Non Non Biyori Movie: Vacation

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 劇場版 のんのんびより ばけーしょん


Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 25, 2018
Producers: Lantis
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: SILVER LINK.
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Demographic: SeinenSeinen
Duration: 1 hr. 11 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.251 (scored by 2661026,610 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #2672
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2247
Members: 61,079
Favorites: 176

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 25, 2018
Kiira_chan (All reviews)
I live in Japan and got to see this movie in theaters the day it released. I am currently studying Japanese, and I'm not even at the JLPT N5 level yet. But I still went to see it with obviously no subs, and I enjoyed every second of it! Non Non Biyori was the perfect movie to go see without a grasp on the language because the story-telling is so easy to follow due to visuals and characters.

While there is really no "plot" in the movie, you shouldn't expect that if you've already seen the two season of the original series. The girls and read more
Aug 26, 2018
Salo (All reviews)
TL;DR: If you are a Non Non Biyori fan, you have to watch this. If you hate slice of life anime, I don't recommend you to watch this.

I own and have read all the mangas up until volume 12 (which is the most recently released one) at the time of writing this review.

The manga itself is super good, but this movie made the contents even better than the manga. This is not saying the manga is terrible or anything, in fact it's one of my favorites, but the movie went in to much more depth for the vacation chapters.

It's been probably a year and read more
Aug 14, 2021
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Here we are at the close of another year's film festival. I've decided to close things with a look at a film based off of an anime I've reviewed, Non Non Biyori. It's a very solid slice of life and I honestly just wanted to see more of it.

Story:

We open with our girls, Renge, Hotaru, Natsumi & Komari, just hanging out and trying to make the most of their summer vacation before it ends. That's when they spot Miss Candy Store, Kaede, and Renge's oldest sister, Kazuho, driving to the department store. The four of them convince the older women to take them read more
Jan 22, 2021
veemon23 (All reviews)
"Journeys are a series of meetings and farewells"

"Even if you and your friend are growing apart now, I'm sure you've shared moments together that are irreplaceable. No matter how much time passes, that won't disappear."

If you're a fan of the Non Non Biyori series then this is a treat for you. It captures everything we love about the show and puts it into a movie. It has all the wholesomeness we feel watching the original show, along with our favorite group of girls and one boy and also some of the best supporting cast too. As we see them go on this adventure and making read more
Jul 27, 2021
undamoth (All reviews)
I got to say, this movie has been better than the main series itself.

NNBM:V is an extended episode of Non Non Biyori, a series about a bunch of girls living the best of their lives in a rural village which was an absolute paradise. My impression of the series is that apparently everyone in the world is good and free from any hints of evil, thus it is probably one of the most lighthearted shows ever, albeit probably too idealistic. The movie further reinforces the same ideals as the series proper but this time, they are on another paradise and with their capers much more read more
Oct 20, 2020
RPWPA (All reviews)
I know this is like 2 years late but considering I wrote reviews for the whole series (and surprisingly enough, all of them were years later) so let's continue this tradition I guess.

After 4 years since the very disappointing OVA, we finally get to see the trip to Okinawa and Thankfully, it was extremely entertaining.

The movie is pretty much what the whole series is about, cute and realistic interactions showing both the good and bad of everything. We see our characters go to a new place and experience the new scenary and activities. We also get introduced to a new character, Aoi, and read more
Mar 10, 2019
MarisaTheCube (All reviews)
I have looked forward to Non Non Biyori: Vacation for quite some time, and I am pleased to report that it stacks up very well against the original series. Continuing from the season 1 OVA, it follows the Asahigaoka group as they travel to tropical Okinawa for a summer vacation.

Story and Character (7/10):
NNB has never held a large focus on narrative, and neither does Vacation, but this is by no means to its detriment. Instead, an essentially anecdotal story is told as the girls explore Okinawa and enjoy themselves. The new setting does not bring any changes to the series’ established structure, and its pacing read more
Sep 2, 2018
SanaeK10 (All reviews)
4 years after being stranded on the plane to Okinawa, the girls have finally landed!

To understand the position I was in prior to watching this, I had booked an early ticket that came with early goodies just for this, having came back from a Non Non Biyori themed pilgrimage to Ogawamachi in Saitama. Waited in line in the cinema in Ikebukuro all giddy and hyped myself to no end just before watching this. Then I heard the seiyuu had a fan meeting in the cinema in Shinjuku. Then I actually watched the film.

Vacation is the continuation of the Non Non Biyori first season read more
Mar 20, 2019
LegendAqua (All reviews)
[Insert clip of Osaka from Azumanga Daioh shouting OKINAWA~!]

Yes we see the Non Non Biyori gang all get a free 3 day trip to Okinawa and the typical great comedy ensues, but while on the trip, Natsumi makes a friend with the innkeeper's daughter.

Non Non Biyori: Vacation has the same strong vibe of being laxxed and chill with it's plot, yes it's somewhat bare bones in the regard LA told above but it in their free vacation and seeing the character interactions that made Non Non Biyori: Vacation worth it all, not to mention Non Non Biyori is WELL KNOWN for it's relaxing atmosphere read more
May 11, 2019
Tringapore_98 (All reviews)
Ever since I watched Non Non Biyori last year, I was captivated by it's simple yet relaxing story. Being from a city, life is pretty chaotic, busy and fast paced. You rarely get to enjoy life. Non Non Biyori took me back to my childhood when life was still simple and enjoyable.

When I first heard that Non Non Biyori movie was airing last year, I was over the moon! I couldn't wait and now that I've watched it, it has reminded me of my childhood once again. The childhood I love so much.

Story: Though Non Non Biyori has a very simple story, it's read more
Sep 27, 2021
ClMarshmallow (All reviews)
What a lovely movie! I sat on this for over a year before finding the perfect time to watch it, and I’m happy to say it exceeded my expectations. Based on the promotional art I thought it would feel like the beach episode, but it’s a more well-paced, more well thought out adventure that uses the runtime wisely to create a satisfying arc throughout the movie, something longer and more immersive than what is possible in one episode. And I liked the character focus as well (won’t spoil who), but all of the main cast gets a chance to shine multiple times throughout the movie. read more
Jun 21, 2021
CorsairFrosty (All reviews)
*Spoiler warning!*


Story/Plot 7/10 - The plot focused around all of the kids (Candy store, Kazune included) going on a trip to Okinawa! I don't have much to describe the plot, but the pace of the story was good for the most part. I will say, I feel like this should've been released before season 2 because this is the continuation of the OVA that came out right after season 1 and before season 2. But, besides that everything was good!

Art/Animation 7/10 - The art and animation were the same as the normal series. But, on the website I was watching the movie the resolution was read more
Jan 15, 2021
Decibelle (All reviews)
There's slice of life, and then there's *slice of life*. Most slice of life, anime or otherwise, merely show life as it happens. Non Non Biyori's biggest strength as a show was making you *feel* life, and even when it didn't succeed in its comedy or its pacing, it would still be good at celebrating each day as it happens and making you empathize with the easygoing lives of the characters involved. So it's no surprise that this same feeling translates to the movie, which is essentially an above-average episode of the show translated into a longer format.

This also allows for more interesting approaches to read more
Jun 2, 2020
javiawesome (All reviews)
Non Non Biyori's setting is always at the rural village that they live in. The movie is a nice break from that and inserts all these characters in a new setting. The pacing and simplicity from the show carries over to the movie. Overall, if you're a big fan of the series, you'll love the movie. There is an OVA from the first season that connects to the movie. It's not necessary to watch but it gives some background to the story. I did watch it beforehand. It's not hard at all to follow for someone who hasn't seen the show but they won't read more