Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei


Alternative Titles

English: The Irregular at Magic High School
Japanese: 魔法科高校の劣等生

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2014 to Sep 28, 2014
Premiered: Spring 2014
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.701 (scored by 285,947 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #11462
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #99
Members: 536,382
Favorites: 8,279

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 28, 2014
5camp (All reviews)
- This Review Contains Spoilers -

I'm not entirely sure why I watched all of Mahouka. At some point it was a scholarly interest in why this was the latest hottest thing in light novels. It might have been because people said it gets better in the novels later and I wondered at what stage that would be. At another point it was purely to see if I could finish it as a personal challenge. If I could keep watching I might be able to find something good about this anime. Something that at the end of the day I could say "sure it was mostly read more
Jul 5, 2015
TheHonestThief (All reviews)
Alright, despite giving a score of 9, allow me to make this perfectly clear, THIS SHOULD NOT BE WATCHED BY EVERYONE!!! There are three very crucial aspects to this show that form a fissure among the viewers. If you are able to tolerate or enjoy these aspects, watch this show. If you find these elements unbearable then you should definitely walk away because they are ubiquitous throughout the entirety of the 26 episodes.
I: An over-powered protagonist. When I say over-powered I mean it in the most literal sense possible. This guy does not lose, ever. He's a genius with combat capabilities surpassing every other person read more
Sep 29, 2014
Vene (All reviews)
The conception of "perfection" we previously had is going to change, because after watching Shiba Tatsuya (the protagonists show) in action, the word we used to describe the type of character which is sightly too powerful among his peers, overpowered, is going to be "Onii-sama" from now on. With Shiba Tatsuya, better known as Onii-sama, we reach a level of perfection never seen before in the anime industry, characters we reputed as OP, notable recent examples such as Kirigaya Kazuto (Sword Art Online) or Gilgamesh (Fate/Zero), are practically nothing next to our glorious Onii-sama, capable of turning the Impossible into something actually possible.

> Is a read more
Sep 27, 2014
SBphiloz4 (All reviews)
Set in 2095, magic is now a form of technology and science. After the 3rd world war, magic wielders were high in demand in the world to defend their individual countries from further chaos. Mahouka follows two siblings, Tatsuya and Miyuki Shiba, who are enrolled in Fist High School. Based on enrolment test scores, the brother becomes a Weed, a presumed low-achieving magician, while his little sister becomes a Bloom, a presumed high-achiever in magic. However, there's more to these two siblings than as first thought. And school life at First High School will no longer be the same...

And thus, the most anticipated, but highly read more
Sep 27, 2014
Asfaria (All reviews)
What does it mean to be a good main character? Does it mean being weak and growing strong throughout the story? Or could it mean starting strong but learning how to overcome your weaknesses in order to continue growing? How about starting off absolutely perfect at everything other than noticing girls affection for you? Well, if you answered "no" to that last one, you should probably stay away from this show. If you answered "yes," let me show why I believe that is not the right way to create a protagonist.

Shiba Tatsuya is a new high school freshman at a prestigious magic academy in near-future read more
May 31, 2014
Scrypt (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I first heard of Mahouka from a recommendation someone gave me, I thought I'd give it a try thinking it being something new to fill my boredom. With it's rave reviews from different sites, you can't help but think that this should be one of the favorites for 2014.

Unfortunately that is not to be and if I could sum up this series in one word, it would have to be "disappointing".

If BGM's were included with reviews, I know mine would play Public Enemy's "Don't Believe the Hype" as that's what's been running in my mind when I wrote this.

So getting back to why read more
Oct 3, 2014
Gotanon (All reviews)
"Onii-sama", these words are the very heights of the human spirit, they are the essence of a male soul. It is the light that will guide a man during his darkest hour. Make your imouto recite these holy words exactly 167 times over the span of 10 hours and you will be granted what your heart truly desires, my child.

Mahouka is like solidifying the shit your dog left on your mattress with liquid nitrogen then dipping it into gold and expecting people to buy it just because it's shiny. And well, people buy it. Apparently. ...Well, actually, that's not quite the case. Mahouka should have read more
Jun 15, 2014
GloriousKaiser (All reviews)
Preliminary
I thought this anime was going to be really good. I watched the first episode and thought maybe it gets better later (which I was told happened in the Light Novels). Sadly it didn't. I really wanted this anime to succeed, with my friend introducing it to me. However it's not what it's lacking is the problem, it's what it does too much of.


~Story~
-I gave it a 5 because I hardly could get into the story. When it introduced a school setting, alarms already started going off in my head. 'Oh no, this isn't going to be one of those convoluted teenage identity crisis dramas read more
Oct 22, 2014
Shiba_Tatsuya (All reviews)
I just found out about this website... It's pretty neat. I'm going to try writing a review on here for an anime I really enjoyed: Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei.

So, for the story part of this anime, I have to say that it's really cool. First half of the show takes place in a Magic School, where people learn magic. But not like wizardry magic, but a futuristic technology that allows people to use magic. There's a lot of dialogue that may annoy people, but I personally found the dialogue really interesting. There's a school magic competition, and multiple magic schools compete in it. Pretty fun read more
May 12, 2014
Pman1994 (All reviews)
Preliminary
There is a reason why anime with a setting that revolves around a high school rarely becomes successful. Because it is to me one of the most overused settings for the last few years and only once in a while does it work out particularly well like in the case of the Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya. Now with this show there is a lot of hype around due to the proclaimed success of its light novels. I personally haven't read them myself so I can't say for sure how good it is. But after viewing six episodes I feel I can give my unbiased review read more
Nov 23, 2014
rhetoricAcrobat (All reviews)
Preliminary
Honestly, I thought this anime was schlock. Literally the only things I enjoyed about it were the art direction (some of the magic looked really cool, surprisingly) and the premise behind it was intriguing enough to give it a shot.

After 10 episodes, I'm done. I can't do anymore, and i can't in good conscious recommend anyone else follows this show.

The characters are paper thin. Tatsuya Shiba has no emotional depth or complexity in any real or meaningful way. And were that intentional, were the anime to demonstrate how dangerous divorcing oneself from emotion and refusing to empathize with others can be, that would read more
Sep 4, 2015
sushiisawesome (All reviews)
Mahouka is the worst anime of all time. It's the twisted dream of a hateful lunatic who shuts out the outside world. The impression it gives of itself is of something highly paranoid and self-righteous, designed to feed into the delusions of people who want to imagine themselves as silent martyrs.

The central character, Tatsuya, is a superman, who is impossible to defeat in combat, portrayed as more intelligent than every other character, and is found attractive by every female character in the show. The argument has been made that he is, in fact, an antihero, because he uses these abilities to do things that are read more
Sep 27, 2014
Nasty001 (All reviews)
The Irregular at the magical school........Frankly the title alone was a bit misleading, since the main character-in this case Tatsuya was more like a overly protective brother to Miyuki. Whether it is an anime, light novel or manga, we can't deny that this anime is a combination with bits and pieces from "Harry Potter" and James Bond sagas, and frankly, the series' combination of Sci-fi with magic wasn't bad except that it lacks one thing........and yes, it lacks a formidable antagonist, also there is the geo-political thing added to this anime where it indirectly concerns Japan's current conflict with China. But enough of that read more
Feb 10, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei (translated as The Irregular at Magic High School) isn’t entirely what I see as irregular. Nothing too irrational happens throughout the course of the show and the majority of the cast doesn’t have that “it” factor. Rather, Mahouka does have something we won’t see regularly because of there is magic at high school, or more specifically the Private Magic University Affiliated High School. It’s here where we meet the main characters and siblings - Tatsuya Shiba and his sister Miyuki Shiba. And with their enrollment sets forth this story at an irregular high school where regular things happen and sometimes does read more
Jan 5, 2017
SigmaticDoc (All reviews)
I watched the whole thing... why did I waste my time? It was most likely the next hot thing when I first saw it probably...
Well, it's terrible and here's why.
I've read the LN as well, won't add it to my list as I don't wanna see it there.
It's bad as well.
The only good thing about it was the concept behind the magic being scientific. But if it ain't executed right, does it matter? lol.

The thing that drags the entire show is the terrible as hell main character.
First of all, it doesn't miss a single moment to pamper the main protagonist.
Without even trying I already have read more
Oct 8, 2014
years100 (All reviews)
Preliminary
EDIT: Reposted after being taken down by MAL for technical reasons.

From TheFreeDictionary.com:
"Wish Fulfillment
n.
1. Gratification of a desire.
2. In psychoanalytic theory, the satisfaction of a desire, need, or impulse through a dream, fantasy, or other exercise of the imagination."


I've never written a review before, so I hope this proves helpful to ya'll! For this review, I'm going to be talking about an anime that I watched for quite a different reason than probably most other people. To explore this, I'm gonna go over all the major categories - hopefully, by the end of this review, you'll have a helpful understanding of the pros and cons of read more
Nov 30, 2014
Miraclezify (All reviews)
Ah Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei (hereafter Mahouka). I'm going to start off this review by saying this is the worst anime ever created - this is THE worst anime ever created. Don't worry though, while the review will be largely negative, I'll hopefully be able to convey why I think this is the case with as little bias as possible.

Mahouka's story follows Tatsuya Shiba and his sister Miyuki. They're in their first year of First High, which is the top school in the country for magicians. This is it. There isn't really much of a story, but rather several story arcs which don't really connect read more
Oct 7, 2014
Social_Elitist (All reviews)
Mehouker Review:

MINDSET:
Light novels are a shift media, as they mass produce the same tasteless product for the mass appeal, as we anime critics just sit there, and are forced with casual opinions into the face.

SYNOPSIS:
21XX it is the magical century, a century in which magic has been advanced into extreme levels of power has become the Earths main source of power, research, finances, health (etc.) and because its a Light Novel Adaptation, highchools. We centre around two siblings, Tetsuya and Miyuki in a near incest relationship who are dealing with such current affairs, trying to adapt to the changes of there world and have Your read more
Sep 9, 2016
SunlitSonata (All reviews)
Pop Quiz: What happens when you take a giant sturdy, steel block and throw rocks at it to try and move it?

It won't move right? The rocks will all crumble, right? And doing it repeatedly will get frustratingly boring, right? Well that experience would still be more thrilling than watching 26 episodes of The Irregular at Magic High School.

Based on the light novel series of the same name, and animated by Studio Madhouse, Irregular at Magic High School, also known as Mahouka is what happens when a writer completely gives up making an interesting story or cast and instead tries to make their main read more
Nov 21, 2016
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
It seems that for years now, there has been this trend of light novels receiving adaptations, and given a lot of these adaptations, this trend gets a bad rep. Yet, out of all the things in the trend, this has to be the worst of them all.

*SPOILERS FOR MAHOUKA KOUKOU NO RETTOUSEI. THIS REVIEW WILL BE TITANICALLY BIG. ALSO, DON`T WATCH THIS SHOW. IT IS NOT WORTH YOUR TIME*

So, many people hate light novel adaptations. Yet, this anime seems to not get the scorn shows like Absolute Duo, The Asterisk War, and other hated LN adaptations. Why is that? Why do people hate read more