Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Yoru no Yatterman


Alternative Titles

English: Yatterman Night
Japanese: 夜ノヤッターマン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 11, 2015 to Mar 29, 2015
Premiered: Winter 2015
Broadcast: Sundays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.581 (scored by 9,031 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #51422
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2118
Members: 24,298
Favorites: 25

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 9, 2015
smileyboyrocks (All reviews)
Preliminary
[The bulk of this review was written after the release of episode 9]

If you can imagine a situation in which Schindler's List knocks up Kill la Kill, and the subsequent child is raised primarily by a nanny called Spongebob Squarepants, then it's entirely possible that you're imagination is just a little too active for your own good.

Sorry, sorry, serious face now. I have to confess that I find it incredibly difficult to gauge exactly what kind of show Yoru no Yatterman is trying to be. On the one hand, it's set in a bleak dystopia where a combination of fabricated history and rule by an read more
Jul 6, 2015
karlstein12 (All reviews)
Note that while writing this review I haven't seen the prequels or the previously associated shows to Yoru no Yatterman so I will focus solely on the mentioned title.

Yoru no Yatterman is quite an eccentric anime that appeared this Winter season. So basically it's a reboot or rather a side story to an anime not very popular, but familiar among some of the fans it has. When I first encountered this title, the synopsis didn't quite match as to what I was seeking about the basics of the premise of the anime, and thus decided to give it a go knowing that it has read more
May 18, 2015
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

I love my mom. She’s the woman who not only raised me from child to adult but also provided me with the guidance necessary to look at life in a good way. “Something nice always follows something bad,” “what goes around, comes around,” and “karma works in mysterious ways” are some of the phrases she normally uses. Goodness is something that is always around no matter how bad something might be. It’s a simple idea that makes living life that much more enjoyable. Knowing that doing good deeds brings about good, and even if a bump read more
Mar 29, 2015
MrPooey (All reviews)
*Edit made on Monday 6th April. Slight fixes + Story from 8-7 (just thought 7 was more appropriate) + Revised comment on the first episode tone compared to the rest of the series (2nd paragraph).

* Edit Sunday 28th July. Just reviewed my review and lowered some scores. This was mostly brought about by comparing this anime to others on my list and thinking, 'hmm is this really as good as that?'. Though, the personal enjoyment I got from this series is not equal to the sum of its parts. This anime was weird.

I've seen so many people showing this series negativity, regarding tone shifts, read more
Mar 29, 2015
DatRandomDude (All reviews)
Alright, second try at reviewing. If i failed at something like repeating something well ... sorry. ._.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yoru No Yatterman was a fun ride. Sadly, it went under the radar of a lot of people. It wasn't the best of this winter season but it wasn't bad like a lot of people says. Is it worth your time ? Let's look at it.

Story : 6

Leopard, Elephantus and Voltkatze are descendant of the Doronbow gang, who were the antagonist of the Yatterman series. They live with Lepoard's mother somewhere outside the Yatterman Kingdom walls because their ancestor got kicked out of the kingdom. read more
Apr 20, 2015
Flawfinder (All reviews)
There are all kind of reasons for Japan to reboot/remake an old classic from introducing the past to a new generation to celebrating a specific anniversary date, and Tatsunoko’s second Yatterman remake definitely belongs in the latter category with a bit of the former mixed into it. But even if that’s the intention, that doesn’t negate everything else a new iteration of an old children’s cartoon that no one outside of Japan really cares all that much about can bring. You can get new generations interested in the old property, you can update the material so that it’s not only enjoyed by nostalgia-blinded morons who read more
Apr 17, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
To be honest, this show looks like something made from out a some video game. Although not part of any game universe, the series is inspired by a franchise in the 1970s under a similar banner. As a way to celebrate the 40th anniversary of the Time Bokan series, Yatterman Night (Yatterman of the Night) is this oddball show produced by Tatsunoko Production with a whole lot to give. If science fiction and adventure is part of your vocabulary, then Yatterman should be nothing less than of a treat.

Coming into this show fresh, I didn’t know what to expect. I didn’t watch the original read more
Aug 22, 2016
BasementOtaku (All reviews)
I made a video: you can find it at my YouTube channel "BasementOtaku"

Video Script:

Yatterman Night (7/10): To learn more about my rating system check the description down below. Not it is time to dive into this spoiler smattered review.

I am a big fan of original shows, not being tied to a source material means the show can have a conclusive ending and balance the pacing of episodes easier without tip toeing around a core story. Yatterman Night has some truly stand out episodes, episode four had me aghast that the show was willing to get that dark and the final episode, while it had read more
Dec 22, 2015
gedata (All reviews)
I don’t think I’ve seen a show from 2015 go as far south from what I initially wanted from it more than Yatterman Night. For those of you who don’t know about this series, it’s basically yet another retooling of those old Japanese kids show franchises no one cares about in a similar vein as something like Casshern Sins or Gatchaman Crowds. Yatterman Night is a far-flung sequel to the Yatterman franchise (meant to commemorate the 40th anniversary of the original series) in which the roles of the original heroes and villains have been reversed in a huge way. The legacy of the original heroes, read more
Jun 29, 2016
Satsugai_Otaku (All reviews)
Yoru no Yatterman also known as yatterman nights......
this anime is the adaption of the classical anime Yatterman but of course you dont need to watch yatterman before watching this anime because this anime follows a complete different story line......
this anime is a highly unpopular anime .....i doubt anyone would have heard about it....any ways its also highly underrated.....
i enjoyed alot in this anime and i hope you would too because this anime has used a proper balance between comedy ... seriousness ... and action....
its a funny thing to say but this anime has also featured some of the comic superheroes..... for e.g : Hulk .... read more
Mar 12, 2017
RanPratama (All reviews)
Hello, my first review here, I really like this side story because there are connections to the original series, What i really loved is that if you are watching anime on 90's-2000's you will feel very nostalgic because there are many cameo (I don't want to spoil it). and this anime make me cry numerous time because the characters bond and development and those plot twist.

so I think I can understand for people that just recently watched anime can't get my feelings, because I am not just watched this series, but grow old together with this series..

last, sorry for my engrish, hehehe.
Jan 15, 2016
Corocis (All reviews)
Yoru no Yatterman is a story about seeking the truth within dystopian world created by superhero regime.

The presentation of the show was alright at the beginning but later lose focus and fails to have an impressive narrative. The plot is about innocent girl wanting to find the reason behind her family's exile in this desolate land. Leopard learns of her ancestor's legacy and the Yatterman ultimately triumphing over the villains.

This however can't be further from the truth. Leopard accepting the label of villain by this legacy, fights back against the Yatterman to learn why the good guys didn't help her mother. And thus begins the read more
Sep 25, 2015
zeratus (All reviews)
Disclaimer: I love this show. I also might be thinking way to much about the message of this show.

Should You watch this show:
-Short version: Yes;
-Long version: Come back after you watched the show.

So I do not make a habit of writing reviews, as it means a lot of work, but I have seen all the negative and mixed responses for this show and I want to defend it as I found it quite good (second favorite show of Winter 2015, after Your lie in April).

So what is Yoru no Yatterman?
It is a spiritual successor and a tribute read more
Jul 4, 2016
Vaenny (All reviews)
Have you ever wondered what it'd look like if villains turned into heroes and heroes turned into villains? Well this anime dives into that idea.

You may not be familiar with Yatterman because it's mainly a kids' show. But this anime created a concept which was so crazy it just might work. And it did. When our story revolves around the villain, our perspective also changes. We think the MC always wins just 'cause the plot demands it. But in this series, our villains don't always win. Most of their efforts are rewarded with failure. And that just shows that every person is flawed, be it read more
Jun 18, 2015
skysonglark (All reviews)
Yoru no Yatterman starts out full of promise. The premise is interesting, the execution spot-on, some themes and ideas are tossed around. . .

Then the halfway point happens and it's all downhill from there. We fall into some Saturday-morning-cartoon tropes, cut some corners, repeat some frames in the finale obviously enough to make one cringe, and all in all the show ends up being a bit of a letdown, really. Too many dumb jokes in quick succession, and it's all the more disappointing because the first half was so great. Even the ending seems to be an afterthought and felt to me like something of read more