Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Konbini Kareshi


Alternative Titles

English: Convenience Store Boy Friends
Synonyms: Convenience Store Boyfriends
Japanese: コンビニカレシ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 7, 2017 to Sep 29, 2017
Premiered: Summer 2017
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:58 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.341 (scored by 7,893 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #60692
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1923
Members: 30,304
Favorites: 45

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 19, 2017
TheSmilingShoujo (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I watch an anime, I seldom/never care about the art or graphics. This anime has great graphics in my eyes, and the cast of many famous seiyuu in a single series was the motivating factor for me to pick this up, despite the synopsis that screamed 'TYPICAL' as I looked it up online. As bonus, I was delighted to hear Kugimiya Rie not in her typical tsundere voice (I find this rare). But still, this is completely mitigated by the lack of originality in this anime.

It's a slice of life focusing on high school romance, revolving around four characters; two guys and two read more
Oct 1, 2017
ReikaUchiha (All reviews)
I haven't seen such lame main characters in my whole life.
The anime would have been a little better if the main story was about their friends , the class president and that cute playboy.
The main character-the boy wasn't even attractive or at least cool. He didn't have anything to stand out or to be interesting in any way.
The same goes with the girl.
I thought it would have been a good rom com but this was beyond boring.
The scenery and soundtracks made it even more boring and it was hard to keep watching till the end of each episode.
The last 2 episodes had some read more
Aug 17, 2017
DCU_Master (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have never written a review on an anime before but this anime is just so good that I have to.

This anime just never seizes to amaze me....week after week after week it just brings the excitement and the enjoyment that just makes you addicted.

Story:The story is very good,from the very first episode you would wish you could travel a week in the future to watch the next.It is unique,interesting and has great plot.As for now it only mainly focuses on 2 couples but that will change in the future.If you are interested in Slice of Life and Romance genre I highly recommend it.I read more
Sep 28, 2017
Shingster (All reviews)
Please note this review assumes that you have already finished watching Konbini Kareshi and while care has been taken to avoid story spoilers there may be spoilers in character analysis

Romance, school life and a Konbini

The premise of Konbini Kareshi is a relatively common one often seen in this genre. Konbini Kareshi is a slice of life and romance anime set in modern day Japan in a fictional town that looks like a normal town which makes it relatable to many. Using the Konbini as a focal point the anime uses this as a place where people can meet up, bond, strike up friendships read more
Aug 24, 2017
rvbemisjr (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm not really sure why the title is "Convenience Store Boyfriends" as the characters don't really hang around the convenience store very much, and none of the boys work there. So aside from the not-so-apt title, what does the show bring to the table?

In short, it's a slice of life with romantic undertones anime. The characters go to school, interact with each other, many times awkwardly. The plot moves at a fairly slow pace, which is also a tad strange since they title each episode with a month. So if you're not into slow progression, this probably isn't going to be up your alley.

The character read more
Oct 2, 2017
SonOfRageNLove (All reviews)
There is nothing special about this series. It starts off the same as almost every other series in this category, but quickly looses momentum and stands still where no development is really happening. It slowly picks up pace towards the end and the out come is what was expected.
It does a poor job at explaining backstory and wrapping the ending up. In the end you are left wondering about 100 questions which makes it feel only half complete, as it only addresses the main questions.
I enjoyed the simple artwork, although wasn't anything worth mentioning, a fairly neutral pallet which is easy on the eyes with read more
Sep 28, 2017
KANLen09 (All reviews)
Based off the adaptation of a drama series, I've expected this to last a bit longer than the 1-cours that it usually has because of its character developments and whatnot. But the conversion from the screen towards anime is a lot more wayward, with 2 of the 6 main couples getting their screen time, and honestly it feels very wasted, in terms of production and time.

Story:
If you have watched high school romance melodrama before, this should be a no-brainer. Everything sounds like it should be: Have a setting (in this case, a convenience store), and let the drama play before your eyes.
The presentation of the read more
Sep 15, 2017
swiftydash (All reviews)
Preliminary
Honestly, the first few episodes were pretty okay. We see a lot of different guys and girls with different personalities hanging out at the one school they all go to. HOWEVER, since this is an anime adaptation of a drama CD series, we should be expecting some downsizing to fit the typical 12 episode slice of life anime. I honestly thought they'd just divide the show up for each of the couples so we can see the storyline for each pair to grow. But they pretty much just focused the entire show on the four first years, and that kind of ticks me off. By read more
Sep 28, 2017
BlackCicero (All reviews)
Konbini Kareshi was an average romance story at best and for most of the time was frustrating to watch. The attempts at adding tension to the buildup of the romance for the two main pairs of couples of the anime were wasted as the end result wasn't fulfilling in both cases.
The art was mediocre and the art style doesn't do much to help either. I thought the soundtrack was nice and fit this type of anime nicely. The characters aren't terrible but the actions some of the characters decide to take are so frustrating to watch. A special mention goes to Haruki who is the read more
Sep 14, 2017
Kryszikal (All reviews)
Preliminary
Konibini Kareshi seems quite outwardly to be a pretty cliche adaptation of a manga that just missed its mark. Nothing really stands out other than a few express moments, and I found myself not even paying attention for long spans. Not only that but three episodes in, I realized I didn't even know the characters names. I feel like this could have been a great romance show, but because of how it was directed, everything comes off so weird and out of place. Every shot seemed kinda lazy and lingered a bit too long, and the characters were so confused, the writing made no sense. read more
Sep 2, 2017
tokurolee (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't know why this show is so underrated. Currently keeping up with this series and I'd easily give a 7 out of 10 in overall.

Story: A typical Slice of Life/Romance anime with the high school students theme, the series basically revolves around 2 couples, which is okay I assume. There are still clichés, but in an acceptable amount.

Art: Studio Pierrot never ceases to disappont me when talking about their arts. They've been screwing up since Naruto and the tradition continues here in Konbini Kareshi. The characters look fine in overall, but in some close-up scenes the lack of details and/or the poor animation read more
Sep 1, 2017
Ghostfriendly (All reviews)
Preliminary
This high-school anime is much more like a drama, which may be refreshing if you're tired of light novel adaptions. A light, youthful love story is portrayed in a very quiet, low key fashion, without outlandish events, fanservice, or the humour that fills real slice of life shows. Howa and Mami's growing relationship is earnest, at times very touching, and exceptionally believable, but sadly not portrayed with much nuance, or originality in the direction. Character types are clear and distinct, but development is slow and shallow. A 'realistic' drama needs much deeper and more original insight into the real world, or it becomes simply flat read more