Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Dungeon ni Deai wo Motomeru no wa Machigatteiru Darou ka


Alternative Titles

English: Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon?
Synonyms: DanMachi, Is It Wrong That I Want to Meet You in a Dungeon
Japanese: ダンジョンに出会いを求めるのは間違っているだろうか

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2015 to Jun 27, 2015
Premiered: Spring 2015
Broadcast: Saturdays at 01:05 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.811 (scored by 438,861 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8922
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #59
Members: 731,736
Favorites: 8,283

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 26, 2015
Tozzy (All reviews)
There are times you get a reminder that no matter how many swords, boobs and magic you throw at a show it can’t save it from the boring characters among it all. Welcome to the world of Dungeon ni Deai wo Motomeru no wa Machigatteiru Darou ka, where strong personalities are obviously illegal and main characters are inexplicably attractive to women. A 13-episode fantasy story put to screen by J.C. Staff and based on a light novel, ‘DanMachi’ can at times be an enjoyable experience if you shut your brain off. Action is served up in droves but in an equal share comes a bland read more
Jun 26, 2015
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

The easiest way to sum up Is it Wrong to Pick up Girls in a Dungeon, or Danmachi for short, was eloquently put by Youtuber Demolition-D as “Sword Art Online: Fat-Fucking-Titties edition”. Who am I to argue with such a flawless summation? There is no question about what Danmachi is; it’s an otaku-pandering, self-insertion, video-game-inspired LN adaptation. The real question lies in whether you will love it for what it is, or hate it for what it is. In case you haven’t guessed it by now, I fall into the latter category. This shallow, ridiculous, and remarkably unoriginal work is a good example read more
Jul 3, 2015
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
Danmachi is a textbook example of an anime that is truly a guilty pleasure in its own right. It doesn't have the most impressive writing, there are tons of clichés and fanservice, and the pacing is sometimes questionable but even so it never ever fails to be entertaining, which is something I can't say for most anime.

Danmachi follows a popular trend in recent years of having a setting that takes place entirely within an MMORPG game world. The difference this time however is that... it actually doesn't. Instead, the story takes place in the characters' real world, but their real world functions like a game. read more
Jul 27, 2015
ZephSilver (All reviews)
Is It Wrong To Try To Pick Up Girls In A Dungeon?
a.k.a. DanMachi
a.k.a. Dungeon Harem
a.k.a. Loli Big Boobs
a.k.a. The Misadventures of Breastia
a.k.a. My Breastia Can't Be This Cute
a.k.a. Not SAO
is the latest anime to follow the video game trend that's become increasingly popular within the anime medium. These video game type series, usually MMORPG based, have gotten so commonplace in the last handful of years that they're starting to form their own sub-genre altogether, in a similar fashion to the "moe/cute girls doing cute things" craze in the mid-2000s. With an easy premise to understand, little to nothing to read more
Jul 13, 2015
MaridiuS (All reviews)
Danmachi is an anime made to be simple. First of all, you won't see anything complex here. I see it as one of the budget anime, where there's nothing special about it, but it sells. It feels like sao season 3, just with more fan service. The purpose that I've found of Danmachi, is to serve as a passtime, and relaxation after you've exhausted the list of must watch anime, or if you want something "casual".

Right at the start, there is a narration, that quickly shows you a bit of how the world works. Later on, in the first episode you will of course find read more
Aug 24, 2015
animethrave (All reviews)
So many haters of this anime...

Here is what I thought when I watched this:
The MC shits on his enemies, check.
All the ladies fall in love with him, check.
Hot chicks with big tits, CHECK.
Lolis, DOUBLE CHECK.
Face gets buried in tits, CHECK FUCKING TRIPLE CHECK HOLY SHIT THIS ANIME IS AWESOME.

I actually enjoyed it. You can say it has no plot twists, no development, no deep characters, but fuck I really liked watching a guy shit on bad guys while collecting vaginas. I wish I could do that too. Truth. Thats why I gave it a 10. Now go ahead and press not helpful since yall hate read more
Jul 2, 2015
MozillaFennekin (All reviews)
[2016 note: This review contains spoilers, pretty specific ones that go deep into the series, might I add. It's also old and not how I would've written it nowadays, but since it's "helpful" I'm obligated to keep it but not obligated enough to watch this show again to refresh my knowledge and polish the review. So, you know, have fun but don't talk to me about it.]

So, I’m gonna do my first review on something dangerous. Something with a lot of fans, and a lot of haters. One side will hate you regardless, unless you can squeeze yourself in the middle somehow.

Sadly, no. No, I read more
Jun 28, 2015
Detective (All reviews)
"Is It Wrong to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon" is a goddamn abomination. JC Staff capitalizing on the video game anime craze was already a flag, but to go this far... is pathetic. This is every anime you have ever seen. This is everything wrong with anime. This anime is the exact reason why anime is ostracized at face value. This is what anime viewers should be trying to stop.

There is a story. It is hyper-simplistic. So stupid that anyone could understand it. Yet the plot points make little to no sense. The main character Bell Cranel starts his adventures with his well-endowed companion, read more
Jun 21, 2015
mledwar111991 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I decided to write a review for "Dungeon ni Deai wo Motomeru no wa Machigatteiru Darou ka" due to some of the hate I saw it receiving and wanted to provide my perspective. This is my first review so don't expect it to be well polished.

Story: The story isn't this rpg's strong point. Truthfully, this rpg doesn't have a single strong point. It's a combination of different things that make this rpg enjoyable to watch. The story isn't really explained in detail. We are really just given an explanation of gods and goddesses and the aspects of the anime develop more and more with each read more
Jun 26, 2015
Wasshio (All reviews)
I just finished this anime series, and I'm going to be completely honest with this anime series. Me personally I like the show, as much as people say its "Generic" but its not a bad show to begin with. For me this would be my most favourite show of the season. If you disagree with me, I need to ask you to leave my review, because this will not be a rant.

So let's start off with the review of, Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon?

Story: 7/10

The story itself takes place in a medieval fantasy world, where I actually like read more
Jun 26, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
When you see a title this long and silly, then you may also be asking yourself if you should watch the show. “Is it wrong to try to pick up girls in a dungeon?” That’s the translated title for this series which really sparks a bit of curiosity. Just judging on the surface, you can tell the story has relations to dungeons and girls. What you may not expect would be the presence of goddesses that really spices up the excitement.

For the purpose of this review, the series will be referred by its shortened title “DanMachi”. Adapted from the light novel of the same read more
Jul 1, 2015
KD7BWB (All reviews)
All right Lion Tamers. We look at another anime. This time, I found one I actually like.

It's called "Dungeon ni Deai wo Motomeru no wa Machigatteiru Darou ka", what a mouthful! Translation is 'Dzun-ge would be wrong I'll seek a meeting to sound day', I swear that's the Google Translation.

There is a short name some use "DanMachi", don't ask me I have no idea. Google Translation is 'Dan-Machi'.

A lot of the time; most of us get caught up in the story, or the music, or the dialog, or the artwork, or the characters.

But then there is the forest, hiding in all those trees. And read more
Feb 7, 2019
rotkjf01 (All reviews)
Finally in the fantasy world the main character isn`t finished moron.
Finally he isn`t perverted, he isn`t teleported from parallel world.
Finally the story isn`t borning.
Finally something good.


The whole is set in a fantasy world with elves, Greek gods who have descended on themselves to surrender the divine powers, cute girls and monsters.


I hate to rave about shallowness of main. Bell Cranel is opposite of almost everyone mains in this type of anime and I love it. He is charming, handsome young man or boy, who cares? He looks childishly and often behaves like that.He wants to be a hero - childishly but nobly and cute.
Ironically our read more
Jun 27, 2015
Neizaru (All reviews)
***contains trace amounts of spoilers and mild profanity, please consult your doctor before reading***

I've been seeing opinions that this anime is a worse version of Sword Art Online and I must strongly object. In fact I'll argue there're some significant improvements over the posterchild of everything wrong with anime.

For starters the adventure aspect received proper attention, SAO had barely any fights with monsters or dungeon crawling, most of it resolved around the mc being a harem king, doing a detective game and numerous other activities that introduced absolutery nothing of value to the main plot. In DanMachi it actually resolves around the adventure and read more
Jun 30, 2015
MAL29877 (All reviews)
welcome to my overcritical & super quick review
very light spoilers below

story 4/10 - an 8 year old could write something on the same level but at least it was coherent

characters 4/10 - extremely generic & less depth than the kiddy pool. their backstories and motivations were barely explained and range from "MY FRIENDS WERE ALL KILLED AND I WENT ON A QUEST FOR REVENGE" to "MY DAD DIED AND I WANT TO BE AN ADVENTURER BECAUSE"

sound 6/10 - it was okay, not close to Hiroyuki Sawano level

art 7/10 - i enjoyed the art style even if it was generic, had a nice fantasy and warm read more
Feb 25, 2018
magaiverix (All reviews)
Honest and short review from me so I believe that I am the only one who evaluates this anime..... let start with my love of all shows which are connected with magic/medieval (or MMORPG variant) and this show was similar to Sao what for me means cool!
Story 5/10 nothing special<Sao story line

Art 9/10 art is great 9 boobs from 9<> same something like sao

Sound 8/10 I like when sound is matched and remains atmospheric

Character 8/10 main hero is like a Kirito from sao but more trolling than seriousness and Hestia is very pretty, seeing their she hypnotize me, and last character who I liked too read more
Jul 8, 2015
Blue_Miku (All reviews)

Is it wrong to pick up girls in a dungeon? Pfft, it's the best way to pick up girls!

More commonly referred to as DanMachi, "Dungeon ni Deai wo Motomeru no wa Machigatteiru Darou ka?" is a fantasy, action, adventure, romance and, to some extent, comedy anime. The tags aren't inaccurate, as these themes are visible throughout all twelve episodes. After watching each episode weekly as they were released, I've come to that conclusion that DanMachi is deserving of around a 7/10.

Story: 6

DanMachi's main story line is decent. With plot twists every few episodes, it's safe to say that the main story is pretty exciting read more
Jul 1, 2015
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
With an absurdly long title such as, "Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon?" your first inclination is to think that the show is trying too hard to pander from just the title alone. With Romance, Fantasy, Action, and Comedy spliced in with an element of Harem, your anticipation going into this will probably sink into apathy. But fret not my dear friends, this anime, shortly titled DanMachi, actually has much more to offer than your prototypical otaku bait anime. That is if you think a story is essential in anime that fit this description.

When I say otaku bait, I read more
Jun 27, 2015
MurasakiAmethyst (All reviews)
Overall score: 6.2/10

The world of DanMachi (short name for the Japanese title of this series) is interesting. The system that's used in this world is in accordance to what Family you belong in, as it determines how you're going to go on adventures. If you are in a family with a lot of people, then it's likely that you'll be going in dungeons with multiple other individuals. For the main character, since he is the only member in his Family, the Hestia Family, he goes on adventures alone--and that played a big role in his development throughout the series.

Although DanMachi is enjoyable, and although read more
Jun 3, 2017
Malthorian (All reviews)
Danmachi (not typing out the show’s title) was a show that frustrated me. There are the seeds of something good in this show, but unfortunately, it falls into a bad pattern of pandering and bad characterization that left me pretty cold after a few episodes once I got a better feel with what the show was going to be.

I took a shot on this one, as I watched a couple fantasy anime and this popped up on my recommended list and showed a decently high rating. To be fair, this show isn’t the worst in this genre that I’ve seen, and there are read more