Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso


Alternative Titles

English: Your Lie in April
Japanese: 四月は君の嘘

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 22
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 10, 2014 to Mar 20, 2015
Premiered: Fall 2014
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:20 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Manga
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.891 (scored by 352,093 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #232
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #36
Members: 611,642
Favorites: 34,543

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 19, 2015
henyome (All reviews)
Hers was a white lie built on a grain of truth that snowballed as one lie after the other piled up. At first it was only hers, but then it became something that the two of them shared together – like a secret, a world upon which no other could encroach. He may have been “Friend A,” and she “the girl that loves my best friend,” but they were masquerading around a truth that neither one could openly admit because ultimately, the truth was much more painful.

Your Lie in April is a deceitfully masterful series that initially appears light-hearted and colorful, its palette boasting pastels read more
Mar 19, 2015
streetlights (All reviews)
There are mainly only two sides to the debate on this show -- those that absolutely love it, and those that strongly dislike it. Is there an abundance of melodrama? Yes. Does this show try too hard at some points? Sure it does. Does that mean that this show is bad? Not necessarily. This show is neither the best thing ever, as some people seem to be saying, but it's not the worst either. Basically, what I'm about to do is help find some middle ground between the two viewpoints.

tl;dr at the bottom for those that don't want to read a wall of text, but read more
Mar 23, 2015
Bikhal (All reviews)
"Did I reach you? I hope I did."

I nearly skipped this gem just because of the music tag. Not really big into music anime but somehow the art dragged me into watching the first few episodes. First episode was an average episode with few interesting plot lines. But the second episode was the hook. Irony. The tag that made me nearly skip this anime was the one that kept me in it. The music, the music... THE MUSIC.. what can I say? It was just right down my taste. Never in my life did I thought of "oh hey let's listen to some classical read more
Mar 19, 2015
chito895 (All reviews)
My Thursdays won't be the same after finishing this anime. Shigatsu has taken me to a world of music that I will never forget.

Even though the story isn't anything new, the way it was written and directed make it feel like one. It is a story that revolves around music and how it connects people and how it affects them. It does not only affect them in a good way, but in a bad way too. And with that premise, a beautiful story about tennagers started.

Although there were some characters that didn't get a proper development to know and understand their own problems, motivations, and read more
Mar 19, 2015
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

The latest romantic-comedy/drama to take the anime world by storm is a little project known as Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso, or as many people know it, “Your Lie in April”. YLA has been the talk of the last two seasons as it has managed to captivate audiences around the world with its unbelievably bright colors and fantastic musical score complete with both famous classical pieces and original hits. However, if there is one thing about this show that people can’t help but gorge themselves on, it’s the melodrama. That’s right folks: a romantic show contains MELODRAMA! Try to contain your surprise! Since read more
Jul 26, 2015
no0neknows (All reviews)
*SPOILER WARNING*

Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso is an awful anime madly overrated on MAL because one single pathetic character dies at the end, appealing to people's emotion also making the viewers forget how bad it was until the end.

It is pretty mediocre overall, poorly handled, it was overall predictable and quite honestly poorly executed. The series telegraphed kaori as terminally ill far before the series managed to make her a likeable characterI mean for christ sake, she kicked MC over the shins just because he wouldn't play the piano for some kids he didn't know, and when you know the character is going to die read more
Dec 18, 2014
Max (All reviews)
Preliminary
Making use of a calm, vibrant palette, Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso begins by depicting a mysterious blonde chasing after a black cat. Weirdly enough, it feels like it's meaningful; each camera angle is loose and meticulously timed, and the cuts between don't hinder the flow. I soon came to realize, however, that the problems lie not in the execution, but the narrative; so much so that it ends up being more of an eye-catcher than a drama.

The struggles musicians face are apparent for most: Writer's block, commitment, or even becoming notable are some of the most common examples of these. Arima's struggles, on read more
Jun 24, 2015
Amphetamine (All reviews)
This series is overrated. It peaked my interest when I saw it on the front page at the highest rated anime on this site. I thought to myself this was worth a watch, I definitely won't be disappointed since the top rated anime here pretty much deserve to be there. How wrong was I.

Let me first start by saying this series is melodramatic, slow-paced and cliched as hell. We have Arima Kousei, a depressed and traumatized 14-year-old pianist prodigy who lost his abusive mother two years prior to the story. The anime may come off as an anime that focuses a lot on music, but read more
Mar 25, 2015
LPGeneratorx (All reviews)
If you don't want to read, then there’s a tl;dr at the end, as well as a tl;dr for every section.

Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso, or Your Lie in April, is 24-episode anime that started airing in October 2014, and ended in March 2015. Since its end, it has been a subject of hot debate on this site. Usually there are 2 types of people for any controversial show, those who love it to no end, and those who flat out despise it. I personally am somewhere on the fence.

Now is it the best anime ever? No. Is it bad? Definitely not. Then what read more
Mar 24, 2015
Lancehot (All reviews)
TL;DR A not unenjoyable series with some fantastic musical performances, that unfortunately suffers from forced drama, shallow characters, a drawn out, surprisingly predictable story & a tendency to have characters talk at length about what the music being played expresses rather than let us listen & hear it for ourselves. If you're looking for a tearjerker that will do everything short of poke you in the eye to get those tears flowing, Your Lie in April (YliA) might be for you. If you're looking for something more, you might want tosearch elsewhere.

Music is the food of love. Something like that, anyway. It is certainly read more
Apr 26, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
"To play a wrong note is insignificant; to play without passion is inexcusable." - Ludwig Van Beethoven


Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso is about a child prodigy classical pianist named Kosei Arima, who gave up playing due to crippling depression following the death of his mother. Even though he won many competitions back when he was still playing piano, his playing was always very "by the book", mechanical, and lacking in passion. This was because of the extremely strict way in which he was trained by his late mother. After hearing the very passionate and innovative performance of a brilliant young violinist named Kaori Miyazono, read more
Mar 28, 2015
sampoopin4 (All reviews)
How the hell is this ranked so high? WHY IS IT RANKED HIGHER THAN NODAME CONTABILE, OR KIDS ON THE SLOPE??

Ok so, if you liked Your Lie in April for the inspiration and music aspect, then try Nodame Contabile. If you liked it for the drama, unrequited loves, and music, try Kids on the Slope.

These two shows did it way better than Your Lie in April.

----------------

It's about a piano genius boy who has been mentally abused by his over controlling, psycho mom, and thus is dealing with issues regarding his piano/musical life. Meets a forceful girl who's to change all that. She literally just read more
Feb 15, 2015
monochrome-san (All reviews)
Preliminary
So maybe you're like me, and chose to watch this because the animation looks good, it's a new, ongoing anime, and heck, maybe you play an instrument or sing and were interested anyway. However interested I was at first, even with the outstanding music, at this point I can't even stomach this show. In my opinion, this show puts way too much of an emphasis on the entire drama of everything and kinda distracts from what I think is most important in a good show: an interesting story. Say you're not like me, and you enjoy all this whiny drama stuff. I'd say disregard everything read more
Mar 21, 2015
poorqs (All reviews)
Beethoven was a piano genius who couldn’t hear his own music because of his deafness. Arima Kousei is a piano prodigy can’t hear his own music because of the tragic death of his mother causing mental breakdown that casted a deep, dark shadow over music.

[Story]

Your Lie in April starts out as a colorful, and lighthearted anime, but all this contrasts the life of it’s main character, Arima Kousei, which is described as monotone, and dull. The lightheartedness is contradicted yet again as deeper, and much darker past is revealed as Arima falls deeply in love with Kaori. You get a large glimpse of read more
Mar 19, 2015
TalosStormcrown (All reviews)
“You're like a cat. If I get close, you'll ignore me and go far away. If I get hurt, you'll play around to share the pain.”
- Arima Kousei, Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso

Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso is an anime everyone was looking forward to during the Fall season. The manga it was adapted from (with the same name) was quite popular, though unfinished at the time, and the studio adapting it was A-1 Pictures. Because of this, there was a lot of expectations and hype towards it. The first episodes had good reception too, so the main cliché question is: did the anime live read more
Nov 19, 2016
feardb (All reviews)
Why you should watch shigatsu wa kimi no uso? Here some reasons:

1) It represents everything cliche about young japanese introvert life Looking for unreachable perspective in love, like a taylor swift's young brother. He got fucked up by his own mother SAD STORY NUFF SAID Depressive schoolboy with no ambition in life. Truly unique concept.

2) Than we have CHILDHOOD femme fatale friend acting like BRO girlfriend same with shows like Ef, KANON, Sakuraso and so on

3) "Hey, Lets make an anime" similar to typical rom-drama-com shounen adding cool classical music. FEEL THE TOUCH OF GODLIKE ART or typical sport shounen cliche.

4) The humor is read more
Mar 22, 2015
Tozzy (All reviews)
Prepare yourself for a musical ride with Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso (Your Lie In April), one of the most talked about anime in the western community of late. The big question is whether the music-focused romance has earned its acclaim we’ve seen from the bulk of reviewers? I feel it’s both a yes and no, but mostly the latter. That’s not to take away from it at all. This artful, musical adventure is still better than your average anime by a long way and it’s still a show I’d encourage everyone to watch if they get a chance.

It is one gorgeously crafted anime from read more
Jul 2, 2015
alphacompton (All reviews)
Spoiler free but one could infer things based on my reaction.

Shigatsu is an anime that had me torn in so many places. I think the plot , the music and the artwork are the best you will see recent memory. That said, the melodrama between the big events of the series is absolutely excruciating to watch especially for a modern anime. I had to constantly remind myself that the main characters are junior high students and not high school students to give some meaning to the unrealistic drama that unfolded. I will describe why I feel that this melodrama was so horribly written and executed read more
Jun 2, 2015
phs_togusa (All reviews)
It would seem that feeling some modicum of emotional involvement whilst watching/reading something is all it takes to make a masterpiece these days. Whilst emotional involvement is always a great thing, it's not enough to excuse problems that a particular work in question has. On another note, it irks me when people say they "got the feels" from watching something because more often than not, it was something stupid/cliché/melodramatic. Maybe I'm a heartless sociopath or maybe it's because I've been through a lot worse in life, but I can't help but scoff when people tell me they cried like a baby whilst watching stuff like read more
Mar 29, 2015
Johan (All reviews)
"Will you forget?" - Kaori

Honestly, I have not written an anime review probably since Sword Art Online. I don't necessarily prefer writing reviews cause they're generally tedious & time consuming. However, There is only so long I can see such misleading, disrespectful, and uninformative reviews. Out of the well over 300 anime series I have seen, Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso is one of Seven anime I have given the perfect score to. And that is because this anime epitomises quality & perfection.

I came in to this show with moderate expectations. I followed this show weekly - watching it each Thursday as it read more