Mahouka Koukou no Yuutousei


The Honor at Magic High School

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: The Honor Student at Magic High School
Japanese: 魔法科高校の優等生
English: The Honor at Magic High School
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 3, 2021 to Sep 25, 2021
Premiered: Summer 2021
Broadcast: Saturdays at 23:30 (JST)
Producers: Aniplex
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: Connect
Source: Manga
Genres: FantasyFantasy, Sci-FiSci-Fi
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.571 (scored by 2247822,478 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #57912
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1650
Members: 102,932
Favorites: 732

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 25, 2021
Milim9255 (All reviews)
I loved Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei, I gave it an 8/10! But this show, Yuutousei, does not live up to its predecessor whatsoever. The premise of this show is that it takes the exact same events from Rettousei, dumbs them down, and adds more incest. The best part about Yuutousei, in my opinion, is the sound design, not really a great compliment in perspective of my other ratings since this is a TV series and not a CD. The art is good, but the characters seem flat and one dimensional. This show is a hollow shell of Rettousei with all the goodie scooped out. Yuutousei read more
Jul 25, 2021
harrysayshey (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all, let me foreword by saying that I'm one of those people who loved the main series, Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei. In spite of it, I can't say the same for the spin-off, Mahouka Koukou no Yuutosei. It may take the same general events from the original series, but it tells them in a way that disappoints me. Many important scenes are shortened down, and a lot of details aren't fully explained, leaving viewers who didn't watch the original confused. A good alternate perspective story shouldn't have to rely on the main series to do most of the world building for it, that's read more
Sep 25, 2021
lesfiches1600 (All reviews)
So I won't go into categories, or else you won't catch the problem with this series.

The art is really good, the pace of the show is great and entertaining. I even wished they slow-paced Rettousei second season to fit this so we could enjoy more and understand more too about it. The OSTs are quite good also.

In conclusion it's a great watch. Only if you didn't watch anything of the Rettousei before. And even then I wouldn't advise it, because Rettousei is still much better and this show is just ruining it.

The biggest issue this spin off has is that the story is not coherent read more
Aug 13, 2021
trollkiller32 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Generally the show is truly a "spin-off" of the first season. Light hearted and focused more towards Miyuki's thoughts and her group of friends.

This is an underrated anime. You MUST watch the first season first or at least read the Yuutousei manga before watching as it is not a standalone anime. It is not part of the main timeline series.

Spinoff Definition: a spin-off (or spinoff) is a radio program, television program, film, video game or any narrative work, derived from already existing works that focus on more details and different aspects from the original work (e.g. particular topics, characters or events)
Jul 28, 2021
CorsairFrosty (All reviews)
Preliminary
*Spoiler warning!*

Story/Plot 7/10 - In the 4 episodes I've seen, the plot is pretty well-paced. Compared to the manga it adapts around half of one volume per episode, and it doesn't really leave out any important parts. (It does alter some parts though, so that might bother some people.) While Miyuki is the main character in this anime, the 2 most recent episodes have seemed to focus more on Shizuku and Honoka. We also get to see many new scenes that weren't in the Irregular at Magic high school. (Because this is Miyuki's pov obviously.) This is actually pretty enjoyable for a spin-off anime, but read more
Jul 27, 2021
N-Rawk (All reviews)
Preliminary
There isn't much that needs to be said here. As a stand alone anime, if the second episode is an indication of how the story is going to be structured then I cannot recommend this to anyone other than diehard fans of the original.

The first season of Mahouka is REQUIRED to understand the events and resolutions in the second episode, but if you have seen the original then all this does is give a bit more context to what some of the minor characters were thinking and doing while the plot played out.

Because of this, the story and characters take major hits, but Studio read more
Sep 25, 2021
jesty4 (All reviews)
I'm not the biggest fan of the mahouka, and to be blunt, I enjoyed this less than the parent story. It definitely wasn't the worse thing in the world, but it isn't good.

The story goes through the enrolment arc and the 9 schools competition arc, mainly through the perspectives of characters such as Miyuki, Honoka, Shizuku and new characters from third highschool. However we barley got to see any other characters, no erika, leo or mizuki. But this is a spin-off thats specifically not about those guys, so i'll let it slide.

These new characters; for example Airi, were basically all the same character. Over confident read more
Aug 28, 2021
Xeruis (All reviews)
Preliminary
this "Season" is HUGE SHAME on the series that i wish i did not know about, and here is why;

The art is just so bad to the point i want to look away, they even forget to draw some details and even if they do it looked bad.

The animation is HORRIFIC to the point it cased my eyes to bleed, some scenes are animated with like 3 badly dawn frames.

story was so poor and filled with boring clichés, (the "good girl" gets ahead then the "bad girl" catches up but then we get a flashback about the "good girl" which makes her read more
Sep 27, 2021
robert788 (All reviews)
Mahouka Koukou no Yuutousei (2021)

First off, if you have not seen the first season of the parent show then do not watch this until you have done so unless you are open-minded. Going into this various people jumped on the 'its a new season then slated the show for being confusing since the story is already well established. This is because it is a spin-off, not the parent story. It does a marvellous job of filling in masses of gaps in the main show to bring us to the end of the first season and slightly beyond.

The art of the show is a slightly read more
Aug 9, 2021
Logikx (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a very poor quality retelling of the first arc of the main series as experienced by some of the side characters. It is incomplete and is most likely confusing to any who have not seen the original. The dialogue is inane and there are a lot of extra cringy incestual moments thrown in for some kind of measure.....

The animation varies greatly from frame to frame and while the character designs are mostly the same from the original the only change that happens is some extreme degradation of quality in motion. Janky running animations and odd stretch effects during pivots of characters are just read more
Sep 25, 2021
Garbagepickles (All reviews)
Ok so this anime is eh. Lemme explain, imma just make this short.

So this anime is basically a recap, all they did was add characters and add to the character development. It's fundamentally flawed, we know exactly what's gonna happen, and unlike other prequel/spinoff anime, that give more exposition or backstory, this doesn't do that.

Sure it gives us new characters, but you can't really root for them, because in the original story, they were nobodies. Slap some overdramatic characters with a op character (that we know will lose), you get this show.

The only redeeming quality is the growth of existing characters and how read more
Jul 28, 2021
webM-guy (All reviews)
Preliminary
Curb your expectations

Bad animation? Check
Cringey characters? Check
Inconsistent plot? Check
EXTRA brocon? Check

I'm kinda pissed. I was looking forward to some more Mahouka. But this ain't 8-bit and it CERTAINLY ain't Madhouse. The faces being wrong wouldn't bother me so much if they didn't get them right half the time, oftentimes in the same shot.

The real problem I have with this is it covers events that happened in season 1, but with added cringe. Like, imagine a high school anime where all of the characters actually act like high schoolers. *shudders* The events not only happen not the way they actually happened, but the extra events happen read more
Aug 9, 2021
EB-990 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I cannot talk about this series without mentioning the original Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei because there is no connective plot to events that happen. This is basically a behind the scenes look at a few side characters. It doesn't explain what is going on, or why and jumps between scenes like you should know what is already happening while adding a bit of an alternate perspective and leaving out the main plot.

That is one of it's biggest flaws in that by showing other characters doing things outside of Tatsuya's umbrella, the story is changed. You can't watch this spin off if you haven't seen read more
Jul 31, 2021
iAntiheroi (All reviews)
Preliminary
The parent story is required to understand this anime, suffice to say with that said this is, by far the most pointless and inferior version of that story. So much recounting of the boring side of the story, with pointless information that isn't prevalent in the slightest. Miyuki is powerful and it could be interesting if they gave some kind of new insight into her family or things she did that were interesting behind the scenes; all this does is show the better story from side characters points of views and makes it almost unbearable to watch. The anime is undoubtedly beautiful and the story read more
Jul 31, 2021
Meelis13 (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you look at my review scores in detail, you notice i rated lot of things rather high, but overall rating is still 3. Seems odd, right? let me go in detail on that. And i really, really hate bashing on anime.... As of writing this review, i've watched about 4,5 episodes and i think i am going to drop it here.

So, this show is essentially retelling of "irregular at magic high school" season 1 from its main characters sisters (and 2-3 of her friends) perspective. Not a new concept and these alternate perspective shows tend to be extremely interesting and give lot of new read more
Aug 29, 2021
Taurus21 (All reviews)
Preliminary
If I have to pick a generic school magic anime, I would definitely pick this one. It is extremely generic! The characters do not have a shred of original personality, they are very boring, and the like its history, where the drama and action are virtually nonexistent, thank to the protagonists are above all, and on top of all, they add an incestuous relationship, probably made with the only excuse attract attention (which personally makes it more obnoxious).

The first arc begins with a certain mystery, but in the middle of the story you realize that the "enemies" are not important at all, they are read more
Sep 11, 2021
self99 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Disclaimer: I rate this anime 1/10 just because it doesn't deserve to get beyond 6.5/10

I wrote this review just because it's unbearable to watch.

If it was stand alone anime I might give 6.5~6.9/10, but It's in fact a spin-off of the popular anime, Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei , which is big shoes to fill and it failed miserably to the point it became pure blasphemy to the original anime in my opinion. The scenes are inconsistent and incoherent to the scenes in the OG anime (at some scenes they put exactly the same dialog but with completely different setting than read more
Oct 4, 2021
TheBlazingBlade (All reviews)
Preliminary
I really liked the original. It wasn't the greatest thing ever, but I highly enjoyed all the characters. The anime definitely felt like a school setting and the mystery-ish parts were interesting enough. The ending was a choice. I don't mind powerful MC, but I hate it when they are so god-like, that you question how threats are ever possible. I wish there was more about the family and how the MC learned to self-heal etc. Thus, I was so excited when I saw this in the making. I didn't read anything about it because I didn't want any spoilers. I watched the first episode read more
Oct 4, 2021
arl14 (All reviews)
This anime is terrible by any means; though not good either. The story is watered down and is missing some key scenes for context, but there is some new scenes that help a bit with the original story and gives more character development to the main character of this anime. The sound the best part of this anime with the musical choice fits right in with the current action that's going on. The art is decent as well but it seems to have some blurriness with the picture quality (might just be me). The only problems I really have is that the upped the read more
Oct 5, 2021
Edenharley (All reviews)
I don't have much to say about Mahouka Koukou no Yuutousei, going into it I was hoping it'd be a sort of alternate view of season 1 but it was it's own thing and it was just so boring. They also focused a lot on the one thing everybody hated in season 1, which was the brother and sister hinted incestual relationship for whatever reason, it was just kind of annoying to watch. That being said it wasn't offensively bad just incredibly boring and I don't think it had any real redeeming qualities. I wouldn't recommend this even if you've seen the original show as read more