Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Nanbaka


Alternative Titles

English: Nanbaka
Synonyms: Nambaka, Numbaka, The Numbers
Japanese: ナンバカ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2016 to Dec 28, 2016
Premiered: Fall 2016
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 03:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Satelight
Source: Web manga
Genres: Action, Comedy, Drama
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.431 (scored by 50,376 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #18922
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #665
Members: 127,928
Favorites: 814

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 28, 2016
rawrX3pounces (All reviews)
Nanbaka is like one of those assorted chocolate boxes, containing all sorts of contradicting flavors. Sadly, instead of being an expensive grouping of delicate candies, it’s more like one of those value boxes with flavors nobody really wants. It wouldn’t be farfetched to say the box was left open by accident for the chocolates to go stale, either.

It’s hard to sum up exactly what Nanbaka is about in a few sentences, since it’s all over the place. What starts off as a comedic spoof show about a group of inmates attempting to break out of prison soon morphs into a read more
Dec 31, 2016
jRad522 (All reviews)
A description of Nanbaka is probably going to make it sound real dumb. This is likey because it really, really is. But the fact it is dumb does not preclude it from being entertaining, and I assure you that it is nothing if not that. I 100% recommend watching it if you are:
A.) In the mood for something funny.
B.) Unbothered by something being really stupid.
C.) Equally unbothered by anime being weird for weird's sake.

Story:
I can best sum up Nanbaka thusly: it is pretty much what would happen if you transformed the Looney Tunes into bishy anime twinks with FABULOUS hair and threw them into a read more
Dec 30, 2016
StrawberryEmmie (All reviews)
NEVER TAKE THIS SHOW SERIOUSLY

Now that that's out of the way, I found enjoyment in this show though the hilarious imagery and funny jokes.

THE STORY is mediocre at best, but it's a comedy, so there's not much you can expect.
THE ART is great. It's the main focus of the comedy element and sometimes is a bit too lenient on it. The art by itself though colorful and wild is sometimes a bit eye bleeding.
THE CHARACTERS aren't varied. They are all just comic relief, which makes them seem bland overall.
OVERALL I liked this show, not to where I'll be recommending read more
Dec 29, 2016
gnerkus (All reviews)
The action/comedy multi-genre is saturated with great shows and awful shows. The great shows are not only deliver brilliant action scenes through the quality of the technical aspects, they’re also hilarious and consistent with the comedy. The poor action/comedy shows either skimp on the quality of the art and sound involved or lack consistency in the comedy or both. Action/comedy shows are at their best when they’re funny or exciting but not when they drift off into needless drama.

Nanbaka falls between the two; it starts out great with an interesting premise and acceptable comedy. But it loses its focus along the way near the end read more
Jan 30, 2017
Plasmatize (All reviews)
Many have heard the old proverb, "If you chase two rabbits, you will not catch either one". By extension, the more rabbits one chases at once, the harder each is to catch. Nanbaka takes this a step further: it starts going after one rabbit, then gets distracted by a bird and later a fish. It unfortunately fails to catch any of them, but at least it looks cool trying.

At its core, Nanbaka is a zany, colourful gag comedy in a prison setting! ...Or is it an action shonen? No? A character drama? In practice, it frequently switches targets when it may have been wiser to read more
Dec 28, 2017
animumbug (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you want to try watching something different from what you usually watch, then this anime is perfect for you. I would recommend this anime to you 1000%

~Spoiler Alert~ (Not much tho)
~Read at your own Risk~

Story(8)- It's about 4 guys who break out of prison with their special abilities and their desires. But after they find the things they desire for, they stop breaking out of prison and stay in the prison, because it provides them with the things they want (not all of them).It mostly focuses on Juugo (MC), who doesn't have something that he wants.

Art(10)- I cannot explain how amazing read more
Jan 1, 2017
xMissMelonx (All reviews)
If there's one thing about anime that I usually avoid, it's either slice of life or more spontaneous gag anime. The latter being the definition of this anime. I originally decided to watch it cause the character designs were interesting and as an aspiring character designer, I decided that I would give it a go and see what this show was really about.

Story: 6
Since this is a gag anime, usually the story isn't very serious or just has a basic scenario. However, similar to Katekyo Hitman Reborn ( originally a gag manga/anime that turned shounen after 20 eps), the story takes much darker turns here read more
Dec 28, 2016
Lefrave (All reviews)
If you came here looking for an immensely meaningful plot that will make you see the world in a completely different way and make you wonder what the purpose of life is, then I'm terribly sorry... you came to the wrong place. Though, if you came here for a short show that will keep you entertained on times when you purely want to watch something simple, but just aren't into those moe-blobs or harem shows, then... nope, not that one either.

Nanbaka offers you the typical gag-anime humor consisting of popular shounen anime "special move" exclamations and pointless comical moments in the middle of serious fights, read more
Feb 8, 2017
trashlovee666 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Stoy
I started this series off thinking it was just going to be a simple prison comedy and BOY WAS I WONG.
Yes, this is a prison comedy but there are times in this series were the mood completely changes. It will be loud bouncy and funny one second then turn to an intense or dramatic scene the next. I was sometimes confused whether I was watching a comedy or a drama because it would break from comedy to have these large emotional dramatic scenes and then go back to its normal bouncy comedy. Also, I sometimes hated the pacing because sometimes it was way too read more
Nov 2, 2017
Half-MagePrince (All reviews)
Have you ever wondered what's a prison feels like? How about a happy prisoners trying to escape a prison? Sounds unrealistic right? Well, of course!!! This anime tells us that situation. It has a happy go lucky vibe like Beelzebub and Assassination Classroom while you are watching this. This kinda reminded me of the Impel Down Arc of One Piece while watching the first episode.

The comedy is very funny. Been laughing so hard. The art is amazing where it comes to the point that you can't tell a boy from a girl based from their appearance. The anime is action-packed and very entertaining to watch. read more
Mar 22, 2017
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Nanbaka is a prison comedy series. The manga was originally written by Futamata Shou. In late 2016, Satelight began airing an anime adaptation. You may remember them as the studio behind Heat Guy J & Sousei no Aquarion. So, how does this one compare to their other works I've reviewed? Let's take a gander.

Story:

Nanba is, supposedly, the world's most formidable prison. With the toughest guards, the most inescapable perimeter, the sparkliest design and the finest dining and recreation services. We follow four prisoners, Juugo, Uno, Rock & Nico, who have escaped from prisons all over the world as they go about their lives and read more
Jan 13, 2017
The_Ruise (All reviews)
Nanbaka is an action dramady that definitely excels at the comedy aspect, but failed to impress me with its more serious plot-building episodes; which seem to outnumber the mostly or strictly comedic ones. I was just in it for the laughs, but it got totally serious after the tournament arc, after which it dove head-first into hidden dark sides and tragic backstories galore. These were never BAD by any means, just kind of mediocre. This being the case, it was never so dull as to make it difficult for me to finish watching an episode, or several in a row.
Jan 1, 2017
TrashDax (All reviews)
In a world where people are born with nail polish...

Story:
Nanbaka is a complete mess. First it starts as a slice-of-life comedy, then it shifts to action shounen, then to drama, then back to comedy and eventually back to drama. I have no idea what the creators were trying to do, but it sure as hell wasn't entertaining the least bit. The main story (if you wanna call it that) is shortly mentioned early on, then forgotten for a good while, then brought back again all of a sudden. Maybe the episode writers should've talked to each other at some point.
1/10

Art:
The character design is a disaster. read more
Dec 28, 2016
ShySorcerer (All reviews)
Hey folks, this will be a review for Nanbaka. I have mixed feelings about this show as a whole. The overall premise and layout was fun and enjoyable to watch. However the dramatic events that arise are really not that deep or extraordinary as some reviews have mentioned. Its those "deep" moments in the later part of the show that really kill the entire thing for me.

The story revolves around 4 prisoners in the most secure and top secret prison in the world. These four prisoners are well known for escaping prisons, Juugo especially. What seems to start off as a comedy show about escaping, read more
Jun 6, 2017
protomug (All reviews)
So, one thing I hate is being promised chocolate but given steak. Let me explain: I love chocolate, and I love steak, but if you tell me you're gonna give me one thing, but I get the other, I'll still be disappointed. This is what Nanbaka did. I went in, having finished the first few episodes, being promised sweet comedy chocolate. I was primed to laugh at the goofy antics of Jyugo and crew, as they lay in a maximum security prison for petty crimes. And you know what? They accomplished what I thought they set out to do. The first few episodes may be read more
Mar 18, 2017
Denisecvo (All reviews)
The creators of Nanbaka looked like they didn't know where they wanted the show wanted to go, the story line went from lighthearted to serious and back to light-hearted before you even know it.

Art:
I absolutely loved the bright colors throughout the show. My only concern is the sparkles that float around throughout the show. These sparkles added a fun touch but when the series got more serious, these sparkles were out of place and took a toll on the dramatic effect.

Sound:
I'm not a huge critic on voice acting but I can say that it sounded pretty good to me :3
I LOVED the opening and read more
May 22, 2018
FlurshkyBlurshky (All reviews)
Now...How the dickens did I find out about this anime called Nanbaka? Well, let me explain. A Mimimi AMV on youtube. I really liked the art style, but I only watched about 30 seconds of it, because I didn't want to look at that many spoilers. It looked like quite the enjoyable comedy anime, which it was for about...6 episodes or so? 8? I don't know. But at one point in the series it went from this: :O

To this: :/
That was because of the (to me) cliche dialogues which hardcore roleplayers would die for, and the lack of comedy. There was a gag here read more
Feb 15, 2018
AmishaelMA (All reviews)
I’ll put it simply: this is one of the most fantastic anime I’ve ever seen. I’d even go so far as to put it in my all-time favourite top three. It’s a rollercoaster ride that takes you from comedy to drama to mystery, and grips you from start to finish. The story is at times so ridiculously comical that it’s obviously a parody of the genre, and at other times so deep and heart-wrenching that you’ll wonder if you’re even watching the same anime as moments before.

That’s not to mention the sheer fabulousness of all the characters, and the setting. Steer far away from read more
Jan 2, 2018
Vongrak (All reviews)
TLDR:
Nanbaka really shines in its art and its characters, the story is alright and the sound design is forgetable

First off, the art. The bright and vibrant colours used for the show really emphasise the lighthearted fun nature of the show, the fact that everything sparkles is immensely comical and I still find great amusement in that simple fact at the end I never think it gets old. Secondly the art contrasts with the setting to allows the shows tonal shifts to not feel jarring.

Characters. The Characters a the single best thing about the show, I believe that all of the supporting cast in this show read more
Sep 2, 2017
DarkLewis99 (All reviews)
Quick disclaimer before I start this review. Is Nanbaka one full season, or is there two seasons. Because Crunchyroll advertised it as one season with 25 episodes while Myanimelist treated it as two separate seasons. Either way, as of this review I will be reviewing Nanbaka based on the 25 episodes that I watched. And by god, what a load of crap this was in the end. You know if I ever had to make a comparison to Nanbaka, I would compare it to the Sonic The Hedgehog franchise. It was praised at birth, went through a horrible phase at one point, became good again read more