Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kyoukai no Rinne


Alternative Titles

English: RIN-NE
Japanese: 境界のRINNE

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2015 to Sep 19, 2015
Premiered: Spring 2015
Broadcast: Saturdays at 17:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Brain's Base
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.941 (scored by 22,464 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #40262
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1498
Members: 67,802
Favorites: 125

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 28, 2015
ZephSilver (All reviews)
When talking about any show, I often take extra precaution to avoid marginalizing the work by use of buzzwords. This isn't to say that the usage of certain words don't help others to understand where you're coming from, but rather, when a word is overused, it begins to lose value to many that have grown accustomed to it. After a while, it's desensitized to the point where people would write you off as just another "pseudo-critic" with nothing left to say, and understandably so. But sometimes, I find the aid of commonly used words to just be unavoidable. Sometimes, no other word works better to read more
Apr 19, 2016
tsuguruni (All reviews)
The story is not really original or complex, it is another Rumiko Takahashi works, and that is the best and maybe the worst you can say about this anime. If you enjoy Ranma, Inuyasha or Maison Ikkoku then you would probably enjoy this new work, otherwise better try to look for something else. It has the same kind of comedy, similar drawing style, similar kind of romance... this anime make me feel like watching a 90s anime, I mean the drawing style is old, characters as well give me a feel of old style (that do not correspond to the typical cliches that we read more
Sep 24, 2015
Kurama4Ever (All reviews)
In all honesty this series is about as basic as it gets. Its an episodic comedy anime. And just from that you pretty much know exactly what to expect.

As far as story, the series is....pretty mediocre. As I've already said, the series is very episodic. This can be fine in shows like Mushishi or Death Parade where you have an overarching character story that shows the progression of each character throughout the series. However, no such story is present in Rin-Ne. Or at least its not all that prominent. Sure there is sort of a romance plot, but by the end of the first season read more
Sep 26, 2015
SparklingSilver (All reviews)
Preliminary
Rinne will be reckoned to most as a boring anime, but it's a rough diamond unless you just want to have a relaxing watch and a short laugh.

Story (6): mainly episodic in nature, it does not have too much plot involved, which is a reason you can just jump in at any episode.

Art (7): although not the best, the art style is suited for the lame comedic effect that views, such as me enjoy. Overall, the art is consistent but lacks depth in battles and certain scenes.

Sound (7): the sound is expressive of the fun and wacky nature of this anime. Nothing memorable though.

Enjoyment read more
Jan 19, 2018
kisb (All reviews)
Kyoukai no Rinne is an episodic supernatural comedy which is quite funny and enjoyable if you dont go in with too many expectations

Kyoukai no Rinne follows
Mamiya Sakura (the best Sakura ever), a first year in high school who was spirited away as a little girl and after being saved, she was left with the ability to see ghosts / spirits
and also follows Rokudo Rinne a really broke half human, half shinigami who works hard as a shinigami inorder to get paid but is met with slight mishaps here and there

It very much reminded me of Noragami and Inuyasha but more comedic and not read more
Jan 9, 2016
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

Specters. The supernatural. Spirits, as they are most commonly called. For some, there is a staunch belief that beings from beyond still roam the Earth. The idea is that they physically cannot manifest as their corporeal selves. However, through their ghastly ways, it is possible to feel their presence or hear their meddling.

Kyoukai no Rinne is an anime about these very spirits. Good spirits, bad spirits, spirit whisperers, spirit exorcists, and so on. The show is replete with spirits of all shapes and sizes, all backgrounds and creeds. While not necessarily spiritual, the amount of spirits read more
Apr 23, 2016
Tokis86 (All reviews)
Kyoukai no Rinne is a lighthearted supernatural anime.
It has comedy moments and it's pace is gentle. It does not take itself too seriously. It is primarily focused around the lives of 2 teenagers who go to the same school together;

Mamiya Sakura: A fairly quiet teenage girl who has a "go with the flow" attitude. She is quite perceptive (and reasonably popular) and in many regards, totally average for a teenage girl except for one thing: When a child she gained an ability (which she keeps secret) to see spirits and other otherworldly beings. One day she discovers that one of her classmates (Rokudou read more
Oct 3, 2015
NewbieJun (All reviews)
No worries, no worries
There's a second season, so no worries~

Short Summary:
Sakura Mamiya, a main character of the series disappears once when she was a child. She came back safely but returned back with the power to see ghosts.
Now as a teenager she has gotten tired of seeing ghosts and wished they would leave her alone. At school, next to Sakura is a desk that has been empty since the start of the year and one day out of nowhere the classmate who sits there shows up!
Just who is this person??

Soooooooo, where to start?

I guess I enjoyed this series. Although I'm worried about the fact that read more
Sep 24, 2015
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Spirits and the afterlife are common things in anime. Sometimes they're about the more serious side of things where spirits are corrupted and wish for human destruction. And other times they're...basically harmless. Kyoukai no Rinne, hosts the latter of the two.

Story: The story of Kyoukai no Rinne follows the story of Mamiya Sakura, a girl who has the remarkable power of being able to see spirits. With this seer sight, she is able to see spirits day to day throughout her entire town. One day in class, she finds a mysterious battle between a boy that looks vaguely familiar to read more
Mar 10, 2016
skyfall448 (All reviews)
I'm surprised at how negative the reviews for this show are to be honest because I rather enjoyed it. Written by Rumiko Takahashi of Ranma 1/2 and Inuyasha fame I think it's has exactly the similar light hearted romantic comedy kind of vibe more the former than latter.

It never actually gets serious and as some have said episodic but there is interesting character backstory. The fighting is more comical in nature than life endangering and the character designs are quite nice.

I love the first opening and its a completely light hearted show that never takes itself seriously so the viewer really shouldn't either. read more
Apr 27, 2016
ippairena (All reviews)
I still really enjoyed watching Rinne, even though it's not as good as Inu Yasha or Ranma 1/2.

Story: I don't have a problem with this anime having no significant plot at all; I actually thought that it was done intentionally. The story is entirely about comedy with lots of Japanese supernatural elements being thrown here and there, and the plot isn't that hard to understand.

Art: Pretty standard and animation during certain action scenes were too simplistic, but i do enjoyed the use of bright color contrast. The colors looked pretty and vibrant.

Sound: I think the sound was the strongest element for Rinne. I especially read more
Sep 9, 2017
Sayakadark (All reviews)
It's not every day I can fire off a solid 10/10 rating in all six rating fields, but for a series called Kyoukai no Rinne (RIN-NE) it's not a problem to do so at all!

I consider all of Rumiko Takahashi's stories to be outstanding. I just love how she tells her stories in the forum of short-stories. Whether they be in the forum of a mystery or long-lost love that gets reunited, Rumiko Takahashi has a special way at bringing her stories together, even if they do not always have a serious ending!

RIN-NE tells the story about Sakura Mamiya, a first year high read more
Apr 4, 2016
redhope (All reviews)
If you loved Inuyasha you probably will love this. This show really deserves a second season which it is getting and I will definitely watch. The characters are unique and colorful. The art is pretty good and colorful. And the story is interesting and very entertaining. I also enjoyed this shows comedy very much. However, I do have a few complaints. The characters really need a bit more development and the story could be added onto. The shows main focus is comedy, but should have still focused on the story a bit more. Overall it was a very good anime. So I would suggest watching read more
Dec 27, 2018
Meew2 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Let me start off by saying my mean average score didn't come to 7, it came to 6.6.

Before I start bashing this show for being unoriginal in it's presentation I have to first give it some merit in how it feels clandestinely retro. Kyoukai no Rinne feels more like a Urusei Yatsura or Ranma 1/2 sort of show and could possibly have been the precursor for Inuyasha. Since Takahashi Rumiko is the Mangaka this wouldn't surprise me; it feels like a 'back-burner' idea that never took fruition until recently. It could also be her trying to get back into the medium and failing horribly, who read more
Mar 29, 2017
Geo_Torres (All reviews)
Let me say this from the get go, this anime will not be for everyone. So it will largely subjective whether you find this anime to be the following; funny, entertaining, or have any qualities in an anime you would enjoy. What I can do is tell you why I find this anime to be largely under rated, so this is not a review to diminish anyone's opinion, rather provide more insight why someone should reconsider. This review of mine, will not have any spoilers. Rather it will give out little clues in the show of why I think it is largely under rated.

My read more
Mar 17, 2018
DesolatePsyche (All reviews)
Preliminary
First things first. My "reviews" system is explained on a blog entry. Which can be found through my profile.
------

✦Story
In a sense an old school Anime, something that has a vibe of "Inuyasha". So basically we get adventure of characters in a world of onmyouji powers. Classic Japan heave/hell thematic and characteristics. With a small twist of how various abilities and tools cost offering money. I do love onmyouji topics and such Anime, they classy and fun. But this one felt really underwhelming. Is it as it had great ideas and light-hearted entertainment, but I fell as story was irrelevant in this Anime or simply read more
Sep 23, 2015
StigmataSasha (All reviews)
What the ballocks is this?! Is this memes?! - Kyoukai no Rinne review

Rinne is an anime adaption of the same author who wrote and illustrated the classic manga Inuyasha. However, Rinne quickly becomes a parody of itself and lacks the passionate writing of its fore sibling. It is completely undermined by lackluster characters, mediocre plot, and repetitive gags that quickly loses its substance. While I did have personal enjoyments throughout the show, it is far from redeemable.

The premise of Rinne is quite simple. Our heroine, Mamiya Sakura, wanders into the spirit world and after coming back to the real world she can see ghosts. One read more
Sep 27, 2015
Minechi (All reviews)
Preliminary

Takahashi, Rumiko if you are new to her then you will most likely enjoy it but if you are not then this review is for you.

Story:6
It is all been there done that. Nothing new here..
For Takahashi, Rumiko.. The writer of Ranma 1/2, Inuyasha... It is a spin-off of her previous art work..
The anime is supposed to be lighthearted Rom-Com supernatural.. If you are looking for a bit of drama/love triangle/unrequited love then this is not an anime for you. Again it's either a hit or a miss depending upon your taste.


Similarities with Inuyasha
If you haven't got the hint of where I am going then, read more
Mar 7, 2017
Leah45 (All reviews)
I browsed through many anime cartoons, and none caught me to watch it after InuYasha. However, when I watched 1st episode of Rinne, I got attached to this anime immediately.
This is exactly what you can watch after InuYasha, same good in quality anime, more modern times story.
If you want positive feel good entertaining, watch this anime. Great quality, great story and characters are so well described, almost like they have soul of their own (become alive). Same thing was in InuYasha - the anime characters as if became alive - same thing is with Rinne. Great work of read more