Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Appleseed (Movie)


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Appleseed (2004)
Japanese: アップルシード

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 17, 2004
Studios: Digital Frontier
Source: Manga
Duration: 1 hr. 45 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.171 (scored by 35,495 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #30492
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1603
Members: 59,598
Favorites: 165

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 10, 2007
infinity (All reviews)
--> Intro:
Appleseed (AS) tells the story of Deunan and Briaeros, mates on the battlefield. The story revolves around battles, mechas, utopian philosophy and some romance. You will also know about Bioroids, which are cloned humans, but with distinct identities.

--> Animation: (10/10)
Really, earning a 10 from me is tough, but Appleseed really amazed me in terms of sheer graphic quality. It's a perfect blend of traditional animation, coupled with very well made CG. The backgrounds and environments are extremely detailed and well done. The same quality can be found in the character designs. Just see how detailed Deunan's hair is, or how the general mechas are read more
Apr 22, 2008
Blank (All reviews)
In a word: Disappointing.

I was told this was cyberpunk and expect a dark film. Just reading about it, it would appear that the film is spot on in earning a post-cyberpunk moniker. Perverted uptopia? Check. Mecha/Human enhancements? Check. Violence? Check. Electronic soundtrack? Check. Rainy/depressing environments? Check.

The beginning of the film lives up to these expectations, as well. It opens with a random battle that sets a mood the rest of the movie doesn't follow. Appleseed is too happy, too shallow, too cheesy, and too dull to be considered cyberpunk. The story is very shallow and predictable. Plot twists are figured out long before they are read more
Dec 6, 2008
Proserpina (All reviews)
STORY: 5/10
The plot wasn't all bad. The internal conflict was a particularly fascinating thing, particularly when you find out who the real enemy is. And the idea that a peaceful society is really a cage may be used a lot, but is still interesting in its own way. However, for people like myself who haven't read the manga beforehand, the history of this distopian universe might be difficult to comprehend, thus decreasing any real enjoyment plot-wise, as you're left wondering "why?" the whole time. All you get is that some global war is going on, and then "bam!" suddenly this "utopia" comes into play, and read more
May 27, 2015
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Appleseed is a film based on the work of Shirow Masamune, the Mangaka behind Ghost in the Shell. The film adaptation was handled by Digital Frontier and the now defunct Micott & Basara. The manga may very well be on the same level as the Ghost in the Shell manga, I don't know since I haven't read it, but the question is whether or not the film is any good.

Story:

Deunan Knute is an elite soldier during a global war. During one battle a strange group barges in and takes her to Olympus, a Utopian society where humans are living a peaceful coexistence with a new read more
Mar 1, 2011
GoodEnoughForMe (All reviews)
The 2004 remake of the Appleseed story is a watchable affair, but one that seemingly increases the flaws of the original 1988 release while also detracting from its strengths.

Appleseed once again benefits from a strong female lead, one not afraid to kickass, and one not sexualized. Deunan is picked up by members of E.S.W.A.T, an elite special ops unit, and is immediately entrusted with a lot of the most vital secret of Utopia, an attempted, get this, utopian human city. This city is home to a population made up half of human, and half of Bioroids, genetically manufactured being with suppressed emotional states, designed read more
Aug 13, 2013
bedheadred (All reviews)
Appleseed explores humanity's future, who should decide that fate and the consequences of technology in a Utopia populated by humans and bioroids, artificial humans with suppressed emotions and reproduction.

During a spectacular opening battle, the heroine, Deunan, is captured and taken to this Utopia. While this was a really exciting way to captivate the viewer, the battle had absolutely nothing to do with the movie except concrete the idea that Deunan is a superior soldier. Enter her previous partner and lover, Briareos, now in cyborg form. The movie could have explored their back story or the struggle with their current emotions, but they were left read more
Jul 30, 2009
ParisainGoldfish (All reviews)
Surprisingly enough, I prefer the 2004 Appleseed to it's successor, Ex Machina. I haven't seen this art style really applied anywhere but Appleseed, which is a shame really, because the blend of CGI and anime art is really quite cool.

Story; 7. Admittedly, this is not really the strong point of either of these movies; moreso this one. While I enjoyed it a great deal more than Ex Machina, the story itself was much less developed. It's difficult to explain really, because the premise here is more engaging, however it isn't elaborated on thoroughly enough and the climactic battle scene paled in comparison to numerous scenes read more
Jul 10, 2009
MiraFirefly (All reviews)
This animation is, in my mind, a complete slander to the original manga.

Of course, these things are all a matter of perspective and of one's personal interests and priorities in a film, but the original really captured me in a unique way and was one of my first great loves in manga. It has going for it a wonderful mixture of obvious dedication and craft, high detail, geeky technophilia, memorable and dimensional characters, thoughtful reflection, '80s nostalgia, labyrinthine plot and excitement that make for a real sci-fi manga classic. Like Shirow Masamune's art, his story writing is complex, twisting to the point of being deeply read more
Apr 7, 2018
eienOwO (All reviews)
First and most importantly, regardless of how generic the film itself was, I will forever cherish it for introducing me to Good Luck by Basement Jaxx.

OH GOD GOOD LUCK IS PURE PERFECTION... THAT 30s INTRO WAS ONE OF THE BEST INTROS OF ALL ANIME, yes, up there with Evangelion and Cowboy Bebop, I said it!

Aaannnnd after Good Luck ends it's all downhill from there.

Set in a world where more stable bioroids take the reins of governance from emotionally unstable humans, the philosophical conflict serving as the basis of the plot is a solid one, with very believable motivations for the villainous human military staging a read more
Oct 21, 2009
SpudUK (All reviews)
Unlike my last review (Evangelion), im going to approach this as a viewer rather than a critic. Ill also stick to the format as its easier. I'll try to stay spoiler-free.

Also note I watched the Subbed version, and in Blue-Ray, so consider this when reading.

Story:
Appleseed comes across as a very intelligent film. Its uses the time of the story to good effect and gives it the freedom to create what they have. But in short, Set in a fiction city called Olympus, its about Humans living together with 'Bioroids' a being that is created from human genetics, but with the ability to be programs. Think read more
Jan 8, 2014
KD7BWB (All reviews)
OK lion tamers (I used it before, I'm sticking with it ). Here we go.

Appleseed (2004), when I saw this right after release, was a terrific treasure. But I need to talk about some other work, which tends to explain why the producers made Appleseed in the format they did.

In 2001, Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within, was released. When this movie came out, and released into the theaters, something important happened. For the first time, an anime movie had been created in the mind of a CG computer, so accurate that the pours on the skin of the actors were visible. The overall details read more
Oct 7, 2018
Iamkingdomhearts (All reviews)

A CGI advancement and achievement for all fans of both CGI and Anime, Appleseed, created by the Mangaka author of Ghost in the Shell, delivers a unique experience for all viewers from a animation standpoint.

A story full of action and a bit of romance, it is set in our not so far away future when the world had finally entered World War III and suffered the apocalypse, as a result...only the survivors of the now desolate and war torn world remain left standing and even now they still continue to fight with the weapons and vehicles still available to them...it is no longer a fight read more
Aug 18, 2008
NanashiMoriko (All reviews)
I have to say that I thought the plot developed in this superbly. There were twists and turns, you weren't quite sure what was coming next and that, to me, is the making of a great story. It did take a bit of time for the story to really get rolling and things do all jump you at the end, but other than that it did well.

The character development wasn't as great, but was still good. The main character Deunan developed well; we watched her as she learnt about herself, formed bonds and went through trials. The other characters didn't develop as well as Deunan, read more
Oct 5, 2008
Defaultmp3 (All reviews)
Story: The story was relatively standard fare: tried and true plot twists, no huge gaping holes (except for an incident at the end that left me scratching my head; a deus ex machina of sorts that saved the day). Having of never read any of the mangas, I would not know exactly how faithful it was to the original storylines.

Art: Being CGI, the problem is that it looked rather dated. The designs overall were excellent; it was merely that being 4 years old, the shadows, reflections, shading, etc. really showed itself, especially if you watch Appleseed Ex Machina right afterwards. Still, being old enough to read more
Nov 10, 2012
kaonasi_mV (All reviews)
I am not sorry seconds of spent time for this film. It is really worthy of it that at it to look.
All plot is twirled around very abrupt girl, and she is so abrupt that kills 16 people by means of a knife, at all without having blinked an eye. The general idea of the film proves again to us that people too depend on the emotion therefore its existence is impossible out of the conflicts and out of wars.
The love is shown here quite peculiar. He is a cyborg, she is a person. And, apparently, that it is fated not to be read more
Mar 20, 2014
playmakerzam (All reviews)
Appleseed is a sci-fi anime based on a manga of the same name which was written by the "Ghost in the Shell" author Shirow Masamune. A global war has just ended and the world is left as a big wasteland. Deunan Knute, our main heroine, is a very skilled soldier who participated in the global war. Having no knowledge that the war was already over, she was still fighting (with fellow fighters) against androids trying to survive on ruins of what was once cities.
She was rescued by E-SWAT (Extra-Special and Weapons Advanced Tactics) members along with Hitomi which is a 2nd gen Bioroid. Bioroids are read more
Nov 16, 2017
DarkRavie (All reviews)
Appleseed is the story of Deunan Knute, a female soldier who is rescued from the violent ruins of an old city and taken to Olympus, a Utopian metropolis. She is reunited with her former partner and lover, Briareos, who has been turned into a cyborg after sustaining a critical battle injury.

Olympus is a complex society, a mixture of humans and the near-indistinguishable cybernetic human clones called Bioroids, with both sides locked in a constant power struggle.

Deunan and Briareos are soon entangled in a desperate struggle to prevent a plot that threatens to destroy the delicate balance of power and bring about a terrible read more
Jul 9, 2014
Kekin (All reviews)
This movie is a bland mesh of sub-par action and mediocre CGI.

My expectation of this movie was to have a cheap 90s action romp (in the same vein as Predator or True Lies) only with anime and a robot bunny thing.

What I got was like 5-7 minutes of meaningless action in a 80 minute movie. This movie was boring.

I'll save you guys time with a quick summary. There's this blonde chick who's sorta in love with the robot thing, except the robot thing is actually a guy with a prosthetic head. Does he have a brain? read more