Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Alice to Zouroku


Alternative Titles

English: Alice & Zoroku
Japanese: アリスと蔵六

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 2, 2017 to Jun 25, 2017
Premiered: Spring 2017
Broadcast: Sundays at 22:30 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.251 (scored by 12,129 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #25022
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1238
Members: 52,046
Favorites: 93

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 25, 2017
Zelev (All reviews)
-- This review contains spoilers. Only read if you have finished the series. --



Story:
This was an anime that caught my eye from the very beginning. The way it presents itself could be alluring to anybody, yet the story felt as if though it lacked any creative direction. Our main character, who goes by the name Sana, is basically an experiment with luck on her side. After her escape from the depressing facility, as if by fate, she meets and ends up being taken care of by Zouroku. Like most people, Sana cannot escape her past and is forced to go head to head with read more
Jun 25, 2017
Werty800 (All reviews)
Dark road, dimly lit up by the street lights. Rain falling down heavily. A small girl in a hospital gown suddenly appears on a camera, just to disappear in a matter of milliseconds after a mysterious object pops up above her head. A group of people desperately try to spot the escapee on one of the monitors. Finally, she stops, feeling tired and almost defeated she continues to move.
She has been found.
A woman catches up to her, riding on a giant hand coming from the sky. The little girl falls over. She is approached by the woman.
Sudden slice from the right. A new user has read more
Jun 25, 2017
Plasmatize (All reviews)
Most of us have at one point questioned our own existence. After all, knowing our reason for being can be among our most valuable assets. We desire meaning from our lives, so pondering questions like “who am I, really?” and “what is my purpose?” is only natural.

I bring this up not to go into some deep, pretentious analysis of this topic within the show, though there is some material there. Rather, I bring this up because Alice to Zouroku could have really benefited from taking a good, long look at itself in the mirror and seriously asking these questions.

Hereafter referred to as “AtoZ”, Alice to read more
Jun 25, 2017
bmoore07 (All reviews)
Composed with precision, molded in the fashion of its peers, enhanced by the benefits of modern technology, and engineered for mass production, Alice and Zouroku is a meticulously manufactured project at its core. Among the multitude of shows this season that garnered attention early on before dissipating or self-combusting, like flashy fireworks on the 4th of July, Alice and Zouroku possesses the framework to achieve longevity (Don’t be surprised if news of a sequel arrives). With an astonishing 44 minute intro episode, a strangely mystifying opening scene, and an engaging premise (characters known as “Dreams of Alice” can conjure up anything they desire with the read more
Jun 25, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
In today’s world, we don’t have supernatural abilities. Imagine if we did though…the things we can make history from, the tasks we can accomplish, or change the world altogether. Sure, we have technology but that’s nothing compared to powers that can make anything out of nothing. In the world of Alice to Zouroku, that’s another story. It’s a story where supernatural abilities exist and it all begins one day when we meet the girl named Sana Kashimura.

Based on the manga of the same name, Alice to Zouroku takes an interesting approach at modern fantasy. The first episode shows Sana escaping from a facility and eventually, read more
Apr 26, 2017
Kuzuna (All reviews)
Preliminary
[ May contain very small spoilers for episode 1 ]

As for the series itself... The idea of young girls with special abilities being experimented on inside of an institute has been used over and over in anime. One such example is Elfen Lied. Despite this cliché, one of the more attractive elements of the series is the main male lead, Zouroku. He is an elderly and brusque man with a strong independency. Despite his perhaps slightly misleading personality, he is a florist. Zouroku has a very good reputation - so much so that even the yakuza pay for his services.

The relationship between Sana, read more
Apr 24, 2017
reherd (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show, about children with special abilities being used as lab specimens, is likely to be very far over the line for anyone who is or has been a parent. It's moderately well done, I guess, if the viewer lacks a certain moral sensitivity, for example many teen-aged children have not had the time and experience to develop a mature moral perspective. My rating, as a parent, is based on my own extreme distaste for depicting child abuse as entertainment, even if the abusers are, as I expect will happen later in the series, apprehended and the children "escape" -- the trauma read more
Jun 12, 2017
Caleb_Kettle (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm 10 episodes in and I absolutely love this show

Story: 9/10
It may not be the most original, (at least not initially) but the execution is phenomenal, and it becomes heavily character influenced and Character driven in the later episodes. And since (as I will discuss later) the characters are the pinnacle of this show, having the story shift focus like this does wonders for it. Not only that but the plot and concepts, especially those explored after the first arc are unique and interesting

Art: 8/10
The animation is a bit weak, especially in the first couple of episodes, but overall art has a unique style to read more
Jun 26, 2017
AnikuGuroshima (All reviews)

Alice to Zouroku finished airing after 12 episodes each being 23 minutes long,( apart from the first episode which is around 40 minutes long) but if you deduct the opening and ending there would only be around 21/20 minutes of the actual show. The show was created by Tetsuya Imai and came from J.C Staff studio. In this review, i will make a fair judgment on the show considering the series loyalty to its genre's and my personal opinion on the quality of the show.

Firstly let's revise the genre's that the show relates itself to; Adventure, Mystery, Seinen.

Adventure~ It is undeniable that this show read more
Jun 26, 2017
wolfwing (All reviews)
I enjoyed this one, a facinating series about people with powers, it has some great action moments, followed by some wonderful just family moments. I liked it.

Story: It's cute, it comes off as more action packed at the start, but as it progresses it becomes more about just family and these kids with powers.

Art: The art is nice, especially later on, I can't say much without spoiling, but I liked how creative it got in the last few episodes.

Characters: I think this is where it shines, it has a nice cast, each with their own personalities, a read more
Jun 28, 2017
RageGoria (All reviews)
"This review might contain light spoilers"

Alice to Zouroku is a heartwarming anime, starting with the premise of a little girl(Sana) with a special power meeting a strict and grumpy old man(Zouroku). this anime is truly a breath of fresh air with a lot of author deciding to ride the fantasy/isekai/harem bandwagon.

Story
Alice to Zouroku tells the story of how a little girl ended up living with the said old man after escaping from a research facility and getting to learn more about the society, which she is clueless to begin with. The old man, Zouroku is just an ordinary old man who could somehow, adapt to read more
Jun 26, 2017
SirMarmelady (All reviews)
The "Pantheon of opportunities ignored" has another addition to it with this anime. Coupled with shit 3-d animation as well, this anime deserves a skip. But why?

Honestly, I was betrayed by the first 4 episodes of what was going to happen and how the story was going to progress. I'm not gonna discuss this openly for fear of spoilers, you'll just have to watch them yourself. But I swear they flipped the anime around like a pancake and reveal a very charred side of the story that I would rather wait for, it felt rushed, to put it mildly.

The rest of the anime is primarily read more
Jun 26, 2017
onoeko (All reviews)
Alice and Zorouku is an anime that I truly like. It's one of the rare animes that fill your heart with warmth , comedy and magic . When you've watched many animes, your longing for something special.Something that has a new vibe. It reminds me of Jinrui wa suita Shimashita X Usagi Drop X Gakuen Alice but a good original anime on its own. Just watch it. Damn, seeing this anime wrongly valued(with its reviews) as its really is make me sad.
(may contain spoilers)


The Story:
The story was great though it had more potential. They could have executed it better. Showing Sana's every day life. read more
Jun 25, 2017
EnZanity (All reviews)
Spoiler free review

I welcome feedback on my reviews

Would you like to become God, or at least, gain the powers of God? The power to create something from nothing. The possibilities are endless when you think about the capabilities this ability has. Anything you ever need to survive is there for the taking, you just need to summon it. Think of all the world problems that could be solved with our very own friendly neighbourhood God. However, with power comes responsibility, as there would be many people that would to try and take advantage of this omnipotence.

Alice & Zouroku is the story of Sana, a lab read more
Jun 25, 2017
SongstressSL (All reviews)
Story: 8
That 8 is at least for the premise. It starts off quite interesting. It could have gone a more serious route like in the first arc where it was about keeping Sana/Red Queen contained or obtaining her powers, but it quickly changed into a slice of life show after that, only returning to the supernatural stuff in the last arc.

Characters: 7
They all build to some degree or another. Sana becomes more and more like a human child as time goes on. Zouroku and Sanae also grow closer as a family with Sana. Ayumu and Hattori towards the end also sort of grow up. Originally read more
Jun 25, 2017
Hybrid_Rainbow29 (All reviews)
‘Alice and Zouroku’ is the latest of a flurry of recent Seinen series about cute children and adoptive parent figures bonding, in the vein of ‘Usagi Drop’, ‘Barakamon’, and ‘Puco’s Udon World’. Except for the fact that it takes more of a Fantasy route.
The story involves our main character, Sana, a girl with an ability known as Alice’s Dream; which allows her to materialize anything that she imagines. This ability has kept her and other children with the ability locked inside a government facility until the day that she escapes. From there, she meets an old florist named Zouroku, who agrees to take her in read more
Jun 4, 2017
triplefox (All reviews)
Preliminary
I really like Steven Universe, and there are some necessary comparisons that have to be drawn between that show and Alice to Zouroku:

Child with mysterious powers taken in by adoptive parents

No true villains

Coming-of-age portrayal through scenarios of social and emotional discovery, accented but not reliant on fight scenes

Of course, in the details and execution, everything is different about Alice. An "Alice in Wonderland" aesthetic drives how the powers work(as you might expect), and while Alice is powerful she is utterly clueless about the world, making her a great foil for Zouroku, a traditional family values parent who is elderly and physically vulnerable, despite his assuring read more
Jun 28, 2017
Stranger_Hanyo (All reviews)
First of all let me tell you, Alice to Zouroku is not your usual anime. It's quite a strange one and the story is kinda intriguing too.

The anime revolves around people who posses a strange power called 'Alice's Dream'. They can materialize anything they imagine and our MC, Sana happens to be the most powerful of them all. She was bound in a research facility but then escapes and ends up with a grumpy florist called Zouroku. How they bond and become a family is what the story is all about.

First, the story is a new one. It is being adapted from a manga of read more