Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Sidonia no Kishi


Alternative Titles

English: Knights of Sidonia
Synonyms: Sidonia no Kishi
Japanese: シドニアの騎士

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 11, 2014 to Jun 27, 2014
Premiered: Spring 2014
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Polygon Pictures
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.781 (scored by 81,047 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9442
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #569
Members: 165,317
Favorites: 1,319

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 27, 2014
Ragix (All reviews)
Sidonia no Kishi is truly a marvel. When I began the first episode and laid my eyes on the CGI, I felt a bit underwhelmed and my opinion began to waver on the show; However, SnK soon made me realize that I could have never been so wrong and I'm glad for that. Sidonia no Kishi is a post-apocalyptic sci-fi anime where everyday mankind lives in fear of being decimated, but continues to survive on an enormous ship known as Sidonia. There struggle is against an alien-species known as the Gauna which have brought humanity to its knees before and the only thing between read more
Jul 22, 2014
jzmcdaisy (All reviews)
So when I first found out that there was not only a manga but also an anime with the same title (yet spelled differently) as my favorite song by Muse, I felt the need to check out what it was. So of course when I first started watching the show I was pretty pumped to find the same kind of popcorn action that I would get while watching a film like the Star Wars saga or reading a novel like Ender's Game. I did get the show that provided me with that kind of action, but that's just it; I got EXACTLY what I expected read more
Jan 3, 2015
ZephSilver (All reviews)
When certain premises in anime are overused without variation they're quickly labeled as "run of the mill".. Like dystopian with mecha. Because of that many anime try to change minute details regarding the setting or premise to stand apart. However, if something normally considered "run of the mill" is executed with proper care it can be seen as rather refreshing. Knights of Sidonia is a rare case, not quite falling towards being called mediocre nor does it fall towards refreshing. Rather it all depends on the individual to make the judgement call.

Story: 6/10

Set in the distant future, the story takes place upon a spaceship read more
Jun 27, 2014
mercury1980 (All reviews)
The pledge:

We, the knights of Sidonia.
Pledge ourselves as one united galaxy protectors.
Regardless of gender, race or religion.
To protect the outer space from destruction.
That is caused by Gauna floating in outer space.
So as to achieve peace, happiness and progress for
our universe.

I came up with the pledge which describes best of the Knights of Sidonia. This anime is directed by Kobun Shizuno from Polygon Pictures and it is an adaptation from Nihei's manga "Knights of Sidonia". As you may know, Nihei Tsutomu specializes in cyperpunk genre manga like for example, BLAME & Biomega.

This anime reminds me of Gravity the movie.

STORY (9):

The story takes place read more
Jul 2, 2014
Schizoidmouse (All reviews)
Nihei Tsutomu is one of the leading manga authors of the cyberpunk genre. With his amazing artwork in pieces like Biomega and BLAME!, it was obvious he was on a roll by the time he got into creating Sidonia no Kishi. The problem became apparent though, in his most acclaimed piece BLAME!. People had a hard time comprehending the story. Though BLAME! was experimental and had beautiful atmosphere and artwork, the adaptation did not turn out well. This created a stigma with whether or not Nihei’s work could be adapted well. When a new animation studio decided to pick up Nihei’s newest work, Sidonia no read more
Jun 28, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
Imagine a world, waking up every day, and realizing that you could be exterminated any moment. In the world of Sidonia no Kishi, that’s a common trend for every single human who are still alive. The primary cause of this are the Gauna, alien extraterrestrials that have devastated humanity into near distinction. As the show takes place in an apocalyptic future, a journey with Sidonia no Kishi will be one of the dark ages.

The brainchild of the series and idea is Tsutomu Nihei, known for his other manga works such as Blame and Biomega. In Sidonia no Kishi, he spawns the idea of sci-fi read more
Aug 20, 2014
keragamming (All reviews)
Sidonia no Kishi, I heard a lot about this series and how it's similar to Attack on titan. So me as a big fan of attack on titan came in to see what all the hype and talk about this series was about.

Story 6/10. The story is about Gauna a alien race that has destroyed the solar system and now humans are on the brink of extinction and are now forced to live in giant seed ships. Nagate Tanikaze is the main character of this series, he's entrusted to pilot the legendary unit known as Tsugumori. So basically this series is a survival series read more
Jul 22, 2014
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
High-concept sci-fi is hardly a rarity in anime, in fact it is integral to the medium as a whole. Apocalyptic struggles for the survival of humanity are also quite common, and giant robots are synonymous with anime. However, as well tread as these elements are, they can still feel fresh and like they’re on the cutting-edge when done correctly. Knights of Sidonia, adapted from a manga by acclaimed author Tatsomu Nihei of the same title, is a prime example for this. If taken on their own, the plot elements that the show uses are not breaking any new ground, and yet they come together to read more
Nov 5, 2014
Touka (All reviews)
Knights of Sidonia is a science fiction action series adapted from renowned mangaka Nihei Tsutomu. The series - which is arguably more accessible than the authors other work - has received a favourable adaptation from Polygon Pictures, though unfortunately certain elements fail to avoid banality.

The narrative is an enthralling romp through outer space and Sidonia - the series' giant intergalactic city, complete with Tsutomu's famously captivating architecture - though at certain points it loses its way (or rather, its appeal) as it devolves into a generic harem. This element could have been better portrayed - perhaps displaying the characters' desperation in trying to find love read more
Jul 2, 2014
silentkaze (All reviews)
This review may contain minor spoilers.

Knight of Sidonia is a raw diamond of the recent anime seasons. General fan could be easily dispelled away by the show's odd art style and initial confusing story (at least in my case). However, once you get past the use of 3-D drawing and the lack of narrative, Knight of Sidonia (for short KoS) will amaze any patient audience with its frank manner of storytelling and brilliant space atmosphere.

What set KoS apart from other space/mecha anime series is that it is not giving a damn in pleasing fan with flashy battles, human living in beautiful spaceships or read more
Dec 17, 2014
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
Imagine a Sci-fi epic with the tenacity of becoming something of a psychological journey into the deep unknown. Many movies have captured the feelings of being out in the far reaches of interstellar travel in space rockets, or in this case, giant mechas. With the help of talented writers, that dream can become real, in order to prove to the viewers that it can retain that sci-fi glory and be significant to the genre. All it takes is something like Sidonia no Kishi to show that the genre is far from dead.

What sets Sidonia no Kishi at the top spot along with many great space read more
Sep 9, 2014
nth256 (All reviews)
I've gotta say, I'm not one to let some janky animation get in the way of a good story, but the animation was just horrendous. I'm a fan of good CG animation, but this was not it. The character design was okay - typical anime fare - but the characters were animated in this really choppy, static manner. Ugh. I tried to like it, but i just couldn't.

The overall story was interesting, and not having read manga yet, I'm interested to see where it goes. I like the main character's origin, however inconceivable it may be. I don't like the harem aspect of the story, read more
Jan 9, 2015
Ligkonakos (All reviews)
*Minor spoilers needed to explain the story thoroughly*

Every season, there are shows that people have the tendency not to watch. Everyone for their own reasons, be it the uninteresting cover art, the abysmal synopsis, the genres the show belongs to, or even the first few episodes of the show itself. Heck some people even judge by the name. Some people don't have the time so they go for the more "surefire" shows. A lot of times, they will pass up a great show without noticing, thus these shows don't get the hype they deserve and continue their journey to collect dust on the shelves.

Knights of read more
Jul 29, 2015
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Knights of Sidonia is an anime that pushes a hard sci-fi storyline mixed with elements of "real robot" mecha in exploring the Sidonia fleet's struggles against a mysterious alien threat in space that has nearly driven humanity to the brink of extinction. The major element of Sidonia that sticks out prominently is the meticulous detail it provides to showing off the world of the Sidonia space colony. The series devotes a great amount of effort in detailing varying elements to the civilization of the series as humans aboard Sidonia have undergone genetic engineering that provide them with differing abilities to adapt to the space colony read more
Jul 11, 2014
colonelpanic (All reviews)
Sidonia’s quiche is probably best described as “dumb but fun.” It does a lot of stuff that doesn't make sense. The pilots are all idiots, especially early in the series. None of them follow orders. Whenever a fight starts it turns into chaos as they all do random things. In fact, that’s basically how their whole society works. Most of the jeopardy in this show comes from people's stupidity, which makes it very hard to understand how they managed to avoid blowing themselves up for so long.

In particular, I found it hard to suspend disbelief during an incident where a quick look at mission read more
Jun 27, 2014
Ferax (All reviews)
Sidonia no Kishi/ Knights of Sidonia is:
the cool kid that everybody ignore and flying below the radar of a lot of people

SnK or KoS if you want, is probably one of the best series for this season but also the most underrated

Story 8/10: Makind fighting some kind of alien/monster thing, and a lot of people are comparing this with Attack on Titan, you know humans vs monster that are trying to kill them but in space and starting to be annoying that they do that
SnK/KoS has a great sci-fi story how they do literally anything to survive at any cost from the enemy, like killing read more
Dec 26, 2014
TheAzureSky (All reviews)
A butt-clenchingly tense alien sci-fi with an interesting setting only held back by bland characters.

★★★☆

Do you know what makes great entertainment? When there’s something at stake. When there’s tension. When the main characters could actually lose and fuck up.

This is my biggest issue with the superhero genre. You know Superman or Wolverine are never going to lose. If they die they’ll just come back because nobody stays dead in comics. Your toast getting burnt is more inconvenient.

When you know your heroes will win or won’t die then any excitement is gone. What’s the point of watching? It can still be entertaining, but it would be read more
Jan 21, 2016
JaegerDanger5 (All reviews)
Ok, I don't write many reviews, but considering how bad this anime was I feel it can't be that hard.

This was probably spelled out in the plot synopsis, but Knights of Sidonia (or シドニアの騎士) is a science fiction, mecha action anime where humans have fled Earth a thousand years ago on a giant space ship called 'Sidonia' fleeing from the threat of unknown origin known as the 'Gauna'. Protagonist Nagate Tanikaze in search for food stumbles out of the vast inner workings of Sidonia and out into the open society where he is selected to be a Guardian Pilot defending Sidonia against the Gauna read more
Nov 30, 2018
Dr_Kon (All reviews)
Sidonia no Kishi is a must-see for science-fiction fans. It can be easily overlooked because of appearances, however, I can assure you that if you give it a chance you will be very pleased with the story, the pace, the characters and the overall development.

The plot is not an entirely new scenario, it is about survival of humanity in deep space. However, it is delivered in such a beautiful way with good, fast pace, enticing plot twists, romance, meaningful drama, even some comedy and cliffhangers at the end of each episode, that stimulate your interest to learn more about where all this goes. The character read more
Aug 16, 2015
themegamancave (All reviews)
“Attack on Titan in space? Well…. not quite.”

I was terribly hesitant to delve into another dystopian anime with mechs, as I feel it can be one of the most overused plot elements in any anime, but at the strong recommendation of a friend I tuned into Sidonia no Kishi (Knights of Sidonia). What I found was a CGI-infused space epic of sorts, which I even later found out to be compared often to Attack on Titan. It’s a show I wanted to like, but turned out to bland in a lot of ways, hindering its overall successes.

Knights of Sidonia takes read more