Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Bakuon!!


Alternative Titles

English: Bakuon!!
Japanese: ばくおん!!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2016 to Jun 21, 2016
Premiered: Spring 2016
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.501 (scored by 17,203 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #60522
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1967
Members: 46,552
Favorites: 83

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 20, 2016
Veronin (All reviews)
If you've watched K-ON, Gochiusa, Kiniro Mosaic or any of the hundreds upon hundreds of cute slice-of-life anime out there, you've already watched Bakuon.

People like these shows for a reason, as evidenced by the massive amount of BluRays and merchandise they tend to sell. I'm fine with them, and presumably anybody who would give something like Bakuon the light of day is fine with them, too. But when the only thing distinguishing them from one another is what gimmick they can throw in (in this case, motorcycles), there begins to be a problem.

It is especially apparent that the motorcycle aspect of Bakuon is more read more
Jun 20, 2016
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
Pretty interesting work coming from a former adult doujinshi artist.

During my time watching, I was not impressed with the way Bakuon!!was introduced. I understand that originality in anime & manga has been dead since the earlier 2000's (my opinion, everyone else has their time-line of when it stopped.) however Bakuon's story, while somewhat unique, still failed to bring anything exciting to the table... or in this case TV. Unfortunately creativity was the biggest thing that hurt the story. The plot and story are both simple, which is somewhat good, but also feels very plain. I felt like the producers were afraid to break read more
Jun 20, 2016
LIQfilms (All reviews)
Certainly one of the more stranger shows to come out of this anime season, Bakuon is a show in which a transgender motorcycle guides you through tests and each one of our main female character pretty much become wet at the thought of seeing their favorite bike brands.

In an age in which Japan will put cute girls with anything, this time we have cute girls with motorbikes (which is certainly better than the cute girls with bread). I'm still hoping for a cute girls show about drug rehab or something along those lines.

Since I am a filthy cave dwelling dweeb I did enjoy this show read more
Jun 20, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
Ah, girls on motorcycles. We may see it sometimes these days in other form of mediums such as live action films. But, how about a series that dedicates itself about cute girls riding motorcycles as a way of storytelling? An anime adaptation produced by TMS Entertainment. Bakuon!! is a show with a lot fun with cute girls doing extreme things.

In a way, this show reminds me somewhat of K-On! There’s the club with a prominent cast of female characters each with their own unique personalities. For instance Onsa reminds me somewhat of Ritsu with their tomboyish characteristics and is easygoing with their friends. The characters read more
Jun 20, 2016
lawlmartz (All reviews)
Ah, Bakuon. Described by the author as a light hearted "High School Girls X Motorcycle Comedy", Bakuon delivers just that in a nice slice of life package. As a motorcycle enthusiast myself, it's refreshing to see an anime genre that I otherwise would have cared nothing about stepping out into some new themes. As far as I know, Bakuon is the first example of an anime about motorcycles- which definitely earns it points for originality.

The character archetypes, however, may not be the most original, but the personalities implanted into them give them a lot of life and variance from the typical moe moe SOL read more
Jun 20, 2016
AllenHavens92 (All reviews)
Bakuon is 2016’s answer to K-On, only with motorcycles in place of rock music.

The story itself is simple enough for anyone to watch. However, what may turn people off is the constant motorcycle jargon (models, companies, etc.), as to be expected for such a series. I do give credit for all of it being true, as the company/models mentioned do exist. Other than that, the stories being told were lackluster.

I can’t really say I enjoyed the characters that much. They certainly had their own personality that distinguished them from each other, but never went farther than that. We don’t get to learn anything about them read more
Jun 20, 2016
izuhara_torozu (All reviews)
This has got to be a love it or hate it sort of ordeal. If you don't like motorcycles or have zero interest in them, skip it. If you DO like motorcycles.. it's a fun ride!
Each girl has a make that they favor and a big opinion to go with it, leading to fun squabbles, and they all possess different enough personalities to make a fun dynamic. Yes, they're basically the archetype for anime (rich girl, tsundere twin tails, tom boy, quiet and shy, and dopey but lovable) but in a series like this that doesn't take itself too seriously, it works. Let's read more
Jun 20, 2016
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Bakuon!! isn't like any typical "girls doing cute things"...as it's about girls with motorbikes!!!..ohh wait it's still "girls doing cute things" but still...

Bakuon!! has fleshed out characters as well as a cast that has ALOT of great chemistry with each along with the bizarre plotlines this anime take and all with a motorbiked theme makes this "cute girls doing cute things" all the more different from it's predecessors (well in LA's eye anyways).

Bakuon!!'s fleshed out cast of motorbike enthusiasts with Rin Suzunoki voiced by Nao Touyama as the Suzuki zealot as the fanservice girl and while not an expert, has experience in her hobby (*cough* read more
Jun 20, 2016
jdam5798 (All reviews)
Story: 1/10
What story? It's just your typical schoolgirl series with motorcycles about their daily lives.
Art: 3/10
The art was horrendous. Stilted animation, horrible character design, and whenever they were riding their motorcycles, they suddenly became 3D along with the entire background.
Sound: 3/10
The music was terrible. The only song I kind of liked was the ending. Otherwise, the music they used in the scenes was so simple and forgettable.
Character: 2/10
All of them are 1-dimensional and get no character development. The only reason I'm not giving the characters a 2 is because I will admit, all of the girls are really hot.
Enjoyment: 2/10
I don't know anything about motorcycles, read more
Jun 27, 2016
jc9622 (All reviews)
Oh boy, I'm detecting a sudden influx of otakus going to their nearest motorcycle dealership store and they're going to purchase a Kawasaki, Honda, Yamaha or Suzuki motorcycle. We all know they're going to go for Suzuki because Rin = best grill of the series.


[Story]
If you've seen a "cute girls doing cute things" type of anime before then Bakuon is no different. Well, there are slight changes here. Instead of "Cute girls doing cute things", it's "cute girls doing cute things in a motorcycle". I haven't seen that before. No, really, I haven't so a show featuring cute high school girls riding in a read more
Jul 21, 2016
PhantomAdren (All reviews)
Bakuon tells the story of a girl who likes motorcycles. She makes her best to get a license to drive these vehicles, and get one of this so she can join to the bike club.

Throughout the anime we can watch the girls from the club talking about the bikes and driving her motorcyles to travel from one place to another.

When I was watching it I remembered K-On and other similar animes, it really feels like you're watching any of these.

Maybe if you don't know anything about these stuff you will feel a little confused (like me), but that doesn't mean that the anime is bad. read more
Sep 20, 2016
9ndere (All reviews)
Preliminary
I started this with no expectations but to be honest, it's better than i thought it was going to be. I was most shocked to see actual brands in this show such as amazon, but also all the motorcycle brands, helmet brands and the such. Character types are very typical and not very creative. the main character and her sister are like Yui and Ui from K-ON! down to the hair color and their respective personalities. motorcycle engine noises aren't anything to rave about, and could've been more interesting had they added some actual race flair, but it's just about moe girls liking motorcycles. Bunta read more
Jul 2, 2016
TrashDax (All reviews)
Yes, riding a bike doesn't necessarily involve drug trades or gang shootings.

Story:
Well, it's a comedy about "cute girls doing cute things", the gimmick this time is motorcycles. The question is, how much did they do with said gimmick? A lot actually. They talk about bikes all the time, they ride them all the time and most episodic plots are about motorcycles, so I'd say the potential is fully utilized. Since I don't know anything about these vehicles, I can't judge how accurate they handle the subject, but it looked like they did well. The comedy is varying heavily, from cute shenanigans to perverted fanservice. I read more
Nov 30, 2017
evolvingweeb (All reviews)
One thing I noticed is that this anime seemed to rub a good number of people the wrong way, and while it's by no stretch perfect, I really don't get why this show was so hated in it's season :'D

Sure, it gets pretty ecchi sometimes. But it's by NO means overbearing (besides that....motorcycle washing scene, dear sweet god) and this is coming from someone who's not all that fond of ecchi. Aside from some boob jiggles from Rin, that one drunken perv teacher, some eyecatches, and one hot springs scene, it's really not all that ecchi, to be completely honest.

One thing I really do read more
Mar 4, 2017
sorata861 (All reviews)
[This review contains minor spoilers.]
I am glad that I watched this.
I would recommend this to others.
I have watched this once, subtitled. I have only watched the anime.
I may watch this again.

---- Positives ----

Motorcycles get a decent amount of focus.
This series incorporates motorcycles into the story well. It's not just a detail.

Time is well spent.
Pacing was great throughout. The club members actually go out and do things, as opposed to just sitting in their clubroom.

A new character is introduced toward the end of the series, and this is done well.
Near the end of the series, the club gets a new member, and episodes after this point read more
Aug 15, 2018
AnimeFan48 (All reviews)
Story: the story in this is pretty almost typical honestly but its about Hane who is walking to school one day when she someone riding a motorcycle and she decides that would be her passion pre say so she joins a bike club in the school to so she joins the club and now she has her new found love and that is motorbike so she starts learning about them and so on that is really about it for the story is really not a hard story to understand.

Art: the art here is really done her personally no idea if CGI was involved in this read more
Aug 1, 2016
nanakox21 (All reviews)
NOTE: This may contain spoilers.

Story: Very interesting and funny storylines in the anime. Plus, it's great to see how motorcycles can bring a group of friends together.

Characters:
Hane - She is sweet & adorable. Hane reminds me of Yui from K-On! & is a new-comer to the world of motorcycles.
Onsa - She is very tomboy-ish and cool. She has two younger brothers and her family owns a motorcycle shop.
Rin - She has long, blonde hair and large assets. & idolizes Suzuki.
Hijiri - She is a rich, soft-spoken girl. She has a butler by her side (especially during their motorcycle adventures). Plus, she is also read more
Sep 24, 2016
NishizawaMihashi (All reviews)
The biggest regret that I've had with this show, is in not writing a timely review praising its delectable outrageousness. Welcome to Bakuon!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There's simply nothing to gush about when it comes to the basic plot of the show, rather what isn't explained outright is that this show is an absolutely irreverent parody of the subject matters it features- complete with random scenes of sheer absurdity drenched in over-the-top -and at times, subtle- goofiness.

Which brings us to question just what on earth does it make fun of? Biking perhaps? Why of course, the whole thing is essentially about biking, but it makes fun of it in read more
Feb 9, 2018
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This review has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

I’ve never ridden a motorcycle, but I used to ride my bike around my neighborhood as a kid.

The bike was a hand-me-down from my cousin. It had a glossy green metallic frame. The back wheels had these extra spokes to let someone else stand on (or for grinding rails should one be skilled enough). And it made a nice clicking noise as I rode it down the sidewalk. It was a cool bike which, by proxy, made me cool, too (which is pretty hard to do).

While I liked that bike very much (and maybe because read more
Feb 9, 2018
renyrells (All reviews)
A funny, epesodic, fan-servicy anime about cute girls on motorcycles. While I do not know.... well, anything about motorbikes, this show breaks down concepts enough for you to understand the incoming jokes. If you like motorbikes and/or a bit of slapstick comedy you might wanna check this out.

There is not much overarching story here and most episodes are self contained. Hence it gets a sort of low grade.

The art is pretty nice overall. The characters are all designed differently that you do not get bored looking at them. The motorbikes are all well designed too (goodness knows they better be). I tend read more