Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Nanbaka


Alternative Titles

English: Nanbaka
Synonyms: Nambaka, Numbaka, The Numbers
Japanese: ナンバカ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2016 to Dec 28, 2016
Premiered: Fall 2016
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 03:00 (JST)
Studios: Satelight
Source: Web manga
Genres: Action, Comedy, Drama
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.391 (scored by 20,206 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #19972
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #885
Members: 69,298
Favorites: 302

Reviews

codephat
Dec 28, 2016
Nanbaka is like one of those assorted chocolate boxes, containing all sorts of contradicting flavors. Sadly, instead of being an expensive grouping of delicate candies, it’s more like one of those value boxes with flavors nobody really wants. It wouldn’t be farfetched to say the box was left open by accident for the chocolates to go stale, either.

It’s hard to sum up exactly what Nanbaka is about in a few sentences, since it’s all over the place. What starts off as a comedic spoof show about a group of inmates attempting to break out of prison soon morphs into a read more
I found this review Helpful
jRad522
Dec 31, 2016
A description of Nanbaka is probably going to make it sound real dumb. This is likey because it really, really is. But the fact it is dumb does not preclude it from being entertaining, and I assure you that it is nothing if not that. I 100% recommend watching it if you are:
A.) In the mood for something funny.
B.) Unbothered by something being really stupid.
C.) Equally unbothered by anime being weird for weird's sake.

Story:
I can best sum up Nanbaka thusly: it is pretty much what would happen if you transformed the Looney Tunes into bishy anime twinks with FABULOUS hair and threw them into a read more
I found this review Helpful
gnerkus
Dec 29, 2016
The action/comedy multi-genre is saturated with great shows and awful shows. The great shows are not only deliver brilliant action scenes through the quality of the technical aspects, they’re also hilarious and consistent with the comedy. The poor action/comedy shows either skimp on the quality of the art and sound involved or lack consistency in the comedy or both. Action/comedy shows are at their best when they’re funny or exciting but not when they drift off into needless drama.

Nanbaka falls between the two; it starts out great with an interesting premise and acceptable comedy. But it loses its focus along the way near the end read more
I found this review Helpful
emeleon
Dec 30, 2016
NEVER TAKE THIS SHOW SERIOUSLY

Now that that's out of the way, I found enjoyment in this show though the hilarious imagery and funny jokes.

THE STORY is mediocre at best, but it's a comedy, so there's not much you can expect.
THE ART is great. It's the main focus of the comedy element and sometimes is a bit too lenient on it. The art by itself though colorful and wild is sometimes a bit eye bleeding.
THE CHARACTERS aren't varied. They are all just comic relief, which makes them seem bland overall.
OVERALL I liked this show, not to where I'll be recommending read more
I found this review Helpful
Lefrave
Dec 28, 2016
If you came here looking for an immensely meaningful plot that will make you see the world in a completely different way and make you wonder what the purpose of life is, then I'm terribly sorry... you came to the wrong place. Though, if you came here for a short show that will keep you entertained on times when you purely want to watch something simple, but just aren't into those moe-blobs or harem shows, then... nope, not that one either.

Nanbaka offers you the typical gag-anime humor consisting of popular shounen anime "special move" exclamations and pointless comical moments in the middle of serious fights, read more
I found this review Helpful
The_Ruise
Jan 13, 2017
Nanbaka is an action dramady that definitely excels at the comedy aspect, but failed to impress me with its more serious plot-building episodes; which seem to outnumber the mostly or strictly comedic ones. I was just in it for the laughs, but it got totally serious after the tournament arc, after which it dove head-first into hidden dark sides and tragic backstories galore. These were never BAD by any means, just kind of mediocre. This being the case, it was never so dull as to make it difficult for me to finish watching an episode, or several in a row.
I found this review Helpful
GroveWarden
Dec 28, 2016
Hey folks, this will be a review for Nanbaka. I have mixed feelings about this show as a whole. The overall premise and layout was fun and enjoyable to watch. However the dramatic events that arise are really not that deep or extraordinary as some reviews have mentioned. Its those "deep" moments in the later part of the show that really kill the entire thing for me.

The story revolves around 4 prisoners in the most secure and top secret prison in the world. These four prisoners are well known for escaping prisons, Juugo especially. What seems to start off as a comedy show about escaping, read more
I found this review Helpful
supersabaku
Jan 11, 2017
A light review in favor of Nanbaka.

I don't actually think it has an identity crisis as much as it fits with the intention of the author into two genres, much like Gintama if you will. Gintama swings 180 very fast too, could argue any day it operates just as good without its drama (that does indeed loses out to its comedy) bc it does /philosophical/ and not shounen action well.

And for me, Nanbaka has made me laugh out loud on several occasions with its comedy (rather straightforwardly played) nothing serious, just a few chuckle here and there but that only proves it has the ability read more
I found this review Helpful
xMissMelonx
Jan 1, 2017
If there's one thing about anime that I usually avoid, it's either slice of life or more spontaneous gag anime. The latter being the definition of this anime. I originally decided to watch it cause the character designs were interesting and as an aspiring character designer, I decided that I would give it a go and see what this show was really about.

Story: 6
Since this is a gag anime, usually the story isn't very serious or just has a basic scenario. However, similar to Katekyo Hitman Reborn ( originally a gag manga/anime that turned shounen after 20 eps), the story takes much darker turns here read more
I found this review Helpful
TrashDax
Jan 1, 2017
In a world where people are born with nail polish...

Story:
Nanbaka is a complete mess. First it starts as a slice-of-life comedy, then it shifts to action shounen, then to drama, then back to comedy and eventually back to drama. I have no idea what the creators were trying to do, but it sure as hell wasn't entertaining the least bit. The main story (if you wanna call it that) is shortly mentioned early on, then forgotten for a good while, then brought back again all of a sudden. Maybe the episode writers should've talked to each other at some point.
1/10

Art:
The character design is a disaster. read more
I found this review Helpful