Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Danganronpa: Kibou no Gakuen to Zetsubou no Koukousei The Animation


Alternative Titles

English: Danganronpa: The Animation
Synonyms: Dangan Ronpa: The Animation
Japanese: ダンガンロンパ 希望の学園と絶望の高校生 THE ANIMATION

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 5, 2013 to Sep 27, 2013
Premiered: Summer 2013
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:35 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Lerche
Source: Game
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.441 (scored by 280,386 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #19042
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #115
Members: 494,756
Favorites: 6,414

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 2, 2013
Towasoru (All reviews)
This is the perfect example of a video game adaptation done wrong. Trying to fit in about 25 hours of material into 13 episodes is NOT a good idea, unless you want an extremely rushed show with very flat characters. It is horrible.

The story was actually pretty decently adapted. While it was rushed, nothing very important was omitted. However, I have some issues with the investigations. How do you expect anime watchers to identify the culprit if the most important part in mystery solving is rushed in about 3 minutes? Rushed investigations also made it seem like Kirigiri and Naegi were pulling things out of read more
Oct 5, 2013
MidnightsLament (All reviews)
"You've got that wrong!"

First off, if you detest/abhor/dislike this anime, read no further. I've just seen many overly-negative reviews and wanted to have an alternate opinion available for anyone who needs one. This is also a very naive review, as I've never played the game, nor have heard of its popularity, so expectations were average.

Oh god, what am I getting myself into?

The setting of Danganronpa has to be one of the strangest. A despair-filled high school where you have to butcher your classmates to "graduate?" Not going to lie, I thought this probably wasn't going to be the greatest of shows...

"You've got that wrong!"

But how read more
Sep 27, 2013
ihateeveryone (All reviews)
I think it should be a general rule that if you're going to adapt any type of game, that you cannot make it 1-cour. If Danganronpa isn't a prime example of this rule, than I don't know what is.

Being a fan of the game, I was very excited to hear that Danganronpa was receiving an adaption. The biggest issue though was 13 episodes - which, considering that Danganronpa relies a lot on character and plot development for it to work so well, was obviously going to be a huge let down in the series. Even as a standalone anime, Danganronpa doesn't work as well as read more
May 27, 2014
Demi_V (All reviews)
This review is based solely on the anime.

Former players of the murder mystery video game, Danganronpa: Academy of Hope and High School Students of Despair, are likely to find this adaptation as a disappointment with several changes or downgrades in the characters. Unfortunately, it does not differ much for someone who is unfamiliar with the game either. Danganronpa has an interesting plot with its dangerous game and potential to conduct an excellent thriller. However, you can imagine how well this murder mystery goes with only 13 episodes. Danganronpa’s motive was to create a horrifying show with gruesome deaths, but it embarrassed itself with its unpleasant read more
Sep 27, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
I like to play games. I mean, we all do once every while when we're bored right? The fun thing about games is not to only to kill time but also for achievements in some cases. When you win a game against someone, you get that feeling of pride knowing that you were better than your opponent. When you lose though, you might feel disappointment but also hoping to do better next time. But what if you're in a twisted game where there's no next time? What if you only get that one chance because if you lose, your life will end? Well, in Dangan read more
Sep 29, 2013
Crochax (All reviews)
Yadda yadda, first review, bluh bluh.

A group of teenagers, each of them exceeding in their own field, be it sports, programing or leading an outlaw biker gang, get locked up in an elite school with no obvious way to escape, except one: Kill a fellow student and don't get caught. An interesting take of the snowed-in-in-a-mountain-cabin trope and good set up for a murder mystery. Or is it?

Danganronpa was based on a game of the same name. Since the game was a success which spawned a sequel and huge, dedicated fanbase, it was only natural to cash in on it. An read more
Sep 28, 2013
HattiewithSugar (All reviews)
Okay, before you press the "Not Helpful" button after seeing my rating, realize this: I haven't played the game. This is a review from a watcher who thinks of this as just a regular anime, not a game adaptation. And, as someone who didn't play the game, I think it's a anime worth watching. Let me explain:

Story: 8

It's a really creative, well adapted version of the "Last man standing" plotline, which seems more cliché than it actually is. I personally really like the idea; when someone gets murdered everyone has to crack the case together and if that culprit gets found out, he/she dies too. read more
Jan 1, 2014
ChibiWard (All reviews)
Story 9: It has an amazing plot-twisted story, one of the best executed one's i've ever seen, because everything seems so logical, like a game you play, no matter how you play a game or it develops, if you follow the rules, nobody can't complain about it.

Art 8: A basic background with stereotypical places in a building that is really attractive drawn.

Sound 9: The opening and ending of the series are so damn good... never skipped them, they are so special like they would never appear in another anime.

Character 10: Stereotypical characters that are so different from each others that you can't dislike all of read more
Aug 21, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Here is a very basic rule of thumb that all animation studios should have learned by 2015: "Just because something worked as a video game, doesn't necessarily mean it will work as a show!"

Danganronpa was a successful video game because it had goofy characters, decent comedy, and allowed the player to think and solve mysteries. The story and characters weren't very deep or well developed, but it didn't matter because the entire point was for the player to actively solve the puzzle. A TV show is largely a passive form of entertainment in which the viewer is not controlling the events and using skills to read more
May 24, 2014
peachriver (All reviews)
You may already know that Dangan Ronpa is the anime adaption of a video game by the same name.

You should also know it is the worse anime adaption of a game that was ever made.

Despite having a great story, it is impossible to realize how good it is or even enjoy it in the anime because the pacing is absolutely horrible. Everything happens too fast and nothing is explained, especially during investigations. A lot of important information is lost.
There is no character development, apart from things that are very important for the story. The lack of free times makes the characters bland.
The animation is a read more
Dec 14, 2013
MAND4 (All reviews)
Danganronpa - KNGTZNK - The Animation (I KNOW!) is a weird anime. Not because he it pinkish blood, or it feels as if you're flying with Enterprise within the distance of a small country or anything alike - it's just weird.

To put it off my chest, I loved first 4-5 episodes. They really hit the point with me since I love the detective stories. They were well executed, they actually had SOLID pacing (I KNOW!) and weren't as ... well, as bad as the rest of them. As for the rest of them, they suck - flat out suck.

The story of Danganronpa is simple read more
Dec 22, 2013
paramuffin (All reviews)
Boy, oh boy. This is a rather short anime so I decided to dedicate time to watch it. While I wouldn't say it was a mistake, given the chance, I would rather not have seen it at all.

The story is interesting indeed, especially people who are suckers for mysteries like me. It's based on a video game of the same name, however, this adaptation managed to do so many things wrong and its main failure lies in the lack of time for development.

The class trials were just really poorly executed. 1-2 episodes per trial (including the crime, the investigation and the trial itself in that read more
Apr 28, 2014
suddenlytanuki (All reviews)
I mean... seriously? Everyone's talking about how the show is bad compared to the game and so on but this is just painfully mediocre in it's own right.

The bad:

- The animation? Not a fan. I mean some might like the 3D-ish elements, but for me it was just painful to watch. In addition to the execution segments the 3D stuff just felt out of place and completely unnecessary. To be honest I didn't like the art style either.

- A word about music. I usually find most anime OPs quite amusing or interesting even if they don't suit my musical preference. This OP (and read more
Jun 27, 2014
JacklynRyner (All reviews)
This is based solely on this awful adaption, not the game.

Now, I've said this before and I'll say it again, I love Battle Royale premises. What I don't like is when the concept is completely butchered with poor characters, art and predictableness.

The story gets a 7, mostly because I'm just generous towards anything that involves a bunch of people that have to kill each other in order to survive. It takes place in a school where the characters are told by a cute little bear that they have to kill each other and then hold trials to try to guess who the kill was. If read more
Sep 28, 2013
Nasty001 (All reviews)
Ping, pong, pang, pong....... As I make this review,1st thing is 1st, I haven't played the video game yet, then again such game would cost a fortune here in Mexico and I haven't yet read both the manga and the light novel yet, so for this review, I'm only gonna base it for this anime and this anime only. Por qué todos ustedes entiendan, muchachos? Bueno, bueno, let get down and dirty, so far this is another very good anime for this season, despite of the spoilers available in MAL and other anime site info, it didn't affect my desire to watch and be read more
Dec 20, 2015
One (All reviews)
It is known fact that if you make an anime/movie adaptation off a video game , it will never be as successful as the video game itself, given that it has the same content and story. Video games allow you to experience and make your own decisions, which is not an option in movies/anime. Infact, many innovators actually believe that decision making video games MAY replace movies in the future (If you've played “Life is Strange”, you’d agree with this fact).

Anyhow, before you read any further, if you oppose this anime solely due to it not being able to live up to its video game read more
Nov 3, 2013
Ksno (All reviews)
As someone who did not play the video game, I found this anime to be quite good. I think if you have played the game, you would find the anime a let down because the anime feels rushed considering how short it is. I really enjoyed the anime though. I thought the concept was very interesting and it was a very fun anime to watch. I liked certain characters and hated others but that was the point. The last few episodes did feel rushed and at certain times throughout the series, you will feel like there could be a lot more. I wish this anime read more
Oct 25, 2014
shiinaxavier (All reviews)
The story is the most creative story i ever seen although there is a lot of anime that adapt from a game, this is one of the best anime base on a game adaptation i ever seen.

The art i give it six because the art i doesn't like senior highschool student The art is like a junior highschool student.

The sound the music of this anime is so great both never say never and zetsubousei hero chiryouyaku is fit to be opening and ending of this anime.

The Characters in this movie has a development from the past to the future. all characters in this anime has read more
Apr 11, 2015
Riothamus12 (All reviews)
Danganronpa is a series I wanted to like more. It's by no means terrible. The story is interesting, some of the characters do have the potential to grow on viewers even if they're unfamiliar with the source material, and it manages to build up a serious level of excitement around each individual trial. Furthermore it has unique style which reminds the viewers of it's origins as a game. This is both one of it's greatest strengths as well as it's greatest weakness. While it lends itself to a distinct atmosphere and helps maintain a sense of energy that persists throughout the series which prevents one read more
Oct 23, 2013
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Danganronpa is a series based on a PSP game from Spike, a company best known for their work on various DBZ games. They also worked with Capcom on a very under-rated game called Crimson Tears. This game, I never heard of until the anime came out. So I'm going to be judging the series entirely on its own merits and I'm not going to notice if they screw up something from the game. The adaptation was handled by Lerche, a company that, according to ANN, has only been involved with seven anime productions. None of which I've seen. So let's take a look at the read more