Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Asura Cryin'


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Asura Kurain
Japanese: アスラクライン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 2, 2009 to Jun 25, 2009
Premiered: Spring 2009
Broadcast: Thursdays at 08:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Seven Arcs
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.071 (scored by 35,817 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #32022
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #964
Members: 73,468
Favorites: 169

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 14, 2009
KayChan4U (All reviews)
Preliminary
Alright...I'm writing this for a reason. To hope people will read this and so that they won't waste their time watching this anime like I did. I'm still watching it actually, and I do intend to finish it because I don't normally like dropping too many animes. Although if this series had anymore than 13 episodes, I might of had to reconsider.

Story 5/10: Well...what sort of story is it really? There's little to no plot at all. The only thing I can see going on is that everyone wants the Asura Crying. First they're fighting, and the next their figuring out who to fight next read more
Aug 10, 2009
Yemi_Hikari (All reviews)
Story 6:

The storyline of "Asura Cryin' " happens to be one that has a lot of detail and a lot of planning to it. However, it is one of those storylines that as good as it might be, was definatly not executed to the best ability. On top of this, there are a few things that one should know before they watch the anime.

One of the things that is problematic is that the storyling does not flow well, there are constant flashbacks, and important details that help the anime to run are revealed at intervals that are not always the best time for them to read more
Apr 17, 2009
tentacle_raep (All reviews)
Preliminary
Someone has to say it.

If you watch anime because you want to secretly be the protagonist and have all these beautiful girls at school covet you, sleep in your bed, let you touch their tits, giggle when you lift their skirts and get all blushing and innocent even though you have the intentions of a registered sex offender... get a life. I'm sick of stumbling on a harem anime when I was hoping for something with substance.

Also, this anime managed to screw the cliche pooch harder than any in recent memory.

There's the everyguy, shy and reserved Tomo. He has a ghost girl, Misao, following him read more
Jul 8, 2009
IdleWaiter (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok, getting straight into it:
I always watch something to the end no matter what although i'm seriously reconsidering that ultimatum after this.

Story:
Half the time you don't have a flippin' clue as to whats actually going on- no, more than half the time. Every episode, It'll change scene or introduce new unexplained characters who instantly merge themselves into the story with all the sensitivity of a blunt axe swinging down onto a solid block of steel. I suppose if you were to watch it again and again, you may just glimpse the actual plot that does its best to stay away from its rightful position. therefore, read more
Apr 4, 2009
yarvenclog (All reviews)
Preliminary
Wow was I suprised after I watched the first episode of this show, it has an extremely misleading title. When you see Asura Cryin, you think slice of life, or romance, you dont think at all that it would be a battle anime, but lo and behold it is.

the story hasnt been fully hashed out after the first episode, so I wont really go into it, but there are battles, and ghosts, and magic, and mystery, and big suits of armor, so I think it will be worth the ride.

Art is solid, nothing out of the ordinary. the Designs on the armor are pretty slick read more
Oct 4, 2009
Moe_ (All reviews)
What to say for this series... It was very bad.

Art: No, just no. The art may seem fine, but it really isn't. It is inconsistent and unoriginal. We see the creators drawing Tomoharu normally, and then pinning a hair tail and a squiggily thing up on his head to make him look unique, but it just makes him look overly retarded. Then we have inconsistency with the drawings. Some parts, we see the eyes drawn weirdly, or one scene there is a whole bunch of blood, the next there's none. We might say Kanade looks well drawn, but she really isn't. Not trying to read more
Apr 5, 2009
gorskino10 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Spoilers Ahead.





I was expecting an ordinary romantic/comedy about a guy who falls in love with his ghost............ ooooh how wrong i was.

I wasnt expecting a wierd briefcase,shoot outs,samurai assasins,and MECHA

But this seems to me that this series will be a "Good Supprise" to many people and hopefully it will stay this way untill the end, then this series will be great.


Art
-------
Was not the best ive ever seen but to me there sort of unique, i cant put my finger on it but they seems to look different from many series ive seen, also this bit near the end of the epiosde "purple stuff" was animated read more
Aug 28, 2016
delzog (All reviews)
The story had potential, but you find yourself despising the protagonist, Tomo. And if you can't enjoy or even like the main character, then the whole thing is doomed to failure. Everything else is just standard anime fair and not an issue, but Tomo isn't just pathetic, he's an apathetic excuse for a character! His annoying-whiny-uselessness is only overshadowed by his idiotic acceptance of everything; he doesn't even have the wit to ask relevant questions. By the end of the second season, I'd completely lost hope for any redeeming quality and was just trying to get to the end; some read more
Mar 27, 2010
FreyaAuthority (All reviews)
Story

The story's complicated and is always misleading, the first few episodes were not really making sense, a briefcase which has weird slime coming out of it at first and turns into a mecha which they call 'Asura Machina'. Overall, this anime only got better towards the end and the story was pretty decent. I was expecting a good ending and it turned out good at first but later near the end of the last episode, a twist in the plot happened which was pretty touching in my opinion.

Art

The art and design given by this anime is pretty good, character expressions were actually alright and above read more
May 20, 2009
Narshen (All reviews)
Preliminary
Oh dear god, this series..............


Oh well, better just jump into the review

Story: 5/10

Somehow it involves mecha, ghosts, dark magic, yakuza, agents of God, and decides to throw it all in a high school setting. Sure, they try to throw in some normal segments of high school life, but then *BOOM* sceneshift and you have no idea what is going on. Score is higher than I want it to be.

Art: 6/10

Well..... the mecha look interesting.....

Sound: 4/10

I dislike nearly everything about the music to the series. The only good things are some of the voices.

Characters: 3/10

There really doesn't seem to be any coherent thought process that read more
Sep 7, 2009
Insider66047 (All reviews)
Alright im gonna keep this review Very short and Very simple(this is my first review). This Anime is NOT that bad. Yes, the story is confusing, but if you have any brain at all you can figure it out. It's a very deep and very complex story that took me in. No, its not laid out in ABC's. You have to think about it and pay attention to the diolouge and whats going on. And if you do that then you you WILLl enjoy this anime.
This story's protagonist is a high school boy who, read more
Apr 9, 2013
Mycelis_Tsukiyo (All reviews)
Doing a review for both seasons here.

If you don't believe me that I gave it a good score, look at the second seasons reviews.

Asura Cryin' has a nice art and sound, nothing to complain about there.
The battles look good too.

The characters are a bit flat at times, but still don't feel too stereotypical. Enough for some tearjerkers.

The first season lacks big parts of the backstory since this was put into the second season of the anime. Whoever starts this anime has to prepared to watch both seasons, because without the 2nd season it is way to incomplete to be satisfied. Sounds negative, but read more
Dec 29, 2009
xMystic (All reviews)
basically im writing this review for both asura cryin and asura cryin II as they both are actually connected.. well.. the only bad thing about this anime is that it went too fast and not at the pace of the novel.. i notice some characters that the novel has and the anime dont.. i assume they cut out some characters along with some scenes.. overall i think its great.. some1 who's ur enemy can be ur frined the next day.. kinda remind me of code geass.. anw.. id give this 10/10.. cheers..
Mar 13, 2010
bokenhiebing (All reviews)
You will have to put a lot of effort to follow this show and frankly you will get little reward for your troubles. Many aspects have a lot of content to them, rules, ins and outs that you need to know to follow the show. However even with all of that I still have no idea what is going on with this show.

"Asura Cryin" has a lot of problems but the one I had the biggest issue with is that the whole show is convoluted. Not only is the story complex but it is unnecessarily complex. There is a lot of different factions and read more
Nov 1, 2015
Zaku88 (All reviews)
Asura Cryin is a series that seems to be about ghosts... but then turns into a story about mechs and humanoid demons. It is a combination of comedy/mystery/action/mech. I originally jumped on this series due to some fairly interesting teasers and good OP/ED. However, the series seems to hide everything from the viewer to the extent that I ended up confused after each episode. The character development seems half-hearted and the story, though eventually interesting, is cryptic for the majority of the show. If you have a short patience, this isn't your show.

Animation:
The animation quality is fairly good throughout. Colors are vivid, effects are of read more
Oct 11, 2015
thumpz99 (All reviews)
The first season is a decent setup for the better second season. It's an enjoyable anime overall but it does have some shortcomings.

There are some parts of the story that they went out of their way to make viewers realize what's going on. They pushed so hard that they made the main character seem dim witted and unable to do simple guess work. I'm not sure why they did this but it did take away from the story for me.

Repetition. Get used to it. They use it a lot to fill some episodes to stretch them out to meet their read more
Jun 4, 2010
kaishu (All reviews)
Preliminary
This series started out interesting but definitely took a turn for the worse. The story is pretty much par for the course, being a sort of super-natural occult action series with some harem elements peppered in. The character design is the only thing about this series that is mildly interesting. The animation quality fluctuates so much, in some scenes I wasn't sure if I was watching the same series. Crooked eyes, malformed faces and all around bad quality animation plague this series.

If you go into this series expecting as much as I did from the first episode then I am sorry to say but you read more
Feb 26, 2011
JesterInk (All reviews)
This review is written without having seen the second season, and with little to no intention of doing so.

Have you ever seen something where you want to enjoy it, you really do, but it just misses the mark almost every time it aims? Asura Cryin’ is that anime.

The story was all over the place, with massive amounts of hinting and mysterious comments, but little to no closure on even what the story’s goal is. This, in itself, is not a problem. Other anime (and stories in general) have managed to pull this sort of mysterious atmosphere off, and still be enjoyable. But AC shoots read more
Dec 3, 2012
Twp (All reviews)
I was looking for a something similar to "Break Blade" which i will be doing a review on soon. This is the first season of "Asura Cryin" and will also do a review on the second season. So enjoy this review!

Characters

The characters in this anime are quite interesting. The more the story goes on the more you wonder about them. The more you wonder about them, the less answers you get. What i am trying to get at is, there is no background information on the characters. The development between the characters were done quite well, but we don't really know read more
Mar 26, 2011
masteromegon (All reviews)
Lesse Lesse, Hmm, well the story is over complicated, but at the same time under rated, it does take someone with a basic understanding, very basic, of multiverse theory to get the plot line,

by that i mean you have to understand that there is a universe or reality for different actions, and possibilities,

I understood the entire thing, and felt that although a bit chaotic the story continuously went forward, with mild to severe upsets and losses, with the undertone of romance written inbetween,

the single problem I had with the show is that the second season is read more