Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ninja Batman


Alternative Titles

English: Batman Ninja
Japanese: ニンジャバットマン

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jun 15, 2018
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Warner Bros. Japan
Studios: Kamikaze Douga
Source: Other
Duration: 1 hr. 25 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.281 (scored by 12,848 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #70622
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2536
Members: 28,711
Favorites: 55

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 26, 2018
RebelPanda (All reviews)
Let’s be honest, if this didn’t have Batman and other DC characters in it, very few people would hesitate to call it a dumpster fire. The story is confusing nonsense, the action scenes are messy, the low framerate is headache-inducing, and the pacing is just a pathetic failure.

On paper, Ninja Batman's plot sounds like a fun time, but this film just skipped the whole storytelling process. To summarize the plot better than the film does: Gorilla Grodd created a time machine and now a dozen iconic DC heroes and villains are transported to feudal Japan. If Batman doesn’t stop the Joker, he will rewrite read more
Apr 24, 2018
invalidts2 (All reviews)
Fantastic movie! This is my 1st review btw, SPOILER WARNING ALSO!

There were references and easter eggs from JoJos Bizarre Adventure, Gurren Laggan, Code Geass, Naruto, Black Lagoon, Cowboy Bebop, and even the 1988 Batman movie from what I gathered!

Story

Very well done, although I wanted more then just 1 movie, here's hoping for a sequel!

Art

Animation was great, it reminded me of what Borderlands 3 may look like whenever it gets revealed.

Sound

Effects were on fleek

Characters

There's quite a bit to say about the characters, There's most of all your favorite heroes and villains all in 1 85 minute movie with some unique changes. Bane was hilarious in read more
Apr 25, 2018
126GeV (All reviews)
Story: 1
Nothing atypical from the realms of DC when they are not actively implementing a propagandistic agenda (Endless resurrections, extraterrestrial invasions, the very conception of duela dent. Nothing too outlandish). In other words, a sentient gorilla sends all profitable DC characters back in time to Feudal Japan. Colonization ensues. All villainous characters transported back in time are now actively ruling sectioned states as feudal lords. Batman, meanwhile, has conveniently obtained back his batmobile, batfamily, and an entire "batclan" during this Feudal Farce. Nightwing dons Final Fantasy Cloud's hair for complimentary purposes while Red Hood's costume equivalent is a red basket which could cause the read more
Apr 24, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Two months ago, Pop Team Team epic did their Batman vs. Joker crossover. One month ago, Dethklok animated music video series was continued with 'Batmetal Forever'. And today, Batman Ninja was released. Christopher Nolan was first bitch slapped in the face, then kicked in the nuts and now not even a 5-dimensional bookshelf can save him from the power of the new Batman Trilogy, and neither can it save you.

Story:

Batman is a manly man. This makes many people angry, so they decide to travel to Japan and kick his ass. Unfortunately for them, Batman is also a pretty bro person, so he calls his buddies read more
Apr 29, 2018
1nvader (All reviews)
About as hot garbage as the DC movies in general lately, but for completely different reasons, because "Japan" - that means giant mechs and all the typical Japanese trope stuff.

Now that wouldn't be bad in and of itself. I'm even on board with the premise of going to feudal Japan with Batman. Good idea, could get crazy! But the way it was executed?! I can't write spoilers however, so I'll say this: the ending is so hilariously bad that I just can't help but laugh as I literally tear my hair out. It's so bad it's almost good, but then takes an additional load of read more
Jul 25, 2018
ktulu007 (All reviews)
I've talked about some Marvel related anime before with Blade & X-men. It seemed about time I looked at something DC related. This film came out in April & June of this year with a screenplay by Nakashima Kazuki and relative newcomer studio, Kamikaze Douga, handling the animation. So, how well does it portray the Dark Knight? Will it surpass Mask of the Phantasm as the best Batman animated film?

Story:

We open with Bats headed for Arkham Asylum where the villainous Gorilla Grodd is conducting an experiment. Now, you may wonder why they would poach a villain from the Flash for this when Bats has such a read more
May 2, 2018
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Good Ol' Kazuki Nakashima. This is the madman that wrote Gurren Lagann and Kill La Kill. Now he has returned to tackle the DC comics universe and have his own run on Batman. Have you ever wondered what it would be like if Batman were as gloriously stupid and over the top as TTGL? Your wish has been granted!

Plot:

Gorilla Grodd has invented a time machine and ends up sending the Batman Family and several of the Dark Knight's rogues' gallery back to feudal Japan. Why Nakashima went with Grodd when he is supposed to be a Flash villain, I honestly have no idea. Batman read more
Apr 28, 2018
MontagueRy (All reviews)
I'll preface this by saying a) I watched the English version, which apparently has an entirely different script than the Japanese and b) I haven't seen much of other Batman Animated movies so I don't know if they are all supposed to be like this.

That being said:

TL;DR - This is worse than Suicide Squad.

Maybe this is supposed to be a fun, gimmicky popcorn flick with quirky anime-batman hybrid redesigns and moments, but this was just too much.

Story: absolutely nutty - problems arise and are solved at complete whims and deus ex. Here's an example (spoilers). The batman villian's combine their mecha castles to read more
Apr 26, 2018
lord_of_mangoes (All reviews)
I overall liked this movie. Characters and story are fun and interesting, art is beautiful and it refrences feudal Japan and Batman comics quite well and music is good fit for this series as well (for similar reasons as artstyle). But where this series looses points in my eyes are pretty much all action scenes.

During action scenes there was too much noise on the screen and thus it was hard to follow what was happening during action scenes. After pretty much every action scene I was like: "Yep.. some things happened during that scene. Although I don't know what excactly". Also what made those read more
Apr 12, 2019
Leopoldex (All reviews)
Superheroes are inherently silly. Every serious superhero is just twisting the idea
of an actual classic heroic figure.
Batman is literally a guy that dresses up like a bat to fight criminals, uses bat-themed weapons, driving a bat-themed car, motorcycle and flying a bat-themed plane. Does that seem realistic to you?

Batman is silly, so why can't there be a silly movie about Batman? If more people were to accept that idea, this movie wouldn't be this overhated. It's not your ordinary Batman film but it's not trying to be. Who the hell expected a serious story from the guy that created Kill la Kill and wrote Gurren read more
Nov 14, 2018
thatandsuch (All reviews)
This movie is amazing, I loved it. I'm a huge fan of both the Batman characters and Japanese culture and this movie is a beautiful explosion of both. With lots of actual beautiful explosions. The art is fantastic, and the music is gorgeous. Now that I've got that out of the way I can say why other people might not love it as much.

The main idea is that the main characters in Batman get sent to feudal Japan. The characters that get focused on are Batman, Catwoman, Joker, Harley Quinn and Gorilla Grood. I'm certain that the only reason other characters are there read more
May 6, 2018
CinnamonCoffin (All reviews)
The art and the animations are great. It seems really odd at the beginning, but the amount of details is incredible. The characters look amazing and the whole film has that ancient Japan look to it.
The story is a bit trash, to be honest though, but what do you expect from the "Batman and all the others time-travel to feudal Japan to become ninjas" anime? Very light spoiler ahead! My main issue with the story was that Power Rangers stuff in the middle of the film. You know when you'll see it.
Still, everything else was very good. I think the creators did a really good read more
May 4, 2018
RubDoctor (All reviews)
What a surprise at how well Japan is able to do Western Batman. Being able to juggle all the Batman mythos is an incredible feat. You can see the love put into making this movie, this isn't some multi-movie deal hoping for a billion dollars that has to lower the bar to appeal to the least common denominator and appeal to the widest audience. This is a movie made by fans for fans.

The designs of the characters are all top notch, blending ancient Japan and Gotham seamlessly. The characterization is also perfect! Every character acts exactly how the biggest comic book reader should expect them read more
May 2, 2018
Curdelenor (All reviews)
Fantastic movie! Never expected such a movie. When I first saw the titel I couldn't believe. And thought by my self its going to be a boring movie. But at the end it was very enjoying too watch. SPOILER WARNING AHEAD!

From what I gathered! There were some references from JoJos Bizarre Adventure, Gurren Laggan, Code Geass, Naruto, Black Lagoon, Cowboy Bebop, and even the 1988 Batman movie.

STORY
Very well done, it was your typical batman animation.

ART
Animation was great to watch. Very smooth, and the art style at 'Jokers memory loss' scene. Was very impressive.

SOUND
The soundtrack was beautiful, very enjoying, Even during the battle scenes, read more
Apr 28, 2018
maartens31 (All reviews)
A combination of a great superhero in a great medium, Batman Ninja made for an entertaining romp, giving something for both fans of the character and anime to enjoy.

The story is pretty straightforward, focusing mostly on the Batman vs Joker part. Everything is fast paced and seems to be fuelled by the Rule of Cool (as expected from the writer of Gurren Lagann and Kill la Kill), making for some truly awesome stuff going on. Rarely does the story waste time or stretch things out, keeping me entertained from beginning to end.

Speaking of entertained, while some might be sceptical about the CGI, the read more
Apr 27, 2018
GalaxyBrain (All reviews)
First attempt at a review here so bear with me. Also spoiler alert for the movie.

Ninja Batman is essentially what would happen if Batman was an anime instead of a comic. So with all the hype and famous names from the anime industry how does it end up doing?

-Story
The story starts of fine with a somewhat grounded approach.It starts off at Arkham Asylum with Batman and all the villains there. Grodd having built a sort of time machine ends up sending everyone back in time into Feudal Japan. So now Batman with all his sidekicks has to fight a good chunk of his rogues gallery read more
Apr 27, 2018
ethanpet113 (All reviews)
It's like DC Gintama, accidentally or not.

I can't believe anyone green-lit this, it takes all the tropes of a JUMP anime and smashes it into one convenient unintentionally hilarious package.

The voice acting is overboard. The cuts are abrupt. The hairstyles are hilarious. Everyone makes alliances of convenience you wouldn't normally see in universe. The plot is so contrived, and doesn't really make a whole lot of sense- but that's nothing abnormal for an OVA DC movie. There are lots of explosions which pad the area you would normally expect to see any plot or character development. It seems to read more
Apr 26, 2018
boo9 (All reviews)
Batman Ninja is a popcorn movie that tries to do a lot of things with a lot of characters. While there are a plethora of ideas for characters, conflicts, and theming, none of them really get developed into anything more than mere story beats. What you're left with is several extremely entertaining set-pieces that are laughably absurd, but without any real meat to them.
If your goal is to spend 90 minutes in fun anime and cartoon clichés, mustache-twirling villains and all, you've come to the right place. If you are looking for something that's not as shallow as a puddle, you should look elsewhere.
Pitch your read more
Jan 5, 2019
iNVE14 (All reviews)
Not like any Batman story we have seen.

The movie itself, the story and the characters are not great or outstanding. But in my opinion who makes the movie so damn good, is of course that Batman is in it and also Catwoman, Robin, Red Robin, Nightwing and others this give it a plus. Also the 3D animation is the best I have seen so far, it is extremely well finished, the sound effects makes it even greater and the art itself of the movie is a great union between Japanese manga and an American comic.

In the other hand, the plot is not more than an read more
Jul 4, 2018
mastersam (All reviews)
For those of you looking for a deep story this is not the film for you. This is more like a short comic book story turned into film.

As an anime and and DC fan It was exactly what I expected from the trailer. The film takes place in warring states japan era, but takes the technology known from the other characters to create a wild and wacky buildings.

The film understands its a DC film but also that its an anime giving references to others.

The joker in the film is done very well and is exactly what you would expect.

Best advice is read more