial civilization the opening credit summarizes all the back story and read more
May 2, 2016
PuruRuru (All reviews)
Kaze no Tani no Nausicaä comes up with a very interesting setting that doesn't get enough development.

Instead the main character is thrown into a journey in which she fights for humanitarian and environmental goals. The morality behind this anime is quite heavy handed and the characters are really basic, making this a rather dull watch in modern times, although at the time the sheer novelty (for the average viewership) of the setting might have been enough. This movie ages poorly because of that.

The animation in this quite good. It's a mix of a lot of hard work along with dated artwork (which is by no read more
Apr 10, 2016
FamousWolfMoon (All reviews)
In emerging from the hallucinatory reading of the eponymous manga, absolute masterpiece of Miyazaki, I took the risk re watch in the wake this movie adaptation, or rather free adaptation of a little more than the first volume (of seven)...

Miyazaki has always favored heroines to heroes. Without necessarily talking about feminist artist, stories lend themselves much more to highlight the qualities embodied in all times by female figures greatly missing in this world. Nausicaä is in this sense a perfect illustration.

What about Nausicaa? This is the absolute heroine of Miyazaki, embodying innocence, compassion, love, distress, empathy, courage, indomitable will to triumph peace in a world read more
Dec 11, 2010
kajia (All reviews)
I first watched "Nausicaa of the Valley of the Winds" when I'd only watched a couple of films that are directed by Miyazaki. I was blown away at the time, and thought it was the best thing he's done. Now that I've seen a lot more of his films, I can conclude that... it still is one of the best things he's done.

More dramatic, more intense than Miayazaki's normal work, "Nausicaa of the Valley of the Winds" is aimed an older audience. The prelude, with the wind blowing across the uninhabitable wastlands, is a memorable one, and the desolate scene captures the title perfectly (although read more
Apr 18, 2016
MewTangClan (All reviews)
Firstly, I am a huge fan of Studio Ghibli, and this movie kind of automatically hits home for me because of this. I am also a lover of vintage anime animation, and I can really appreciate that here. What we're shown of the world is vast, and the concept and phenomena present in this film is very interesting to say the least. I love the theme of nature and how it is presented throughout the film. With that said, though, I will say this movie is a bit below the standard of a good Hayao Miyazaki film. Poor character depth and a very rushed ending read more
Jun 24, 2008
RangFlash (All reviews)
Miyazaki's first work he can 100% call his own, Nausicaa really set the standard for all-age anime cinema a notch up from Castle of Cagliostro. This anime goes down to be one of the most influential with its environmental message in a post-apocalyptic world. Unlike many anime before it, the cast of characters is huge, the plot complex, and the scope is epic, redefining what anime can do.

There are small problems, some dealing with the dialogue. There is often needless dialogue where Nausicaa talks to herself, explaining things to the audience. Examples:

"An Ohm!"
"Gunshots!"
"It came off!"
"It even chipped a ceramic sword!"

Yes, Nausicaa. We know. We read more
Jan 28, 2017
Th334 (All reviews)
​I kept this review as spoiler-free as possible and marked the section you may wish to skip if you don't want anything spoiled at all. This review is not nostalgically biased as I watched the movie for the first time in 2017 just before writing this, neither I am a dedicated Miyazaki fan or have anything against his work.

The overall score of 6 means that I found it to be a fine movie. It had some issues that stopped me from really liking it when all's said and done, but it captured my imagination and I was not indifferent, nor did I dislike it.

--- INTRODUCTION read more
Nov 25, 2015
jzmcdaisy (All reviews)
Ghibli is a studio I usually can return to when I've had a dry spell in the shows I've been watching. I tend to get a little sick of shows that waggle indulgence and drama in your face and get so much hype that they choke out the possibility of hearing about anything else that year. So when I feel nice and disillusioned I give my Miyazaki films a reassuring embrace that above average TV and film is still there. Nausicaa is another chip off the block covered in countless titles I don't have time for amid college, so the fact that I got to read more
Apr 1, 2015
MorteTorment (All reviews)
Watched Nausicaa, here are my uncensored thoughts.

Old school anime music and sound effects are awesome!

Why are the gas masks shaped like mustaches?

Thank you Debnath for letting me go into this movie blind, especially since it contains the magic words. Post-apocalyptic!

Whoah! US cartoon style eyes and faces! They even have noses.

Love Naussicas cute, pleasant voice!

Oh god, the music that plays when Nausicca gets on her hanglider, beyond beautiful!

This movie reminds me of psycho-pass and...well, escape from new york, in the sense that so much of the experience has this beautiful, subtle atmosphere to it. it makes the experience so relaxing.

Dear god does this movie have me read more