Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Nijiiro Days


Alternative Titles

English: Rainbow Days
Synonyms: Nijiiro Days
Japanese: 虹色デイズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 10, 2016 to Jun 26, 2016
Premiered: Winter 2016
Broadcast: Sundays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Production Reed
Source: Manga
Duration: 13 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.481 (scored by 46,763 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #17472
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #897
Members: 111,201
Favorites: 496

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 26, 2016
Maffy (All reviews)
This is one of those series that finish so fast once you start watching, because it is just so relaxing and nothing too serious happens, which also makes it so relatable and reminiscent of our high school days (well, for those that have graduated at least!) or how it could be. If you are looking for an easy-going series filled with the power of youth, this is a good example.

Story-wise, there is nothing specific as it is their everyday life, but the overall feel is focused on the romance part; 4 friends who tease each other and their romantic interests. We see everyone’s view (not read more
Jun 26, 2016
HidamariSeashore (All reviews)
At first glance, one would think that this is a yaoi anime, but even without the "shounen-ai" tag, it's not. It's one of those rare romance anime where the main characters are the same gender, but the romance is heterosexual. When I first saw this anime, I thought probably the same thing as anyone else who was unfamiliar with this anime before it aired, "This is going to be another borderline-yaoi anime, is it?" Then, I read the description, and my curiosity was piqued. For that reason, I ended up watching it when it premiered, and I must say that it was a fun anime read more
Jun 26, 2016
LegendAqua (All reviews)
What Norn9: Norn+Nonet couldn't do, Nijiro Days did better with LESS screentime, ohh well ok nearly the same screentime but whatever.

Nijiro Days being an anime short consisting of 24 episodes with only 10 minutes is about the 4 differing relationships of the four main boys of the anime short. As such LA is very thankful that this anime short has this kind of screentime let alone episode count as it would have been rushed to all hell, nonetheless due to this the majority of the relationships go in depth to.

Though LA says this, the majority of the focus goes to Natsuki "Na-chan" Hashiba voiced by read more
Jun 28, 2016
CherryChan98 (All reviews)
Prewarning: If you want something intellectually challenging, or awe-inspiring, this isn't for you. If you don't mind stereotypical plots, a bit of laughter, and are looking for something simple to watch and not think too much about: Sure, go watch this, knock yourself out and have some fun fawning over cute characters.

I really enjoyed this show at the start, and had it ended after one cour I'd probably have given it an 8. To begin with the characters are fun and there was no major drama. Sure it played on typical relationships and character types, but in a light-hearted and happy-go-lucky manner. What was also read more
Feb 11, 2018
netosolano98 (All reviews)
True definition of a rom-com, that portrays amazingly what friendship between guys is.

Story 8 I Art 8 I Sound 8 I Character 9 I Enjoyment 8 I Overall: 8


Whats good about this anime?

+Amazing chemistry among characters, this aspect of the show is just amazing how even though the main characters are really different from each other they feel so close, just amazing.

+Good Art style, not kyoto animation kind of art but beautiful when it read more
Jun 16, 2017
wrenflyingaway (All reviews)
Nijiro Days is as fulfilling as watching someone else eat delicious cake. It's taunting you with something amazing, something that you could have. But ultimately you're let down.

This anime had so many problems. I can't help but get angry because of it. On the surface, it's a quick, fluffy romance anime with male leads instead of female ones. This is a unique twist on the shoujo romance genre, but this twist is wasted on Nijiro Days. This is no better than a boring shoujo with female leads.

My major problem with the series is the characters. They are a lackluster, meaningless cast, and I felt no read more
Mar 30, 2018
Yasaal (All reviews)
Budget issues and the purpose of an anime can hinder it's meaning a lot and can affect the fanbase if an anime series as well. That's what the quite controversial sudden ending of Nijiiro Days brought upon us. I won't spoil it, but to some it was disappointing since it didn't give proper closure but to manga readers like me, it was perfectly fine and understandable, especially since the show was a low budget manga sales booster in the first place.

Youthful and cute, Nijiiro Days is all about exploring and reminding people of how beautiful youth is and what better way to show it than read more
Aug 20, 2016
Ryan53321 (All reviews)
This was one of the greatest shows I have ever watched, it had a great story, and it wasn't that rude, seriously I could go on and on about how great this show is but I must explain why I have wrote this review.

I am quite annoyed that you would end the series like this, I mean are you going to make more or not, because this was just the worst ending ever, I mean sure the main character ends up loving the other main character, but the other main character doesn't know that, and so many people don't end up with the people that read more
Jun 28, 2016
Nakayo-kun (All reviews)
Nijiiro Days is anime based on shoujo manga

First impression: At first, I thought this anime is homo (in MAL cover guy of all) the duration is only 13 minutes away. plus I do not like shoujo.
But because of the holidays, I'm in short of anime, so I tried it watching this anime (as I see in genre there have romance , I like anime romance, and the graphics do not disappoint) and then, in 5 episode,, the anime is not in line with my first impression: D
After watch: Anime is not a fag in my opinion. for each of the main characters has their respective read more
Jun 29, 2016
kennyssaa_cyrae (All reviews)
The story revolved around a group of four students; the hopeless romantic guy Natsuki Hashiba (Natcchan), Tomoya Matsunaga (Mattsun) who is the playboy type, the cheerful and sadistic guy, Keiichi Katakura (Kei-chan) and Tsuyoshi Naoe (Tsuyopon), the one with the least words and also the smartest in the group. This anime begins with the encounter of Natcchan with a girl named Anna Kobayakawa on Christmas eve. He fell in love at first sight and since then he tried to get closer to her. Together with the main plot, it also tells the love story of the other three and how they support each other read more
Jun 26, 2016
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Shoujo romance. The penultimate genre of romance where everything is sappy and the journey to love is a slow, arduous, and sometimes painful one. So, what better way to give us everything that Shoujo romance has to offer in one series? That my friends, is Niijiro days.

Story: Our story begins on Christmas Eve with Nat-chan, who is sitting under the town's giant christmas tree in disappointment. After breaking up with his girlfriend due to her being a gold digger (This was never a part of the anime, but it's the context that gave way to the rest of the read more
Jun 15, 2016
doc_awesome (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Rainbow Days" is one of those candy animes for people who like just a little bit of relationship drama and realism, but don't really want a soap opera or gritty drama. As seems to be the trend with shoujos, the main characters are boys, in this case four close friends who avoid club activities. All of them are in varying stages of dating (or trying to date) their respective girlfriend, and they help (or tease) each other as they go through their trials and tribulations. That's pretty much the entire anime, some people will obviously not want anything to do with it, but it does read more
Dec 31, 2018
felnorii (All reviews)
Nijiiro Days was basically any romance anime you've ever seen, except the episodes literally last 10 minutes - which is kind of annoying to have to constantly switch episodes if you're binging it like I did (at least it's not Sweet Love Patisserie with five minute content), but on the better side, there's 24 episodes, making it last just as long as any other 20 minute series with 12 episodes.

Moving aside from the episode length, we should begin with the story. Like any other synopsis will give, the series begins with high school student Natsuki Hashiba heartbroken from a harsh parting from his ex read more
Sep 5, 2018
ABDoesThings (All reviews)
What's my problem with Nijiro Days? I'll tell you what...

THE FUCKING EPISODE LENGTH. I mean come on, twelve minutes episodes, what sort of bullshit is this?

Well whatever, let me get to the review. Nijiro Days is a shoujo anime and I can tell you it does it's job well. However I particularly hated the ending of Nijiro Days and I think that if the makers had made the episodes the full length, and actually FINISHED the story instead of leaving it halfway completed, I think Nijiro Days could've been a masterpiece. All things said let me get to what I enjoyed about this anime.

The read more
Jun 25, 2018
junmisugi (All reviews)
Wow! This series is amazing. I'll be honest with you all I found about it when this years spring anime have ended and I was kind of sad because there was nothing new for me to watch. Somehow I missed this gem and now I'm really happy to say that this was one of best binge-watches in my life!

Story can look simple and easy but characters are bringing the joy and fun. This is great mix of different personalities and we've got here what we love most. School, love, friendship, good days, bad days, happiness and sadness. It's all here and it's all well read more
Jul 15, 2016
B-FOUR (All reviews)
DOES NOT INCLUDE ANY LIFECHANGING SPOILERS, THEY ARE PRETTY OBVIOUS

Why I didn't like it that much: This is a very relaxing anime, nothing much happens, but come on! The ending is so unsatisfying! And every episode end is a total cliffhanger.

But I liked it because it didn't have any violence or nudity. Very family friendly and even a 7 year old (actually it depends on the person watching) can watch it if some situations or actions by some characters are explained. Also I feel like there are some stereotypes but I'm not 100% sure...

Recommend for people who want to watch something "easy" or don't read more
Mar 5, 2018
nisekoichitoge (All reviews)
First of all let me say that i personally really enjoyed watching it.
Now then let's get into the review. This anime is short, and honestly it crams so much stuff into it and it turns out really good. The characters are interesting and likeable. The story is kind of there but it's mostly like everyday life in school so don't expect some next level drama, romance story where s**t is about to go down. This is one of those anime where you watch it for the sole purpose of being entertained.
Over all i rated the story 6, it's there but it's not really something.
Art get's read more
Jul 7, 2016
babiettangkoma (All reviews)
The story was nothing too complicated and not so much annoying drama, which is great. It's not a slice of life but more to romance and friendship, and I like it especially the bond between the boys. The art is simple and okay. But, I love the soundtrack the most, well I don't expect less from Sonar Pocket, I like their song as always :)

Characters are great, they've got simple personalities with not too much complicated going on within themselves. I like how they are honest with others and themselves. Just for that one character, if this anime/manga doesn't have that annoying-disturbing girl (why author read more
Jul 2, 2016
Darmaiad (All reviews)
Nijiiro days is a high-school, slice-of-life anime, complete with the usual comedic and shoujo elements. It's an adaptation of the ongoing manga with the same name. Episodes are about 12 minutes long, meaning that the 24 episodes basically comprise a single kur.

The story initially focuses on the four boy gang, but as time progresses (thankfully for the boys) an equal number of girls are added to the mix, creating the familiar “mina-oriented” storyline. As a result, the focus is not on a single protagonist, but to the whole group of friends. The characters are distinct and read more
Jul 1, 2016
Daru-sama (All reviews)
Preliminary
Let's be honest,we all thought that this was yaoi at first glance,didn't we?
Four boys running on green open field,with cheerful music and rainbow name?I can't blame you.
But there is more to it.

"I'm pretty sure I have no luck with girls,and I`am not suited for romance." - Natsuki "Na-chan" Hashiba

Rainbow days is a funny anime if you give it a chance, characters are interesting and everything that I watch reminds me at Kimi to Boku which I loved. Just with a little bit more of romance.
Story is moving quite at slow pace, which for a show like this,is nothing wrong. Anime is not focusing too much read more