Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Piano (TV)


Alternative Titles

English: Piano: The Melody of a Young Girl's Heart
Japanese: PIANO

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 10
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Nov 11, 2002 to Jan 13, 2003
Premiered: Fall 2002
Broadcast: Mondays at 20:00 (JST)
Studios: OLM
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 6.051 (scored by 2,495 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #79842
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #4804
Members: 7,000
Favorites: 6

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 31, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
I’m usually into slice-of-life anime, but Piano was just too real. Usually, slice-of-life anime isn’t really close to life, because if that happened, it wouldn’t be that interesting. Everything that happened in Piano had a high probability of happening in real life, so I wasn’t really interested. I’m not saying it’s bad, but I don’t think it’ll ever be one of my favorites.

One thing I noticed about Piano is that the story focused more on the lives of Miu’s family and friends. It was only in the last 4 episodes that the focus shifted to Miu. I guess it was better that way, because Miu read more
Jun 14, 2008
Prede (All reviews)
Well this show is quite boring most of the time, and it is listed as "romance", but it only hints at the romantic interests of some characters. If you begin this show thinking it will be a love story, full of drama, and boyfriend/girlfriend relationships, stop! It has very little drama(and it potrayed poorly), and even less romance. Now if your into the whole "slice of life" and reality anime series, then give this show a shot. It takes a different approach then most of those series (Air, To Heart, etc), instead of following a male lead, it follows a female. Most, if not all read more
May 29, 2007
icerydragon (All reviews)
As with all series that I watch, I try to at least watch the first two episodes, unless I really~ (and I mean REALLY~~) hated the first episode or is having trouble finding the next ones, and with this series, I completed it surprisingly. Why surprisingly?

My first impression of this series that it seemed like a series that was about classical music, the piano to be more precise, which to my knowledge the only other anime series that dealt with classical music were La Corda D\'Oro and Nodame Cantabile.

As I started to watch this series, from what I noticed, the piano, much of the time read more
Jun 23, 2010
FireandBlood3 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I really love this anime! ^_^ It's so cute, and very interesting to watch. I myself am a piano player and I would say it inspires me to practice more so that I can be just as talented at Miu is. ^_^
Aug 12, 2012
angelsreview (All reviews)
Preliminary
All in all, this show is very typical. A typical shy girl, a typical crush on a typical jock, a typical friend for the shy girl, a typical mom and dad with typical problems. The problem with a typical anime like this is that it’s boring to me. It wouldn’t be if it had any real drama but for how many I watched and the only real drama coming from losing a cat that was found about 2 seconds after it was lost, I just can’t get into it.

I didn’t really feel anything for this show. It was only the second episode where we got read more
Feb 11, 2010
JustJuice (All reviews)
Piano -The Melody of a Young Girl’s Heart: Reviewed.
Original Run: 11/11/2002 – 01/13/2003
Genre: Drama, Romance.
Anime Director: Norihiko Sudo

Plot:
Music has many distinguished sounds, sounds of joy sounds of pain, but it also sheds a new light to a path so serene that it’s captivating. Miu Nomura (our heroin) has walked this path from a wee tot to her adolescent stage. She had incredible talents ever since she was young, and playing the piano was her specialty. She was blessed and her talents were at their peak when she shared what she loved doing best with an audience. As Miu reached her preteens, she began to struggle read more
Nov 13, 2015
AhiruArima (All reviews)
I was kind of disappointed after watching this anime. I was expecting something else. I thought that it would be awesome. I only watched this anime because of it's name. I am a huge fan of anime and I love music. This is nothing compared to Nodame Cantabile. The problems that the protagonist is facing in Piano are not problems at all. She is not doing any thing at all. She is just playing the piano and crushing on some guy. She takes such little things as huge problems in life. Overall it's boring. I would never recommend this anime to anyone. There are better read more
Mar 17, 2018
DesolatePsyche (All reviews)
First things first. My "reviews" system is explained on a blog entry. Which can be found through my profile.
------

✦Story
I hoped for more Piano playing in some music genre Anime. I.E Nodame Cantabile or so. But instead we got the most slice-of-life Anime we can get. A daily life of a young girl who is lost at what she is doing. Whole whole story is basically about her of self-discovery, her good moments, bad moments and some hardships. Saying anything else would be a spoiler probably. Point here is that if you like simple slice-of-life, then you probably will enjoy it. But I can say certainly read more
Feb 10, 2010
Bishounen_Hunter (All reviews)
Piano is the type of anime where nothing out of the ordinary happens and it has brought the meaning of “slice-of-life” to new heights. Because seriously, nothing happens....this is just the day to day living in the life of a young girl. But I actually liked this show, now if you read my Madlax review you might be a little surprised by what I just said since I basically condemned that show for being to slow and too boring. But the reasoning is very simple, Madlax is supposed to be an action series and Piano is simply not that type of show. I fully understood read more
Oct 11, 2017
any_tony (All reviews)
This is one of my favorite anime despite poor graphics part.
Because its real and warm in same time. I like its melancholic mood, i like family relationship, i like characters - complicated, strange but good peoples.

I can understand why its not popular - i skip it first time i seen poster. It look cheap and outdated but in same time i can tell what it have soul inside. I can compare it to old hand-made toy by which you pass in the store, but if you find it in the chest in the attic you can feel the love with which it was made. So read more
Jan 16, 2011
rosalba (All reviews)
Preliminary
Piano misses the main thing that anime needs: fantasy. Piano is way too close to real life for comfort.

When I say fantasy, I don't necessarily mean fairies and goblins and magic and other worlds, I mean something that is not likely to happen in our normal lives. Take Cross Game for example, how many high school boys can bowl at 150km/h? It's not impossible, but it's highly unlikely. It's not something that an average high school boy can't do. But a lot of people can do what the characters of Piano can do.

The art of the anime doesn't match my taste either. The read more
Nov 25, 2012
Heta-rashi1 (All reviews)
I'm not going to lie- I was a bit bored with this series. It was only 10 episodes and it took a different approach than most anime. Female protagonist, and it's basically a music anime. If anyone liked La Corda De Oro then you'll like this series. It also has some romantic parts but nothing too detailed or definite.

The Story itself was basic, and yet unique. It didn't have mystery or kick-butt action, but it toned down to simple things that most people in the audience could possibly relate to; with family, friends, relationships, and balancing out ones passion for something. There is some read more
Sep 13, 2008
xxmbmxx (All reviews)
I was drawn to watch this anime by the teasers promoting it as a "slice of life" story about a young girl. I normally like those kinds of shows, but Piano turned out to be too much "slice of life" and not much else.

The story is about a young girl who plays the piano and her quest to get better to the point of performing in a big concert. The problem is that there just isn't much going on to hold your interest. I don't need science fiction in every show I watch, but there has to be SOME kind of drama read more