Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hajimete no Gal


Alternative Titles

English: My First Girlfriend is a Gal
Synonyms: Hajimete no Gyaru
Japanese: はじめてのギャル

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 10
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 12, 2017 to Sep 13, 2017
Premiered: Summer 2017
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 23:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: NAZ
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 6.511 (scored by 32,738 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #53772
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #634
Members: 111,751
Favorites: 508

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 2, 2017
ItsMisk (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show does a wonderful job of not relying on the creation of a harem to keep the series going. The story, and character development rely on a few tropes as a crutch, but slowly flesh out each of the character's motivations when it's needed. Contributing to the story as their motivations add some complexity. The art, and sound is nothing to be excited about, but it holds its own with the average.

Overall, it's a nice step back from the "MC gets all of the women for no reason" idea that is found so commonly in a lot of these romance animes.
Aug 2, 2017
4b3 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hajimete no Gal....oh what a mess have they done of this funny romcom....

You see, I wrote a review for the manga quite a while ago, in which I praised the pace and how the charachters were introduced, unfortunately the producers turned this enjoyable manga in an anime who you are supposed to jack off, but you cant pull it off since it's censored all over...marketing strategy? Most likely...

Trust me when I say the censoring is the last thing that bothers me, like I said at the beginning the pacing is horrible, you dont have time to familiarize with the main characters, girls after girls are read more
Sep 13, 2017
themegamancave (All reviews)
“Nobody dies a virgin...life fucks us all.”
-Kurt Cobain

We've all been there. Aimlessly meandering through our high school lives daydreaming about that fateful day we’ll finally lose our virginity. Thoughts of the opposite sex constantly flood our brains, in the form of unrealistic scenarios involving our crushes intoxicatingly succumbing to our supreme hotness. Naturally, high school is a perverted cesspool of teenage hormones, so more than likely you had your own clan of other clodhopping comrades to share phrases like “dude...tits” and “have you seen that chick’s online stream?” For some introverted, socially inept souls, whose virginity is as safe as a maximum security prison there read more
Sep 13, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
Watching Hajimete no Gal is like consuming junk food of the worst kind. From the food fast menu, there’s McDonalds, Burger King, KFC, Jack in the Box, Taco Bell, etc. Even among junks, there are sometimes decent ones that can be a guilty pleasure. Unfortunately, Hajimete no Gal is none of that and instead appeals as nothing short than garbage. Without a shadow of a doubt, I can safely say that upon finishing this series, it’s garbage behind comprehension.

First, let’s get to the more obvious. The show itself is based on a manga that hasn’t been out too long. (only 2 years in fact) It read more
Aug 2, 2017
ItzToxic (All reviews)
Preliminary
NAZ, a studio I never expected to come back since Hamatora.

I was very surprised to hear that this got an anime, and boy did my perverted side come into light. An anime about a virgin on his journey to step into the region of adulthood.

I feel like ecchi doesn't get the love it deserves. Of course, being an ecchi series, it's understandable. It's been done a lot and might be annoying to some, which I guess makes sense.

The story is simple. Our MC was forced to confess to a gal, Yukana. Yukana with gigantic titties decides then to tease him and then eventually, Hashiba (our read more
Sep 14, 2017
AndoCommando (All reviews)
“Why do people fight? Why does war exist? A difference of opinion? A difference of religion? How ridiculous… I want to show this to those who would wage war - Three goddesses are pressing their boobs against each other. This has the power to rid the world of all its fighting!”

Oh boy!

The season was Summer 2017, a rather disappointing season altogether, with concepts ranging from exciting new worlds to fucking centaur girls and everything in between, giving even the kinkiest of anime fans something to try. But it seemed like none of them could stand apart from the crowd, rise up and be the season’s read more
Sep 12, 2017
Ericonator (All reviews)
Girlfriends, boyfriends, I’m sure most of us have wanted one at some point, or already have one. For those of us who don’t have one, do not fret, Hajimete no Gal is here to indulge you into the experience of having a girlfriend or boyfriend, whether you want it or not. This will not be a painless experience however, so strap yourself in and prepare for the worst, and I mean it.

Imagine this: You are just an ordinary guy, and your classmates forced you to ask a hot girl in your class to date you. After she almost turns you down like the loser you read more
Sep 12, 2017
Blood_Diver_A (All reviews)
[A Disservice to the Manga]

Anime adaptations from visual novels, light novels, and manga form the majority of every season lineup. And during every season, I would checkout the various shows that piqued my interest. One show that interested me was Hajimete no Gal. Since, I was familiar with the source material, I expected an adequate adaptation. Unfortunately, my expectations were not met. I wanted the show to focus on the growing relationship between the two main characters and their many “firsts”. Instead, what I watched was a shoddy story-line with rushed plot events and one-dimensional characters with no development read more
Sep 13, 2017
Fircoal (All reviews)
This. Is. Trash. Personally, I'm not a big fan of calling anime trash because I know that even if I don't personally like it there are likely others who do like it, and that enjoyment of it provides enough benefits to those watchers that at the very least they have a purpose. But this anime is the truest definition of trash. Not only is it devoid of anything that could be considered quality but it is massively insulting to its subject matter, to its viewers, and to anyone that could have the grave misfortune of watching this anime.

Where does it go wrong? A better question read more
Aug 4, 2017
Dreamcastdota (All reviews)
Preliminary
I love a bunch of genres (Comedy, Romance, Ecchi(lul), School,) by that You can relax from more titles like naruto,one piece and more.
But many come out with additional genres like Mystic and more , i dont like this , i love classical School comedy/ecchi And so I paid attention to this title despite the low score
Review after 4 series
Story: 5 - I will not say anything about this in the description, everything is said

Art: 6 - Fine , The drawing approaches well for this work

Sound: 5 - average op and ed

Character: 6 - Many heroes are not disclosed and most likely they read more
Aug 26, 2017
Katakurin (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hajimete no Gal is a typical ecchi-anime with an unoriginal story and stereotypical characters. It doesn't have anything going for it that makes it stand out. It's just bad.

The show starts out with the MC being forced by his friends to confess to a gal called Yukana. He begs for her to go out with him, and surprisingly it works out. (Or rather, it could have been surprising if this wasn't declared in the synopsis.) And from there on, the show just goes downhill. It quickly turns into an uninteresting harem anime where the only tension lies in the question if the MC is going read more
Sep 10, 2017
Luuqen (All reviews)
Preliminary
I’m quite picky when it comes to anime I watch, but I can forgive plenty of short comings : I can forgive plot-holes, underdeveloped characters, minor animation issues, cliches and archetypes (to a degree)... It obviously depends on the nature of the show - for a story-heavy show, which puts proper delivery, tempo and relationships between the characters at the top, lack of development of the characters themselves can be devastating.

I also seldom give extreme ratings when I’m asked to grade a show, a video game or any other piece of media, because it takes a particular effort to make something absolutely unbelieveable, read more
Aug 10, 2017
Chinaz (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hajimete no Gal - Something Different

Why do people like ecchi series? Is it because of the boobs, the girls or the story? Personally, I think it's because it's a funnier and an easier genre to appreciate, as being a reliable and a fun combination. And there's nothing wrong with the liking of some ecchi series, including Hajimete no Gal and by that, I'm another one that thinks that ecchi doesn't get the love it deserves.

This story for Hajimete no Gal, as for some others series by the same genre, appears to be simple. Our main protagonist (named Junichi) is forced by his friends to confess read more
Sep 13, 2017
Harenchi-Kun (All reviews)
Pros:
- good fanservice
- decent pacing
- Some romance aspect

Cons:
- Bad characters
- Horrible interactions between characters
- Nothing interesting ever happens

For: someone who wants to watch a ecchi show thats has some romance in it.

Hajimete no gal is a very classic ecchi harem school comedy on paper, and is in reality nothing really more than that. I tend to enjoy this kind of show, but hajimete no gal did not deliver very good characters which is a very important aspect in any type of anime really, but especially for this type. The characters are very flat and there interactions with each other is boring. They don't feel read more
Sep 13, 2017
JPL94 (All reviews)
Overall i'd give this anime a 7 which for me means it was simply an Enjoyable ride. Many of the Harsh reviews are from people that came into this anime with huge misconceptions that'd it'd be extremely "Ecchi" maybe some nudity etc and or the majority that have only seen the obnoxious "Censored" version" which takes away from a shows overall quality. That being said i watched the unscensored version and this anime is far from being very ecchi and maybe only has 1-2 episodes with anything more than a standard "panty shot". This anime has 0 real nudity so don't expect that and tbh read more
Sep 6, 2017
Heles (All reviews)
Preliminary
Now before I start this review, I must say that this is my first review, and I'm currently reading the manga to this, and that I enjoy it quite a bit. Now this adaption on the other hand is a disaster. Now I HIGHLY recommend reading the manga to this instead of watching the anime, this adaption doesn't give the full idea or feelings that the manga gives and is far from enjoyable. This also happens to be the first manga that I've read before an adaption was released.

Where to even start with this? The plot and timeline in the adaption is horrendous. Every plot read more
Aug 24, 2017
Bahamut27 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is so underrated, it's actully a good romance anime. But why the hate?

- The anime really rush into things.
In the manga the characters were shown when the time past by. They came on a good moment to fill up the story. But in the anime they just came out of nowhere.

- It doesn't really follow the manga.
The manga is great and it has alot of beautiful moments.
However.
- Spoiler -
The anime doesn't show those moments and just put all the characters in one episode. Some events are shown in the anime but they begin very differently and don't play in the same place read more
Aug 17, 2017
Wolfhound1730 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show is shit. How do you guys like it so much? There is a fucking ELEMENTARY SCHOOL kid with huge boobs. This show is shit. The art is alright, but I did not enjoy anything about the plot. This show is good for its fanservice, but if you are interested in an actual story, skip this one.

I guess there is a bunch of virgins who are trying to get girlfriends, and they read some porn in class and they are a miserable copy of the cast of Prison School. And the ELEMENTARY SCHOOL kid walks in and read more
Aug 3, 2017
Shiku89 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This reminded me so much of Nisekoi: MC with no balls, Harem style, even the art style is similar. The random fantasies our MC has do nothing but contribute to the fanservice seekers, especially how they are randomly thrown willy-nilly in the middle of an interaction. Arguably that could be what makes it slightly realistic; plenty of people have fantasies about beautiful girls, but to have the character suddenly space out right in the middle of a conversation and get sort of lost in his little dream for me greatly cuts into the story.

Story - 5/10. Very simple plot, Junichi, a nerdy boy wants to read more
Sep 15, 2017
Newmn84 (All reviews)
It’s not very often we get an anime where the main character already has a girlfriend or gets a girlfriend in the first episode and Hajimete no Gal was marketed as the latter. Having never heard of it before, it gave me high hopes for its potential. I had hoped that it would explore some themes that are rarely explored having skipped the hurdle that most anime reserve for its climax and its niche of focusing on gyaru could have led to some interesting conflicts. The gyaru theme explored is essentially “You thought gyaru are just easy sluts! Well, they’re actually not!” Needless to say, read more