Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Stella Jogakuin Koutou-ka C³-bu


Alternative Titles

English: Stella Women's Academy, High School Division Class C³
Synonyms: Stella Jogakuin Koutouka C3-bu, Stella Jogakuin Koutou-ka C3-bu, Stella Women's Academy, High School Division Class C3
Japanese: ステラ女学院高等科C³部(しーきゅーぶ)

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 5, 2013 to Sep 27, 2013
Premiered: Summer 2013
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Pony Canyon, TBS, RAY
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Gainax
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.571 (scored by 17,553 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #56592
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1899
Members: 44,980
Favorites: 71

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 28, 2013
XavierSylfaen (All reviews)
C³-bu, in a word, is confused. It doesn't know what it wants to be. Is it a slice-of-life about cute girls shooting cute guns? Is it a story about how the main character loses sight of what's really important while chasing a dream and how she works to gain it back? Is it a tale of the supernatural link that a girl has with an ancient Japanese warrior and how she uses her power to change the world? The answer is none of the above. It is instead a jumbled mishmash of all three. Due to their radically read more
Oct 18, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
The idea of a group of cute girls doing cute things isn’t exactly an original idea in today’s anime industry. Series such as K-On!, Saki, and Bamboo Blade are just a few to name. Even more recently, series such as Upotte and Girls und Panzer even added the addition of weapons to its tropes for more flavor. I mean, cute girls with deadly weapons at at hand tends to make a show more interesting right? Well for Stella Woman’s Academy, there’s the concept of airsoft guns and with that comes a new twist of entertainment.

Stella Woman’s Academy, High School Division C3 (also known as C3-Bu) read more
Sep 26, 2013
IdleSheep (All reviews)
There have been many successful shows using cute girls and heavy machinery such as Girls und Panzer or even So Ra No Wo To. But nothing left me as disappointed as Stella Jogakuin Koutou-ka C³-bu. I consider myself a Slice of Life fan with reasonable tolerance for slow paced, low action rate type of shows and therefore had some expectations for this Anime for the summer. But boy oh boy this show felt like a one way rollercoaster, and it wasn't going up that's for sure.

For the first couple episodes we are introduced to this Highschool club type of setting that's not uncommon, where these read more
Dec 21, 2013
pancake_monster (All reviews)
If you've been around the anime community for long enough, you have no doubt heard of the so called "Moe" genre. With a focus on cute girls doing cute things, (usually in a high-school setting) Moe series tend to focus more on comedy and various slice-of-life situations then plot and character (See: K-On! and Lucky Star for two very popular examples). But what happens when a show that has seemingly "Moe" characteristics attempts to delve into deeper themes, such as self-worth, the struggle to become a better person, and the consequences of your actions? In that case, we get a show like C³ (Full title: read more
Dec 10, 2013
JebusMatoi (All reviews)
Studio Gainax, before this production, was one of the biggest names in anime history. With such works as Neon Genesis Evangelion, Gurren Lagann, FLCL, Nadia, Magical Shopping Arcade Abenobashi, and Panty and Stocking, you would think they would stick around forever, but that ride to fame would be short lived. Some members who made Gurren Lagann would go on to form Studio Trigger (Inferno Cop, Kill la Kill) and some would follow Hideaki Anno and form Studio Khara (Evangelion Rebuild). While Gainax still picks up the pieces of what they used to be, they came out with a show called Stella Women's Academy Class C3-Bu, read more
Nov 18, 2013
Well_Spoken_Man (All reviews)
Stella has a hard time deciding what it wants to do. Starts out fun, takes itself a little too seriously, then comes back towards fun without actually getting there. It should have stuck with fun. Girls and airsoft isn't a strong enough base to carry the kind of drama that is injected later in the show. There is very little danger and no romance (although you can detect a hint of yuri here and there.) There is also very little fan service, if that's what your looking for (if it is, just watch the last episode.) Stella does have read more
Oct 15, 2014
mugism (All reviews)
I really enjoyed Stella Jogakuin for several reasons. It wasn't your typical slice of life anime, either.

I will try not to include any spoilers, as I have completed this anime several times.

Shikyubu has followed the tried and true formula of cute girls doing cute things, and I see it as a major twist to the slice-of-life genre. It was entirely and genuinely a show worth watching.

I gave the story a ten, and this can relate to the character also. The synopsis itself can see why its a sore thumb in the world of anime- the main character, Yamato Yura, undergoes through high school, read more
Sep 28, 2013
Deadlightanime (All reviews)
Stella C3-Bu starts off on the wrong foot, rubbing me the wrong way and giving me the presumption that the series would amount to nothing in the end.

The first episodes started alright enough. It’s the typical under-dog story, nothing special, nothing new and it was entertaining enough with its little spouts of gunplay.

I should mention that gunfights in Stella C3-Bu are certainly far less entertaining than old-school Gainax, lacking the brilliant execution and delightful animation of an episode like Brittle Bullets from FLCL. The editing tends to be clumsy. Girls jumping and barreling from one spot to another can feel choppy and jumpy and it read more
Feb 19, 2015
Fear_the_Reefer (All reviews)
Yura Yamato is on cloud nine, seeing the campus of her high school for the first time. She’s been admitted into Stella Women's Academy, a prestigious all girls school populated by students with families far more affluent than hers. When she checks into her dorm, she finds out that her roommate is away, visiting some of her family in America... But that doesn’t stop her from rolling around in her dorm mate’s bed, where she happens upon a curious item hidden under her pillow. It’s not a diary... It’s not a photo of a boy... It’s a very read more
May 2, 2016
TheBrainintheJar (All reviews)
It’s so easy to write this off based on appearance. Then again, a lot of people are fooled by realistic design that an anime is deep. Stella’s Women Academy is simple and doesn’t aspire to much, but hits every target it aims for.

In truth, it’s not just an anime about cute girls who play with guns. The cuteness factor is there (since we in the West are still impressed by macho bullshit, it’s a plus). What drives the series, though, are the characters.

The story is simple because it’s a very humane one. It puts a bunch of personalities and examine them, using the theme of read more
Mar 9, 2017
haihaig (All reviews)
Story:

The story progresses with each episode, and every episode is connected with each other. On the other hand, there are too many confusing elements in the story that doesn't make any logical sense. This story supposedly takes place in a real-life situation, yet all of a sudden, the MC has a supernatural ability? That ability is never touched upon again after a few episodes.

Characters:
I think they did a good job with the characters, all except for the MC. The MC was the driving force that almost made me drop the series altogether. Yes, her character did undergo progress. But it's always to the read more
Feb 10, 2019
TheGreatHako (All reviews)
First half you get fun time by watching happy cute girls and the next half could be explained by the lyrics of familiar song; Eye of the Tiger:

"Rising up, back on the street
Did my time, took my chances
Went the distance, now I'm back on my feet
Just a man and his will to survive

So many times it happens too fast
You trade your passion for glory
Don't lose your grip on the dreams of the past
You must fight just to keep them alive

It's the eye of the tiger
It's the thrill of the fight
Rising up to the challenge of our rival
And the last known survivor
Stalks his prey in the read more
Oct 10, 2013
MochaCookies (All reviews)
I'll say it very simply here: Stella is not a show worth wasting your time on.

To be sure, it's not all bad. There's slice of life, and there's the much more serious character arc going on throughout; that latter one was what drew me personally to watch it. Moe too, if that's your thing; and fanservice, because this is after all Gainax.

And, to be fair, it takes a pretty daring writer to even think of putting moe with something serious, simply because they are inherently opposing elements. Kudos to the original mangaka for that.

But as good as all this sounds on paper, it didn't translate read more
Sep 28, 2013
kickmesign (All reviews)
Are you a fan of moe? Have you ever participated in airsoft? Well, I guess if you answered no to the first question, it's a given that you will probably not find much enjoyment from this show.

The main attraction to this show (besides the kawaii moe desu blob) is the "sport" of airsoft. Now, I use the word "sport" cautiously, but that subject seems to be the base model that this show follows. Basically, you will get more out of this show if you've ever participated in airsoft. At least, if you have enjoyed it. You will reflect the thrill, joy, and excitement of read more
Aug 24, 2014
oldskoolpunk (All reviews)
This anime starts off well, goes off in too many directions, and then gets lost, ending with a final episode that's just filler. There was potential here, and a good animation team, but the story line was a flop. It's almost as if there was a plan for a longer story, but the number of episodes was cut.

Give this one a miss.
May 20, 2014
GiancarloLS (All reviews)
Having finished watching this anime, I'm quite surprised this received a fairly low MAL-rating, compared to some other mary-sue/gary-stu-spawning anime out there (eg. Mondaiji-tachi).

Nowadays, a lot of anime fans [and otakus] are so hard to please. While saying they're "hard to please", they're [NOT all, but a lot] irrationally being close-minded, afraid to go out of their comfort zones in watching anime. A lot prefer their own dose of anime: if it's moe, it's moe; or if it's action [eg. so-called "anime-veterans" want the old-anime back], then they want it action. Combining different elements and formulas in making a plot and character, and all it read more
Feb 23, 2018
Sku_Te (All reviews)
Coming out around a year before Sabagebu!, it differs from that anime by being rather more serious and edgy as opposed to being comedic.

Whilst Stella Jogakuin Koutou-ka C³-bu does have it's funny moments, they aren't frequent - instead, the story over the 11 episodes (accumulating on the 12th) drives this series where characters fall, develop and re-build.

The thirteenth episode, whilst giving a nice ending, doesn't really fit into its place considering when it's supposed to have happened - it's almost as though 12 episodes were planned and then another one had to be added to fill some timeslot...

There is a distance between two characters, which read more
Jan 30, 2015
UltraDoom (All reviews)
I'll keep this short. I enjoyed Sabagebu! much more and I recommend that instead or at least first. Then if your craving some more airsoft action this can pass the time. The character development is slow and once it becomes interesting it almost immediately loses direction. There was some real potential here but the failure to properly develop characters along with inconsistent interactions and unresolved conflicts make this series a bit hard to enjoy. Its not really a comedy, not really a slice of life, tries to be a drama for a little bit, then just gives up everything by the end. The action genre read more
Sep 18, 2014
deinja (All reviews)
Before taking a look at the entire review, I'd suggest you'd watch the main arc -- basically the entire thing, besides the epilogue as it doesn't add much. Binge-watching a thirteen-part anime is easy, anyways. Right?


Stella C3 baits its viewers charmingly. To those who were lured in by the idea of moe girls shooting firearms in a "convincing" environment, they were in for a surprising well-established plot; focusing on the development of characters through the relatable aspects of the lost sense of belongingness in between social terms and themselves, and all the way to metaphors of the horrors of war, statements on abandonment on the read more
Sep 16, 2015
Akito_Kinomoto (All reviews)
Things aren’t always what they seem. Despite featuring an all-girl ensemble at a high school club, Stella Women’s Academy (otherwise known as C3-bu) is a deceptively heavy anime in familiar lighthearted trappings. It’s easy to dismiss it as ‘K-On! with guns,’ and easier to be hooked to a surprising degree.

The story follows the fairly normal Yura Yamato, who joins Stella Women’s Academy in hopes of changing herself to be more outgoing and confident. After being charmed by Sonora, the thrill of battle, and Sonora, she joins the club C3-bu. C3-bu dedicates itself to survival games, which you can think of as laser tag with air read more