Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Charlotte


Alternative Titles

English: Charlotte
Japanese: Charlotte(シャーロット)

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 5, 2015 to Sep 27, 2015
Premiered: Summer 2015
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: P.A. Works
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.921 (scored by 255,375 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6342
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #78
Members: 431,628
Favorites: 7,728

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 26, 2015
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

Tell me if this description sounds familiar: “A group of ‘special’ highschoolers defined almost exclusively by archetypes and/or tragic pasts form an organization together. They don’t really get along at first, but they get to know each other extremely intimately over time, eventually culminating in a romance. Many tragic events take place as the innocent and sympathizable highschoolers are victimized by the cruel, cruel world. Eventually, they must accept sacrifice to fulfill their lives and destinies.” Some of you are probably thinking “That’s Angel Beats!”, while the rest of you are probably thinking “That’s Charlotte!” Well, good news: You’re both right, because for read more
Dec 9, 2015
williamthechen (All reviews)
Mod Edit: Review contains spoilers

It all starts with a meteor which gives special powers to childs till their teen years strike, which then they forget about their powers and completely lose them.And ofcourse Jun Maeda( famous for making clannad and angel beats ) writes this anime and forcing some melodrama in the middle of the anime.
While a mere teen "Otosaka Yuu" has to cure them all from their " disease" so that they won't be experimentated by the government.

At the start of the anime Yuu has the power to plunder other abilities but he doesnt know that, and he has the power to control someone read more
Sep 26, 2015
ObjectiveOpinion (All reviews)
Charlotte can be described like a Golden Corral buffet table: you come in the hungry and with high expectation, and its packed to the brim with all sorts of things you love and recognize, such as selfish Lelouch esque protagonist, the reality of Chuunibyou, the (attempted) feels and moe of Clannad, the humor of Angel Beats!, a Kokoro Connecty set-up, siscom, time-travel, tsundere, yandere, super powers, Slice of Life, light-gore, pop idol songs, love confessions, etc. You read right; this show has yandere characters. This show is packed to the brim with cool motifs, but you're only able to leave with a sick feeling of read more
Sep 26, 2015
Tozzy (All reviews)
Preliminary
Oh Charlotte, where did we go so wrong? You looked like you’d be an interesting story revolving around students coping with super powers but instead you offered up a story with about as much direction as a goldfish with Alzheimer’s. The anime packed a tonne of ideas and characters into too small a space and it started to burst at the seams. Charlotte, from the mind of writer Jun Maeda and put to screen by P.A. Works, promised a lot. Script writer Maeda looked to address the pacing problems prevalent in his earlier work Angel Beats and deliver a similar emotional ‘punch’ at the same read more
Sep 20, 2015
Vorcia (All reviews)
I was (mildly) hyped for this show.
I kept watching it thinking the next episode was going to be really good, and I almost got it with the last a couple minutes of a certain episode making me really hyped for the next one.
And here we are, all wrapped up, and with my score, you can probably tell what I thought of it.

The story for Charlotte is dreadful, being plagued by inconsistencies, with minimal character development, and most of the development is reverted anyway so who cares at this point. Nothing even happens in term of story progression or character development for the first, I don't read more
Sep 27, 2015
PantsuuGod (All reviews)
An outstanding, dramatic, and heartwarming story that will make the biggest man "shred dem tears".

Each Character is given a whole episode for introductions and has a backstory. And as you continue through this series you will see the main character Otosaka Yuu changing positively, as he was a narcissist and knocked down other peoples for his own good, to become a friendly teenager that cares for his friends and others.

One of the most appealing points of this anime is the Art and I especially loved the characters' eyes when activating their powers.
Charlotte is truly incredible, with its amazing and emotional story, lovable characters and beautiful read more
Sep 26, 2015
cullo99 (All reviews)
Well this is my first review so if anyone notices an orography mistake, punctuation mistake, etc, i hope you can tell me so i can improve. Now im ready!
When i heard about key making a new anime i was excited up to the roof, when the show charlotte started i grabbed my laptop lock myself in my room and wait for the tears to come but... that didnt happened.

Story 8/10
Well i thought the concept of the story was perfect, the ideas of diseases of superpowers that they only last during adolescence it blow my mind. But the idea that the serie it was only read more
Dec 15, 2015
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

You find it strange that a line is missing for the ride, but you chalk it up to luck. At some point, you find the lone worker, his nametag reading J.M. He instructs you to climb the ladder before you, with you more than willing to do so. J.M. smiles and waves you off, and you climb.

The climb was quick because of how thrilling it was along the way. You are now at the top, with you overlooking the entire park. A sign says to sit down on the platform. At first, you wonder why there read more
Sep 26, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
The way I look at Charlotte is like a show that started off buzzing with potentially well-thought ideas. Then as time went on, it really crashed and burned. Like almost pouring rice.

Charlotte, an original show conceived by Jun Maeda, is a series made by Aniplex and P.A. Works. The series takes place in a world where a small percentage of people manifest supernatural powers. While this hardly sounds original, Charlotte does have a unique presence with its characters. Yuu Otosaka, a first year student at Hoshinoumi Academy, developed his ability to possess others temporarily and made himself a fake academic honor student. The first read more
Nov 24, 2015
unknownwhos (All reviews)
I started watching charlotte after I saw one of the scene in the meme. The sheer number of negative remarks lead me to write this review and also because how much I liked it. Now It got me hooked right from the start, that ability with the person with that attitude. I think most people, if not everyone, would use the ability protagonist has any differently than he did, which made him relatable.

This is the first anime in a long time that I have watched where I didn't disliked the main protagonist. Nobody blushes as much as other drama anime. I couldn't guess what read more
Nov 29, 2015
Lanz (All reviews)
I'll have a rant with Charlotte. It deserves it. Why isn't there a zero score for 'story'?

It is oft repeated that everybody, well not everybody, but many people, had high hopes for Charlotte, and that 'people' includes me in the ranks. It was the first name on my team sheet for the summer season. Such a waste.

It's also repeated that it started okay and plunged down after a certain point. This plays true to the words, it shot up the horribility scale after about EP8. Everything went wrong. The pacing, the character development. But especially the plot. The believability of that plot. Plot holes are read more
Oct 3, 2015
zediby (All reviews)
*SPOILER FREE*
Here it is.

For me, Charlotte was a really good work overall. It was probably the best out of the Summer 2015 season, and honestly one of my favorites in my anime experience so far.

*
*
*

STORY - 8/10

Don't get me wrong, the synopsis sounded so cliche and so boring I didn't actually feel like watching this in the first place - what actually gave me the push to was the poster art (we'll get into that later, anyway) - but it surprised me really much. It had really surprising plots, and the feel you had while watching everything happen, characters showing up, everything, wasn't constant. read more
Sep 26, 2015
Zadion (All reviews)
ambivalence.

Key is a household name for any anime connoisseur. Even those with a mere passive interest in the medium as a whole are probably familiar with at least one of Key’s titles—a close friend of mine whose anime experience mostly encompasses Naruto knows Clannad as “that anime which gives people the sads” and subsequently won’t watch it because “it’ll give me the sads.” Clannad: After Story has permanently lodged itself within MAL’s top 10, several other Key titles (such as Angel Beats! and Kanon) receive a lot of love around here, and multiple Key visual novels have received wide acclaim, with Clannad, Little Busters, and read more
Oct 1, 2015
Grumpsy (All reviews)
I initially started writing this review after episode 11. Now that the show is finished, my views remain largely the same. If anything, I squeezed a little extra enjoyment out of viewing these last couple episodes as a parody, because this anime was very disappointing.

Charlotte is written by Jun Maeda and animated by P.A. Works. As such, it carries the weight of its history. Maeda is the writer responsible for such famous and popular works as Clannad, Kanon, and Angel Beats, and P.A. Works bears the main animation title for some of my personal favorite anime like Shirobako and Nagi no Asukara. Charlotte does read more
Dec 8, 2015
Fredorito (All reviews)
First of all...I started watching anime not so long ago. Charlotte is a anime where the world is very curious. Not realistic...darker but hopeful.
The STORY that gets really interesting by every chapter have just one problem. Its like every 3 or 2 episodes the anime changes from slice of life to drama, and after 2 comes back to slice of life and then romance and then action. Many people disliked this but I love it. It let me think and watch every part of the anime deeper and gave me enough to still being curious.
What can I say about the ART...just "P.A.Works.". Beutiful environment by read more
Dec 2, 2015
LittleTwilight (All reviews)
-THIS REVIEW CONTAINS A FEW SPOILERS-


Charlotte seems to be the "Key" title that sticks out the most from the bunch. Not only is it an original story, but it also has a darker and more complicated story. Yes. COMPLICATED. As it is a Key title, many people got hyped up for it before it came out and it has become one of the most popular shows of not only the Summer 2015 season, but in 2015 as well. So how is it really?

Story: 3/10

As with all the Key titles, Charlotte starts off as this happy, school feeling slice-of-life show. A few episode later it dives read more
Sep 26, 2015
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
Charlotte is another one of those controversial anime which you see people complaining about *everywhere* yet it still actually has pretty decent ratings. From this we can deduce that there are probably a lot of people hating on it mostly because everyone else is doing it and they don't want to stand out, and/or that the show is mostly successful among casual viewers who don't bother speaking their mind about it over the internet to begin with. It all sounds uncannily similar to the public view on Sword Art Online in that sense, doesn't it? And in the same way, while Charlotte is certainly not read more
Nov 16, 2015
Toonyoungster (All reviews)
If I were to summarize Charlotte, it would be like trying to make soup by throwing all your favorite foods into a pot. It doesn’t work like that.

So what are our ingredients?

1) Good-looking audience surrogate male protagonist. 2) Equally good-looking female protagonist with tragic backstory. 3) Super kawaii imouto. 4) Glasses-wearing idol fanboy. 5) Moe idol character. 6) High school setting. 7) Government baddies. 8) Supernatural abilities 9) Deaths, but not really. 10) Romantic subplot…see where I’m going with this?

The biggest problem for Charlotte seems to be its inherent lack of confidence in having compelling characters and telling an interesting story. Hell, read more
Sep 29, 2015
WattheWut (All reviews)
Hi there. How's it going.

UPDATE

I originally dropped this show at 8 episodes, having felt that this show was possibly going to be one of the worst experiences I have ever had. However, I decided to complete it to fully deiscern for myself whether or not it was as bad as I thought. Now, after finishing the 5 episodes that I neglected, I can safely say:

That this show is one of the worst shows I have ever seen, and far worse than I could have imagined at that.

Now, the way that I rate shows is fully detailed on my profile, so look there for my read more
May 19, 2017
bmoore07 (All reviews)
It was the summer of 2006, the heat rather modest (a rarity in my hometown of Augusta, GA), and I was aiming to make a quick buck. Roused by the success of my parents’ yard sale earlier that day, I convinced my little brother to follow me door-to-door, selling T-shirts and books, my books. I aspired to become an author (even back then) yet lacked the necessities to further my vision. What I did was borrow the books on my shelf, glue my name where the author’s should be, and sold other people’s products as though it were my own. It was an utterly disgusting read more