Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fuuka


Alternative Titles

English: Fuuka
Japanese: 風夏

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 6, 2017 to Mar 24, 2017
Premiered: Winter 2017
Broadcast: Fridays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Diomedea
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 6.721 (scored by 67,327 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #47592
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #612
Members: 146,330
Favorites: 630

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 24, 2017
Cinefil_original (All reviews)
My opinion:
Clichefest merged with shitfest.
For most of the duration of this show I was in a self-induced comatose state as a defense mechanism against the utter stupidity of the show.
Fuuka is one of the most forced drama series I have ever seen and it was a painfully generic and cliched show to watch. Fuuka is one of the worst excuses for media-entertainment that I've ever seen and this is no exaggeration. My reaction after finishing its 12 dreadful episodes is one of repulsion, disgust, and pure anger.

Story: 2/10
I do not seek to offend anyone but this show’s plot seems to be written read more
Jan 27, 2017
sweetpete22 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Synopsis
Yuu Haruna just moved into town and loves to use Twitter. Out on his way to buy dinner, he bumps into a mysterious girl, Fuuka Akitsuki, who breaks his phone thinking he was trying to take a picture of her panties. How will his new life change now?

Fuck.

Story: 4, generic hareming it up into a light music band. Nothing original in concept. However, the plot moves a fucking mile a minute - bad anime misunderstanding that stretch out into 1-3 whole episodes in other shows get fucking slammed into 6 minutes and are done with, whether the characters really should be over them or not.

Art: read more
Jan 20, 2017
StrawberryEmmie (All reviews)
Preliminary
Through all the shitty fanservice shows and idol/music anime airing for this season, the two categories overlapped at this show.....Only it's mostly music and barely fanservice. This was not the best.

First off, this show was one of the WORST dramas I've ever seen in my life. It's so forced and the pacing of everything is terrible. Everything is forced i this show. Someone will say something then infer the exact opposite or take something personally that wasn't directed towards them.The pacing could not be any worse. One event will happen right after the other and then they'll get distracted and go on to something read more
Jan 20, 2017
Elanin (All reviews)
Preliminary
I haven't watched many "Romance" type of anime but this one seems to be really great!

I've watched 4 episodes so far and i can say im enjoying it! Fuuka, the main character, in my eyes is a person who doesn't afraid to take risks in her life but she is also too guarded and secretive.

However the anime has suspense and it's being a little bit rushy at the beginning which makes you wonder, what it will become at the next episode? How things will end up now? So i see it as a positive thing!

The art is magnificent and everything looks so read more
Mar 24, 2017
GhostStorm (All reviews)
A show that’s mediocre at best and harmless at worst. If you’ve seen Nisekoi and about a million other romantic comedies/dramas just like Fuuka, you won’t find much different here. This is something that is such familiar territory and for most people watching they should be desensitized to it by now. The series exudes loads of fake stakes, fake drama, fake tension and of course the most beautiful of all contrived plot threads---convenience. Let me be clear this isn't the worst thing I've seen, not even in this season, but it is still pretty lackluster. The main problem with this show read more
Mar 24, 2017
Wasshio (All reviews)
== Warning: This Review will Contain Spoilers to Back Up My Claims towards the Show ==

Note: If I need to correct myself in some areas of this review, please let me know.

As a person that has some bias with shows, there’s to some degree where I can at the very least ignore issues or glaring flaws, as long as the show delivers to what it’s either promised or should give some entertainment value to it, or even if I dislike a series, I can somehow see what it did well while I ain’t the biggest fan of it. That’s what matters to me the most read more
Mar 24, 2017
Erol (All reviews)
I need to bring up the point of paid promotional advertisement. It feels like twitter has some sort of control over the product to an extent. They mention Twitter at times that wouldn’t make sense; it just feels like one massive ad campaign for the product. I’m all for advertisements, especially if it allowed anime studios to get more money but making it as obvious as this, I can’t be okay with it.

The first thing I noted about going into this anime is how everyone apart from the main character, is a total jackass- With the few exceptions. Moreover, the main girl of the series, read more
Mar 24, 2017
Pipe (All reviews)
Will you watch a series that dropped from 7.5 to 7.07 after the last episodes?? The mediocre meter measured a change of 0.43, in other words, the ending and the last minute changes destroyed the animation. It is boring and mediocre. We want to block it in our memory next to Bing Bong. Usually, a series will rise in the last chapters, but Fuuka is one exception let me correct that, 2017 winter season deception.

No matter if you follow the manga or not, you will feel that they took the wrong direction. We can't call the anime an adaptation because it is a side read more
Jan 27, 2017
Veteris (All reviews)
Preliminary
(This review may have spoilers. I said "May"because truck-sama is pretty famous)

Edit: Episode 5 and truck-sama hasn't appeared.
Waiting.

Fuuka, by the author of A town where you rage, he knows how to make his fans rage like a god. And in Fuuka is the same. Characters? The only good one is maybe Fuuka or Sara and I said, MAYBE. But this guy likes plot twists so, spoiler ahead, he killed Fuuka using truck-sama . Well, he is going to kill Fuuka again in the anime. And the rest of the cast is filler. The gay one, the childhood friend that is in love of the main read more
Mar 1, 2017
JossoAres (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have literally created a MAL account just so I could write this review.

Fuuka is one of the worst excuses for media that I've ever seen in my life, and this is no exageration. My reaction after finishing its (currently) 9 dreadful episodes is one of repulsion, disgust, and pure anger. This anime does everything wrong and then some, but let's start with the basics.

The story is stupid and unfocused. The drama is some of the most forced I've seen in my life. The characters are unnatural and borderline retarded for the sake of petty drama.

The music section of the show is no better. read more
Feb 4, 2018
Aizaak (All reviews)
So I saw that this anime had a not of negative reviews, but life's too short to hate things, so I decided to make this review to touch on the parts that I found great and where it could have done better.
First of All, this anime is a music/romance anime, at first I thought it was a weird combination, but i felt like it actually worked really well. It's also a music anime which you don't need to be ashamed of if any of your parents catch you watching it (No stages full of girls doing cringy cut/paste dancing in horrible fps). So the anime read more
Jan 31, 2017
Stacys__Mom (All reviews)
Preliminary
There’s a type of show that has been showing up more and more in recent seasons, whether we as critics and reviewers like it or not. These are the shows whose success relies completely on how much the viewer likes a single character, with all of the show’s potential wasted on making this character as interesting and appealing as possible. Unfortunately, the result is, more often than not, a show with a cast of boring cardboard cutouts overshadowed by a single interesting character whose personality is a horrible Frankenstein’s monster of character traits that, despite not meshing, the show’s creators desperately hope will appeal to read more
Mar 24, 2017
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
Anime original adaptations have always been a heavily debated subject within the anime community.
In some cases it has resulted in a far superior product than its source material, like with Usagi Drop.
In other cases it has downright split the franchise's fan base in half, like with Fullmetal Alchemist 2003.
And yet in other cases still it has been widely considered to have been a simply terrible decision, like with Akame ga Kill.
Whatever your stance on those particular series may be, I think most of us can at least agree on the fact that going heavily anime original instead of faithfully following the source material is very read more
Jan 23, 2017
xDarkfire13x (All reviews)
Preliminary
Fuuka's main character is the epitome of patience, forgiveness, and all around charity. We can observe some of this overflowing generosity in even the very first episode. Now our main protagonist here is a shining example of peace, perhaps comparable to Martin Luther King Junior or Ghandi, but that wouldn't be very humble or modest, now would it? See, I myself am not a very patient or forgiving person, I'll admit. I'll sometimes be hateful and rude to other who may not deserve that hate. After watching Fuuka, I've realized the error of my ways and now strive to become just like the main character. read more
Mar 24, 2017
AobaSuzukaze (All reviews)
I guess Fuuka is another anime that has a decent rating, but mainly has reviews bashing it. Luckily, I didn't watch it all and end up hating it so I'll be one of the few so far to give it a higher score.

The story follows Fuuka and how she came to meet Yuu Haruna. They end gathering a few other students and they form a band together. There's romantic stuff thrown into the mix and it ends up just being an enjoyable show as you watch the characters get more attached to each other.

The art is vibrant and colorful like it read more
Jan 28, 2018
Veertjah (All reviews)
♦Why I think 'Fuuka' deserves a better rating ♦ |||NO SPOILERS|||

Not that I'm an otaku but I have been watching a lot of animes. Personally, my favourite are animes about magic (lots of fantasy basicly) so any other must really try hard to get my attention.

What drew my attention was the energy of the main character Fuuka, I tend to be alike a little (hehe). So it kind of swept me on board this anime and I continued watching. Whether you believe me or not, I really thought it would end different. You know what I mean I don't have to spoiler. But the fact read more
Mar 29, 2017
Scadger (All reviews)
What makes a good character? In my opinion, the most essential thing of all is a relatable personality. Otherwise, the audience won’t be able to sympathise with the character at all. This is why people are criticising Kirito from Sword Art Online for being too overpowered; while at the same time praising Saitama from One Punch Man even though he’s litteraly one of the most overpowered characters in all of fiction including the bible. What makes us care about him is his altruism and normal life style. He’s depicted as a normal dude who just happens to be a godlike figure, whereas Kirito is depicted read more
Jan 31, 2017
AraelDranoth (All reviews)
Preliminary
I believe that anime like Fuuka are a breed apart from the usual slice of life anime that we've been struck with as of late.

You guys all know what I'm talking about; those anime that show great promise initially but then taper off into bitter disappointment or worse boredom.

Fuuka manages to break the barrier set by these mediocre anime in several regards.

I will be the first to admit that its story is nothing original but neither is it terrible and that's exactly what you want in a slice of life. The art style is great to look at and the soundboard of read more
Jan 29, 2017
BeneficialClam (All reviews)
Preliminary
To be honest I have never written a review for an anime because I have always felt that I have seen decent enough anime. So forgive me if I don't do that great of a job.
That changed when I watched the first 5 episodes of Fuuka. This anime couldn't have taken more of an L.

Cons:
Cookie-cutter anime characters with no originality
-MC that is dense as hell and blushes 90% of the time
-Outgoing girl that changes the atmosphere of the boring lives of those around her.
-Tsundere purple haired chick that hits the MC
read more
Jan 22, 2017
bingewatcher89 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Fuuka is one of the worst anime i've seen this season. After sitting through the panty shots and bad charecter devolopment, I can't seem to find interest in the story. All the perfect moments were ruined by boobs or ass (The end of ep 4 mostly) and they didn't even try to be clever! I couldn't even get through ep. 4 without even rolling my eyes! It's fine if an anime has a bit of ecchi in it, but please, please make it bearable to watch.
Another thing that completley ruined this anime was the childhood friend. You knew she'd never win the read more