Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Nanbaka


Alternative Titles

English: Nanbaka
Synonyms: Nambaka, Numbaka, The Numbers
Japanese: ナンバカ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2016 to Dec 28, 2016
Premiered: Fall 2016
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 03:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Satelight
Source: Web manga
Genres: Action, Comedy, Drama
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.411 (scored by 67,053 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #20622
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #648
Members: 166,220
Favorites: 1,167

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 31, 2016
jRad522 (All reviews)
A description of Nanbaka is probably going to make it sound real dumb. This is likey because it really, really is. But the fact it is dumb does not preclude it from being entertaining, and I assure you that it is nothing if not that. I 100% recommend watching it if you are:
A.) In the mood for something funny.
B.) Unbothered by something being really stupid.
C.) Equally unbothered by anime being weird for weird's sake.

Story:
I can best sum up Nanbaka thusly: it is pretty much what would happen if you transformed the Looney Tunes into bishy anime twinks with FABULOUS hair and threw them into a read more
Dec 30, 2016
StrawberryEmmie (All reviews)
NEVER TAKE THIS SHOW SERIOUSLY

Now that that's out of the way, I found enjoyment in this show though the hilarious imagery and funny jokes.

THE STORY is mediocre at best, but it's a comedy, so there's not much you can expect.
THE ART is great. It's the main focus of the comedy element and sometimes is a bit too lenient on it. The art by itself though colorful and wild is sometimes a bit eye bleeding.
THE CHARACTERS aren't varied. They are all just comic relief, which makes them seem bland overall.
OVERALL I liked this show, not to where I'll be recommending read more
Dec 29, 2016
gnerkus (All reviews)
The action/comedy multi-genre is saturated with great shows and awful shows. The great shows are not only deliver brilliant action scenes through the quality of the technical aspects, they’re also hilarious and consistent with the comedy. The poor action/comedy shows either skimp on the quality of the art and sound involved or lack consistency in the comedy or both. Action/comedy shows are at their best when they’re funny or exciting but not when they drift off into needless drama.

Nanbaka falls between the two; it starts out great with an interesting premise and acceptable comedy. But it loses its focus along the way near the end read more
Jan 30, 2017
Plasmatize (All reviews)
Many have heard the old proverb, "If you chase two rabbits, you will not catch either one". By extension, the more rabbits one chases at once, the harder each is to catch. Nanbaka takes this a step further: it starts going after one rabbit, then gets distracted by a bird and later a fish. It unfortunately fails to catch any of them, but at least it looks cool trying.

At its core, Nanbaka is a zany, colourful gag comedy in a prison setting! ...Or is it an action shonen? No? A character drama? In practice, it frequently switches targets when it may have been wiser to read more
Dec 28, 2017
animumbug (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you want to try watching something different from what you usually watch, then this anime is perfect for you. I would recommend this anime to you 1000%

~Spoiler Alert~ (Not much tho)
~Read at your own Risk~

Story(8)- It's about 4 guys who break out of prison with their special abilities and their desires. But after they find the things they desire for, they stop breaking out of prison and stay in the prison, because it provides them with the things they want (not all of them).It mostly focuses on Juugo (MC), who doesn't have something that he wants.

Art(10)- I cannot explain how amazing read more
May 19, 2019
RalV26402 (All reviews)
This anime, for me, is the epitome of the 'well you had us in the first half' meme.

The tonal shift in the 6th episode gave me whiplash and made me feel like I had all of a sudden started watching a different anime.

At its best Nanbaka is a fun show about a group of lovable morons. The group dynamic was so fun to see and made me love all of the characters. At its worst it casts aside all of that for a much darker and more serious action type anime and in doing so loses all charm from the characters and any read more
Oct 19, 2018
Seregosa (All reviews)
Pretty good anime, at least good enough to watch without feeling bored. There were a few laughs to be had here and there. I like most of the characters, although I pretty much hate hajime the guard, that bastard can go and die somewhere. I also dislike the female boss, she just can't stop being lovestruck all the time and it pisses me off, especially since I hate the one she likes.

The story is so-so, kinda average, nothing special at all. The art is pretty nice, I like the style although the colors feels a bit too flamboyant. The sound is great, well, at least read more
Mar 22, 2017
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Nanbaka is a prison comedy series. The manga was originally written by Futamata Shou. In late 2016, Satelight began airing an anime adaptation. You may remember them as the studio behind Heat Guy J & Sousei no Aquarion. So, how does this one compare to their other works I've reviewed? Let's take a gander.

Story:

Nanba is, supposedly, the world's most formidable prison. With the toughest guards, the most inescapable perimeter, the sparkliest design and the finest dining and recreation services. We follow four prisoners, Juugo, Uno, Rock & Nico, who have escaped from prisons all over the world as they go about their lives and read more
Apr 1, 2019
IneffableBoredom (All reviews)
Preliminary
To be blunt, Nanbaka was boring, lacking in plot, had boring characters, and wasn't funny. Lets start with the story: there are some convicts who are good at escaping from jail so they put them in a maximum security prison (all together of course, so that they can work as a team to escape whenever they want to). This idea has potential and if taken seriously it could have been worked into a great psychological thriller, so of course they did the exact opposite when making this show. It's so bright and colorful that there were moments where i thought I was on a bad read more
Jan 1, 2017
xMissMelonx (All reviews)
If there's one thing about anime that I usually avoid, it's either slice of life or more spontaneous gag anime. The latter being the definition of this anime. I originally decided to watch it cause the character designs were interesting and as an aspiring character designer, I decided that I would give it a go and see what this show was really about.

Story: 6
Since this is a gag anime, usually the story isn't very serious or just has a basic scenario. However, similar to Katekyo Hitman Reborn ( originally a gag manga/anime that turned shounen after 20 eps), the story takes much darker turns here read more
Dec 28, 2016
Lefrave (All reviews)
If you came here looking for an immensely meaningful plot that will make you see the world in a completely different way and make you wonder what the purpose of life is, then I'm terribly sorry... you came to the wrong place. Though, if you came here for a short show that will keep you entertained on times when you purely want to watch something simple, but just aren't into those moe-blobs or harem shows, then... nope, not that one either.

Nanbaka offers you the typical gag-anime humor consisting of popular shounen anime "special move" exclamations and pointless comical moments in the middle of serious fights, read more
Nov 2, 2017
Half-MagePrince (All reviews)
Have you ever wondered what's a prison feels like? How about a happy prisoners trying to escape a prison? Sounds unrealistic right? Well, of course!!! This anime tells us that situation. It has a happy go lucky vibe like Beelzebub and Assassination Classroom while you are watching this. This kinda reminded me of the Impel Down Arc of One Piece while watching the first episode.

The comedy is very funny. Been laughing so hard. The art is amazing where it comes to the point that you can't tell a boy from a girl based from their appearance. The anime is action-packed and very entertaining to watch. read more
Sep 17, 2018
animesscythe (All reviews)
It's difficult to make a comedy series, mainly because sense of humor is subjective. Nanbaka's comedy was barely noticeable, and even if it was there, it wasn't really funny. But personally, the action and drama parts were better written than the comedy.

The story is mainly as the synopsis says. There's no story progression as such, and there's just a tournament arc filled with games at the beginning, mostly games where comedy can be introduced in. The action part was also mixed in there, the fights were well done, and the flashy artstyle did not interfere. The comedy part was mainly in the first half of read more
Feb 8, 2017
trashlovee666 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Stoy
I started this series off thinking it was just going to be a simple prison comedy and BOY WAS I WONG.
Yes, this is a prison comedy but there are times in this series were the mood completely changes. It will be loud bouncy and funny one second then turn to an intense or dramatic scene the next. I was sometimes confused whether I was watching a comedy or a drama because it would break from comedy to have these large emotional dramatic scenes and then go back to its normal bouncy comedy. Also, I sometimes hated the pacing because sometimes it was way too read more
Jan 13, 2017
The_Ruise (All reviews)
Nanbaka is an action dramady that definitely excels at the comedy aspect, but failed to impress me with its more serious plot-building episodes; which seem to outnumber the mostly or strictly comedic ones. I was just in it for the laughs, but it got totally serious after the tournament arc, after which it dove head-first into hidden dark sides and tragic backstories galore. These were never BAD by any means, just kind of mediocre. This being the case, it was never so dull as to make it difficult for me to finish watching an episode, or several in a row.
Nov 9, 2019
Hirotara (All reviews)
Let me start off with this statement: This anime is quite literally one of THE most under-rated ones I've watched, it clearly does not get enough praise as it should have in my opinion.

The plot-line initially starts off as a comedic, non-serious, over-the-top anime series that's lighthearted and is simple overall. But what I didn't expect was how it so easily shifted from a comedic standpoint to a full-on serious, shounen-esk type of genre with actual high stakes without much effort. Not to mention, the serious story plot-points are actually really good in my opinion and it has a rather unique level of backstory for read more
Jan 1, 2017
TrashDax (All reviews)
In a world where people are born with nail polish...

Story:
Nanbaka is a complete mess. First it starts as a slice-of-life comedy, then it shifts to action shounen, then to drama, then back to comedy and eventually back to drama. I have no idea what the creators were trying to do, but it sure as hell wasn't entertaining the least bit. The main story (if you wanna call it that) is shortly mentioned early on, then forgotten for a good while, then brought back again all of a sudden. Maybe the episode writers should've talked to each other at some point.
1/10

Art:
The character design is a disaster. read more
Dec 28, 2016
ShySorcerer (All reviews)
Hey folks, this will be a review for Nanbaka. I have mixed feelings about this show as a whole. The overall premise and layout was fun and enjoyable to watch. However the dramatic events that arise are really not that deep or extraordinary as some reviews have mentioned. Its those "deep" moments in the later part of the show that really kill the entire thing for me.

The story revolves around 4 prisoners in the most secure and top secret prison in the world. These four prisoners are well known for escaping prisons, Juugo especially. What seems to start off as a comedy show about escaping, read more
Jul 16, 2017
Dovahgatr (All reviews)
This was one of those weird anime. The first episode did a really good job of grabbing you into the show, and I say is probably one of it's better episodes. Is it a masterpiece? No. Can it be entertaining? Yes.
Is this a comedy anime?
Yes, but it gets turned into an action comedy anime in it's out of place tournament arc.
Also, be sure to take a shower, as fter watching this, you might have some glitter on you, because EVERYONE'S SPARKLING!


Side note, if there is no sparkles, it's no longer a comedy anime F.Y.I.

Give it a shot, it might tickle your fancy.
Jun 21, 2019
Fraoch (All reviews)
I first watched Nanbaka due to having been nagged into doing so by my younger sister, who loved the series. After finishing it and reading a good portion of the manga, I can say with confidence that I am very glad I finished it - in fact, it's by far one of my favourite anime. So why only a six? I do try to be honest with my reviews so, despite how much I enjoyed the show, I am well aware of its flaws and I can understand why they might ruin the viewer's enjoyment slightly. With that being said, I'll try my best to read more