Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Little Nemo


Alternative Titles

English: Little Nemo: Adventures in Slumberland
Japanese: リトル・ニモ

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 15, 1989
Producers: Tokyo Movie Shinsha
Studios: None found, add some
Source: Picture book
Genres: AdventureAdventure, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 1 hr. 34 min.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 7.341 (scored by 37193,719 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #23822
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #5012
Members: 7,162
Favorites: 28

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 11, 2008
luckyvmeryl (All reviews)
Flowy artwork and enjoyable storyline along with amazing characters make this movie worth watching. I watched it when I was a toddler and grew up loving it. Nemo is a boy plagued by nightmares and when the circus comes to town, he's taken off to Slumberland. There he meets the princess, King Morpheus, and many more friends that bring this adventure to a wonderful climax. If you liked Spirited away, you'll love Little Nemo: Adventures in Slumberland. It's based off of a 50's comic strip by the same name. Very underappreciated and underexposed, but well worth watching.
Jan 28, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Time to look at a genre that I have completely neglected in my previous reviews. The world of anime children's movies! What better place to start then with Little Nemo, the first anime movie ever to see widespread theatrical release in the United States? This was 1992, so I was only 4 when this came out in theaters and it...was an experience. I remember that much from my first viewing, but I didn't re-watch this film until recently.

Background:

Although released stateside in 1992, Little Nemo was actually made in 1989. I mention this because it was an odd period for kids movies. This was the 1980s, read more
May 2, 2009
0keitan (All reviews)
Magical and exciting, this classic will keep you entertained.

After watching this movie once when I was little I immediately found myself hooked! I still watch it 10 years later! It's just so full of adventure, comedy, and sad moments. The plot, characters, scenery, && music are illustrated && played out very well. It's probably the most unique && original work of art you will ever come across next to Miyuzaki's 'Spirited Away' and 'Howl's Moving Castle'. I would recommened this to just about anyone who shares a love for imagination. This is deffinately worthy of the title 'classic'.

Jan 10, 2015
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
I actually seen this baby nearly 20 years ago when I was a kid. But due to how little I could recall of Little Nemo, I never got around to writing a proper review for it until I got a copy of the film just recently to cover.

A little known fact about this film to many folks is that Little Nemo was made as an attempted collaboration between American and Japanese animation studios planned during the early 1980s. However, differences in the creative direction of the film led to enough disputes between both sides that it took years before the film finally got a theatrical read more
Jan 14, 2020
WeeabooHunter101 (All reviews)
So, I recently rewatched the English dub of Little Nemo on Crunchyroll. Some of the movie I remember watching as a kid, but other parts I seem to have forgotten.
Story wise, tackling the idea of a repeating dream sequences can present problems, but the film seemed to mostly handle that well. The 'Oh, I'm still in a dream' notion does wear thin, but thankfully they don't dwell on that for too long. Other than that, the narrative is simple and family oriented. A good morality tale on keeping promises and finding the courage to fix read more
Feb 12, 2019
IantheSilverfire (All reviews)
What an odd little movie. So bad, and yet such a colorful history.

You may notice I generally gave some poor scores, but highly recommend this movie. Why? It's a perfect example of why communication is important. This movie has everything it needs to be amazing. It was worked on by some true animation giants. Chuck Jones of Looney Tunes fame, who invented many standards of animation that are used to this day. Ray Bradbury, writer of Fahrenheit 451. Music by the Sherman Brothers, who wrote a ton of music I guarantee you know! Even Hayao Miyazaki, the man the myth the legend, worked on read more
Jul 5, 2018
Fear_the_Reefer (All reviews)
Can we all just agree that dreams are fucking weird? They’re one of the least understood aspects of human life, and everybody but Mike Pence has them. Their are tons of theories about what their purpose is, what they mean, and why we’re always naked in them, but to this day, nobody can pinpoint what these bizarre movies we get to watch while we’re recharging even are. Sometimes they have purpose... Back when I was in a bad relationship where I felt trapped and with no control over my life, I’d constantly dream that I was stuck on a labyrinthian waterslide read more
Sep 15, 2009
RobdeFR (All reviews)
I first read about Little Nemo comic strips in a comic journal that I used to buy before it went bankrupt. I read there that the Little Nemo comic strips in the beginning of the twentieth century went to be highly influential with most comic authors that came afterwards, Disney being one of those.

Little Nemo does have something American and occidental in it, but it is an entirely Japanese production, but it certainly doesn’t seems like that, it sure looks more like a Disney or other occidental production. The character designs, as well as everything else in the animation, backgrounds, story, screams Disney.
Some trivia read more
Jun 23, 2016
GarlandReese (All reviews)
"Little Nemo" is one of those movies where the backstory on it's creation is more famous (and probably more entertaining) than the movie itself. With such a tumultuous creative process from beginning to finished product, this film often gets a reputation for being such a train wreck. After watching it, I think it's not quite the demon from development Hell most make it out to be.

To start with the animation itself, it's actually pretty darn good for the late 1980s. It's smooth, colorful, with some neat characters (special mention to the absolutely terrifying Nightmare King). It resembles a Disney film in a lot of ways read more