Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Steins;Gate: Kyoukaimenjou no Missing Link - Divide By Zero


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Steins Gate: Episode 23 (β), Open the Missing Link
Japanese: シュタインズ・ゲート境界面上のミッシングリンク-Divide By Zero-

Information

Type: Special
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 3, 2015
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: White Fox
Source: Visual novel
Genres: Sci-Fi, Thriller
Duration: 24 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.301 (scored by 67,203 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2402
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #850
Members: 128,964
Favorites: 278

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 7, 2015
0207xander (All reviews)
(Spoilers obviously lol)

This episode is fantastic. THIS is how I wanted Steins;Gate to end. One of my only complaints with the original series is how they had to have episode 24 and how it felt like they undermined the tragedy in the story to give everyone a happy ending. To me, it was like the creators were afraid of leaving it as a tragedy for fear the fans wouldn't like Kurisu actually dying as if to discard the entire point of the series itself: The choice. Who do you choose to let die? Your childhood friend who has become part of your identity? Or the read more
Dec 7, 2015
iAmSayo (All reviews)
*This review contains spoilers along with my own opinion bias, read at your own risk, and I really mean it when there's HEAVY SPOILERS for at least the first watcher.*
* Also if you're a first watcher, don't watch the regular episode 23 followed by this alternate episode, watch the series then probably the movie, followed by this.*

Steins;Gate episode 23 β is an episode that was aired on NicoNico when the countdown for newest visual novel from the Steins;Gate series, Steins;Gate 0 ended, which was on December 3rd, logically every S;G fan began to get hyped and anxious about this new episode.

This alternate episode starts off read more
Apr 11, 2018
TK8878 (All reviews)
Review in brief: White Fox, wanting to show the world that Steins;Gate 0 would be adapted into anime, decided to go the extra mile and made this alternate version of Steins;Gate episode 23. While this special was carefully made to blend in with the original episode and give a subtle peak at what’s to come, it forgets one very important thing: to properly cement itself as an ending of Steins;Gate.

Review in full: I've always felt that episode 23 was one of Steins;Gate's best episodes. Re-visiting the events of episode 1 and revealing just how much was actually going on gave credence to read more
Aug 4, 2018
Falco2424 (All reviews)
This Steins;Gate alternate episode cuts into the main series and changes the story completely to make it possible to have Steins;Gate 0. It's hard to rate or review something that is simply another episode of a series. It's not like the sequel special (Steins;Gate: Oukoubakko no Poriomania) where that has a beginning, middle and end. It's just a convenient replacement for episode 23. I don't know if to rate it the same as the main series, or try to dissect it as a stand alone. It fits perfectly, picks up just fine, and feels very natural to the main series; but, it doesn't do anything read more
Dec 7, 2015
Namiku (All reviews)
With this special you are treated to the typical Steins;Gate feel. The story, albeit one episode was fantastic. The Art and Sounds are remarkable yet again. For the Characters, you get the simple step into. Nothing too exceeded, neither sucked to dry. Really nice enjoyment.

To go further with the story, well firstly it's an amazing way to have a little preview for the upcoming Steins;Gate 0. In spite of it being a mostly recycled episode, the subtle additions at the end were fantastic. Giving me more and more hype for Zero. To mention the characters as well, well they are the same. Except a nice read more
Mar 16, 2016
Clattanoia (All reviews)
(SPOILERS!)

This episode was simply great. Why? That's 2 reasons.

01) The change of the Okabe we know to a completely sociable and grown person, with some responsabilities, studying in a college, and making "normal friends". This show how the universe was unexplored, and there will be more to come, and show us the "other side" of Okabe.

02) All the characters can be reformulated too, and can be really outstanding to think on a world line where the things of the main worldline have never happened, leaving the possibility of the start of a entire series. I, personally, wouldn't like to see this universe to change, because read more
Oct 4, 2018
GiancarloLS (All reviews)
In 2011, when Steins;Gate was uber-cool, and I was just taken away how intricate, search-able terms, and mind-boggling Steins;Gate is. To this date, in 2018, no time-travelling anime can top it. Erased is a different breed, but others like it sounded childish compared to this.

So what happened, then, in 2015, we're given this "alternate version", and this is an appalling, offensive OVA. I'm all for emphasizing story points, arc, plot, and character development, however, 2011 was such a long time that by 2015, we'll have to be convinced that "no, no, there's an alternate version ending and here it is!".

Steins;Gate is a visual novel to read more
Aug 11, 2018
DoomRanger (All reviews)
*Spoilers A Plenty*

After watching a few episodes of "How to not summon a demon lord, I finally mustered the courage to watch (Steins;Gate: Kyoukaimenjou no Missing Link - Divide By Zero).

This is the prequel of Steins;Gate 0 and the alternate episode 23 of Steins;Gate where Kurisu wasn't saved...

Assuming you've watched Steins;Gate, I'm going to give my first thoughts/expectations before watching. I thought this alternate setting would be something along the lines where Okabe could not fake Kurisu's death that she would somehow wake up after he tasered her...

...But it was none of that... The trigger for Kurisu's death or survival is actually...

...Mayuri


I never read more
Jun 17, 2019
TheEternalHunter (All reviews)
(Spoilers as always)

I don't like that. It's not fair for Mayuri character. I find for way better when she told him to go and help her because she was important to him.
It felt undone when it ended like that.
I'm sure creators did the right choice thanks to this episode. Also leaving Okabe's character in such a pain isn't cool.
I haven't yet watched Steins;Gate 0 but i have read the synopsis so i can see it gives the perfect beginning for Stens;Gate 0 and i appreciate that. This is the best reason to watch it ! It was shame that the bigger part read more
Sep 12, 2016
karlstein12 (All reviews)
This review will contain heavy spoilers so read at your own risk.

I've come across the debate among many fans of the show that an end of despair would've been a perfect and a better ending than a happy one. Regardless of that, the ending for Steins;Gate came as hugely popular and propelled the show to a high and resounding stance on the Top Anime of MyAnimeList. While it greatly satisfied the majority of the populace by having Okabe save Kurise while at the same time not altering the Alpha World Line, which also saved Mayuri. This was one of the reasons which made Steins;Gate read more
Apr 15, 2016
resinweber (All reviews)
So, i was pretty stoked when I learned that steins;gate 23(b) was out as a precursor to steins;gate 0. However, I honestly didn't really get the change. It seemed he had given up on Kurisu, which was sad and disappointing. But more than that, it didn't really give me a lead to what S;G 0 was going to be about.

Story: 6/10
Dont get me wrong, I LOVE stein's gate, but half of it felt like a rerun and then diverged into a plot that was not fully explained as far as how it was supposed to transition. It didn't serve read more
Mar 15, 2016
sheychan (All reviews)
"How life must have been to the 33 year old Okabe?" (Oops, triggered a baby spoiler). This was one of the questions wandering in my head after watching the first TV series! And as I watched this, I already knew that this leads to the answer. This was just the start of the answer, there's still the creamier part found on the waiting movie, Steins;Gate 0.

As for the first TV series, you guys must have realized that on the 23rd episode, That world line's Okabe is not the first Okabe who experienced the tremendous 3 read more
Jan 28, 2018
hairam (All reviews)
Edit: I just re-watched Steins;Gate, so I added a sentence or two more with my fresher perspective on how this episode really fits in:

This won't have explicit spoilers, but it will have implied spoilers, so read at your own risk!

I personally didn't like this episode as much as I liked the original ending. That said, this was still a great episode and retained most of the important parts that I liked about the original episode 23. I'm slightly disappointed by this ending, because it feels like more of a cop out than the original ending was, and it doesn't cleanly end the series. I think read more
Dec 2, 2017
Cenokenshi (All reviews)
[Spoilers of Steins;Gate]
Well, I have mixed feelings about this.
I liked some parts, but...
I just gonna say... why?

Why throw it all away at the end?
That's not what Kurisu tought you, Kyouma.
But hey, I admit is pretty interesting to know what is going to happen now, but I didn't like this alternative ending. I kinda understand that Kyouma didn't wanted to try again, but the original ending made much more sense; why stop when you can solve it! Where did all your determination went? You saw Mayuri die a lot, but at the end you saved her.

Well, let's see how this continues in Zero...
Nov 4, 2016
Casshio (All reviews)
-Spoilers ahead-
(for the original series and for the upcoming S;G0)


"Steins Gate: Episode 23 (β), Open the Missing Link" is the alternate ending to the original series.

Or is it? Well, kinda. But this episode is also the prequel-episode to Steins;Gate Zero which is technically a prequel to the original series.
Wich means that this episode and Zero is a(n important) part of the original storyline. Confusing, right? After all, this story is about time travel. So it has to be a bit confusing.

In this worldline Okabe refuses to attempt a second try to safe Kurisu.
And this leads to the events in the upcoming 0-series. The read more