Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kowabon


Alternative Titles

Japanese: こわぼん

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2015 to Dec 27, 2015
Premiered: Fall 2015
Broadcast: Sundays at 01:42 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: ILCA
Source: Original
Genres: Horror
Duration: 3 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 5.311 (scored by 8,306 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #82882
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2255
Members: 23,834
Favorites: 24

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 3, 2016
ToastytheBaker (All reviews)
Preliminary
Kowabon is a 13 episode original horror series using rotoscoping, with each episode lasting a brisk 3 minutes. Starting out, I've read some of the negative reviews and definitely understand the negative views towards the anime, but I want to say that the purpose of the show isn't to have some overarching developed horror concept like Another and other "full-lengthed" anime. It's sort of like a 3 minute does of horror, telling the story of a single incident with each episode. So, I feel like it's unfair to deduct points for not developing its horror-concept or having an overarching storyline, since it never meant to read more
Jan 10, 2016
SuperZeldaGirl (All reviews)
When I first saw this show was horror I was looking forward to watching it but I was also worried as it is a hard genre to do well and even more so in anime.

I ended up watching all the episodes in one go and I am writing this right after finishing the final episode. Let me just say I am a huge fan of horror if its in books, movies or anime and it is pretty hard to scare me as I have watched horror for so long now. That said this show did manage to creep me out. I think it helps read more
Jan 13, 2016
Tettsui (All reviews)
When I first read a summary about this anime, I was pretty intrigued, never having seen or even heard of rotoscoping before. The fact that this technique was going to be used for a short horror anime sounded even better!

I have to admit that I was pretty disappointed with the outcome though. I appreciated the experimental technique, but felt that the anime as a whole was lacking in direction and plot. At the very least, I thought they should've done a different story for each episode, but instead, it was essentially the same idea with different people. It became boring very quickly.

I don't think this read more
Feb 5, 2016
Miyuki-Mukaido (All reviews)
I have to say, this anime sucked. Like, a lot xD

It was really disappointing; there was pretty much no plot. I didn't understand anything. They didn't even wrap up the anime at all; the last episode was just another 3 minute-long episode.

A lot of people were saying how it's not scary at all, but at some parts it really did scare me xD but there was no gore, no nothing. Just a few creepy/scary scenes.

What pissed me off the most is that they never answered any of my questions. They don't say WHY there are these ghost things attacking people through technology. WHY read more
Jan 23, 2016
Niveen_Sleem (All reviews)
If you are looking for a short anime you can marathon in one night, you should take Kowabon into consideration. You can't only watch it in one night, you can watch all of it in one-episode-worth of time. Each episode is short, about 3 minutes.

The people who were watching Kowabon while it was still running might have done the show wrong. I admit I did it wrong but not very much. It can be easily misunderstood because the story doesn't show clearly unless you watch all the episodes back to back.

It's read more
Jan 2, 2016
Xembled (All reviews)
Preliminary
I know a lot of people don't really enjoy this anime. Well I disagree. The story is rather intriguing and is one of those anime's that is built more on a message than a story. Just like it's description states it seems to be hinting at a more negative force among technology. It defiantly has an interesting plot. The animation is made from rotoscoping. Where people film it and then animate over it. It shows this during the credits. And while it is not the most 'pretty' or clear animation, it is still good and helps portray the anime nicely. It seems that this anime read more
Jan 1, 2016
Kryszikal (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I first saw Kowabon as a prospective horror series, and I read about the rotoscope technique was being used, I didn't think it would do well with many reviewers. And of course it didn't as I have read the opinions of those that reviewed before me. However, don't write off this short series completely. While it is unconventional and not for everyone, I personally found some enjoyment in the spooky nature of the episodes. In fact, I wish there was a bit more to the idea. Due to the repetitive nature as well, it can either bore those that want a new scare or read more
Jan 3, 2016
Kinzo (All reviews)
Preliminary
Note: I've currently seen 10 of the 13 episodes.

Ah, horror. The one genre that anime just seems to never get quite right. Which is a shame, really. Considering how good a lot of Asian Horror films are! But that's another rant for another time. Let's get to the matter at hand.

Story:
It's... not much of a story, to be honest. Nothing is really explained at all (as of episode 10, anyway. Will update this review accordingly) and it's left up to the viewer to decide how and why these events are occurring. But sometimes, the truth is better left unknown and I feel this just read more
Oct 18, 2017
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Kowabon is a short horror ILCA anime from the end of 2015. They aren't a studio I'm really familiar with. They're best known for Yami Shibai, another anime made up of horror shorts that they've kept going for five series at this point. Maybe next year I'll look at that one but, for now, let's allow this to serve as our introduction to their work.

Story:

There isn't any single over-arcing plot. Rather, each episode gives us some scenario involving some character using technology to communicate with someone else, record themselves or being monitored by a security camera. Whatever the case, we see them through the perspective read more