Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Seikai no Monshou


Alternative Titles

English: Crest of the Stars
Japanese: 星界の紋章

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 3, 1999 to Mar 28, 1999
Premiered: Winter 1999
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Bandai Visual, WOWOW, BeSTACK
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Light novel
Duration: 26 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.751 (scored by 14,124 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #10092
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2175
Members: 36,404
Favorites: 382

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 14, 2008
Alexius (All reviews)
While it was by far not magnificent in terms of its appearance or in terms of a number of those other elements that we greatly take for advantage from the more recent anime with improved graphics and sound, this older "space drama" drew me in from the first episode, beguiling me with its interesting story and interesting cinematography and storytelling. It's hard-pressed to find an anime like Seikai no Monshou, with its same blend of both serious and entertaining drama and dialogue, and its very intense space battle action scenes.

Seikai no Monshou has a story that was both pure in its innocence and compelling in read more
Sep 11, 2009
kerlyenai (All reviews)
*This review contains spoilers

A rating of 1/10 is way too low to be left unjustifed and that is why I wrote this review.

One of the oldest tricks in the trade is to create an overly intricate setting to try and mask the bias and deceit in an artwork. In my opinion, Seikai no Monshou does this and worse. I will try to explain why I came to this conclusion and I hope to do so in a way that will not seem offensive to anyone.

Story: 1/10
"Crest of the Stars" takes place in an imaginary future where a race, formerly engineered by humans, has created a read more
Dec 18, 2010
darkcommanderq (All reviews)
Overview: Crest of the Stars is by far one of my all time favorite anime. That said it is not for everyone. The show is set far into the future were humans have colonized the entire galaxy. The two main characters Jinto and Lafiel are well developed and entertaining to watch. If there is a down side to this show it is that it is rather slow paced, and involves a great deal of dialog. Although there are action scenes in the show, this is not for people with short attention spans.

Story: There are two stories taking place in crest read more
Nov 1, 2016
MisterGibbon (All reviews)
Crest of the Stars is a show that starts off with such great artistic promise, and such effortless mastery of the art of storytelling, that it might seem downright insane of me (or anyone, for that matter) to ultimately award it a score of 1. The problem then, is that it presents a distorted picture of its own premise, and it isn't until close to the very end that it reveals itself to be something that's shockingly nasty and horrifying, and in a way that makes its artistic accomplishments come across in extremely horrible taste. And till then, it comes across as an especially read more
Mar 11, 2015
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

People often have vastly different upbringings. While there are obviously certain positive or preferred ways in which to flourish, occasionally, given the situation, such luxuries cannot be granted. Sometimes it's entirely based off of financial standing or the location where one lives. Other times it's based off of racial or ethnic disparity. But no matter the case, it is almost always outside of one's control. And so it becomes less about how the world sees you, and more about how you see yourself. Such is the anime Crest of the Stars, a simple beginning to a galactic journey.

STORY

Crest read more
Mar 16, 2013
AbhLeaderKrelian (All reviews)
In the far future, mankind is on the brink of entering a galactic war with the alien race Abh, as earth is preparing for battle, without firing a single plasma beam, their leader Rock Linn surrenders. In the middle of all this is Jinto Linn, the cowardly leader's son whom is only at the time 10 years old. What will become of mankind after its conquering? Will the human race be destroyed? Who are the Abh and what are their intentions? These answers and more in the beginning of the epic Seikai saga!

Story

The main story begins 7 years after mankind’s surrender to the Abh. Jinto read more
Aug 21, 2018
PlatinuMan (All reviews)
Crest of the Stars is a tale of futuristic fighting between two factions: the "alien" race of the Abh and mankind. The Abh aren't necessarily alien as they are enhanced humans - they have altered genes that give them prominent features such as longer youth and blue hair. They were originally intended to be "living machines" to mankind but soon found independence on a space voyage for new planets to inhabit. They follow a imperial system, with influential families having elaborate names and taking top positions in the economy or military. Humans are split into 4 differ factions that ultimately make the United Mankind. A read more
Apr 2, 2015
Cryptic-senpai (All reviews)
Science-fiction has got to be one of my favourite genres. Some of my most beloved books are sci-fi, and it doesn't take much sifting through them to figure out what I like. I love the meshing of human and alien cultures; seeing how they interact with one another and how they compare and contrast is one of the most fascinating parts of those sort of books, in my opinion. Spaceship battles take a back seat – while they can be interesting, I have to be invested in the characters first. That's what psychology and the glimpse of a well-written and imagined society give me: grounds read more
Oct 2, 2015
Mark_Taylor (All reviews)
The very essence of cartoons is that they possess the ability to 'stretch reality'. In other words, to take an initial idea or assumption that we are all familiar with and then start pulling at it very hard. Taking that which is so clearly absurd and taking it to its logical conclusion.
This is why cartoons and satire make for excellent bedfellows. Since after all, the latter is doing exactly the same thing. From Hogarth to Watterson, with Tenniel, Shultz, Uderzo, and Groening somewhere inbetween. Yet rarely if ever has anyone dared to make a good space satire. Animated or otherwise.
Though it may seem at first read more
Aug 14, 2016
BowlingJD (All reviews)
Studio Sunrise just pumps out anime. Also, there are two people to note of in terms of the Crest/Banner of the Stars anime (Seikai Series), and those are unknown director Yasuchika Nagaoka whom worked on all of the Seikai Series before going freelance, and original creator Hiroyuki Morioka. Notably, Morioka created an entire language with an alphabet (Ath) called Baronh just for the main alien race, the Abh. From 1999-2005 the Seikai Series anime went through 3 separate seasons plus an OVA to finish up.

Seikai’s story focuses around a young man named Jinto. As a child, his planet was taken over by the Abh and read more
Mar 27, 2019
AbhEmpire (All reviews)
A master piece of an anime that is certainly lost in the time of the early 2000's. This series not only brings originality with story and the surrounding environment it also introduces the concept of love without the physical part. True emotional love and care between two characters in an all out war against humankind. Jinto is a well reserved and good manner male character that shows his lack of understanding of his environments and carelessness. Lafiel is a strong female lead that also has her own draw backs, but when the two face countless challenges and battles they make a perfect couple as each read more
Mar 14, 2017
RedPlaty (All reviews)
Seikai no Monshou is a must see for space-alien anime fanatics, of any age, despite that a lot of people do not like anime from before 2000. In my opinion, this show is great because of how successful it became, with two other full sequels and a bunch of ova's, specials, and movies to go along with. This series was fun to watch and easily got me hooked. As the story progresses, one can feel fully immersed in this space world, and even find themselves in relatable positions. The story is about a boy, Jinto, who is the son of the president of Planet Martine. read more
Jan 8, 2018
GrayRealm (All reviews)
This is .... truly something.

This anime has some of the best character portrayals I ever saw. The story also wonderfully handles exposition and calmly shows the world and its aspects.... the creators even went as far as to write full language for the universe. Every episode starts with small exposition and backstory told in that language. Coupled with amazing music, the whole thing feels magical.

So... why not 10/10? Well... there are few minor issues, and the anime is just too short. Only 13 episodes. When you watch it, it feels like you're seeing a beginning of something like another Legends of Galactic Heroes.... but then read more